728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Stop Valves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve

1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve

BrassCraft 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve controls water flow to household plumbing fixtures - faucets, toilets, dishwashers, icemakers, washing machines, etc. The angle valve is most often used where the water pipe enters the room from the wall. With a 90° turn of the valve handle, you are able to stop the flow of water leading to the plumbing fixture, allowing for maintenance and repair without shutting off the water to the entire home.
Overall rating:
4.69 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/4 Turn valve

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice valve for the price. I like the turn/shut off part has more leverage than some others I've bought. You can actually get thumb leverage to turn the valve.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Somewhat misleading product reviews...

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this compression valve to replace a 40-year old, corroded, sweat-on, shutoff located under the toilet in my bathroom. From reading the reviews, I was thinking that all I had to do was cut off the old part, clean the 1/2" copper tubing behind it and attach this one. All done in minutes, right? Wrong. The tubing coming out of the wall was too big! What I didn't know (my ignorance) is that the original sweat-on valve had been shaped like a smoker's pipe. I'd only cut off half of it. The remaining stem of the original shutoff was a 6" piece of larger-diameter (now corroded) chrome tubing that had been slid over and sweat onto the house's standard 1/2" copper tubing. I ended up having to remove a 4" x 4" ceramic tile and unsweat that corroded stem from partially inside the wall. All which begs the question: If I had to go through all that, couldn't I just as easily sweat on a new shutoff? Other than that, the new valve works fine.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: unexpected prep!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact quarter turn valve works perfectly.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This valve knob is small so it'll fit easier in tight spaces. Solid metal construction. 1/4 turn is much better than constant twisting of typical handles. Plenty of youtube videos showing simple installation just turn off the water main and drain from lower faucet before disconnecting existing valve.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buyer Beware

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cut my water flow to less than half of what I normally get.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: No Instructions, restrict water flow to less than half
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By BrassCraft MfgAugust 12, 2015By BrassCraft MfgAugust 12, 2015
We are sorry to hear of your experience using BrassCraft’s Water Shut-off Valve. All water shut-off valves are certified to a minimum flow rate of 4.0GPM per the plumbing codes & standards. It is common during removal and installation of new components, that debris or build up within the plumbing system may create an obstruction at the faucet aerator resulting in the restriction of water flow. We recommend removing the aerator and turning on the water to the faucet for 5 minutes to flush any debris that might be trapped. If this does not resolve the issue, please contact one of our Customer Service Representatives toll-free at 877-272-7755 for further assistance. Thank you for the feedback.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Orange, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two split

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these values in the under sink bathroom and after about 2 years two of them failed and started leaking. The caused a fair amount of water damage. Not impressed with the quality of this product
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No leaks, product seems reliable.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I installed this valve without any problems. No leaks. The only negative is that it is a bit hard to turn. Still, I recommend this product as (in my limited experience) I have found it dependable.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: a bit hard to turn.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Oceanisde, Ca.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works good

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I like the 1/4 turn much better than the type that you have to crank a few times to close. The 1/4 turn does not wear out like the other kind. You can still adjust flow with these.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A must

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this type of valve to replace all of the gate valves in my house. It has a quarter turn shut off compared to the old gate valve which sometimes sticks in the open position.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Burleson,TX
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Brasscraft is the one I reach for!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When replacing other multi turn angle stops, or the stops with the built in supply line, I apply a little tef+2 to the threads, and remove the old stop, and just replace the stop. If I need to cut the copper and replace the nut and furrell I will. But, more often than not, these parts are fine.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome!

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worlds better than the continuous turn unit that it replaced. The small profile of the turn lever is great underneath a cramped vanity as well. The previous owners had actually cut out a space for the larger continuous turn. My only con is that the interior appears to be plastic so we'll see how that holds up, but for the time being, it's doing its job perfectly, easily and with no leaks.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect replacement for old valves...

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While redoing a bathroom, I ran across a hopelessly frozen valve on a toilet. This unit easily replaced the bad unit after the copper was cut, just short of the old fitting. (Note: Be sure there is enough of a stub before cutting it off! The old ferrule and nut might be OK, in a pinch, but a clean, fresh connection is always preferable.) Once the copper was cleaned up with steel wool, this easily installed. The operation of the valve is really great, with 1/4 turn to open or close it. What a difference from the old style!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy smooth operation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Liberty, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good but watch for drips

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only issue is knowing when you have it tight enough vs too tight with the compression rings to avoid a leak or drip. (But likely not unique to just this model.)
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very good product. It's "Made in the U.S.A" and the quality shows. It's much better than the multi one and costs only $1 more.
You only can find it at HD. Lowes doesn't carry this one.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve

DIY Valve replacement

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced my old rusty valve for the toilet, this one is nice and shiny and new, no issues so far. Easy to do, first time I ever replaced a compression valve rather than pay a plumber $60 to do it.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Camano Island, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally - a durable shut-off valve

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This all-metal valve is a great improvement over the plastic valve it replaced. I'm slowly replacing all my old shutoff with this valve. The only thing worth noting is that the operation is pretty stiff so you need to apply more force to turn the knob than you might expect.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: knob is hard to turn
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve

Very high-quality product and easy to install

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Whenever we renovate a bathroom or kitchen in my house (built 1965) or my sons' houses (early 1970s) , we replace the old shut-off (gate) valves with these compression-fitting, quarter-turn valves. To date I've installed more than a dozen and have never had a problem either installing or leaking. A very simple, reliable valve that doesn't leak like gate valves and should last 20 years or more. Easy for a DIYer to install and good value for the $.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quick Install - Will only buy 1/4 turn valves from now on

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This took less than 2 minutes to install. Prep your pipe then finger tighten the connection. Tighten 1/2 turn with the wrench. Done and no drips. The 1/4 turn action is much easier that than the old fashion multi-turn valves. Will only install 1/4 turn valves from now on.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve

this product has good feature

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good product. It's easy to install and use.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from Sleepy Hollow, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What doesn't this product do!?

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This contraption is truly remarkable. I had a 1/2" copper pipe extruding from the wall which, when the main water was turned on, water would flood the room non-stop. I tried towels, buckets, plastic, even duct tape, and nothing would work. I was advised by the Home Depot worker wearing a hat, I don't remember which hat, who explained how this device fits, and, with just a 1/4 turn in the direction etched on the knob, water would stop flowing. Fascinating.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: why can't this 'computer' do the same thing?
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. Nominal Compression Inlet x 3/8 in. O.D. Compression Outlet 1/4-Turn Angle Valve
from handyman12

It works!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This valve appears to be a very good one when it is new. Only time can tell whether it is durable and reliable.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>