728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Test Meters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pinless Moisture Meter

Pinless Moisture Meter

The RYOBI Digital Painless Moisture Meter is perfect for measuring moisture in hardwood, softwood, drywall and masonry materials and can help you detect conditions for potential mold growth. The LCD display shows moisture content as a percentage for easy use. The moisture meter requires no pins or tape to help prevent surface damage.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product7 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product7 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Pinless Moisture Meter
Review 1 for Pinless Moisture Meter
kk2014
from Atascadero, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product showed exactly where the moisture was in my walls and floor after the fire sprinkler broke in my home. When I opened up the wall, it was wet and the mold had begun to set in. This Ryobi poduct saved me so much from further damage to my home. The inexpensive price of the moisture meter is well worth this product. Very happy with this product and this is the first review I've ever written.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pinless Moisture Meter
Herowife

in general, works well

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In general, works well, but size is quite big, so hard to get to tiny locations. Used for two weeks, got a lot of scratches already. Easy indication from green to red and shows numbers as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pinless Moisture Meter
InspectorReuben
from Minneapolis, MN

Useless

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been using a protimeter surveymaster for many years, and was looking for an inexpensive backup device, but this isn't it.
The protimeter showed 10% - 12% while using it on drywall, but the ryobi showed nothing.
I got a paper towel wet and put it underneath a very thin floor mat; the protimeter easily identified the location of the wet paper towel, while the ryobi showed nothing. If it can't find moisture with a simple test like this, it's useless.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pinless Moisture Meter
meterreader
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Moisture Meter

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $50 or so, this is a decent meter, and one you can buy in the store. I also performed the wet paper towel test under a thin board, and it detected the water immediately. This meter does 0.5 inch depth so may not be effective through carpet, but is still great for analyzing specific areas of the house, such as known areas which may have had spillage or some flooding in the past. Example I lifted a floor vent out and put the meter under the carpet onto the wood underfloor. Also detected through the vinyl floor in the kitchen. Also measured wall and concrete successfully. Also measured the moisture readings on my back deck. It was quite consistent in taking readings when going back to spots here and there. Compared to another particular $350+ similar type meter that gave you 0.75 depth and similar functions, it's worth the low price. You also have 90 days to return it is not for you.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, works as advertised.
Cons: none yet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pinless Moisture Meter
FXcontractor
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not work

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought once, did not work. So I called the RYOBI customer service number and after few questions they came to the conclusion that it was defective; so I exchanged it and it did not work again; so I returned it.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pinless Moisture Meter
Contractor
from Lafayette, IN 47905, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not accurate, sensor area too large.

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This meter picks up all metal within walls - nails, corner beads, wiring, etc. Without the pins there is no way to 'pinpoint' a specific location. All you can do is get in the general area - if there is metal(even close by) you will get a false reading. Moisture meters work based on continuity so metal will cause false readings on any meter but with such a large sensor area(instead of pins), it is difficult to stay away from metal in small spaces.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pinless Moisture Meter
Mark999
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, does the job.

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would have preferred pin-type, but this was what they carried in the store. Used it to map out wet sheetrock in the ceiling so I knew where to tear out. Has 2 flat sensors on the back about 4 inches apart that need to lay flat on the material. Hardwood, softwood, masonry and drywall modes. Also a "hold" button so you can store a reading in case you are reading somewhere that's not visible.
Worked well. Only bad thing was that it came with a cheap 9-volt battery that was dead. After replacing it worked great.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: dead battery included
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pinless Moisture Meter
Kevlar
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Confused by studs in the wall

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The water meter was easily confused by metal studs in the wall and it's threshold for water detector was lower than a pin based equivalent. I was confused when it said a wall was considered wet when no water was in the area, turns out metal studs were in the wall and I just happened to put the meter there. It's also big, so it's hard to get in tight spaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pinless Moisture Meter
Gabacho
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No problems after a year, some criticism.

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I work customer care for a home builder so I use my meter a lot, and find it to be a good asset. I do think it needs an illuminated screen (push button backlight). Also, be careful of false readings if you are testing drywall and there is a stud behind it, as it will give you 50%+ reading due to the density of the wood. In my opinion it should have been made smaller to fit in ones pocket.
Other than that it's quite handy and durable.
Cons: no backlight for the screen
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pinless Moisture Meter
Maninha
from Newman, CA 95360, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome moisture meter!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use all sorts of exotic woods and this moisture meter does it all and very accurate. Very happy with it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pinless Moisture Meter
rooferinLA

i used as a roofer

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this device and it always seemed to work. I definitely used on known dry walls, known wet walls (to be certain it was reading correctly) and it would make clear readings on both. I cannot use the pin-type because I can't run around poking holes in my clients walls and I don't use it on wood, only drywall/plaster.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pinless Moisture Meter
moistureman

Everything's Wet, except the Wall!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought this, and tried to use it... Seemed like a good product, however, according to this meter my home should be flooded! We have hardwood floors, and this thing beeps (which means wet) in the most dry areas.... problem is it beeps the same in the wet areas.... Was not able to differentiate between dry and wet areas...
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.