728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Test Meters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pinless Moisture Meter

Pinless Moisture Meter

Ryobi introduces the RYOBI Digital Painless Moisture Meter. This tool is perfect for measuring moisture in hardwood, softwood, drywall and masonry materials and can help you detect conditions for potential mold growth. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
3.632 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Pinless Moisture Meter
Review 1 for Pinless Moisture Meter

Limited usefulness

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product seems to have limited use. I wanted a moisture meter with pins, but this was the only one they had in-store. I was trying to measure the moisture in my ceiling after a small leak in a second floor bathroom. This device is useless on uneven surfaces (i.e. popcorn ceilings or trim). It works well on wide, smooth surfaces like walls. If you're trying to check moisture on anything other than a wall, find a meter with pins.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pinless Moisture Meter

Ryobi Moisture Meter

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, not surprised, all of my Ryobi tools work great and they last. Always great service at my Home Depot
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Atascadero, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product showed exactly where the moisture was in my walls and floor after the fire sprinkler broke in my home. When I opened up the wall, it was wet and the mold had begun to set in. This Ryobi poduct saved me so much from further damage to my home. The inexpensive price of the moisture meter is well worth this product. Very happy with this product and this is the first review I've ever written.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Minneapolis, MN

Useless

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been using a protimeter surveymaster for many years, and was looking for an inexpensive backup device, but this isn't it.
The protimeter showed 10% - 12% while using it on drywall, but the ryobi showed nothing.
I got a paper towel wet and put it underneath a very thin floor mat; the protimeter easily identified the location of the wet paper towel, while the ryobi showed nothing. If it can't find moisture with a simple test like this, it's useless.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pinless Moisture Meter

Accurate moisture reader

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to measure moisture readings in drywall after a recent water leak. It works great and can easily pinpoint where the drywall is wet and where it's dry, even though none of it is wet to the touch. I've taken several readings over the past few weeks and watched the moisture level go down as the drywall dries out
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Washington, Mi.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely worth the money

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use with good instructions. Knowing the amount of moisture makes deciding whether to remove affected materials an easy choice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Hobe Sound, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good value

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would not purchase this item as a primary tool. It s a good supplement and has advantages over a probe type detector. Immediate display. Beware of false positives and insure correct setting is made. Read the instructions. label small letters. Limited number of sub-straights to test (Masonry, Hardwood softwood)
Pros: Compact
Cons: small read out, limited standard materials list
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Moisture Meter

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $50 or so, this is a decent meter, and one you can buy in the store. I also performed the wet paper towel test under a thin board, and it detected the water immediately. This meter does 0.5 inch depth so may not be effective through carpet, but is still great for analyzing specific areas of the house, such as known areas which may have had spillage or some flooding in the past. Example I lifted a floor vent out and put the meter under the carpet onto the wood underfloor. Also detected through the vinyl floor in the kitchen. Also measured wall and concrete successfully. Also measured the moisture readings on my back deck. It was quite consistent in taking readings when going back to spots here and there. Compared to another particular $350+ similar type meter that gave you 0.75 depth and similar functions, it's worth the low price. You also have 90 days to return it is not for you.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, works as advertised.
Cons: none yet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Jacksonville Beach, Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product, home inspectors, prepare to make money

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, and very accurate even when compared to the much higher priced meters.
I would recommend this to any inspectors over the others available. Easy enough for the average home owner who needs to know if there is moisture and what the content is in any medium.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pinless Moisture Meter

in general, works well

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In general, works well, but size is quite big, so hard to get to tiny locations. Used for two weeks, got a lot of scratches already. Easy indication from green to red and shows numbers as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, does the job.

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would have preferred pin-type, but this was what they carried in the store. Used it to map out wet sheetrock in the ceiling so I knew where to tear out. Has 2 flat sensors on the back about 4 inches apart that need to lay flat on the material. Hardwood, softwood, masonry and drywall modes. Also a "hold" button so you can store a reading in case you are reading somewhere that's not visible.
Worked well. Only bad thing was that it came with a cheap 9-volt battery that was dead. After replacing it worked great.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: dead battery included
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Lafayette, IN 47905, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not accurate, sensor area too large.

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This meter picks up all metal within walls - nails, corner beads, wiring, etc. Without the pins there is no way to 'pinpoint' a specific location. All you can do is get in the general area - if there is metal(even close by) you will get a false reading. Moisture meters work based on continuity so metal will cause false readings on any meter but with such a large sensor area(instead of pins), it is difficult to stay away from metal in small spaces.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Confused by studs in the wall

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The water meter was easily confused by metal studs in the wall and it's threshold for water detector was lower than a pin based equivalent. I was confused when it said a wall was considered wet when no water was in the area, turns out metal studs were in the wall and I just happened to put the meter there. It's also big, so it's hard to get in tight spaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

taking the guess work out of finding moisture

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The work that we do, it is imperitive that we know where the moisture is. It takes the guess work out of finding the moisture is coming from.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No problems after a year, some criticism.

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I work customer care for a home builder so I use my meter a lot, and find it to be a good asset. I do think it needs an illuminated screen (push button backlight). Also, be careful of false readings if you are testing drywall and there is a stud behind it, as it will give you 50%+ reading due to the density of the wood. In my opinion it should have been made smaller to fit in ones pocket.
Other than that it's quite handy and durable.
Cons: no backlight for the screen
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Newman, CA 95360, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome moisture meter!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use all sorts of exotic woods and this moisture meter does it all and very accurate. Very happy with it!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pinless Moisture Meter

i used as a roofer

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this device and it always seemed to work. I definitely used on known dry walls, known wet walls (to be certain it was reading correctly) and it would make clear readings on both. I cannot use the pin-type because I can't run around poking holes in my clients walls and I don't use it on wood, only drywall/plaster.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pinless Moisture Meter
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not work

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought once, did not work. So I called the RYOBI customer service number and after few questions they came to the conclusion that it was defective; so I exchanged it and it did not work again; so I returned it.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pinless Moisture Meter

Everything's Wet, except the Wall!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought this, and tried to use it... Seemed like a good product, however, according to this meter my home should be flooded! We have hardwood floors, and this thing beeps (which means wet) in the most dry areas.... problem is it beeps the same in the wet areas.... Was not able to differentiate between dry and wet areas...
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.