728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine

1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine

The Husky 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine is great for taking along with you on camping and tailgating trips. The quiet, 4 HP Subaru engine runs continuously at 1,850 watts and can operate for 6-1/2 hours at 1/2 load. The control panel features 3 output receptacles, including a 12 VDC outlet.
Overall rating:
3.615 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product9 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product9 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
Review 1 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Upstate NY

Awesome generator for the price!

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started first pull, didn't leak or smoke one slight little bit and ran like a champ for 3 hours. Barely sipped fuel. Quiet? Not as quiet as a Honda maybe but it doesn't cost a grand but it doesn't rattle the windows either. Unless you intend to run your generator in your bedroom this unit works great and fills the bill for under $500. Yep it's heavy; so what; bend at the knees. If that doesn't work for you, buy the Honda. If you don't want to spend a grand on a generator then go with this unit. Nuff said!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Tukwila, WA

Solid starter

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned this little unit for almost a year and I almost keep wishing for a power outage so I can use it! (Murphy's law: buy a generator and the disasters go away.) Bought to power the fridge, pc, tv and/or a few lights. The generator starts on the first try every time and one is able to easily hold a conversation over its relatively low noise.
I rated it four stars (really 4.5) because it does not come with wheels, so I transport mine on a dolly. Will update upon further use.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Live in Illinois but work all over the states

Great little generator

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use these generators for work. I put one on each of my guys work carts. It makes each guy self sufficient and very mobile. 1 guy using 1 cart and only 1 power tool at a time it is ideal. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 5 stars is the ripcord. We pull on the ripcord upwards of 50 times a day because we turn them on only to run the power tools. The ripcord has a tendancy tofray and break.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from rhode island

Perfect

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing works great. powers everything i need it to. has some noise to it, but perfect for the size and money
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Start

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit sets up quickly. Comes with oil in the machine. Be very careful with the oil reservoir cap. It is plastic and will cross thread very very easily. Should have been made of metal. The unit runs a bit loud but for the price it is a work horse. Ran almost 7 hours on one gallon of gas at medium load. Kicked on the AC and it picked right up and kept on generating. Not on the light side but easy to move around with the two handles. Overall I like the unit and so far it seems to be a good buy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Blissfield, Mi

Best Generator I have Ever Owned

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this Generator during a power outage to replace my very small two stroke generator. I was on the fence to buy this or a larger generator, but elected to buy this one because I liked the 6.5 hour run time on 1.2 gallons of fuel. Remember, fuel is scarce and expensive in emergencies. I ran the generator for 5 straight days only shutting down to fuel every 5 hours and check oil. I did change the oil at about 20 hours ( one day) of run time as suggested in owners manual. In five days, it used no oil and never faltered one bit even in the 4" snow, 1" rain, 1/2" ice storm, and -2 degree temperatures during that week. A very easy pull gets it started. It is smooth running, a little loud, but totally worth it if you need it. A wheel kit would be nice, but it is small enough to lift for most able bodied people if needed. I personally just use a two wheel cart to get it where it is going. I have been very happy with my purchase and have no regrets. BTW, This runs my furnace, Refrigerator, big screen TV, lights, and microwave all at the same time with the help of a Reliance 6 circuit transfer switch.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Cleveland, Ohio

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very noisy although it advertises “Quit Operation”, its almost as loud my 10 hp generator. Also specs show 30 amps, this is erroneous, total output is 15 amps. It ran for about 3 hrs and just died. It’s only upside is that it is small. I would not have bought it at half the price and do not recommend it.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Pittsfield MA

Great generator for the price

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second generator, my other is a Honda EB5000. In my new home since I do not have a well or other monster electric device this little guy does the trick. 2 Fridges are the biggest load I could throw at it and it grunted a bit but picked the load right up. Like any generator under load it whines but the noise is acceptable and it is quieter than my 11HP Honda under load. Only problem I had was that out of the box the carb float was stuck (gas flowing out of the over flow on the carb bowl). One quick bounce on the driveway and it was off and running! If you have low to moderate emergency power needs this is your baby!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Canterbury, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great in a pinch

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this generator when hurricane Irene came to town and the generator worked great for keeping our refridgerator and freezer going for a week without power. We did not loose any food thanks to this small but reliable generator.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from MA

Outstanding customer service

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great generator. Started second pull. Solid construction. Easy to manage. Special thanks to Dottie in customer service and upper management at the Bellingham,MA store. Truly outstanding customer service. Thank you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Bel Air, MD

Disappointing

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a bad purchase. As soon as I filled in the oil and gas and started the generator it started leaking oil. When I actually connected a load on this generator the generator started burning oil and stalled.
Don't buy this generator, the quality is bad and looks like there is no QC at the factory. I took it back and got a full refund.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine

DO NOT BUY THIS GENERATOR

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this generator less then 2 years ago and it will not start. It kicks over and runs for a few seconds then stops running. Local repair shop says becuase it is a Suburu engine parts are not readily available, they cannot repair it. BUY A HONDA!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,850-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru OHV Engine
from Las Vegas nevada

NO part,

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you could get part this would be ok for the price,
Have been wait over 90 days for a neil vale for carb.
it a mikin carb but you oluy can get it form subaru,
the pull ropie wair fast 2 or 3 mosth, 10 min and $5
to fix, it too lould for Nat-park camping. but ok for
Dunmon. Will not run A/C, but will micwave most other
suff,, Las Vegas Nevada
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.