728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine

3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine

The Husky 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine features 4,000-watt peak and 3,750-watt running power to suit your basic power needs. The spark-arrest muffler helps ensure quiet operation, and the 4-gallon fuel tank provides steady power for up to 12 hours at 50% load. This generator has a Briggs & Stratton OHV engine to help ensure long life and high performance.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
Review 1 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
SmarterHomeOwner
from West Orange, NJ

Portable Emergency Power

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have sump pumps in the cellar. Most times the sumps are dry. Lots of times it rains very hard but electric power is available. Last weekend, we suffered a huge rain storm AND a 56 hour power outage. This generator prevented major water damage to our home and food loss in our freezer packed with valuable foods.. The buyers at Home Depot did their homework for me. This unit was priced right and had sufficient guts to be very usefull.. You can rely on the specs for this machine. They are realistic. At one point I had my sump pumps hooked up along with my neighbor's. Later, we left the generator unattended for ten hours with our sump pump and freezer receiving power. In the morning the unit was still generating power with gas to spare for a few hours more. At 18"W x 24"H x 26"L and I guess about 60 lbs this unit is smaller than it appears. It is rugged, simple and utilitarian. P.S. You will need also a gas can and some very long three wire extension cords. The Husky 14/3 100ft filled that need.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
Artie
from Brewster

Worked for 4 days during Irene

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought it late Thursday night before Irene... Let it sit in the box in case I didn't need it (figured I buy a bigger one when they were restocked) but we lost power Sunday morning. I was able to assemble it easily in the garage in the dark with a flashlight. Started on the first pull and it ran like a champ for 16 hours per day for 5 days.... Only issue was with the oil... fill to just before overflow, as well as changing the oil.... drain plug is not in a good spot to get a pan under it and did make a bit of mess draining it. Otherwise it worked like a champ!! Ran the Fridge, TV, Sat, Computer, a few lights and the Well pump easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
Rob1872
from King George, VA

Great for backup power

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the week before Hurricane Irene came through. Unit started on first pull, provided power for my sump pump, freezer, a TV and a neighbor's sump pump. With that load it would go 10 hours on 2/3 of a tank of gas. Never had a problem for 56 hours of run time. Only minor comments are that the directions aren't clear about orientation of the wheel axels (but you can figure it out by looking at it) and the oil fill is basically, "fill it until it is over-flowing". I can live with those issues to keep my basement from flooding!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
Huffy
from Upper Darby, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value.

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well built generator with numerous useful features. The unit is of modest weight, and the attached handles make the unit both easy to move and stable. The power panel simplifies attaching the unit to various loads. Starting is easy , and the gas tank is of ample size for overnight use. The unit is a bit noisy (about the same as the 12 year old Craftsman unit it replaced) - this is no Honda, but then it's less than 1/4 the price of a Honda!
The unit can run numerous lights, a 42 inch TV, two refrigerators and a window A/C unit. It's also capable of running the oil furnace of a 2400 sq. ft. house instead of the A/C.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
MerolaTile
from Middletown, NJ

Hurricane Irene

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow. 3 Days before the hurricane hit I was lucky to get this machine. It powered lights in our house- our 2 emergency sump pumps and our fridge.
We had no power for 9 days and this machine made it almost fun to deal wtih.
At night we plugged in the TV and watched DVD.s.. In fact- one night we had a blackout party.. We had lights on the deck and in the kitchen and we plugged in a Movie Projector in the yard. A bunch of friends and thier children came over for the fun. By 10:30pm we were having so much fun a neighbor called the Cops because we were a bit too loud. The kind officer was awesome- and concluded someone had Generator Envy becuase they weren't having all the fun we were,
This machine was a lifesaver for us and my grammer school kids get to tell thier friends about our wild movie night. We may just have to get a whole house generator for the next blackout..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
Skeeve
from Northern NJ

Irene Disappointment

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw Irene heading toward NJ a week in advance and rushed out to buy this generator before they got cleaned off the shelves. Thinking I was fully prepared for hurricane Irene, I confidently relaxed and waited for the storm to hit. Power was knocked out, I filled this thing with Gas and Oil - pulled the cord and it effortlessly hummed to life. I jubilantly ran a power cord to my sump pump, which is my most important appliance during heavy rains. It worked! For approximately 2 minutes, that is. For no known reason, the generator died and I never got it started again despite working on it for 2 hours trying everything I possibly could. I have read other reviews and apparently, defective units are common. If you buy one make sure you thoroughly test it first! I give this 2 stars because Home Depot gave me a full refund.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
HappyHuskyUser
from Pepperell, MA 01463, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Generator for the $$$

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this unit in it's box since 2009, I opened it up after losing power this past weekend...with the help of a flashlight it took about 15 minutes to put the wheels and handle on it, filled it with oil (which was included in the box) and gassed it up...it fired up on the 1st pull! I ran 2 pellet stoves, my tv, and some lights 24/7 for almost 5 days. I'm probably going to invest in some sort of transfer switch for it to avoid dealing with extension cords all over my house in case I need to use it again. I didn't really push the unit to it's full capability so I only used about 5-6 gallons of gas per day. I have no problem recommending this unit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
DCArea
from DC Area

Loud and Dirty

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 2 of these generators from Home Depots during a recent emergency. First one: the fuel line connector was broken; the supplied oil container had been smashed and leaked all over the machine. We could not get it running. Clearly this was a case of damaged goods on the sales floor.
Second one: set up easily and operation was good, but the unit spewed oil all over the yard and the vibrations disconnected the electric shut off switch, so we had to choke off the gas to shut the machine down. The decibel levels are very high with this machine, but it operated as advertised giving us 12 hours of power on 4 gals of unleaded gas.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
DeerFeeder
from Northern NJ

incorrect info on-line & in store

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Both the in-store signage and the on-line description contain erroneous information. "and 1 – 120/240 Volt, 20A locking type outlet" is NOT correct. The outlet is a 120/240V 30A locking type outlet. (The outlet description in the SPEC tab is correct. That is the DESCRIPTION tab is not..)
If you buy a cord set or plug of the 20Amp type it will NOT fit the outlet.
I have not used the generator yet so will not comment on quality issues.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
MC10NorthJersey
from Bergen, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product was Great for My Power Needs

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product due to numerous power outages and I am very satisfied with it. It is a powerful little machine, that has handled my basic power needs during power outages.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
BIKER
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWESOME GENERATOR - I LOVE IT

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BIKER FROM N.H.
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
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
NJfam

so far so good

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this item after hurricane Irene (09-2011)...when our basement flooded due to power loss. So far the power has gone out once for 2hrs. We hooked it up and it did run out sump pump fine...and then our tv. ;)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,750-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine
PhilfromNJ

Easy setup - started right up

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Haven't had the chance to really test it heavily yet. Product was easy to assemble and started easily. Air filter cover was cracked during shipment, but HD promised to send a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.