728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine

5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine

The Husky 5000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs & Stratton Engine features 6250-watt peak and 5000-watt running power to suit your basic power needs. The 5-gallon fuel tank provides steady power for up to 10 hours at 50% load, and the automatic voltage regulation helps maintain steady power for sensitive electronics. This generator has a Briggs & Stratton OHV engine.
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product31 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(18)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product31 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
Review 1 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Tallassee, Alabama

Solid Work Horse

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this unit last year to use as back up power for the house and to power our camper when we found ourselves at parks without power. This thing does the trick. I have never had to pull it more than twice to crank it and she provides consistent power with little or no flucuation. Multiple outlets as well as the power cord provided will have you ready to go in no time. Just a little louder than I would like or I would have given 5 stars. We just got back from the races in Talledega and no one in the camp ground had a complaint. Portable and reliable. Definately worth the investiment.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Auburn, IN

Does the job

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this generator along with a transfer panel in anticipation of severe winter weather. I have six circuits connected; my furnace (gas, but electric blowers and controls), garage circuit (freezer, water heater controls, water softener, lights), microwave circuit, refrigerator circuit, living room circuit, and a circuit with some computer equipment. Our load runs about 1kW on each leg and this generator runs fine; the battery backup units on the computers don't complain like the did with other generators.
There are only two downsides to this unit that I have found so far. First, it is very loud, especially compared with more expensive units. Second, I wish the fuel tank were a bit larger. The manual advertises 10 hours at half load, but I'm seeing more like between six and eight before the gauge says it's getting empty or low enough to warrant a re-fuel. Perhaps the gauge is linear and the geometry of the tank isn't.
However, with those two issues aside, I have no complaints about this generator. I am, in fact, quite pleased with how well is works with my electronics, but I don't know if that luck would continue if I had a large loads cycling on and off or were running above 50%.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from HOUSTON,TX

kept me goin

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent for lights out ,no electricity.saved my food and was able to run refrigerator,small heater ,even a coffe pot to keep my family warm.i would recond every family try to have one.thanks.it is loud ,but does what it needs to.thanks,husky.3 year warranty ,still have as well any problems ever occur.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Grayslake, Il

Good generator

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our power was out for 6 days with this last storm.
Ran most of the house less AC.
Worked great with no problems.
Could use an hour meter.
Also gas line filter.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Connecticut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Generator!! Glad I bought This One!!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the only generators I found that had a 30amp outlet on it for the price. I have used it only a handful of time so far (especially after the October 30th snow storm) and was glad to have it! It starts up on the first or second pull every single time! The quality on this generator is excellent for the price!
Couple of cons:
* It is a bit on the loud side, but not too unreasonable (79 dcbls);
* It does not have a low oil shut off (which would be good to have);
* Although it does has a gas gauge built into the cap (which many do not!!) the gauge is not all that accurate -- not a hug deal though;
* There is also a center load-bearing leg that the generator rests on while in operation... I've noticed that it does get easily caught on things if you need to transport the unit, as I have done.
Bottom line: I am VERY happy with this generator and the quality of it. Great overall value and would buy one again, if I was in the market for another one. You should certainly consider this model when buying a generator.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Fair Lawn, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Power,What's not to like.

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
10/30/11 Power out,frozen snow on everything,broken trees,and oh yes- did i mention the power is out. Power
co. says maby three days till its restored. This generator
started second pull, ran well. Poof- The only house on the block with lights and heat. A little loud,but lights and heat ?
You will love it. Just dont by used !! And just make sure you FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS.......
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from North Brunswick
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Starts On First Pull, Even The Wife Can Start It.

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Generator. The Wife At 5`.5" Can Start It If She Puts Her Back Into It. Runs About 10 Hours On 5 Gallons Under Load. Wired Into The Main Breaker Panel With A Transfer Switch And A 40 Amp Breaker and can run a Lot off Of It. Used It During Huricane "Sandy" and powered Up The Furnace, Two Refrigerators, One Freezer, Some Lights, a Computer Tower, Several Chargers For Flashlights And Laptops and turning on lights from room to room. The Perfect Size If Your Not Thinking Of Putting Everything On At Once. Like The A/C And Her Hair Drier.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Derry, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product for the Price

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally had purchased one of these generators used from someone who bought it a year earlier from H.D. It had barely been used and so I bought a transfer switched and hooked up all critical things in my home, refrigerator, heat, a few lights, cable and tvs. We lost power from a freak snow storm in Oct for 5 days, I ran the generator 12-16 hours a day and decided to purchase a second one that I could swap out so I wasn't working the original one to death. It is a very inexpensive solution for a home in rural NH that loses power several times a year. I may even purchase one more as a secondary backup and to loan out in emergencies.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Bayville, NY

Irene powered

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Luckily I was able to pick up one of the last remaining generators at my local Home Depot in Jericho LI. This unit not only powered our home, but we were able to run a line to my neighbors house as well. It powered for 48hrs - 2 refrigerators, 2 sump pumps, 2 TV's, 1 small AC unit, on demand hot water heater, multiple lights in both houses. Out of the box, just filled with gas and started on the first pull. Unit prefilled with oil.
Living on the water can be tough with flooding and hurricanes, but this unit will certainly give me and my young family peace of mind if we ever need to use again. We have been in our home for 4yrs and we have had 2 flood events and 3 power outages so knowing this generator is in our toolbox is comforting.
I highly recommend this product.
Note: It is pretty loud - could use a dampening device or muffler.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from scottsville, ky

5000 generator

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
just purchased this generator for my pull behind camper, but will also use if the electric goes out this winter, got it out of box and assembled it in 5 minutes very easy already was full of oil put gas in and cranked on 3rd pull, plugged it into camper cut on the air, refridge, central heat, microwage and didnt even strain the motor, is a little loud but who cares if im using the gen in a campground that means that the season has already ended and everyone camping will have one
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine

More Than Enough Power

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The detail any consumer should ask is it the right size for me? But answering this question is hard. To make it easier, start with finding out what draws the most power. In my case it was my water pump 20A, then the next most important item was my furnace which only used a few amps. Knowing this information, I selected this unit. When I got it home this generator provided enough amps to run: 1. water pump, 2. furnace, 3. whole house lighting(not all at same time), 4. multiple TVs, 5. Microwave, 6. computers, 7. Garage door openers, plus as a bonus, I can use my Home Theater Projector and all electronic gear. It's amazing how much this unit can power. So think twice about buying a larger unit. Add up your amperage and be smart about what you turn on at the same time and you'll be surprised. BTW, my unit came with a 20' cord which I didn't see listed on the outside of the box.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Centreville, VA

30 amps at 220V! not 110V

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit to power my small RV type A/C on my work truck. I am aware that they can surge at 2-3 times the rated 20 Amps but I was very disappointed that this generator was not able to handle it on the lowest setting maintaing a constant draw (limited cycling). Though, I was connected to the "30 Amp" plug running at 110 VAC, the generator would run for about 3-15 minutes then the circuit protector would kick out.
Upon reviewing the generator's wiring diagrams, it appears that the "30 Amp" twist-lock plug is just tapping the two 15 Amp 110V circuits to create up to 220V. In other words, it can only provide the same 110V power as the standard Edison plugs beside the twist lock plug. I conclude that the less than clear rating really means that if you are running two 15 amp 110V loads, then you can get the whole 30 Amps!
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from middle of IOWA

5000 watt generator

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The first time i used it was during a rain storm the power went out and the basement started to flood. I protected the generator from the rain. And it started on the 2nd pull of the rope. it ran 2 sumps for 4 hr and only used 1.25 gal of gas didn't even raise the idle the only draw back was( its loud). Everybody in the neighbor hood will know its running -Still I'm very lucky to have it.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from NJ

Great Generator

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in NJ I bought this generator before hurricane Irene in 2011. I had a 6 circuit transfer switch installed which connects to forced air gas heat, 2 sump pumps, some lights and outlets on first and 2nd floors and 2 refrigerator/frezzers. I also run a power vent hot water heater and cable TV/Internet. This generator has gotten us through hurricane Irene, the 2011 pre-Halloween snowstorm and now hurricane Sandy running for 10 days. I fill the 5 gallon tank once in the morning and once before bed. Remember to change the oil after 50 hours of use as is recommended by the manufacturer. It holds approx. 28 oz of oil so stock up if you anticipate a long outage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Kansas

Great Deal

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought the generator for 415 dollers with tax, I was looking for a small affordable generator when I came across this one. It was a refurb, selling for 450 dollers. I use the credit line for Home Depot and got 25 dollers off and then used my military discount which brought it down to 415 dollers. It was kinda running funny at first, then when I got it home I cleaned what I think was a fuel regulator. It was full of black slug which was easily cleaned up (bad fuel in system). Now it starts up in 1 pull, but its kinda loud. But all i know is that when or if the power goes out from an ice storm, I will have enough power to run the fridge and many other appliances. I scored out big with this buy, Keep your eyes out for refurbs and you kinda need to be aliitle mechanically inclined.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine, easy to use and powerful. Great value

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this right before Irene, used it for 4 days to power certain items in my house (sump pump, fridge, tv, FiOS, etc.) No issues, easy to run, easy to maintain. I start it once every month or so, just to make sure it's in working condition. With Sandy approaching, I decided to connect this to my electrical panel in the house. It's powering my 4 bedroom, 2 bath house. The only thing we don't have on is our stove (220) just to make sure that we don't max out the generator. I lost power for 8 days, and this machine did a great job. It's loud, but most generators are anyway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

do not buy a briggs product

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this generator Nov of 2010 used it alot that winter at our cabin. Everytime I used it, I would check the oil. One day it stop running and I could not restart it because I could not pull the starter rope. (it was seized up)
I took it to an authorized Briggs dealer where they got it running and when it was running a rod exploded and went right through the block. Repair place called Briggs and they said that because there was metal to metal transfer on the rod it would not be covered under the warranty because I ran it out of oil. I will never buy another Briggs product again. Save your money, buy another unit without Briggs on the name
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Somers, NY 10598
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saved our life...during snow storm outage...

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this generator right after Hurricane Irene scare we had in NY. I assumed we are going to need it sooner or later... Turns out it was sooner.. It showed up 1 week before the worst snow storm encountered in the month of October in 100+ years... We lost power for more than 4 days in temperatures below freezing... It powered the 2 heaters and multiple lights and one TV...and VCR... or 1 heater and 1 refrigirator... It saved hundreds of dollars worth of food stored in my freezer... By that account i can say it paid for it self in one shot... This generator is easy to start- just make sure there is enough oil before you start it. Worked beautifully... Highly recommend it...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Bethesda, MD

A little noisy but did well

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this when a storm knocked out our power for many days in 2010. Very easy assembly, starting. It easily ran 2 fridge/freezers, a window air conditioner, several lights, fish tank filter and a a couple of fans. It was coasting so i invited the neighbor to load upl, and he connected 2 more fridge/freezers and some lights. We estimated peak average draw about 4+kW and peak starting load around 6kW. The unit was fine, used about a 1/2 tank over 5 hours until the fridges cooled then consumption dropped remarkably and we got about 8 hours for 1/2 tank. Only issue is it is noisy, strong exhaust noise, but also noise from engine itself is louder than it should be. It is ok behind a couple of layers of brick wall but will be obvious to neighbors in an urban environment that it is on.
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Briggs and Stratton Engine
from Mechanicsburg, PA

Lifesaver---or at least a back saver.....

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently had severe storms in our area and two possible tornadoes. Huddling in our basement, my family was fine, house was shaking, rain pounding....then the power went out (very rare in my neighborhood). Not a bid deal I thought until I checked on the sump pit. It was beginning to fill rather quickly--turns out the storm also dropped more than 3 inches of rain in an hour).
I grabbed a 5gallon bucket and started to empty it by hand. After an hour of bringing buckets up the stairs to empty, my back was aching and I knew that I could not do this all night. I called HD and they were open :) After nearly 45 minutes of driving (normal is 10 minutes max) to get to the store since roads were closed from fallen trees, I bought this generator!! Got it home, filled it up with oil and gas and it started on first pull. Ran cords to sump and refrigerator and cell phone charger. It was GREAT!!!!! The money spent on this generator was a lot less than the cost of trying to fix my finished basement! Power came on the next day after more rain and another round of severe weather.
The unit runs great, sips gas with the Subaru engine, and has plenty of power.
+1point
12out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>