728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)

Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)

The Hampton Bay Outdoor Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack) have rechargeable lithium batteries that are powered by the sun. Designed to provide a high light output, these bright lights have durable metal bodies that are treated with an ancient-copper finish. Their dual-mode brightness selector switches give you a choice of 2 run times, helping you selects a setting that's ideal for your home.
Overall rating:
1.952 / 5
2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product6 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(14)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product6 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
Review 1 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)

2 out of the 4 work.

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 out of the four work. those that work provide good light & are attractive. would not recommend.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Powell, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst lights ever

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My son-in-law purchased these lights for me and they worked one day, replaced all batteries which cost me $15, and the lights still dont come on....have triied to adjust settings, etc. Nothing. Dont waste your mioney.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: don't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Ocean Pines, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned twice

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased these (actually as a six pack for $59.99) Nice looking and worked for one night, then only one would stay light at all, so I returned them and got another set thinking maybe I just got a set jostled in shipment or something. The second set lasted for two nights, now they last maybe two hours after dark. I am now going to low voltage wired units for better reliability
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: will not stay lighted for more than 2 hours
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Texas

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These lights are so pretty...but they don't work very well. I bought a set that worked for 2 days. Then 2 of them quit working. I returned them and purchased another set. All 4 of them worked...but not for a long period of time. Two of them lit for about 45 minutes a day and the other 2 lit for about 2 hours a day. I returned those and bought a different style. I was very disappointed. These were "just what I was looking for".
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Alabama

Failing photocell

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product last summer (2009) August . Now less than a year later only 3 individual lights out of the total 12 I purchased still work. Ihave replaced the rechargeable batteries, and still nothing. The photo cell cap has come off the top, thus the whole circuit board has now failed. I would not recommend this to anyone who is looking for more than a few months of service. I am terribly disappointed with this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Tucson, AZ

They stopped working after a month

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two sets of 4 each, after one month, 4 stopped working. Thinking that it was the batteries, I special ordered 4 packs of batteries from HD, because NOBODY carries these batteries, including HD.
Batteries didn't fix the problem. Currently, I am trying to contact Hampton bay for replacement heads. I won't purchase another set of Hampton Bay lights- especially the ones with batteries that nobody sells.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These lights are AWFUL!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased these light and from day one they did not work correctly, so I thought that I would try new batteries...worked for two hours and now nothing..what a waste of money!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid This Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a similar experience. The lights starting going out 1 by 1 after the first week of use. It appeared to be the batteries were not charging correctly. I purchased new batteries and had the same experience after 1-2 days. Now all four lights are not working with new rechargeable batteries. This product is of very poor quality. I will not purchase another Hampton Bay Solar Lighting product.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bright white light

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to order fast delivery easy to use easy to maintain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the money

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and they give off lots of light. Great value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)

easy, bright, but not all worked

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These lights are easy to put together and much brighter than I thought they would be. We bought 3 boxes and out of the 12 lights only 7 work.
I would recommend trying to keep the box and receipt as my experience was that only a little over half of the lights worked properly.
I switched out the batteries with working lights thinking that the batteries may be dead, but that did not solve the problem.
I am hoping to be able to exchange the non-working lights for the same model, but tossed the receipt and boxes. So again, keep your receipt...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from PENNSYLVANIA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THESE ARE JUNK

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PURCHASED 32 OF THESE LIGHTS. WHAT A MISTAKE. NEVER BURN MORE THAN AN HOUR. FOUR ARE ALREADY BROKEN , JUST DON'T WORK. AT OVER $10 A PIECE THE LIGHTS ARE JUNK.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a set of these lights in January but by April only two still worked. The solar cells still charged the battery but the lights would not no longer come on when dark.
Very poor value and quality.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful but don't last

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought these lights less than a year ago and at that time we bought two 4 packs. Of the 8 lights 2 of them are already inoperable. We changed the battery but they still didn't work. We checked the wiring inside and tried to fix the weak connection but no good. I am very disappointed that these lights didn't last as long as cheap ones we bought at another store. Probably wouldn't buy Hampton Bay products again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)

nice looks short life

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These lights are very easy to install & lend a nice appearance to your home entry walk. But if they are not in direct sunlight the light battery will discharge quickly & not give the full 6 hours of light, in all day shade they light less than an hour.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: short light time without full day sun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)

Very Pretty!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure what everyone else is talking about; these lights are beautiful, bright, and stay on as long as they say. Very happy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Santa Fe

They look good and work well!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have three sets of these lights and they work better than any others we have bought. Don't understand the problems some people have had with them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Riverview, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very poor quality

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we bought these and after 4 mos they were not working. Called the company and they sent replacements.. they rusted out and broke off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not built to last

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these and as a 4-pack they seemed to be a good value for the price. They are twice the cost of the bottom end lights and I hoped they would last longer. After several months I found that one of the lights no longer worked. There was corrosion on the battery mount so the battery would no longer charge or power the LED's. The ultra cheap lights have lasted at least a year so the extra cost of these lights provided no extra benefit.
Worse is that when one light fails it is often not possible to find a single light to replace it and also the styles change so one cannot even buy a 2-pack but needs to buy an additional set of 4 lights.
It seems more prudent to buy twice as many as one needs of the cheapest lights one can find and use the extra lights as replacements. I hate the waste being created by this approach so it is not really a solution.
The ONLY plus is that these now use a lithium-ion battery instead of the usual NiCad batteries.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: short life, no replacement parts available
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Outdoor Brushed Ancient Copper Solar LED High-Output Lights (4-Pack)
from Nashville, TN, USA

Save your time & money low service quality. Overall rating is poor only because they did not have a lesser option.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 sets. Installed them, they were beautiful that & the next night. The next evening 5 of the 8 were not working. Able after much ado to get 2 of the 5 to function. Returned the remaining 3 which still would not work to the store for replacements as they were beautiful, just the look we wanted. That night 2 were still not working. Please understand we confirmed this was not due to location as we switched them around. Very disappointing. Save your time and money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>