728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Saf-T-Brace

Saf-T-Brace

This Westinghouse Lighting Saf-T-Brace allows you to safely install your ceiling fan or lighting fixture in three easy steps--without having to access attic space. Ideal for installation during new construction or remodeling, this mounting brace can be put into finished ceilings through a 4-in. hole. This brace works with all ceiling fans, so you do not have to worry about size or compatibility.The brace's three teeth easily twist and lock into the ceiling joists, its threaded multiple lead adjusts quickly, and its square tube allows for easy turning. For added ease, the electrical box can be positioned anywhere on the brace to fit your project needs. The brace works with existing ceiling joists between 16 and 24 in. wide.The Saf-T-Brace comes with everything you need for installation, including easy-to-follow instructions. It also includes a Saf-T-Cap to protect bolts and wires during drywall installation and painting.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Saf-T-Brace
Review 1 for Saf-T-Brace
ACSCarb
from Springville, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super easy to install

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the brace to install a chandelier that I purchased also from home depot. This made it very very east to do so. I didn't have to crawl into the attic or anything. Total time to run new wiring (from the previous light to the center of the room) and installation was under an hour and a half. When I install a light in the living room I'll definitely get another one of these!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Saf-T-Brace
RRMJ
from Trabuco Canyon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is the best fan box brace on the market!

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I install quite a few ceiling fans and heavy light fixtures. The Westinghouse brand is the only one I use. Other brands' expanding worm cam do not spin easily and use the ear tabs to support the weight. The Westinghouse spins freely and has machined threads for secure mounting. Trust me, use only these Westinghouse fan boxes.
Bob M.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saf-T-Brace
nszzya

Easily Modified for Smaller Joist Widths

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to use this with 12" on center joists. I modified it by removing the threaded square piece from the rectangular box piece and using a reciprocating saw to cut 4". I then replaced the square threaded piece. I also cut 4" from the threaded rod.
The only tricky part was removing the square threaded piece. To do this, I unscrewed the threaded rod nearly almost completely. I applied Vise Grip pliers to the threaded rod close to the square piece. Since I knew I'd be cutting this end off, I didn't care that the threads were marred. I then used a hammer to strike the pliers and remove the square piece.
Don't let joists less than 16" on center stop you from using this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Saf-T-Brace
CPR0099

Ceiling Fan Brace

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was all it could be for the job. The instructions were clear and the ease of installation was great. Since I had no access to the area above the ceiling I would definitely recommend this item.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Saf-T-Brace
Dcar0901
from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Does its job, but check distance between joists first

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this when I wanted to replace the light fixture in my bedroom with a fan. Despite our house being over 100 years old, and me not measuring the distance between the joists first, it fit just fine and holds the fan like a champ, as it's supposed to.
Surprisingly, it was a different story when my dad and I bought one in order to install a fan in our living room. We ran into the same problem as VTSpike- joists were too close together for the brace to fit properly (I didn't measure the distance between them because I assumed they'd be far enough apart)- but in our situation one of the joists happened to be right next to where the old fixture used to be, so I returned the brace my dad bought to the store and got a Saf-T-Pan pancake box. Problem solved.
Overall, I recommend this brace, but measure the distance between the joists of the room you plan to put it in first to ensure that they are far enough apart, especially if you live in an old house (a stud finder should help you accomplish this).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Saf-T-Brace
Boo24
from California, San Ramon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan Outlet

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy install, quality is good a little difficult to adjust so pre set the width before installing. Works well and will hold a 52 inch fan easily. electrical connections pre install as well. The less you have to do after install the better.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Saf-T-Brace
bear
from thornton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good brace easy to use

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the 3rd brace i bought it it reasonable and easy to use eliminates climbing in attic. Handles hunter fans weight just great, would buy again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Saf-T-Brace
DIYJ
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to install

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product gave me the exact tesults I was looking for.
A strong foundation to hold a kitchen flush cealing light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Saf-T-Brace
Ausgar5

Exactly as described!!!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't have asked for a better product. Allows you to install a ceiling fan anywhere in your house!
Pros: Well Made, Fast / Speed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saf-T-Brace
Frank
from AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides Peace of Mind

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed a way to mount a unique ceiling fan that weighs over 50lbs without being able to access the attic above the installation site. This product does the trick.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saf-T-Brace
Chris
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great idea

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
perfect to use when you don't have access to the attic.
I used this for our outdoor patio fan and it saved me from cutting open an access area. 5 stars!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saf-T-Brace
PatG
from Clifton Park
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Perfect for not only hanging ceiling fans, but I used it to replace my old 8 inch square recessed lights. Enabled me to remove and replace the fixtures without going into the attic.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saf-T-Brace
Tim22
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Worth the price

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This brace is definitely more expensive than your cheap fan brace, but is totally worth cost. It's sturdy and easy to install!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Saf-T-Brace
VTSpike

Doesn't fit my ceiling

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for my house that is over 100 years old. Wanted to replace my old light fixture with a fan. Knob and tube wiring the whole works. But upon taking down the old light fixture I only had 2 wires poking through the ceiling. No box at all. Hence me picking up this little gadget. I get it home and ready to install. Upon putting it though the whole in my ceiling I realize I can not get it to level out. Turns out my ceiling joists are 13 inches apart and this is made for at least 15 inches of space. No way it is ever going to work. I didn't realize this until reading the fine print on the box. I had thought it was a universal device. I will be returning it and hopefully coming across a different solution other than tearing up all my blown insulation in the attic.
-23points
0out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saf-T-Brace
OldMint
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A definite go-to for my next projects

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product when I wanted to install a ceiling fan in our living room. The hardest part (and the messiest) was literally cutting the hole into the ceiling. I propose you do that before you go to the hardware store to figure out whether or not you have a beam right next to your hole.
The brace itself is easy to assemble: Just slide the brace through the hole, place it in between the beams and screw it in, mount the electrical box and you're done. The electrical box does not have to be centered on the brace which makes it so much easier to just drill where ever you need it without figuring out where the middle between two beams would be.
After the installation I pulled the brace with about half of my body weight and it did not move - i was impressed.
Now, about 6 months after purchase I am still as pleased as I could possibly be.
I definitely recommend this product for pro's as well as DIY-newbies. Quality, Ease of Installation and Price just leave nothing to ask for.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Saf-T-Brace
ckhof
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for our house

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in a restored home built in 1771. The ceiling joists are not 16 on center. We were able to make them work with some adjustments, but overall it wasn't as easy as we thought it would be. Good concept and would work great if our house had newer construction.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Saf-T-Brace
hazmat1212
from woodruff SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

installed FOUR with great results

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased 4 in store and installed to hang 4 new ceiling fans in 12 year old home with attic access.
Successful project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Saf-T-Brace
Bogger
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A bit difficult to alIgn screws

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product meets a need for installation from below the ceiling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Saf-T-Brace
tb70
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install in retrofit application. Holds fan securely.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install in retrofit application. Holds fan securely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Saf-T-Brace
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product