728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers & Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

Made from heavy-duty stainless steel, the GE 4 ft. Stainless-Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack) have a protective polymer coating for added strength and durability. The 4 ft. length suits most laundry setups, and the hoses fit most standard washers. The burst-resistant design ensures long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product31 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product31 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE braided washing machine hoses

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EZ installation high quality . Adaptable to all configurations. Look much better than plain rubber hoses they replaced even though you don't really see them! They give me an added level of confidence against bursting or leaks. Only thing is if your going to be using them with brass fixture,use Teflon pipe tape for the dissimilar metals
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Possom Hollow, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

4 FT. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These replaced old rubber hoses on my washer. I an 72 years old and will probably be dead before these hoses wear out.
Pros: High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Miami, FL
Gender:Male

A Good Hose

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The hose is substantial, the couplings good plated brass, they pass water at the same rate as a standard rubber hose. There are no inlet screens provided if that is an issue, nor elbow adapters. They are a little stiff but take a reasonable turn well enough; probably not a good idea to kink them. If your old 4 foot rubber hose just barely stretches to the machine, these might be too stiff to stretch. if you need a right angle adapter, HD lists Model # LFA-686, Store SKU # 80401. But I don't imagine they will ever burst and that is the most important thing. Since the couplings are chrome plated you will have to use teflon tape if you have a brass water fixture.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

poor quality short life

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Found out the hard way just how poor of quality this product is. Purchased because of the brand (GE) and felt confident that price would be a indicator of the quality. Not so, a month after installation my client calls to inform me her laundry room is flooded. After closer inspection we come to find out the hose has a vinyl cover over the braided stainless hose that is prone to failure. This cover seams a good idea when looking at the product at first glance but in time the vinyl is actually in the crimped end connector and the culprit that causes the hose end to fill the vinyl jacket and eventually burst. Stay away from this one is my end recommendation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

You need to use stainless steel

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The protective coating was what drew me to this product. Every little bit helps in my mind. I remember years ago I had a rubber hose burst on my washing machine. Since then I have always used a stainless steel hose to mitigate that problem.
I am 100% confident that this hose will protect me from flooding in my basement. Crew who installed this for me said they put in hundreds of these a month and they are not aware of any problems from the hose!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A steel braided, exterior coated hose is an excellent product for the washer hose application. This product will serve me well and minimize the possibility of a hose failure. Liking it!
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Klamath Falls, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
New washer, so needed new hoses. These are a step up from the typical hoses. They are covered with a nice clear rubber so there won't be any marking of the new machine. They look really nice with the stainless steel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Columbia, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't use with CPVC Supply Faucets

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These hoses appear to be well made and reinforced to reduce the chance of bursting. However, they simply don't mate properly with CPVC supply faucets/valves and cannot be tightened enough to prevent significant leaking. May work better with brass or other materials. Returning them and searching for an alternate hose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: not for cpvc
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Southern New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product at great price.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Same hoses were listed elsewhere for over 50% more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This set was easy to install on my washing machine and are holding up very well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Universal Washer Hose -Stainless Steel

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unless you like a rubber washer hose busting on you because of the pressure brought on by water, I would recommend replacing your hose that came with the Washer with stainless steel washer hoses. Added security.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Houston, tX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not used yet

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not used yet; no screens in washers. do I need? Will be installed in about ten days.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: need washer screens?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good, strong pressure hose

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
What's to say except that it does what it's supposed to do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best hoses

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would only use GE products on my washer, never worry about flooding.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Nashville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Hoses

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great long lasting hoses for your washing machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

Hose Fail Beware

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these hoses and hook them up to my washer machine and tested the hoses. Everything work find. The next day my wife did a load of laundry and I went down stairs to check on the hoses and thank God I did , the hose fail water was pouring from the coupling end to the washer machine. After two hours of mopping up water I will never buy GE China Hoses from Home Depot.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong stainless features provide extra durability

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have not yet installed but firmly believe these hoses will be durable and stylish and provide many years of reliable service.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from ny,ny

Poor Quality

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose are very rigid and difficult to work with.
The length (four feet may be to short for many applications.
Lacks 90 degree elbow connection need to move machine close to back wall.
They lack the proper washers in the end pieces so they leak even if over tightened.
If you soak them in hot water before installing, they are a little easier to use.
best off buying just a standard stainless steel braided washing machine hose.
+22points
36out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Chareleston, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Better than rubber hoses but not the best steel braded hoses.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These hoses are slightly better than rubber hoses BUT not the best steel braded hoses on the market for the price. I am disappointed you MUST purchase hoses with an installed washing machine. The hoses I replaced (better quality steel braded ones) were only a few years old, still under warranty, but had to be replaced with these inferior hoses if I wanted my washer delivered and installed by HD. VERY SAD!!!!
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. Stainless Steel Universal Washer Hoses (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Brooksville, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great Buy

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Universal hoses. Worth the price when your not at the residences all the time. Gives piece of mind when your back north. Stainless is always better than the black rubber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>