728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line

6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line

The GE SmartConnect Universal Icemaker Water Supply Line is an innovative plastic connection system. It connects icemaker/water-model refrigerators to home water supply. The tubing is NSF certified.
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
Review 1 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from St. Augustine, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick. Easy. Inexpensive.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is about as simple as can be. One hose easily connects in seconds. I spent more time looking for the two 1/2" wrenches needed for the installation than I spent in the actual installation Itself.
I was concerned that the 6' length might not be enough for me to move the refrigerator to facilitate cleaning the floor. Not only is it long enough to move the refrigerator completely off its normal footprint, but it's short enough so the hose doesn't touch the floor and get in the way of cleaning ops.
I highly recommend flushing at least a couple gallons of water through your refrigerator's water dispenser immediately after completing the installation. It's the wise thing to do. This water hose is the same material as the water hose installed inside the refrigerator itself, so I don't quite understand how it can adversely affect taste as much as indicated in one of the reviews I've read. Indeed virtually all modern plumbing materials are manufactured out of some form of plastic or other.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, fairly priced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Florence, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did the job

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This hose was easy to install and, as stated by other reviewers, does not make our water taste bad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Fontana, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid purchase

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple and straight forward, fit perfectly. No more copper tubing and hassles for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line

Not so universal!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Wouldn't connect to my water valve. Had to get creative with plumbers tape!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from parker, co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy way to connect my refrigerator to the water line I had available

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy way to connect my refrigerator to the water line I had available
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Tempe, AZ

piece of cake

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ever run an icemaker line with copper? Hard to work with and you have to worry about kinks. Then there's that little ring thing that has to be in just the right place. This item is just the right thing for anyone from the pro to the novice. All you need is a wrench (and a utility knife if you need to place an in-line filter.) Both ends have a conical shape that replaces the ring and as long as you snug it down tight, you are set.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Connect

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hooked up the refrigerator very quickly without any leaks.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Old Bridge, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than compression fitting

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Made the job a lot quicker, no leaks or time waste dealing with compression fittings. All-in-one is perfect for those not so handy (or patient) people like me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Plumbing items

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
excellant product for the price and easy to install
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Nashville
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a hose!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The hose was easy to install. The hose naturally coils which makes it easy to tuck behind the refrigerator. Overpriced for a small hose!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line

works great.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a life saver. Easy to install. Cheaper than a plumber. Thank you Home Depot!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was easy to install but due to being large we had to create a slightly larger hole in the floor to run the line.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line

Better than the mesh hose

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
From the beginning the hose looks cheap and simple, but after putting it on I pushed the refrigerator to the wall and the natural coil of the hose coiled to the wall and off the floor. This one is replacing a wire mesh hose that was about six feet long with an anti-leak device that broke during a move.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Meridianville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install and low cost!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this because I didn’t want to spend the extra money on a copper water line. The item was easy to install with an adjustable wrench and a performed as designed with no leaks. The line seems to be constructed of a very durable material and I have no worries about it leaking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line

easy to use

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Rancho Cordova, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good and inexpensive product!!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product was quick and easy to install, took me all of maybe two minutes, make the connection, tighten fittings and boom good to go!! Easy peasy! =)
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water/ice tastes like plastic or ? after 6 weeks of use

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was easy to install, but after using it for a few days my ice tasted like it was contamidated with some kind of plastic. After six weeks, a little better but ice still had a horrible taste.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: horrible tast, contaminates ice and water
0points
12out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
from Kissimmee, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right On!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tubing is a perfect replacement for my broken ice maker tubing behind my refrigerator. The tubing has flanged ends so there is no need to use the ferrule. Easy to install and is made of good quality.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Able to do exactly what I needed it to do.. It was very easy to install and it was a perfect fit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. SmartConnect Universal Ice Maker Water Supply Line
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was exactly what we were looking for, as well as affordable.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>