728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

The Homelite 20 in. electric walk-behind mower features a 12 Amp zone start and a 3-in-1 side discharge that also functions as a bagger and provides mulching capability for your convenience. The cutting height can be adjusted between 1-1/2 in. and 4 in. using the single-lever control for a customizable mowing process.
Overall rating:
3.826 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product102 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(39)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product102 of 131reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Bellport, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed after not even one summer

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower in March, and initially I thought this was a good purchase. The mower did a decent job, felt sturdy and I liked the mulching feature. However, the mower didn't even survive the first 6 month of use (white smoke coming out underneath the mower); I used it for about an hour every week.
The ordeal continued when I wanted to get the mower fixed: the mower came with insructions not to return it to the store but to call a number which, when I called, was not in use anymore.
I would like to thank Home Depot for their brilliant customer service; they took the mower back without any problems.
I can only recommend not to buy this mower; however, I can definitely recommend Home Depot - at least one positive outcome of this.
Pros: Cuts Well, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from College Park, Maryland

Good until it isn't

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works fine for small lawns, easy to use - until it stops. Mine quit after about two months - no more than half a dozen uses for about an hour each time. According to the manual it is likely a defective motor control switch, but finding someone to service this mower has been difficult - service centers are few and far between. The Homelite website is problematic - looking for a local service center, I typed in my address, which it can't find (not even by just putting in the city). This may eventually be an easy fix, but the combination of it failing so soon after purchasing and the difficulty in getting it fixed has made me regret the purchase.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Summerville, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An Amazing Mower and Mulcher!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 20" electric with the mulching feature and I am thrilled with this mower. Simple and easy to use, Not too heavy or too loud and does the job remarkably well as comparable to a gas mower. I've had it about two years and not a second's worth of trouble. My lawn looks like soft velvet after a cutting as the cut is very uniform and smooth. I've always owned electric mowers and this is by far the best! Also, love the mulching feature. No heavy bag to lift or empty and the grass loves the additional organic matter which breaks down into a natural fertilizer. Highly recommend.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Katy, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I LOVE THIS MOWER

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was dreading getting a new lawnmower, but I started doing my research, reading reviews, and made the decision to go electric. I'm OLD, so I've been mowing for a long time and just laughed when I came across the electric mower, but as I read more and more about it, I couldn't help but be intrigued and then I was hooked. I purchased online and picked it up in the store... SO EASY! Then it got even easier when I got it out of the box and put it together in about 30 mins (by myself). I read reviews that you had to clear your yard of any sticks, hard dog poo, and tall weeds prior to mowing. They also tell you you can't mow wet grass. So I looked at my yard that hadn't been mowed in 3 weeks, weeds were 2-3 ft tall, and the grass was wet, but the time for me to mow was NOW, not when everything is perfect. I didn't follow any of the recommendations to clear the yard, or the weeds and decided to just go for it to see how tough this little mower was. I WAS BLOWN AWAY!! It performed better than my gas powered mower. I love, love, love this light weight, electric powered mower!!!! Some people complained about the electric cord, but I gotta say, if you know how to vacuum then you know how to mow the lawn with a cord. The best tip I read about the cord was to wrap it around the handle and let it out as you need it (just like I do on my vacuum cleaner). If ya need a break, just let go of the handle, do what you gotta do, then press the handle and it turns right back on. No more trips to the gas station, no more mixing oil and gas, no more fumes, no more priming the pump and best of all, no more pulling that stubborn cord to crank up the mower! Being a female, all of the above are big inconveniences for me! The 20" blades cover a good amount of lawn so I was able to finish in the same time I did with my old gas mower. I have told all my friends about this new little eco-friendly, well built mower. It's competitively priced with the gas mowers, but it will save me so much more over the years as gas prices near $4 a gallon! I would definitely recommend you at least check this one out if you are in the market for a mower.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Cedar City, UT

Good mower for average size yards.

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this mower because I wanted an economical and simple mower for a small-average size back yard. After one season of use I am very pleased with it. Plenty of power for your average yard - even when you let the grass get too high. The cord takes a couple times to get used to then it just becomes second nature to keep it out of the way. Its very easy to adjust the level of cut - one adjustment for all four wheels. Some of the pics on the HD website show the older model - the new model has the large yellow bar that runs across the entire handle that makes it easy for starting and stopping. The fact that it includes a bag is great and its easy to take on and off. The handle also collapses easy for better storage.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Ack, died in less than one year!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So frustrating, bought this last year and since I only mow once a week for maybe 5 months out of the year, you would think this would last! Just a couple mowings in this season and the darn motor went up in a puff of smoke. Now I have to buy a new one...AGAIN! Very frustrating. Its the 2nd Homelite I've owned, never again.
Cons: Not Durable
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from San Angelo, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'd buy it again.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off I'd have to say that the Homelite is really kind of homeheavy. I was surprised at how much it weighed in the box. On the other hand it pushed pretty easy (great wheels?). The electric cord takes some getting used to (my first electric). I hit some damp grass on that first cutting & heards the engine change pitch but it didn't bog down. It ran like a champ. I did notice that some of the taller stalks of grass weren't sucked into the mower like a gas mower would do (not enough suction I guess) & because of that expected that leaves wouldn't be sucked up. I was wrong, because it's great on leaves. Overall I would have to grade this mower as a 9.7 out of 10. I'm VERY pleased with it. (The electric cord is a little problem & a learning experience but so was running & buying gas for the old gas mower).Also I LOVE holding the handle down & starting it rather than cranking like I used to (Nice if your old or have had a heart attack..that's me on both counts). Lastly it does the best job on my yard that I have ever seen, which I didn't expect. (I thought that all mowers did about the same job on a lawn). As a matter of fact I'll say it again. It does the best job on my yard that I have ever seen!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Cental Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned my Homelite 20" mower for four years. I live in Florida with thick St. Augustine grass and it had no problem plowing thru it all. I use a 12 gauge extension cord. I abused my mower and left it in the backyard in the rain and it still kept kicking. Lawn services in this area run about $80 to $90 a month so the lawn mower has paid for itself many times over. No smelly, dangerous gas cans in the garage. I hit a metal yard ornament in the yard. It managed to mow the yard one more time before giving out.The mower finally moved on to the yard shed in the sky. I am on line to check the local store inventory to buy another one.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Cumming, GA

Love this mower

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the mower after reading the other reviews. I unloaded and assembled it quickly. My grass/weeds were about 7-8 inches high in places and the mower chewed them up like a champ. It was as powerful as my gas mower in the same situation.The mower is so much lighter than my old gas one that I had no trouble with the cord. I think this is a great mower for women since we are already accustomed to watching cords with our vacuums. Since I am now in my mid sixties, cranking the gas mower had become a real issue. I really love my corded Homelite mower.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this mower

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is an answer to my lawn care issues. Love that it cuts all the way down and do not have to mow the lawn for another couple of weeks. The mulching bag is a lovely bonus. My only gripe is having to maneuver the power cord while cutting but for the results I am getting that's just a minor inconvenience.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: cutting around the power extension cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Santa Cruz, CA

Not great, but not horrible

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Most importantly, the bagging of clippings just doesn't work. I think this is more due to the opening being too small, I keep thinking if it was a bit wider then it wouldn't clog up so much. But it could also be a power issue, more horsepower means more pressure.
My Yard Machines gas-powered broke down, and in dealing with the greasy mess, I decided to go electric. Yes, there are trade-offs.
This is basically an underpowered, small lawnmower with rather flimsy suspension. I've used probably 12 or more lawn mowers in my life. This one basically is ranked near the bottom of them. But at the end of the day, it's still a lawn mower, yes? If you have a pristine little lawn, it's a no-brainer, you'll be fine. If you have a bit of a jungle with heavy weeds and an uneven surface, it just means it's going to take a bit longer. It will still cut the grass.
The cord is no problem, I just loop it over a shoulder, hardly a nuisance. The clippings bag is the only genuine nuisance, probably best to just use the mulch option, but I like to try to catch as many clippings as possible.
But even with the rinky suspension and all, it should last quite a long time, and without a garage or the ability to do things like oil changes, this will turn out for the best.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Georgia

Fabulous and I consider it lite

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 45 year old heart patient who mows her own yard. I have a pacemaker and was always worried about the engine. Now I don't have to worry about that. I had a gas mower and between the difficulties of pulling the rope all the time and the weight and running to get gas it was tiring. One day I had a problem with the old mower and went and got this one. I was able to mow with one hand and work the cord with the other. It was quite easy. Also the old mower would put "digs" into my yard where the dirt is unever, (the old owner of my home wasn't much of a gardner) this one is so lite it went over the areas without killing the grass . I LOVE IT. Now I think I can get my daughter to mow the grass too because it is light.
Summary: Easy to push, easy to assemble and mowes very well.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Sun Valley, Los Angeles, CA 91352, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little electric mower

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've never had to mow a lawn before in my life. I found this mower very easy to use and had no trouble using it to mow my front and side yards. My yards are mostly rock and the "grass" is mostly weeds - some with pretty tough fiberous stalks. This mower had no trouble cutting the weeds down to about 3 inches, never bogged down, and pretty much kept humming along. The grass catcher was easy to handle and only had to be emptied twice for the whole job. Since it's electric, it's relatively quiet. The handle to turn it on and keep it running is pretty ergonomic and my hand wasn't tired when I was done. It feels pretty sturdy and like a piece of equipment that should last a while. I'd buy this mower again.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Lyle, WA

Great electric mower

PostedJune 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mower to mow down a large weeded area. Some of the weeds were sagebrush with thick stems. This mower worked great! Powerful, lightweight, and the height is easily adjustable. The cords stays plugged in, you don't have to grip hard at all to keep the mower engaged, and the handle is padded for a more comfortable grip. Best electric mower I have tried. Very happy with this purchase.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Hawthorne, NJ

Easy to use.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 60+ years old and had problems pulling the cord on my old gas mower. This electric mower is easy to start, and easy to use! I use it as a mulcher and keep the grass long. Mulches well, better than my old mower. Easy to adjust blade height. So far all is working well.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

great durability

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it worked perfectly out of the box just bought this mower today i upgraded from a gas mower to this homelite model and absolutly love how easy to use it is only problem is the handle is too tall for my rubbermaid shed i dont have a garage so i use a rubbermaid shed and i have to unscrew the handle off everytime but other then that 5/5 stars love it!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Roselle, NJ

Hooked on Homelite

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I want to be honest never heard of Homelite but my budget did not give me too much of a choice. It took me less than 15 mins to get ready out of the box. I could tell from the handle it feels like a well built machine. Suggest you set at the highest setting and work down when mowing. Very quiet and it does the job without stalling. The one flaw is when emptying out the bag the shavings clog at the opening because of the amount of shavings coming out at one time. Well worth the money as by previous was a BD but it did not have the bag. As for the cord I just lay it across the handle so I know where it is at all times.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Appalachia, Va

Excellent equipment and value!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had thought of getting an electric mower in the past and when my gas mower started experiencing new problems after an 85.00 repair, I took the plunge. I did not know anything about them and knew from past experience that Homelite had pretty good equipment. I knew that I wanted a mower with a cord because I did not want to mess with a battery and any possible complications from that. I paid 199.00 for my mower and the closest gasoline mower that was comparable was 140.00. The price difference did not bother me because I knew that gas prices would continue to rise and the engine repair guy told me that ethanol was the worst thing you could put in a gas mower (85.00 repair bill). I was a little dissapointed when it arrived because the left front tire was split and off of the wheel. I called the company and they told me it would be a week or two. I did not want to wait that long so I applied some duct tape and started mowing. Nice and quiet. I can carry on a conversation with it running if I needed to. Oh yeah, I don't need to, all I have to do is let go of the control and the engine stops. To restart all I do is hold the control back down. No more yanking on that stupid rope. The extension cord only adds about 10-15 minutes to my mowing time and I already have an electric hedge trimmer and weed eater. I don't know why I waited so long to get one. It does everything that my old gas mower could do and does it quiter, cheaper, and doesnt smell of gas. I love it. Now I just have to see how durable it is. Time will tell.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Des Plaines, IL

Good Mower Poor Craftsminship

PostedMay 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this after returning a reel mower. Putting it together was easy but as I was mowing it kept getting bogged into the grass even at its high setting. Then I noticed one of the screws that hold the height lever snapped off. Luckley I had one just that size to replace it otherwise Id be sending the hole thing back. In all it did a much better job at cutting my grass then that reel mower which left my yard a mess, the cord can be trickey to not runover but the quick shut off helps when having to move it. In all Im pleased with it and hope it lasts a long time.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Much better than a gas mower.

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my gas mower broke for the 3rd time!! I decided it was time for something new so i went electric. I was skeptical at first as to how well it would perform but it is exceeded my exceptions on first use my grass was long and wet and the mower did great.
I have used it a few times and it works great its light and folds up so i can put in my laundry room which is nice.
The only cons i see are that you have to buy an extension which i needed a 100 ft which was like 30 bucks. And that the grass catcher is small and you have to empty it often.
I wish i got this sooner it would have saved me alot of hassle.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: have to buy a cord, small catcher bag
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>