728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

The Homelite 20 in. electric walk-behind mower features a 12 Amp zone start and a 3-in-1 side discharge that also functions as a bagger and provides mulching capability for your convenience. The cutting height can be adjusted between 1-1/2 in. and 4 in. using the single-lever control for a customizable mowing process.
Overall rating:
3.826 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product102 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(39)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product102 of 131reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Review 41 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from West Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than worth the price.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
By far the best electric mower I have ever had. Light weight, very durable. Easy to push. Excellent construction. Cuts through weeds and 12 inch grass like a dream. My lawn ranges from flat to a rolling half acre. I'm 65 and have no trouble mowing my lawn. I love my Homelite mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, easy to put together. 10 minutes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the lawn mower

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 1st Homelite lawn mower worked great. I use the bagger alot (for the grass and leaves )and never had a problem with the performance of the lawn mower until I HIT a metal object in my yard. It worked for a while but it had to be replaced. Purchased another lawn mower 2yrs ago with no problems. My only complaint - the bagger riped, and now I have to replace it. Overall, love the features and performance of the Homelite Lawn Mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
Cons: bagger- poor quality material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money !!!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower just under a year ago. It has been a struggle to use since new. I live in S.W. Florida, where during the "wet" season, most yards need to be cut about every five days. Initially the mower worked, but you could tell it didn't have much power. It's ability to mulch worked part of the time - if it mowed a mixture of thick grass, weeds, and patches of dead grass. If you have "thick" turf, don't bother purchasing. The grass catcher is useless. The side discharge plugs frequently. The motor has burnt up after eleven months of use. I've mowed yards for over thirty years, and know how to maintain my equipment. Again, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY !!!
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, under powered !!!, design flaws for proper grass discharge
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Northern VA

Very pleased

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this mower. I wanted electric, but the battery run ones appeared too heavy. I expected (or hoped) that using this would be similar to my vacuum (as far as the cord goes). It is not far from that experience. As long as you keep your eyes on the cord, the mow is great. It is quite, easy enough to push but still gives a workout. I live on 1/4 acre on a hill, so I work up a good sweat.
I've used it on wet(ish) grass and it performed great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy this .

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me say I do like Homelite brand. Right away on first use, I said to myself , the safety start lever (yellow lever) for starting mower was really cheap plastic. Sure enough , few months later it broke in half. Now I can barely get this thing going. Hello Homelite , if you are reading this, it seems I am smarter than your mechanical designers (and I am not that bright ) I knew immediately , even before first use, that this was probably going to be a problem and your guys didn't or just don't care about it lasting ?? No I think they are just stupid . Last Homelite product I will buy. Cheap parts.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent corded mower

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After using corded electric mowers for years, I gave up on the clunky drag bags for clippings and just mulched what I could and watched as pieces of pine cones jumped everywhere. The Homelite mower has a very easy to remove and replace clipping container. You can remove it with one hand but it does take a second hand to open the outlet when putting it back. It looks good and handles well. And no gas, oil or failure to start up. It stops the blade in less than a second when releasing the handle. The cord grip isn't too convenient or effective. I just loop the cord once around the handle and then plug it in.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice, Quiet, Dependable Mower

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the mower. It is quiet and easy to move around my yard. I received right on time and have put it to good use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

Happy Husband

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mower for my husband to replace our Toro mower that was stolen this year. It has been a big adjustment going from a self propelled gas mower to a push mower with a cord. He avoids the cord problem by tossing it over his shoulder so he doesn't run over it. He likes not breathing gas and oil fumes like with a gas mower and how quiet the electric mower is. He's happy so far and the sale price was unbeatable.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a GREAT deal

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this machine on a close out deal for USD 99. Perfect for our small yard along with the other little electric (his & hers) we have. Happy customer here, easy assembly and it has enough features to please and is a good strong cutter.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

So far worth it

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first purchase and decided to go with electric as messing with gas engines and winterizing and stuff would have been a hassle.
It does the job for me. Going for Homelite all the way with electric tree pruner chainsaw, 2-in-1 blower, edger.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from McLean, VA, USA

One rock and the motor broke

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After two years, the mower went over a large rock (1-2"). Of course the blade was damaged but the mower started vibrating strangely, just a little, so I investigated. The bottom of the motor has a very weak open mount holding the lower motor bearing. The mount had cracked in four places, and when I examined it the motor stator fell down. It is repairable if the part was available, but the repair cost would be more than the mower. Also, the mulching feature only works if the grass is totally dry and not too long, and it often crushes down and misses a line of grass because of weak suction. Other than that, it is ok for a 1,000 sq. ft. yard like mine. Treat it really well and be prepared to replace it all when you would only expect to replace a blade.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Franklin, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no gas - great value

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a light and gas free mower. This one was great. It's tricky to get used to using a cord outside, but vacuums are the same way. Once I mowed for about 5 minutes, it was easy. The height adjustment feature makes it a breeze to crop your yard the way you want. The mulch feature makes it easy to go over leaves if you don't feel like raking either. Two thumbs up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight, no gas!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Rio Vista, California

Graet Mower for the price

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower performs well and it gives you four ways to expell the clippings(side discharge, side bag, rear bag and mulch option). The mower is perfect for small to medium lawns. I am very impressed with the ease of operation.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Costa Mesa, CA

Satisfied with Purchase

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was using my Father-in-laws Craftsman 6.5 HP gas mower was was never pleased with it. The mower was heavy, unwieldy, choked on grass higher than four inches, and was simply messy to use. I was considering purchasing another gas mower but thought I'd give a corded electric mower a try as all my other garden equipment (weed eater, hedge trimmer, chainsaw) is corded. Unfortunately, the B&D corded mower was not available at my local Home Depot so, after some discussions and advice from "Mark" (at the Santa Ana, CA store), I selected this model.
I was pleased with how easy it was to step. It's light weight and simple to use. The directions were straight forward and presumed you could read (as opposed to Ikea's). My lawn is a combination of Bermuda and St. Augustine and I've not mowed for several weeks so, in keeping with Mark's advice, I started with the highest setting and worked my way down, eventually getting the lawn down to an acceptable height. I really appreciate the light weigh and ease of use, particularly after manhandling the 90lbs Craftsman around.
My lawn is about 1,500 sq ft and I've only used the mower once (this afternoon). Will update my post again after I've had some additional time with the mower. Quite pleased with my purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Abilene, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy out of the box use

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
gave this to my daughter in Austin, Tx. She said it was so easy out of the box to use. She has a small yard and the electric mower just plug and mow, no oil or gas to check and add.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great at first, battery doesn't last

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first summer I used this mower it worked great. I loved the thing. It had a bit of trouble getting through longer grass, but I expected that given it was battery powered. I got the mower late in the season so it got limited use. Season two I used it a few times but accidentally plugged it in too long and returned to a dead, unchargable battery. I read now this is a common problem. I purchased a new battery and a Belkin power timer that would limit charge time to three hours. Now, despite using this timer, we are at the beginning of season three and the battery is dead AGAIN.
THIS MOWER IS A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: terrible battery life
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Recommended

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I like the mower itself, it's only good if it is working. Have bought it 3 times in 3 years, last year only cost me like $99 bux so I was ok with it. I really hate the noice of a gas powered mower and having to make sure I have gas on hand and smelling like gas when done. This is why I have re-purchased -- NO MORE -- Battery lasts less than one year, by the way, it was stored indoors over the Winter! Furthermore, on my original mower I ordered a replacement battery from a company Homelite website routed me to and when the battery came, it was wrong battery and they had a zero return policy!
Cons: cannot buy parts, battery lasts less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from NYC

great bang for the buck

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
-pricewise great bang for the buck
-no messy gasoline issues
-simple assembly
-nifty power switch handle thingy
-very effective cutting
-mulch mode works well
Cons:
-not cordless (but not as expensive as cordless)
-sometimes still have to go over same area twice, but not very often
-little on the heavy side
-possible problems with grass catcher bag inlet / mower outlet, which is not a problem if you are mulching but might be a problem otherwise - check the other reviews which address this issue
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MOWER FOR THE BELOW TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR CATEGORY.
I am a first-time mower. Wanted something on the cheaper side but not something that doesn't perform. Looked at the B&D mower that is similarly priced, but in the end went with this one due to 1) higher max cutting height and 2) better online reviews. Assembly took 5 minutes. I decided to mulch so no need for the grass catcher bag although it looks okay - keep in mind another reviewer mentioned problems with the small outlet size so I don't know if the grass catcher would work well, however since I mulched it didn't matter. Mower is heavier than I would like liked but again, the lighter-weight competitor didn't get as good reviews so I'm willing to deal with it. Not to say it's heavy - I could still lift it out of the box myself and I am not a super strong person. Was surprised at how effectively it cut the grass, especially at lower cut height setting. Quieter than I imagined. I would recommend. Will update in a few months if anything changes, since this review is written after the first mow (which went well).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Crystal River, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is everything I expected and more.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together and operate. Works well. I use to mow around house then mow rest with the tractor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Right tool for mini lawn

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does the job. Best to lay out cord first. Works well on long, skinny 3-pass strip where rider can't go.
Pros: Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>