728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

The Homelite 20 in. electric walk-behind mower features a 12 Amp zone start and a 3-in-1 side discharge that also functions as a bagger and provides mulching capability for your convenience. The cutting height can be adjusted between 1-1/2 in. and 4 in. using the single-lever control for a customizable mowing process.
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product101 of 130reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(39)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product101 of 130reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Review 41 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
MowerMan

Nice little mower

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros:
* Cheap
* Three minutes to assemble - without any tools
* Grass collection bag works nicely
* Quiet
* Packaged nicely
* Not a petrol mower
Cons:
* Mower gets stuck on the two lowest cutting heights
Summary:
Does a nice job cutting my small lawn - albeit not on the lowest height setting.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
sand
from houston, tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The blades do not seem as sharp as I expected.

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I liked the different heights, discharge areas AND the bagger. The price was good, especially with free shipping. Dragging/flipping the cord was/is more work than I wanted. The blades were not as sharp as needed. Even with overlapping passess, there are always stray blades sticking up. The sharpening costs will be a real negative expense. It is heavier than I expected. Guess gasoline engine will win next time.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
amanda
from Moreno Valley, CA

This product arrives with little assembly needed.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product pretty much works as intended, so I guess that is all a manufacturer/customer call ask.
It is a little heavier than I'd thought it might be so even though it rolls quite easily, I get a bit of a workout on my undulating lawn. Maybe the deck could've been manufactured out of aluminum, if it's not.
The little rubber thing (shield) that hangs off the back catches of things if you're attempting to move in reverse but a razor knife will cure that.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Eyedoc
from Oak Lawn, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First electric mower

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted to go electric but my yard pushes the limits in terms of size and configuration. Needing a 100' cord concerned me for increased resistance and motor overheating. I use a 12 gauge cord which so far has worked well. Cord maneuvering adds very little time in cutting the lawn and not smelling like gas is great. The mower actually cuts and mulches better than my old Craftsman mower. So far I am very happy with the purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Cindy
from Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Recommended

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I like the mower itself, it's only good if it is working. Have bought it 3 times in 3 years, last year only cost me like $99 bux so I was ok with it. I really hate the noice of a gas powered mower and having to make sure I have gas on hand and smelling like gas when done. This is why I have re-purchased -- NO MORE -- Battery lasts less than one year, by the way, it was stored indoors over the Winter! Furthermore, on my original mower I ordered a replacement battery from a company Homelite website routed me to and when the battery came, it was wrong battery and they had a zero return policy!
Cons: cannot buy parts, battery lasts less than 1 year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Lindy
from Kennesaw, GA, USA

Love my new lawnmower!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm renting a house with an average-sized front yard that slopes. The owners left a gas-powered mower that is supposed to be self-propelled but that feature is non-functional, so I decided to buy my own mower. Not wanting to deal with hauling gasoline home or checking oil, along with the environmental impact, I decided to go electric. Due to price and weight, I decided on corded instead of battery-powered. I found this mower at a great price but was concerned about the reviews from a couple of people saying they thought the mower would be lighter. I'm a woman, no spring chicken but in pretty good shape, but I didn't want to end up with a beast to push around like the one I was replacing!
I have to say that I love this mower. I found it to be extremely easy to assemble, and it is actually quite light even as I use it on my sloped lawn. I've mowed twice and used the grass catcher, which is very easy to remove and put back on. Several reviewers mentioned the cord being a challenge, but I agree with the one who said that if you can vacuum then you can use a corded lawnmower. It really hasn't been an issue.
I realize that this is not the most heavy-duty mower I could have bought, but it seems to be solid enough for my purposes, and is definitely a good buy for the price.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
LDACHIS
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great at first, battery doesn't last

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first summer I used this mower it worked great. I loved the thing. It had a bit of trouble getting through longer grass, but I expected that given it was battery powered. I got the mower late in the season so it got limited use. Season two I used it a few times but accidentally plugged it in too long and returned to a dead, unchargable battery. I read now this is a common problem. I purchased a new battery and a Belkin power timer that would limit charge time to three hours. Now, despite using this timer, we are at the beginning of season three and the battery is dead AGAIN.
THIS MOWER IS A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: terrible battery life
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
JimB
from White Plains, NY

I like it

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The first time I used it, the grass was very tall. The mower went through without any problems. Since the grass was so long, I used the bag to catch the cuttings. It caught everything and was easy to empty. No problems with clogging. Now I use the mulching attachment and it does a great job. I can barely notice the chopped pieces.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Jasper
from Hampstead, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Mower, Easy to Use, Cuts Great

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a single mom and efficiency and quality is the name of the game. This mower is easy to use and cuts the grass great and rather quickly, leaving no high areas or clumbs of high grass. Pushes fairly easily and using a corded mower has not been an issue.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
GardeningGirl123

Good mower

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a tiny yard and this mower gets the job done well. Sturdy and efficient. It's a bit heavy, but for the price of the self-propelled mowers, that's a negligible downside of this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Seriously
from Franklin, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no gas - great value

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a light and gas free mower. This one was great. It's tricky to get used to using a cord outside, but vacuums are the same way. Once I mowed for about 5 minutes, it was easy. The height adjustment feature makes it a breeze to crop your yard the way you want. The mulch feature makes it easy to go over leaves if you don't feel like raking either. Two thumbs up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight, no gas!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Jimmy
from West Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than worth the price.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
By far the best electric mower I have ever had. Light weight, very durable. Easy to push. Excellent construction. Cuts through weeds and 12 inch grass like a dream. My lawn ranges from flat to a rolling half acre. I'm 65 and have no trouble mowing my lawn. I love my Homelite mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, easy to put together. 10 minutes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Mase

Overall a good buy

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For those with a small lawn this is really ideal due to the sturdy frame and easy use. Overall I used this 3 times and I can't complain thus far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
justagrandma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Homelite 20 in. electric

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with the mower. I bought it for out at the campground. It is a relatively small lawn to mow, but the mower handles it very well. In the fall there are lots of leaves and small sticks and it goes right through them. It is easy to clean and light weight.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Sharon
from Tampa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is fantastic

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lawn mower is well made & easy to use. Love the mulching feature & selection of heights.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Kathy
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Died after only four month of use.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned a different electric lawnmower from a different company that lasted eight years so I thought that I would try this one when I saw it since the one that I was looking to buy was at a store all the way across town . Now I wish I had made the trip. I will not ever buy another product from this company. Felt so strongly about letting others know this is my first review.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Josh

Died in a little over a year

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you home depot for being a great place to shop. Unfortunately this lawn mower was a disappointment. My wife tried to leave a similar review but her review was rejected. Please don't reject my review either. After our lawn mower died we tried to call the warranty phone number in the manual (2 year limited warranty) for help but it was no longer active.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Haimericus
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Low maintenance? Try NO maintenance.

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yard work is something I squeeze in when I can, so an electric mower is perfect for me--just plug it in and go. No need to check the oil or worry about having enough gas, and it starts when you pull the lever, every time. Trailing the cord behind you safely does take some practice, but it's worth it to me for the convenience of not having to maintain a gas-powered engine or store gasoline. Very lightweight, easy to handle. The rear-mounted bag is perfect for tight spots, and the height lever is simple to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
JoJo
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice, Quiet, Dependable Mower

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the mower. It is quiet and easy to move around my yard. I received right on time and have put it to good use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
greenstx
from Central Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read This WARNING First, THEN, Pick Something Else

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st of all my lawn is only 13ft W x 70ft L. battery by itself weighs as much as my regular mower. it dies down to a stop and wont cut on less than FULL charge, which doesn't last long at all! it takes 15 HOURS to charge!! you cant use all 20 inches because it leaves a 2 inch wide Mohawk down the center of each pass, so you can only use less than half the width of it on each pass. if you cut your grass every other day or every 3rd day it shouldn't strain the mower, but, forget about cutting it 1 or 2 times a week or it will take forever! I have to mow my lawn like im vacuuming it, back and forth then take a couple steps and back and forth on the highest setting then do it all again on my preferred height . im embarrassed using it, I bet my neighbors are watching and laughing. my back hurts soo bad after using this piece of junk. it was a gift so I cant return it or I would've long ago. DONT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK OR YOULL REGRET IT!!!!
Pros: none at all
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy, charge takes too long, charge doesnt last, no power at all, uneven cut, the whole thing is junk
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>