728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

The Homelite 20 in. electric walk-behind mower features a 12 Amp zone start and a 3-in-1 side discharge that also functions as a bagger and provides mulching capability for your convenience. The cutting height can be adjusted between 1-1/2 in. and 4 in. using the single-lever control for a customizable mowing process.
Overall rating:
3.826 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product102 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(69)
4
(39)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product102 of 131reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Review 41 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

So far worth it

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my first purchase and decided to go with electric as messing with gas engines and winterizing and stuff would have been a hassle.
It does the job for me. Going for Homelite all the way with electric tree pruner chainsaw, 2-in-1 blower, edger.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice, Quiet, Dependable Mower

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very pleased with the mower. It is quiet and easy to move around my yard. I received right on time and have put it to good use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Rio Vista, California

Graet Mower for the price

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower performs well and it gives you four ways to expell the clippings(side discharge, side bag, rear bag and mulch option). The mower is perfect for small to medium lawns. I am very impressed with the ease of operation.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from McLean, VA, USA

One rock and the motor broke

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After two years, the mower went over a large rock (1-2"). Of course the blade was damaged but the mower started vibrating strangely, just a little, so I investigated. The bottom of the motor has a very weak open mount holding the lower motor bearing. The mount had cracked in four places, and when I examined it the motor stator fell down. It is repairable if the part was available, but the repair cost would be more than the mower. Also, the mulching feature only works if the grass is totally dry and not too long, and it often crushes down and misses a line of grass because of weak suction. Other than that, it is ok for a 1,000 sq. ft. yard like mine. Treat it really well and be prepared to replace it all when you would only expect to replace a blade.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Costa Mesa, CA

Satisfied with Purchase

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was using my Father-in-laws Craftsman 6.5 HP gas mower was was never pleased with it. The mower was heavy, unwieldy, choked on grass higher than four inches, and was simply messy to use. I was considering purchasing another gas mower but thought I'd give a corded electric mower a try as all my other garden equipment (weed eater, hedge trimmer, chainsaw) is corded. Unfortunately, the B&D corded mower was not available at my local Home Depot so, after some discussions and advice from "Mark" (at the Santa Ana, CA store), I selected this model.
I was pleased with how easy it was to step. It's light weight and simple to use. The directions were straight forward and presumed you could read (as opposed to Ikea's). My lawn is a combination of Bermuda and St. Augustine and I've not mowed for several weeks so, in keeping with Mark's advice, I started with the highest setting and worked my way down, eventually getting the lawn down to an acceptable height. I really appreciate the light weigh and ease of use, particularly after manhandling the 90lbs Craftsman around.
My lawn is about 1,500 sq ft and I've only used the mower once (this afternoon). Will update my post again after I've had some additional time with the mower. Quite pleased with my purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from NYC

great bang for the buck

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros:
-pricewise great bang for the buck
-no messy gasoline issues
-simple assembly
-nifty power switch handle thingy
-very effective cutting
-mulch mode works well
Cons:
-not cordless (but not as expensive as cordless)
-sometimes still have to go over same area twice, but not very often
-little on the heavy side
-possible problems with grass catcher bag inlet / mower outlet, which is not a problem if you are mulching but might be a problem otherwise - check the other reviews which address this issue
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MOWER FOR THE BELOW TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR CATEGORY.
I am a first-time mower. Wanted something on the cheaper side but not something that doesn't perform. Looked at the B&D mower that is similarly priced, but in the end went with this one due to 1) higher max cutting height and 2) better online reviews. Assembly took 5 minutes. I decided to mulch so no need for the grass catcher bag although it looks okay - keep in mind another reviewer mentioned problems with the small outlet size so I don't know if the grass catcher would work well, however since I mulched it didn't matter. Mower is heavier than I would like liked but again, the lighter-weight competitor didn't get as good reviews so I'm willing to deal with it. Not to say it's heavy - I could still lift it out of the box myself and I am not a super strong person. Was surprised at how effectively it cut the grass, especially at lower cut height setting. Quieter than I imagined. I would recommend. Will update in a few months if anything changes, since this review is written after the first mow (which went well).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Portland, Oregon

Great mower!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a fairly small yard and I love that I switched to electric. Its so nice to never have to get out there to find I need to go get gas before starting or killing my arm to try to start it after a long winter. Just plug it in and go. I worried about the extention cord but it really is easy to get used to. It has great height settings and can do short clipping or longer if needed. I have cut it when damp or dry and it works great with the catcher. Only have to attach the handle part when you get it if you order it online, very easy to put together. I would definately recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this mower

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower is an answer to my lawn care issues. Love that it cuts all the way down and do not have to mow the lawn for another couple of weeks. The mulching bag is a lovely bonus. My only gripe is having to maneuver the power cord while cutting but for the results I am getting that's just a minor inconvenience.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: cutting around the power extension cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the lawn mower

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 1st Homelite lawn mower worked great. I use the bagger alot (for the grass and leaves )and never had a problem with the performance of the lawn mower until I HIT a metal object in my yard. It worked for a while but it had to be replaced. Purchased another lawn mower 2yrs ago with no problems. My only complaint - the bagger riped, and now I have to replace it. Overall, love the features and performance of the Homelite Lawn Mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
Cons: bagger- poor quality material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Roselle, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go Cordless

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The lawn mower is easy to put together and use, but the cord is a pain. My son ran over the extension cord the first 30 minutes we used and had me running back to Home Depot for another cord. If you take the price you spend on extension cords, you'll make up the difference for a rechargeable one. The cord connector should have a snap lock to prevent the constant disconnection when the cord is pulled a little too far. Also, even though we used the bag, we had lots of grass clippings so clean up was still a hassle. Overall, give this a B-.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Utica, NY

Odorless and colorless

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
unexpectantly eye catching, no fumes, well suited for my needs and all round excellent product.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice clean cut. Easy to assemble, operate and quiet

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Right out of the box to cutting in 5 minutes or less. It produced a nice clean cut. It was easy to assemble, operate and was quiet enough to listen to my NPR podcast while I cut.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Franklin, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no gas - great value

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted a light and gas free mower. This one was great. It's tricky to get used to using a cord outside, but vacuums are the same way. Once I mowed for about 5 minutes, it was easy. The height adjustment feature makes it a breeze to crop your yard the way you want. The mulch feature makes it easy to go over leaves if you don't feel like raking either. Two thumbs up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight, no gas!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money !!!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower just under a year ago. It has been a struggle to use since new. I live in S.W. Florida, where during the "wet" season, most yards need to be cut about every five days. Initially the mower worked, but you could tell it didn't have much power. It's ability to mulch worked part of the time - if it mowed a mixture of thick grass, weeds, and patches of dead grass. If you have "thick" turf, don't bother purchasing. The grass catcher is useless. The side discharge plugs frequently. The motor has burnt up after eleven months of use. I've mowed yards for over thirty years, and know how to maintain my equipment. Again, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY !!!
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, under powered !!!, design flaws for proper grass discharge
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

No hassle mower

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To have a mower that starts means I can actually trim up my lawn. Easy to maneuver, quick to get out and put away, low noise level and its quality gives me hope that it will be durable. Have not used it in heavy grass yet so do not have an opinion about its power. Cord length limitations restrict being able to reach some areas of the yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

Love this mower!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for our small yard! At first I was intimidated by it being corded, but it was actually a lot easier to handle than I thought. This mower is pretty light and cuts beautifully! I love the adjustability of cutting heights as well!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to assemble, push and cuts well

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, ready to use within 30 minutes. Worked even in heavy long grass. Much more convenient for me than dealing with a gas mower with a small yard. So far I am very happy with its performance after 3 lawn cuts.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower

Better than a gas mower for me.

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having 3 different gas mowers in 5 years (the cheap ones from walmart) I was tired of dealing with all the gas(and gas fumes), oil & just the general maintenance of owning a gas mower. I decided to give an electric mower a try & so far I am not disappointed. I will say the worst part is of course watching out for the cord & I think a cordless one would be nice, but after reading some reviews I was nervous so I got this one & let me say that it has just as much power as my old gas ones , it starts everytime & no gas smell. It is louder than I expected, but not quite as loud as a gas mower. I knew I was getting a corder mower so I can't complain about that, but again other than that I am very happy with this mower and it has more power than I thought. If I was more confident about the batteries I may have gone with a cordless one, especially if I had a bigger yard but I am still very happy with this over my previous gas mowers. :)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent corded mower

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After using corded electric mowers for years, I gave up on the clunky drag bags for clippings and just mulched what I could and watched as pieces of pine cones jumped everywhere. The Homelite mower has a very easy to remove and replace clipping container. You can remove it with one hand but it does take a second hand to open the outlet when putting it back. It looks good and handles well. And no gas, oil or failure to start up. It stops the blade in less than a second when releasing the handle. The cord grip isn't too convenient or effective. I just loop the cord once around the handle and then plug it in.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 20 in. Electric Lawn Mower
from va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works well for me

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
mowing around a power cord took some getting used to. my first time using this was fairly frustrating. i've since mowed the lawn 2 or 3 more times now, and I have to say i'm pretty happy with this mower. I have the cord thing down now, and i'm happy to not have to worry about dealing with a gas powered engine. It's nice and light, and it has taken care of grass nearly 8 inches tall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>