728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine

5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine

The Homelite 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine features 6,250-watt peak and 5,000-watt running power to suit your basic power needs. This generator has a commercial-grade Subaru engine with low-lubricant shut down to help keep your engine protected and running strong. The 6-gallon fuel tank provides steady power for up to 12-1/2 hours at 50-Percentage load, and the automatic voltage regulator helps provide clean operation.
Overall rating:
4.366 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product91 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(28)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product91 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
Review 1 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from cape cod ,massachusetts

excellent generator for the price

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator a few days before hurricane Irene. I didn't know much about the Husky name as far as generators go but I read some positive reviews about the Subaru engine, besides it was the only one available. I had my electrician install a 20 amp plug in my circuit panel. On Sunday evening around 7 we lost power. I quickly took it out if the box. I didn't even bother to put the wheels or feet on. I added the quart of oil that came with it,filled the gas and it started on the first pull. I ran the generator for three days straight with no problems. It had enough power for two refridgerators, one freezer, all the lights I could possible need,2 fans,one tv,water heater with electronic pilot,and even the dishwasher. The generator ran for 10-12 hours on one tank of gas. I would recommend this generator to anyone looking for a inexpensive reliable power source.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from ROCKVILLE, MD

2 snow storms and still going strong

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought my husky in jan of 2010 after we were hit by a big snow storm at hd it was the last one they had available, we had been without power for 2 days before i bought it, i picked it up and got it home and filled it with gas and hooked it directly to my circut breaker and fired it up and was able to run everything in the house except the microwave oven and the washer dryer, the generator runs really well and quiet too i can get about 10.5 hours out of it before i refill the tank and it usually only take's 5 gallons that's better then most other generators the husky is the best one to buy on a budget without breaking the bank,
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Allen, MI

Excellent for the price range

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have owned the Husky generator for 4 days. Our power went out from the recent ice storm. Just wanted to power up important things in the house. After disconnecting from the utility at the meter I fed the house out of the 20 amp twist lock plug. I could not be happier as it powered up the whole house without a hitch. The well, fridge, furnace, sump pump, and all lights were on simultaneously. I think the generator is underrated at 5kw continuous output. I used my meter and was pulling 5800 watts continuous. I was pleasantly surprised as the AVR on the unit was able to keep a steady 232 volts at full load, beyond rated load actually. Under no load it puts out 239. A 3 percent voltage drop is very acceptable under extreme load and well within specs on any household items.
This in my opinion is the best generator in this price range. The Subaru engine cannot be beat. The fuel consumption is excellent. Under light to moderate load I was able to pull a full 13.25 hours out of a tank of fuel.
So far I have about 60 hours on the generator. I changed the oil after 20 hours of break in and put in a full synthetic oil.
It is slightly loud, but most all in this price range will be. Not excessively loud by any means. I am completely satisfied with the purchase. I was given the choice between this generator and the equivalent setup with the Briggs motor at the same price. It was a no brainer to get this one. Do not be fooled by the lack of a 30 amp plug. The 20 amp twist lock is completely adequate for this size of generator.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had to purchase a generator after a severe wind storm. After researching and finding the good reviews for this one, I picked one up in my local store. It is rare that I give a product five stars, but I was really impressed with the quality and ease of use of the product.
During the entire outage, I used this generator to power my fridge, 2 computers, multiple lamps, an electric heater, microwave, and the 240v outlet to provide power to my well pump and pressure tank. Not a single problem. Looking forward to having this puppy around for a long time.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Valhalla, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Enough power for 2000 sq foot home, Fast starting,Ease of operation

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this unit right after Irene. Got it home and the power came back on that day. Did not use it untill the Halloween storm where power was out all over our neighborhood. I plugged in 2 neighbors so they could have some power as well and the unit ran great for 2 days. I just finished hooking it up to a Reliance Control 6 circuit transfer switch.After testing all the circuits this unit has enough power to run almost everything in my home with plenty of power to spare. Now we are ready for anything mother nature will dish out.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Henrico, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generator

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator works great! I bought the generator about a year and a half ago from HD second hand. Some time passed where I did not need it, but when I did it worked great I ran my fridge, lights, and computers, my neighbors fridge and lights, and my other neighbors fridge. I ran it on and off for two-three days and used about 6-10 gal of gas.
However, I do keep 10 gal of gas in my shed for the just in cases storm that knocks out my power since my lines are behind my house...and I kept about 4-6 gal of gas in the generator......I found out that is a no no. I guess its the ethanal in the fuel, but the rubber gasket that goes from the fuel tank to the on-off switch rotted and cracked and I had to drain the gas out of the tank. I called Homelite...(they make the Husky generator) and they politely mailed me a replacement gasket and some extras.
Of in general, I am very very happy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Salinas, Puerto Rico

Very Good Equipment for the Price

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just went through a couple of days in Puerto Rico without electrical power due to Hurricane Irene and it worked well, runs smooth, turns on easily and is much quieter than I expected. It ran our fridge, TV and DVR along with a light and laptop with now problems. I'm pleased with this purchase so far.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Alabama

Excellent Generator

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit for $649 in April after the tornadoes that ripped through Alabama. My local Home depot received 120 of these units that morning and I bought one of the last 3 around 4pm. My in-laws were without power for several days after the storms. I loaned them my Husky Generator and it worked very well. It ran a freezer, two refrigerators, lights etc. Ran for 12 hours on tank of gas. The power came back on after the first tank. I wired my load center so that I can power my entire house if I'm ever without power.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the money...

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for the money...we've only used it a few times and it has operated very well. Easy to start and is much quieter than any other generator we've used. The only complaint we have is that it would be very helpful if it had a fuel gauge. It's sort of a guessing game with when we need to refill. Other than that great product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male

Solid

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have owned another generator with a Suburu engine -- they are extremely reliable. This one started on the first pull.
This unit is well designed with a foldable handle tires that make it easy to move -- even across soft lawn.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This generator is a great value and you won't be disappointed.

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator in anticipation of losing power from Hurricane Irene last year. This would not have been my first choice since it has 20 amp outlet rather than a 30 amp but it was all HD had in stock at the time. So far, it has seen me through several power outages flawlessly lasting from 1-7 days... hurricane Sandy being the most recent. With this generator I am able to run my refrigerators, well and sump pumps, furnace, dishwasher, microwave oven as well as enough lights to not need candles or lanterns. I also installed a transfer switch at my panel so I can power all these circuits without the need for extension cords. I purchased the Reliance transfer switch from HD and it is very simple to install yourself. It comes with an installation DVD, and I'm not an electrician. With 5000 watts and 6250 surge watts, I can't run everything at once but I can run most everything concurrently. This generator comes with a Subaru engine that is quiet compared to other engines this size. The engine runs smoothly, is easy to start, easy to change the oil and will last a very long time. The gas tank holds 5 gallons and will run about 12 hours per tank the way I use it. The only drawback is the fuel tank doesn't have a gas gauge built into the cap. All things considered, that is a minor inconvenience. I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend this generator to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, runs smoothly and quietly.
Cons: no fuel gauge.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Memphis

Great for the money

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this generator twice using cords run thru the house. Starts easily and ran smoothly for hours. I recently had an electrician hook up a connection so I can disconnect from utility company and run the generator directly into my breaker box. Runs fridge, tv, furnace, lights etc. No problem. Cant run a dryer or water heater, but I sure feel better having this generator sitting in my garage.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Kutztown, PA 19530, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product does the job

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this generator when we had a Halloween snow storm which knocked out our power. The generator came easy to unpack and start. All u needed to do is put wheels on and front block things to help the generator sit level. While everyone else had no electric I was sitting in the warmth of my house watching TV. This generator powers my whole house from oil burner, water pump, lights, refrigerators, microwaves etc. When properly hooked up all u need is one cord to power ur whole house
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine

real value

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought 4 yrs ago (on sale for $350 at HD), started, run for 10 min, shut down, drained.
During Irene 8/11, started from 3 pulls and run for 40 hrs stopping only for the 1st oil change. Perfect. 5 gal per 24 hrs at about 1.5 kWh (2 sumps, 4 fridges and dozen of cfl lights +tv/dvd). Does it feel nice when you watch a TV+dvd and everybody around are going to bed with their candles? Powered my neighbors' pumps and fridges too...
Getting another one for my rental. Loud? Well, pay another $2-3k for a quieter one. I say it is a perfect balance of price, performance, power and loudness. Thank you HD and Subary
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Barely used so far but seems very capable

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one post-Irene and it literally sat unopened for over a year. With Sandy approaching, I unboxed, assembled, and tried to get it running but had a very difficult time starting the engine. Turned out to be a blockage in the fuel-line between the tank and gas filter; once cleared, the engine runs very smoothly and usually starts on the 2nd pull w/full choke. Our power failed 10/29 at 11:30PM and initially I ran just a sump-pump and kitchen refrigerator and was about to connect our TV and some light-fixtures when our service was restored (incredible considering how bad this storm was!). Total run was under an hour... this time. But it ran smoothly and barely flinched when a load was applied. The engine seems to be of high quality and though it's not as quiet as Honda-powered gens I've seen, it isn't obnoxiously loud either. Like others have noted though it's a bit ungainly to move because of the frame design (wheels on the sides). Also, the Run/Stop switch could be better labeled. Pretty happy with it overall: I just hope it'll last for a long time.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: too wide
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Satisfied so far

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was prompt and on time
Well made, easy to use.
Did the job the way I expected the first time i used it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Spring, TX

A good buy.

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Out of the box, after topping off the oil and adding fuel, it started on the first pull! I discovered the hard way that it has a 5 gallon gas tank instead of a 6 as stated in the description. I tested the voltage and it put out 118 volts with no load and 123 volts with a load so I am not sure about how well the AVR system works. I would have thought it would have stayed a bit more consistent but I guess that, percentage wise, that is not too bad of a fluctuation. It is reasonably quiet and I could barely hear it sitting about 20 feet away from the closed back door. I purchased an hour meter online for about $30 which is very easy to install. Overall, it seems very solid and I am very happy with the purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine

Great product!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a Husky very similiar to this with the Subaru engine during the ice storm of 2008 and have used it several times since. The specs are basically the same and it appears to just be the current model. It has run approx 13 days total with out skipping a beat over the last 3 years. Keep the oil changed and fresh and you will have years of reliability out if it. Subaru quality and engineering are top notch!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine

Pretty nice unit

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't yet had the opportunity to run the generator (a good thing!) but I plan a test run hopefully this weekend. I wired up everything last weekend so it should be good to go. The unit itself is well built, easy to maneuver and has convenience outlets right on it if one decides to use the "extension cord method" of energizing portions of their house or what have you. It has one L14-20 outlet for 120/240 and 2 standard NEMA 120 outlets. 5000 watts with a Subaru engine...can't beat it. If nothing else, it's an insurance policy against future outages!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine
from Hewitt, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the Money

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What sold me was the Subaru/Robin motor. Subaru claims their small engines are better then Hondas. I bought a cover for the generator and it is well cared for. It always starts with one pull and got extensive use during Sandy. I had prewired an outside twist-lock receptacle to my panel and I backfeed through a 20 amp breaker. No stransfer switch needed. Drain the fuel and carb when storing. I love it!
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>