728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine

5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine

The Husky 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine features 6,250-watt peak and 5,000-watt running power to suit your basic power needs. The 6-gallon fuel tank provides steady power for up to 12-1/2 hours at 50% load, and the automatic voltage regulator helps provide clean operation. This generator has a commercial-grade Subaru engine with low-lubricant shut down to help keep your engine protected and running strong.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
Review 1 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine

So Far So Good

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its started rite up runs very good so far, I bought it for Hurricane Irene I never even lost the power, I was very lucky most the people in the town I live in did loose power and for at least seval days. I bought a generator last year for a hurricane it ran a couple times then poored out gas from the carberator I brought it back that was after a month and they took it back. This one I will be starting very offten and making sure it stays running or it will go back to. But I love the Subaru engine the 10 hrp engine its a very nicley designed generator, Aweome I hope it always stays this way too!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
from Newport News, VA

The Husky Generator

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator due to another possible bad storm due to losing 2 freezers worth of food 3 yrs ago. I was fortunate not to have the storm hit my area. A month later a neighbor found he did not have the money to pay his electric so I let him borrow the generator. Being he had an outdoor outlet we made a dbl ended male cord and hooked it up. he had enough electricity to keep is lights, fan, & refrigerator working & to have power going to a detached garage. Although It seemed a little loud standing next to it it was not loud at all inside the house. I would recommend this generator to anyone who needs emergency power but cannot afford a stand-alone model.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine

Paid for itself in two uses

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last Winter after not having any power for 3 days. I ran the unit another 48 hours straight before I got power restored. With a Freak Snow Storm in October; I took it out once again and ran it for another 23 hours. I change the oil after each use and drain the gas. I only start it up for a few minutes every 3 months and then cover it back up. This has not failed me when I need it.
Pros: Robin Subaru Engine
Solid build quality
Stable power
Cons: no electric start included
a bit on the loud side.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
from Newtown, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good product

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit during Irene . I have the Well Pump,Sump Pump,Oil Hot Water Heater , Furnace ,Fridge some lights and a few outlets all wired into a seperate generator panel with switch . So far it has been flawless. I supposed if everthing turned on at one time i would be toast ???? But things cycle on and off at differant times and we are happy . I get 10 to 12 hours out of every tank .
Great Product !!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
from Greeley, CO.

Husky

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit starts easy, runs very smooth and quite. Convient location of the outlets.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
from wilmington, north carolina

PATHETIC!!

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this HUSKY 5,000-Watt generator on August the 28th, 2011. I used it for a total of seven (7) hours. I used it to power my in-home refrigerator, my refrigerator that is in my garage, and my chest freezer that is in the garage adjacent to the refrigerator. It did well for the seven (7) hours of usage. I ceased using the generator when the power to my home was 'reinstated' after Hurricane Irene. The following morning, I decided to 'run the gas out' of the generator prior to storing it. So, I started my HUSKY generator and it ran for about 30 seconds, and simply quit. I waited about 5 or 10 minutes, and then started it again. It ran about 30 seconds, and then simply quit. I waited about an hour, and then I started it again. It ran for about 30 seconds, then just stopped. Yes, it had plenty of gas. Yes, it had lubricant / oil. Yes, I used the choke properly. Yes, the fuel line valve was in the "open" position. I am extremely 'mechanically inclined', and I know how to operate machinery as I have done so for many years. I feel compelled to write this review, and I deem this HUSKY 5000-watt generator to be a complete, total, piece of junk. What do I do with it now? Set it out with the garbage?
-3points
14out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
from los angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this Generator to replace a Coleman powermate with techumsa engine that finally wore out...This generator is very very quiet for the price, About 75DB from 21 feet.. People complaning its loud have no idea what a loud generator sounds like....Try about 100 Db for the coleman and sounds like its goimg to rattle itself apart!! Havent loaded it yet, but im sure its going to run great! Also bought this one for the fuel effeciancy, about 12.5 hours on 5 gallons at half load! I wanted to buy the 8000 watt with suburu engine, but figued i wouldnt need all that wattage and would be just wasting gas.....something to think about
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine

Great

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had my HU5000SG for a few years and have had no problems. Always starts and provides adequate power. A little loud but what the heck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator CARB with Subaru Engine
from Santee CA.

excellent service from H/D Finding the perfect ger

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought this model generator and couldn't be happier with it. It can do anything I need it to without struggling one bit. The home depot crew were a lot of help to me finding the perfect one to fit my needs.
thanks to Husky and to Home Depot!!!!!!
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.