728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

30-Pint Dehumidifier

The Zenith 30-Pint Dehumidifier removes up to 30 pints of moisture every day. The washable air filter help provide long-lasting use, and the electronic controls help provide easy operation. The dehumidifier has an indicator light to let you know when the bucket is full and an automatic shut-off feature to help prevent water overflow. The included casters help make the dehumidifier easy to move.
Overall rating:
1.702 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
19%of customersrecommend this product21 of 113reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
1.7 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(15)
1
(85)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
19%of customersrecommend this product21 of 113reviews
Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Not dependable

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit has not been great since I bought it two years ago. It constantly runs so I turn it off and on myself. It has never done an adequate job for the basement as the floor always seems damp even when the unit runs for two+ days. today it stopped and it's as though there is no power to it, I looked at the manual and there's no reset button so I have no idea if its dead for good or not. I will be purchasing another after some extensive review research, but most likely not a Zenith.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Junk

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked fine for 3 months, then quit. Will not repurchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

It is OK

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Noiser than my former one. I might re-do the rating if it lasts longer than the 2 years for the last one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Longview, WA

Dependable

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Recently the fan in our bathroom became inoperable, and without any windows in that room, if it weren't for this little guy (ours happens to be named Wall-E), I'm not sure what we would have done. The product runs well and still works as well as it did the day we brought it home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Stopped working after 2 months

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit stopped working after 2 months because the bucket full light would not go off even though the bucket was empty. To make matters worse, the LG warranty service requires that I take the unit to an authorized repair place. The closest one is an hour away. That would be 4 hours of drive time to drop it off and come back to pick it up. I live in metro Atlanta and they don't have a single service center any closer than that. I paid way too much for the unit to only work for 2 months...a total waste of money.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Poor design for hose drainage

PostedJune 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this unit if you want to use the hose drainage (instead of the bucket). Other units I've used in the past have a simple threaded outlet on the bucket, which allows the hose to hook up easily. This unit has what I think is a very lame design for hose drainage. You have to connect your hose to a short plastic tube, then stick this tube through a hole in the case, then seat the tube onto the water outlet inside the unit. If that sounds unnecessarily complicated, that's because it is. Moreover, the plastic tube doesn't sit on the water outlet securely-- you just push it on, and it's easily knocked back off. Why was it designed this way? My only guess is that with this system, the water goes directly into your hose and never touches the bucket. Frankly, I don't care if there's a few ounces of water in the bottom of the bucket, as long as the system drains well and the hose can be connected securely.
Bad design.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

2.5 years- stopped working

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
My contractor brought this product. I had noticed in the last month that it stopped working a couple of times. When I pulled it out (the tray) and pushed it back in, then it would began working. Now it has completely stopped.
Do not waste your money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

worked for about 2 yr

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Replaced my 1970's unit with this new one. This one didn't make it 2 yrs. Electronic controls no longer work. The unit does come on when plugged in, and does pull moisture from the air, but the only buttons that work are for the 2 or 4 hour cycle. Power on/off doesn't even work. Must be unplugged to turn off. Who knows if it will last much longer. Would not recommend. Junk for $180!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

don't buy it

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Had the Zenith Z309 for less than two years. No worth the cost of repair. Stopped working..no light, nothing. JUNK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from lafayette in
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product let me down in 1 1/2 yrs i am so dissapointed

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i cant find out if its under warrenty or not. it was working well until it just stop working, it comes on for 5 seconds then it turns off an dont come back on. something is wrong. my basement is gettin damp again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WasteofMoney

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had the unit about a year and it started making lots of noise recently. Now it will not run at all. It says basket full 01 humidity setting. Same problem as many on this site. It was too expensive to stop this quickly. My old one was over 30 years old, but this one did not make it to 2. Home Depot should stop carrying this model based on all of the similar stories.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

This is an inferior product

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model one year ago. It worked well last summer but isn't working properly this season. Water seems to be running though the seam at the top of the unit and pooling there. Very little water runs into the bucket although the unit runs 27\7. Trying to find an owner's manual online didn't yield any results. I'm going shopping today for a new unit. I will not buy Zenith again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

BAD!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it November 2009 and it died July 2012! We kept it on a low setting, so it did not even run that much.
Sounds/smells like the compressor has died. Will not by another Zenith again.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Quality, Noisy, Performance, Vibrates
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My biggest problem was correctly inserting the hose connector. I had it for at least 2 years and we only use in our Michigan basement about 5 months of the year. We've had it about 3 years. Light goes on when bucket is full and back out when bucket is emptied. I would not hesitate purchasing another one, the price is o.k. I just downloaded another copy of the manual.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from baltimore, md
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchase this unit 3 yrs ago, and it has yet to fail. The handle on the bucket broke almost immediately, but hooking up a hose for automatic drainage took care of having to lift/carry/dump the bucket every week.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: handle not strong enough to lift full bucket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Lanesboro, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Only worked for about 2 seasons

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After the first 2 seasons the unit would flash a 01 on the display and the bucket full light would sometimes come on (bucket was not full) Unit would not run. I'm afraid the cost to fix it will be at least half of what I paid for it. Manual was no help.
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from kc, ks

Good buy - very functional

PostedMay 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good little unit. Very functional. You will be amazed how much water will be pulled out to the air each day. I have used it when painting a room, or cleanning carpet. It seems to help with the driing time. But mostly, I leave mine in the basement running on the auto setting. It has an auto shut off when the bucket is full. I got tired of emptying the bucket, so I connect the by-pass drain on the unit and connected a short hose to the floor drain. The basement is less damp. It has been really nice for the summer months with the humidity in KC jumps up. It is quiet, but I still wouldn't want it in the same room as my TV. Also, it produces a good amount of heat. After it runs for a solid day, you will notice that room will be a little warmer. (but it's a dry warm, HA HA). I did run it for a solid month last July, and saw my electric bill jump 15 dollars. Still happy with the unit, will buy it again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from MD

Zenith Dehumidifier

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I bought it and it only lasted 2 summers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Chicago, Illinois

It does its job

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier to help accelerate the dry-time for drywall mud for a small construction job. It worked perfectly and still is working great. The adjustable moisture level function is great and the “continuous run” function is a nice advantage as well. The only minor drawback is that it does create a noticeable increase in heat temperature in an enclosed area. In regards to noise level, I would say that it is no louder than a refrigerator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Mahopac, NY

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit only lasted 2 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>