728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

30-Pint Dehumidifier

The Zenith 30-Pint Dehumidifier removes up to 30 pints of moisture every day. The washable air filter help provide long-lasting use, and the electronic controls help provide easy operation. The dehumidifier has an indicator light to let you know when the bucket is full and an automatic shut-off feature to help prevent water overflow. The included casters help make the dehumidifier easy to move.
Overall rating:
1.667 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
18%of customersrecommend this product18 of 100reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
1.7 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(13)
1
(77)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
18%of customersrecommend this product18 of 100reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Dozer
from North Tonawanda, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Dehumidifier Review

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My son and I both have this unit with a hose hooked up but we both have "bucket full" lights and the unit is useless.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
BarbC
from Petersburg, IL 62675, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wasted $190

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this unit 3 years ago. We only used it in the summer and unplugged it when it was not in use. When we plugged it in in June, nothing happened. It would not turn on at all. We took it to a repair man who said the computer board was bad and it was going to cost too much to fix it. It was a big disappointment and a waste of money.
Cons: broke too soon
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
waytooclose

Do not buy-just as well run your money thru a shredder

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This will work great. For a VERY brief period of time. Please google this product. Read all the complaints/problems. Mine is now all apart. I will now start ordering and replacing parts until I can get it to work right. It shuts off after 2 minutes. I am not a diagnostic specialist. So the only thing I know to do is remove and replace parts. What a horrible investment. I'm sure it will just wind up in the trash regardless. But I spent almost $200 bucks (enjoy that Home Depot/Zenith)-so I have to try something....
Cons: Quality, this will quit working. soon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Lynn

Don't buy this!

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for about a month, then sensor failed, as mentioned in numerous reviews already. so disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
GreekMom2005
from Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I ALSO had a problem with the sensor

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After only two years I also had a problem with the water level sensor. I am getting a flashing 'Bucket Full' and it being stuck at 1%. Definitely not worth the money. I would NOT recommend this machine.
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Bloomer

Buy at your own risk! The company will not help you when it breaks.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had it only about two years, it worked ok and then stopped. It is showing same symptoms as everyone else. Do not buy it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Jamie9
from Columbus, OH

Runs Constantly

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing does draw a lot of moisture out of the air but it runs all the time. I had it in the basement and it lowered the humidity to well below 60% but even with it set at 70% it runs all the time. I brought it upstairs where the humidity is about 50% and when set to 70% it still cycles on about every 5 minutes. I took the first one back and the second one I got does the same thing so it wasn't a bad unit. I bet this would cycle on and off about 10 times an hour even though the humidity is well below what it is set to maintain.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
SABW

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this a few weeks ago based on the good user reviews to replace our 3-yr old LG that suddenly stopped working. I'm already more impressed by this Zenith than the LG and will hopefully get a longer life out of it. The Zenith is very quiet in comparison and I've had to empty the tank every day so it's working well. I would definitely recommend this dehumidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
lunaCee

Junk

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked fine for 3 months, then quit. Will not repurchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
therapygardener

It is OK

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Noiser than my former one. I might re-do the rating if it lasts longer than the 2 years for the last one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
moneypenny
from Longview, WA

Dependable

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Recently the fan in our bathroom became inoperable, and without any windows in that room, if it weren't for this little guy (ours happens to be named Wall-E), I'm not sure what we would have done. The product runs well and still works as well as it did the day we brought it home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Onestone
from Easton, PA

Zenith ZD300Y0

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is made by LG!! Empty Bucket light flashing after less than 5 months. There has never been water in the bucket, it is hooked to a drain hose! LG said it means there is an error with the unit. DUH!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Anonymous
from candler, nc

great buy!!!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great deal. we just love our dehumidifier. i am thinking of purchasing one for my grandmother...
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
jlg2676

Poor design for hose drainage

PostedJune 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this unit if you want to use the hose drainage (instead of the bucket). Other units I've used in the past have a simple threaded outlet on the bucket, which allows the hose to hook up easily. This unit has what I think is a very lame design for hose drainage. You have to connect your hose to a short plastic tube, then stick this tube through a hole in the case, then seat the tube onto the water outlet inside the unit. If that sounds unnecessarily complicated, that's because it is. Moreover, the plastic tube doesn't sit on the water outlet securely-- you just push it on, and it's easily knocked back off. Why was it designed this way? My only guess is that with this system, the water goes directly into your hose and never touches the bucket. Frankly, I don't care if there's a few ounces of water in the bottom of the bucket, as long as the system drains well and the hose can be connected securely.
Bad design.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Unhappy
from MN

Dehumidifier just quit running

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these, one for myself and one for tenants' basement. Both of them recently just quit running, have had it for less than a year. Loud, and leaked all over the place even though we had the hose hooked up properly. LG fails again, just like their washing mashines.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Flyman
from York, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This dehumidifier is simple to operate

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Our basement is often quite damp - it is 35' x 35' and I run this unit 24/7 and it keeps the relative humidity of the basement at 35%. We store clothing, bedding and other important items and this unit keeps them dry and odor free. It is adjustable, in 5% increments from 35% to about 75%. You can run it continuous or in intervals of 2 and 4 hours. I put a submersible pump in the reservoir and run the water to an outside line for this unit but when you can't do that the 21 pint capacity is awesome and u won't likely have to empty it but once a day.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
NJHomeowner

Disappointing

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Had this unit for two years now and it doesn't work. It was noisy but worked great for the first 3 months or so. It then had the flashing light, talked to LG who said it needed repair. Unit was under warranty thankfully. I had to go to the authroized repair shop in a shady area to have this repaired and guess what - they had stacks of the same unit in for repair!!
Got the unit back about 1 month later, the humidistat was replaced. It worked again for about a month, but now the unit freezes up constantly. The filter is clean, I tried it with the bucket only or the drain hookup and at different parts of the past year (thus different temps and humidity levels) and it still freezes. Time for a new unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
ian15

worked for about 2 yr

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Replaced my 1970's unit with this new one. This one didn't make it 2 yrs. Electronic controls no longer work. The unit does come on when plugged in, and does pull moisture from the air, but the only buttons that work are for the 2 or 4 hour cycle. Power on/off doesn't even work. Must be unplugged to turn off. Who knows if it will last much longer. Would not recommend. Junk for $180!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
sisto

don't buy it

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Had the Zenith Z309 for less than two years. No worth the cost of repair. Stopped working..no light, nothing. JUNK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
bigguy
from lafayette in
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product let me down in 1 1/2 yrs i am so dissapointed

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i cant find out if its under warrenty or not. it was working well until it just stop working, it comes on for 5 seconds then it turns off an dont come back on. something is wrong. my basement is gettin damp again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>