728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

The LG Electronics 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote offers quiet cooling with a coverage of 400 sq. ft. and a self-evaporation system means there are no buckets to empty. This portable unit features casters for effortless movement and a remote control to adjust settings from a distance. Convenience features like a washable filter make upkeep simple. Multiple cooling and fan speeds offer adjustable comfort and the electronic LCD control panel affords ease of operation.
Overall rating:
3.87 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product80 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(34)
3
(11)
2
(10)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product80 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
Review 1 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LG Portable AC

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought the A/C unit about 3 yrs. ago and use it year round. Works great as far as cooling down the room. As far as cleaning; it's ok if you know what your doing. The top coils drain into the bottom coils. If the drain in the middle gets clogged it'll drip out of the unit onto the carpet/floor where you have it sitting. I called several times for assistance and they wanted to charge to come to the house. I figured it out myself and saved me the money. Glad I didn't have to pay extra to have someone come out to clean the drain. I just took the whole thing apart and sprayed it all down with a water hose. cleaning the coils and the drain. As well as the exhaust pipe. I have had it in the window for a while and the plastic for the "Window side curtain and frame" has started to crack. Finding a replacement is tough. I went to different stores to find one and no luck. Found only 1 web page that carries it and they want about $35 for a replacment. That to me is a little high for a piece of plastic. Overall the product is good as far as it doing what it's supposed to. Finding the replacement parts for a reasonable price is another story.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit
Cons: finding parts
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

A Little Misleading

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product definitely cools a significant space. There is a drainage requirement though. There are only two modes out of four that do not require draining. If you use the humidifier or the auto mode which is preferable because it will shut the air conditioner off when the desired temperature is reached you will have to drain the system which is very cumbersome. Overall a good product though.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Wilkes Barre, PA

Life Saver

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing this unit and was hesitant at first due the negative comments made. I'm so glad that I decided to go with my gut and purchase this portable AC unit, it's fantastic. I live in a very old house with high ceilings and poor insulation so I was worried that it would not be able to cool the downstairs very well. A window unit was out of the question since I would need a bigger one to do the job and I knew trying to install and remove one of that size would be impossible by myself. It took a little imagination to install the window vent but that can be said about any unit. After only about an hour it was installed and air tight. It has been extremely hot and humid here and this unit keeps my entire downstairs, living room, dining room and kitchen very cool and comfortable. Best money I've spent all year and I would highly recommend this portable AC unit to anyone.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from San Diego, California

Great portable air conditioner

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read several reviews on different models before deciding on this one, since I think most consumers should do their own research before buying a product that correctly addresses their specific needs.
I like the LG brand from products I have bought in the past, so when I saw this unit at my local Home Depot with a competitive price, I was sold on it right away.
It is a somewhat heavy unit, but since it has rollers on it, who cares anyways.
I wanted to be able to cool down a 25x15 foot room, which this unit does perfectly in spite of my leaky doors and ample window situation in the living room.
Yes this unit takes a little modifying to make the exhaust tube work for my windows, but that is reasonable because to expect an A/C unit to fit every window that is every house in the US, is dumb.
Sometimes you just gotta quit whining and do for yourself instead of expecting everything to fit perfectly right out of the box.
The cooling capability of this A/C unit meets every one of my expectations, and then some.
The noise level that several people complained about is nothing to be concerned about IMO, since the very fact of an A/C unit with all it's moving parts, is going to make noise, since this unit is in the room with you, and you can't change the laws of physics to get cool air without noise, at least not with the current level of technology.
I read a few reviews from people that complained that the unit didn't cool properly, and I suspect that they didn't read the manual first, to understand that the timer must be set properly to give you A/C for as long as you set the timer for, because once the timer runs out, the fan still blows, however the A/C condenser is not operating, nor is it designed to.
As with any piece of equipment, you must READ THE MANUAL first before attempting to operate the unit, since there may be several features that are unfamiliar to you, so what is 20 minutes out of your life by carefully reading a manual so you can have nice cool air inside the house when it is hot outside?
In fact as I am typing this long winded review, I have my A/C unit running right now, and I am also watching TV on my LG 50" plasma TV, and I don't have any problems hearing the volume since my surround system works great!!!
This is a great product that works as designed to, and the thing with Home Depot is they are there to assist you when you buy products at their store, so if you have questions, just ask someone who works there before you get frustrated with a new purchase and decide to return it, when the real problem was you never read the users manual.
Good product, good price, good service, good cold air output, no problems with the electric bill from running it most everyday for about 3 weeks, so I am a happy customer who will enjoy his portable A/C unit when it is hot outside.
Besos....
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from staten island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good job

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
just neeesd to come up with longer window hoses, or an option to buy longer ones limited to where unit can be placed because of hose. but over all works fine
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

Dissapointed

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received the unit 1 June and currently the control panel does not work. The remote has to be used to control the machine. The unit cools and functions but only through the use of the remote.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from oregon

piece of junk

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
first day problems, keep getting p2 code saying water tank is full and this is impossible had few days gettin service call to home already wow, stay away from this one
oregon
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from South Fork, PA

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good A/C. Had to use duct tape to get it to stay in the plexi-glass we used in the window--but other than that it works great. Cools the room its in 13X24 great and also cools off the connecting dining room and kitchen. Some reviews complained about the noise--I don't find it any louder than a fan on high or window A/C.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from small town, Maine

I hoped for more!

PostedJune 18, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There have been so many good reviews for this that I was hoping the complaints about how loud it is were exagerated. They were not! I have an old clunker window unit that I thought was loud but this thing really does sound like it's about to launch itself into space. If this were for my bedroom I could probably get use to it but I wanted it for the living room & there is no way you can hear the TV with this thing on. Also the window hose is huge so the unit sticks way out from the window & it is big to begin with so it takes up alot of room. Don't get me wrong, it does cool the room very well, the fan is powerful & the price was good, I just wish the hose/window system was better & that it wasn't so loud.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Los Angeles, CA

who designed this junk???

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
accumulated water needs to be constantly drained from this unit or a P2 error code shows up and the unit shuts off. since the water release cap is only an inch off the ground this presents some unusual problems.
- You can tilt it into a short lipped pan - but short lipped pans don't hold much water.
- or you can heft all 65 pounds of the unit over a bucket to drain it - which is a lot of fun in the middle of the night.
if someone has a practical solution, please let me (and LG) know. maybe they can redesign this piece of junk.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Altamont, NY

The Ultimate Air Conditioner...

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased my first home.... a 110 year old colonial farmhouse. The home has alot of windows... which keeps pretty cool with the breeze blowing through.
BUT on the hot and humid days.. this is the best idea in air conditioners!! Easy to move (on casters)... easy to operate (all digital)... cools really fast!
I was going to purchase a large unit, have my wall cut to accomodate the typical unit.... so glad that I decided to buy this.
When I can afford to.. I will purchase one to keep on my second floor of the house. Too many small repairs to afford everything right now.
Highly recommend this unit. Worth every dollar!!
Debi (Altamont, NY)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Oceanside CA

It works almost

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had this for one day, setup was moderately cumbersome. The windows attachment was not big enough for my windows but some cardboard fixed it up. The output seems weaker than expected taking about an hour to cool my living room from 80 degrees to 73. I was hoping for more cooling power. I wish the controls on the remote where available on the unit itself, if you lose the remote you won't be able to change a lot of settings like Fan angle, C to F etc.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Palmyra, Me

Worthless Piece of Garbage

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have an LG washer and love it. They had this unit in the store on sale for $100.00 off last month so we decided to grab it. My parents are elderly and poor health so we thought it would be good for them. My father is hard of hearing to begin with and he cannot hear the TV over this unless we crank it. The instructions on how to empty the water reservoir is useless and it is hit or miss if it will drain. The bottom release cap leaks now we have had it open a couple of times and the LED screen is flickering. We have only had it going for a week. What a mess. Now we have to wait for LG to find someone to come out to fix it. It is ridiculous how bad this machine is.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Saint Clair Shores, MI

Good idea, but...

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is a good idea that wasn't very practical for our home. If you are planning on using this unit in more than one room, this isn't what you want. We bought this unit thinking it would serve as the A/C for our three bedrooms, but soon found that the vent hose is quite short-and is not supposed to be extended-, and it just couldn't keep up with what we needed. We promptly returned it and bought 3 window units. They work excellently. We tried to avoid the window unit, but could not. Well at least we're cool now.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Albany, New York

LG Portable Air Conditioner

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted an air conditioner that wouldn't require moving in and out of the window. Although a trifle noisy, it does cool the designated space well. The remote control also works well. Cleaning the filter and the area around the unit is easy, because the exhaust vent slides off the back of the unit easily. My only complaint is that I needed to install a spacer block under the window exhaust hose. My window sill blocked attachment of the exhaust hose until I raised the kit a few inches above the window sill. Free Shipping inside my front door was a PLUS. I have not had to touch the drain pan at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Winterville

Dont waste your money

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried cooling an area smaller than 450 sq ft, did not cool at all. Stayed over 90 degrees even on high. Thought LG would be the best, not so!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from central, nj

PORTABLE A/C

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am perplexed by the number of complaints of the size and the weight of portable A/C products.
Before purchasing I clicked on the tab SPECS and the following appeared:
Amperage (amps) : 10.0 A
Assembled Depth (in.) : 13.7813 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 33.0625 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 19.6875 in
BTU Heat Rating : 0 Btu/h
Control Type : Electronic With Remote Control
Energy Star Compliant : No
Item Weight : 72.6 lb
Weight and dimensions is what I used to determine it was right for me.
Having window units in the past I knew something other then Central Air, would be noisy and not be the thing to have anywhere near a TV or other audio equipment.
Cons: It takes some ingenuity to configure the tank so it will drain without lifting the unit up off the floor to drain.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

So Far - No Good

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit on-line a month ago and I see it has dropped 40 bucks already but that is not why I am writing. This is only the 3rd time I am using this unit and I am getting an error code E-3. I looked it up in the owner’s manual and all it says is "Unit abnormal protection-to avoid occurrence of unit damage” What does that mean - is that code for piece of junk ? Has anyone had this problem and if so what resolved it !
Thanks
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
from Dallas, TX

Noise & Drainage Problem

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit 6 days ago because I need extra air flow into baby's room. This unit is mighty powerful. It blows out 56F cold air. It's quite easy to assemble.
I have been using the unit with the "Cool" mode in the past 6 days and I had to drain out the water 2 times because it kept on giving me the P2 error code. The unit is noisy just like any window unit. Every time you press the button on the unit panel or the remote control, it's making the ding/chime sound which I found quite annoying because it's disturbing my baby and there is no way to disable the sound.
The unit is quite heavy ~65lbs. So if you want to drain the water out of the tank, then you have to lift the unit up onto a chair or something because the hole is near the bottom of the unit. Weight is not an issue for me but if I'm not at home and my wife have to drain the water out then it will be a bit too heavy for her to lift.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

Keeping Cool

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently bought the LG 10000 BTU portable air conditioner from home depot. It was at a very good price. I bought it for my father to use in his camper for the summer. The item was very well packed and came with everything we need to install it right out of the box. We are very pleased it runs well and its quiet and cools very well. I would recommend this to all my friends.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>