728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product98 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(65)
4
(27)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product98 of 118reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Los Angeles, CA

The Air Conditioner works great.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Alert for condensation tank to sensitive

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am forever having to empty this dang catch tank. That is the ONLY problem. Otherwise its an execellent unit..really does the job. Not really loud to me. but then thats me.. But the constant alert which shuts down the unit until emptied of water is nearly every day. I wish I knew how to disarm the dang thing I would certainly do so. Any ideas? next thing I am going to put the unit on a platform with a hose into a bucket and leave the plug out......anyway...again it does cool and takes care of more than one room easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Chicago

Almost perfect

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got one yesterday, it is almost perfect.
I was stuck between this and the DeLonghi PAC A120E.
According to reviews, that one drips like crazy, and I had a good experience with LG Air conditioners.
I had one of those Split ones, which you mount the compressor outside, comparing to that this is noisy.
I measure with a SPL meter, with A/C “OFF” I get around 50-55 db in my apartment, with A/C “ON” Fan Only (level 1) I get 60-63 db, and with A/C “ON” and compressor ON I get 67-69 db. Well it was the Iphone SPL meter so it might not be accurate, but you get the idea.
Anyway I think you get used to it after a while, because since yesterday I don’t notice the noise that much .
Other than the noise, I have no complains.
Great A/C. Good Value for money .Looks cool .Easy to install. Easy to use.Has Energy Saver mode. Totally recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Chicago, IL

Keeping me comfortable

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought one of these in the store during a very hot spell in late June and have been running it almost every day since. I can't afford to install central air and, due to the style of my windows, can't use window AC units, so it was portable or nothing.
Pros:
- It doesn't cool my entire 1300 sq ft home - I didn't expect it to - but with strategically located fans to help move cool air around, it makes the entire place MUCH more comfortable. My 15x32 living room where I run this gets downright chilly.
- Despite running the unit for weeks, mostly in very high humidity, I've never had to empty the tank.
- But for the one issue mentioned below, easy to set up and move.
Cons:
- Pretty darned loud - I'd never be able to sleep if I ran it in the bedroom. To be honest, I usually turn it off at night if the weather is tolerable because it can keep me awake even 40 feet away in the living room.
- The screws that came with the window installation kit were too large for the holes so I had to run to the local hardware store for smaller ones to assemble this (didn't want to make the holes larger in case I needed to return the unit).
Despite the noise, I've been very pleased with this unit, especially because we have a lot of mosquitoes this year. It's been great to keep the windows closed, the bugs out and the house comfortable. I would've had a miserable, hot summer without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Is worth the money

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is perfect for the master suite which is located on the west side of the second floor (which is always hot)My gas and electric bill is lower by $70 - $100 per month while keeping the bedroom very cool. The noise of the fan does not bother me, infact I like it, but my husband feels it is a little too loud. The unit was very easy to install and the remote is great. We give it 5 stars.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Houston area

Second try. This one is much better.

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried a cheaper (but comparable) portable AC from Home Depot. The first unit was not made by LG. That was a disaster, but HD took it back and refunded my money.
I decided to give this LG unit a try, even though it cost more. I am glad I did. I have only been using it for a week now, but it has a number of nice features, likethe nice LCD screens on the unit and on the remote, and the fan is strong enough to spin the Ceiling fan, but it is fairly quiet (60 DB at 2 feet, and 50 DB at 10 feet according to my iPhone) . Of course, there are some things that they could do to make it better, like add buttons for the fan auto swing and auto clean to the unit (you can only set these with the remote now), and it would have been nice if it would show me the current room temperature (It only shows the 'set' temperature). I use it in my garage/workshop, and it looks like it will make the Houston summer bearable (I hope!).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from high point, nc

lg portable ac

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Maybe the best comfort appliance I've purchased for my
home. Bedroom is 18x16, high vaulted ceiling , does a great job cooling. Can put frost on window. haha
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Huntsville, AL

Excellent!

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product after the SPT model was delivered to my house damaged. This unit is amazing! It is quiet, cools like a dream, has easy to read display, a digital remote, and cools my two car garage (man cave) with ease. In Alabama during the summer that is no easy task! I highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northern Virginia

Good Item!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this AC because my central air is down and I like this unit, it is a little to loud but not much, however it does a great job. If it was a little quiter I would have give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Philadelphia

Looks can be ...well you get it

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible unit I read all the reviews,read the bad ones and thats what I got. my room called for 10000 btu's went bigger less effort so you would think.this thing ran for 28 strait hrs, temp stayed arround 78 degrees on hi with temp around 70...put it down to 60 no differance self evaporating yes..the hose gets so hot it almost fights itself (insolated hose would help). love the idea of a portable ac unit, just not this one.hope I just got a bad one (it happends).it was the last one at the store so no chance to improve my review.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Brooklyn, NY

pretty decent ac

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very very sleek looking. i haven't used it for too long, yet, but so far, so good. performs well enough, but i give it 4 stars because of a couple issues.
1) really cheap window kit.
my old haier ac came with a simple (much) harder plastic kit that worked like your typical windows screen. but i guess this one adapts better to different window sizes and types. it probably won't be an issue with most people, but it bugged me.
2) the fan is weak OR loud.
at the lowest setting, the sound isn't bad. i can't complain. on the 2nd and 3rd, it gets quite loud. I just leave it on low (F1). other reviews mention it being weak. i guess you can say that, but it's good enough.
3) miscellaneous.
just a couple random things. if you look at some pictures, the air vent has a cover, which is really really weird. i guess it's for sleekness' sake. it opens and closes automatically, but it seems to just get in the way of air flow. it has an auto swing function which makes the lid go up and down (which really doesn't do very much), but that's only on the remote.
when i try to turn it off from the console on the unit, it stays on for some reason. i need to hit the power button a second time to make it shut off. i'm guess the first push of the button turned on the console. the remote does that (sometimes), too. i have to hit the power button before it works. but i'm afraid it'll shut off the ac.
also, once, i shut the ac off. and it definitely powered all the way down. a few seconds later, it turned itself back on. hoping it's just some random thing.
as for the good, well.. it works. definitely plenty of cool air coming out. and the room definitely cools down. weather hasn't got really hot yet, but from usage so far, i'm confident it can get the room comfortable. also, no leaks, as some other portable ac's seem to have a problem with this. and we haven't had any particularly humid weather either, so i don't know if i'll have to drain the thing. also, i guess the sleek thing can be a positive. it kinda looks like a big paper shredder.
like i said, so far, so good. seems like a decent product. if any bigger issues come up, i'll try to post and update. otherwise, i would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from tampa

WOW WOW

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 10'x10'x7' room that has to be kept at 76 degrees and 50 percent humidity 24/7. This is my 3rd12,000 btu portable, first was a Frigidaire, 2nd was a Delonghi and this is by far the most effeciant and quiet unit yet! You can barely hear it run and it blows 56 degree at unit, thats cold, will cool down the room quick and it's a very hot room!
I'm very impressed with this unit and would say it's the best out there!
Many nice functions, osillating fan, auto clean function, timer Etc.
Can you tell I love this unit yet?
You need a portable ac unit, this is the best you will do!!!!!!!
BUY BUY BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from MD

works well and has good design.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very effective at cooling large room. A little louder than first thought, but not too loud to be intrusive. We can sleep with it on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Boston, MA

Excellent portable air conditioner

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was concerned that this may need to be drained more than once a day. I received this air conditioner 3 days ago and it's been running since then. Weather very hot and humid and I'm testing to see how long before the tank is full and the auto shut off kicks in. Well in 3 days that hasn't happened. Since today the weather was 90 degrees with high humidity, I decided to drain just to see, and only a few drops of water came out. I have 3 rooms and all cool, now i'm purposely running to see just how long before the tank fills and the auto shut off kicks in. Not sure why negative reviews about this issue maybe they just bought a bad unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northwestern Ohio

portable air conditoner

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I do recommend this portable air conditioner... however... I ordered it from homedepot.com and recieved it a week and a half later. I hooked it up to the window, plugged it in and it did not cool at all. I could hear the compressor come on but no cool air (I have an existing Haier portable and window unit so its easy to tell the difference between a fan and cold air).
So I packed it back up and took it to my local home depot store for an exchange. Unfortunately, they don't do exchanges so I got a refund (the store price is 50 bucks more). I bought the same portable from the store, took it home, hooked it up, plugged it in and bammo; cold air.
I am cooling about 420 sq ft and it does an okay job. Today its just about 100 outside and humid. I have had the air conditoner running all day and inside its 76. It hasn't stopped running but its keeping it more than tolerable inside.
As for noise level, its a big a 12,000 air conditioner inside the house. You have to expect its not going to be overly quiet. Personally I find it to be nice ambient noise ... when just the fan is on I'd say its pretty quiet. With the compressor running it sounds like an air conditioner.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Vermont

Lg 12,000 BTU Portable Air conditioner

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We did a lot a research before buying this item. We have a great room/kitchen that is 500 sqft. The window are all crank out and cannot accomodate a window unit. This unit cools the entire area in a hurry! Wow is that a great surprise. I do sue an extra fan to move the air around corners.
The installation became a bit of a problem. We had to cut a hole in the wall for the hot air exhaust but once that was done, things were good. If you plan on using this unit as an dehumidifier (one of it's additional) features, be aware that you must have somewhere for a drain hose. The instructions state the drain pan will hold one quart of water, not so. The 'full' signal comes on about every ten minutes and only about a cup of water will drain.
Overall, I'm very, very pleased. An abundance of cool dehumidified air......Hooray!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Burlington, VT

Had it in and running 5 minuets after I got it home.

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quiet, did kick off a breaker but I live in an older home. But once I got it back on haven't had any problems.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Gender:Male

Motor broke after one year

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor broke after almost exactly one year. It was put in a server room and run continuously. Water did not fill up very quickly, so that was good. However, it also did not stay very cool for the last few months. For regular intermittent home use, it should be just OK.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sooooo bad

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this one for 3 years. Worked great year one. Then I had to constantly drain water, every 2-3 hours. Thermostat is erratic. I called LG for service and the nearest place is almost 100 miles away and they want $200 just to look at it. I will NEVER buy an LG product again. Piece of JUNK!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>