728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product86 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(56)
4
(24)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product86 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
brooklynite5
from Brooklyn, NY

pretty decent ac

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very very sleek looking. i haven't used it for too long, yet, but so far, so good. performs well enough, but i give it 4 stars because of a couple issues.
1) really cheap window kit.
my old haier ac came with a simple (much) harder plastic kit that worked like your typical windows screen. but i guess this one adapts better to different window sizes and types. it probably won't be an issue with most people, but it bugged me.
2) the fan is weak OR loud.
at the lowest setting, the sound isn't bad. i can't complain. on the 2nd and 3rd, it gets quite loud. I just leave it on low (F1). other reviews mention it being weak. i guess you can say that, but it's good enough.
3) miscellaneous.
just a couple random things. if you look at some pictures, the air vent has a cover, which is really really weird. i guess it's for sleekness' sake. it opens and closes automatically, but it seems to just get in the way of air flow. it has an auto swing function which makes the lid go up and down (which really doesn't do very much), but that's only on the remote.
when i try to turn it off from the console on the unit, it stays on for some reason. i need to hit the power button a second time to make it shut off. i'm guess the first push of the button turned on the console. the remote does that (sometimes), too. i have to hit the power button before it works. but i'm afraid it'll shut off the ac.
also, once, i shut the ac off. and it definitely powered all the way down. a few seconds later, it turned itself back on. hoping it's just some random thing.
as for the good, well.. it works. definitely plenty of cool air coming out. and the room definitely cools down. weather hasn't got really hot yet, but from usage so far, i'm confident it can get the room comfortable. also, no leaks, as some other portable ac's seem to have a problem with this. and we haven't had any particularly humid weather either, so i don't know if i'll have to drain the thing. also, i guess the sleek thing can be a positive. it kinda looks like a big paper shredder.
like i said, so far, so good. seems like a decent product. if any bigger issues come up, i'll try to post and update. otherwise, i would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
levimom
from Vermont

Lg 12,000 BTU Portable Air conditioner

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We did a lot a research before buying this item. We have a great room/kitchen that is 500 sqft. The window are all crank out and cannot accomodate a window unit. This unit cools the entire area in a hurry! Wow is that a great surprise. I do sue an extra fan to move the air around corners.
The installation became a bit of a problem. We had to cut a hole in the wall for the hot air exhaust but once that was done, things were good. If you plan on using this unit as an dehumidifier (one of it's additional) features, be aware that you must have somewhere for a drain hose. The instructions state the drain pan will hold one quart of water, not so. The 'full' signal comes on about every ten minutes and only about a cup of water will drain.
Overall, I'm very, very pleased. An abundance of cool dehumidified air......Hooray!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
coolandlovinit
from Huntington, NY

Love it!

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just had all the windows in my house changed and didn't want to bang them up by installing our big heavy window ACs. I am using the LG LP1210BXR in my home office right now and I just love it. It cools the room in no time on a sticky humid day. Last night my husband wheeled it into the living room where we've never been able to have AC before and it did a great job there as well. We don't like to use more energy than necessary so this is a great solution to a number of problems.
I carefully compared units before purchasing this one and read as much consumer info as possible. Although Consumer Reports doesn't have a brand by brand comparison, they suggest that you buy a unit rated at about twice as many BTUs as you need based on square footage because portable units are generally less powerful than their window counterparts.
As others have said, the vent panel is pretty flimsy and this seems to be the only drawback we've encountered so far. My husband cut the second extension vent panel down with a jigsaw and connected it to the vent panel with a smaller extension panel to create a sturdier solution, although he will probably make a new custom one eventually.
I have never written a review of any product online before but I am so pleased with this item that I wanted others to know how great it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
backyardcomputer
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Works well, easy set-up, portable

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just this at home depot in-store. I am not good at setting up or installing things at all, but this item was a breeze to set-up.
Set up simply involved putting the window bracket in the window, then connecting hose to window and to unit and then plugging item in wall. Easy.
I had to push the reset button on the plug for the unit to start, in additiona to pushing the POWER button on the remote that is. And, unit turned on fine.
I live in a small two bedroom duplex. It does not cool down the whole duplex/apt, nor would I expect it to and I would not expect any portable air conditioner to cool down the whole house.
I have the unit in one small bedroom, and it cools down the one small bed room just fine, even with the bedroom door open. If you close the bedroom door (with all windows closed of course), it would be very very cool.
Note I am using this item in the middle of a hot Summer Day, and my review above refers to the unit operating in the middle of the afternoon, on a HOT Summer day.
If you operate it at night, of course, it will cool down more rooms and of course, the room the unit is in will be much cooler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
hoont
from Northwestern Ohio

portable air conditoner

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I do recommend this portable air conditioner... however... I ordered it from homedepot.com and recieved it a week and a half later. I hooked it up to the window, plugged it in and it did not cool at all. I could hear the compressor come on but no cool air (I have an existing Haier portable and window unit so its easy to tell the difference between a fan and cold air).
So I packed it back up and took it to my local home depot store for an exchange. Unfortunately, they don't do exchanges so I got a refund (the store price is 50 bucks more). I bought the same portable from the store, took it home, hooked it up, plugged it in and bammo; cold air.
I am cooling about 420 sq ft and it does an okay job. Today its just about 100 outside and humid. I have had the air conditoner running all day and inside its 76. It hasn't stopped running but its keeping it more than tolerable inside.
As for noise level, its a big a 12,000 air conditioner inside the house. You have to expect its not going to be overly quiet. Personally I find it to be nice ambient noise ... when just the fan is on I'd say its pretty quiet. With the compressor running it sounds like an air conditioner.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
NewHomeOwnerInPA
from Lehigh Valley, PA

Love this a/c!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this unit to cool the downstairs level of our bi-level. We've had it since the spring and had to empty the bucket only once after days of horrible humidity. Love it and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
ChicagoGurl
from Chicago, IL

Keeping me comfortable

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these in the store during a very hot spell in late June and have been running it almost every day since. I can't afford to install central air and, due to the style of my windows, can't use window AC units, so it was portable or nothing.
Pros:
- It doesn't cool my entire 1300 sq ft home - I didn't expect it to - but with strategically located fans to help move cool air around, it makes the entire place MUCH more comfortable. My 15x32 living room where I run this gets downright chilly.
- Despite running the unit for weeks, mostly in very high humidity, I've never had to empty the tank.
- But for the one issue mentioned below, easy to set up and move.
Cons:
- Pretty darned loud - I'd never be able to sleep if I ran it in the bedroom. To be honest, I usually turn it off at night if the weather is tolerable because it can keep me awake even 40 feet away in the living room.
- The screws that came with the window installation kit were too large for the holes so I had to run to the local hardware store for smaller ones to assemble this (didn't want to make the holes larger in case I needed to return the unit).
Despite the noise, I've been very pleased with this unit, especially because we have a lot of mosquitoes this year. It's been great to keep the windows closed, the bugs out and the house comfortable. I would've had a miserable, hot summer without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
jimmot
from Burlington, VT

Had it in and running 5 minuets after I got it home.

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet, did kick off a breaker but I live in an older home. But once I got it back on haven't had any problems.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Carol1129
from Boston, MA

Excellent portable air conditioner

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned that this may need to be drained more than once a day. I received this air conditioner 3 days ago and it's been running since then. Weather very hot and humid and I'm testing to see how long before the tank is full and the auto shut off kicks in. Well in 3 days that hasn't happened. Since today the weather was 90 degrees with high humidity, I decided to drain just to see, and only a few drops of water came out. I have 3 rooms and all cool, now i'm purposely running to see just how long before the tank fills and the auto shut off kicks in. Not sure why negative reviews about this issue maybe they just bought a bad unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Whitts

Is worth the money

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is perfect for the master suite which is located on the west side of the second floor (which is always hot)My gas and electric bill is lower by $70 - $100 per month while keeping the bedroom very cool. The noise of the fan does not bother me, infact I like it, but my husband feels it is a little too loud. The unit was very easy to install and the remote is great. We give it 5 stars.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
mercerisland

Good quality and well designed portable A/C with remote control

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Set up was so easy - just plug power unit into wall outlet. You must press reset button on the connection unit. They should put BIG warning sign which has not. The unit is well designed and shows high quality stuff which all LG does nowadays. Setting up window vent was easy enough for anyone. It cools down living room very efficiently. Nice feature on remote also. Money well spent on this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Vall
from Watertown, CT

This product is greAT FOR A ROOM WITH SMALL WINDOWS, OR A ROOM WHERE YOU DON'T WANT THE OBSTRUCTION OFA WINDOW AIR CONDITIONER

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
iT COOLS A LARGE ROOM BEAUTIFULLY. iT IS A LITTLE MORE NOISY THAN i HAD HOPED. i WOULD RECOMMEND IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Mikemm

Don't buy

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Had for 2 yrs and now I have a ch03 error. Will not cool. Thermostat never worked, always over cooled. And is pretty loud.
Cons: Quality, Noisy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
ratkinso
from Houston, tx

Cools off room really fast

PostedApril 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cools off the room really fast, 20x25 room. Not a really quiet operation though. No problems, easy to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
RollTide69
from Huntsville, AL

Excellent!

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product after the SPT model was delivered to my house damaged. This unit is amazing! It is quiet, cools like a dream, has easy to read display, a digital remote, and cools my two car garage (man cave) with ease. In Alabama during the summer that is no easy task! I highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
ArashS
from Chicago

Almost perfect

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got one yesterday, it is almost perfect.
I was stuck between this and the DeLonghi PAC A120E.
According to reviews, that one drips like crazy, and I had a good experience with LG Air conditioners.
I had one of those Split ones, which you mount the compressor outside, comparing to that this is noisy.
I measure with a SPL meter, with A/C “OFF” I get around 50-55 db in my apartment, with A/C “ON” Fan Only (level 1) I get 60-63 db, and with A/C “ON” and compressor ON I get 67-69 db. Well it was the Iphone SPL meter so it might not be accurate, but you get the idea.
Anyway I think you get used to it after a while, because since yesterday I don’t notice the noise that much .
Other than the noise, I have no complains.
Great A/C. Good Value for money .Looks cool .Easy to install. Easy to use.Has Energy Saver mode. Totally recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
401aa
from Muskegon, MI

Works well

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I went in for a different unit that was out of stock and this was the only portable AC unit left, so I bought it. It was easy to install and seems to be working well. It is quiet (about the noise level of a regular fan). The ad and information says the water containment doesn't need to be emptied but there are instructions on how to do this when the unit alarms full, so we will have to see how long that takes to fill up. It has cooled off our offic e and it is alittle larger than the square footage this is supposed to take care of. Nice unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
nbtexas
from South Texas

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit following the demise of my central AC. This is a great unit. I have a rather large kitchen/living room combo that needs to be cooled. With the assistance of an oscillating fan, this unit provides excellent cooling for this area. I live in South Texas and it is already 95 degrees during the day and rising. When I get home in the evenings, I turn this on and within an hour the room is comfortable. The unit is well built and has nice features. I would recommend this to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Manassas
from Northern Virginia

Good Item!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this AC because my central air is down and I like this unit, it is a little to loud but not much, however it does a great job. If it was a little quiter I would have give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Chitwood
from South Boston, MA

Good portable A/C

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I only have a couple of complaints about this A/C. Its a $500 A/C but it comes with a $5 window installation kit. LG needs to redesign this installation kit because it doesn't fit every window as tightly as it should. In all of my windows this kit left a half inch gap in width and its fit was very awkward and is a pain to install. I ended up making my own window kit out of vinyl soffit covering and a 2x3 frame, which came out perfectly and looked great.
The A/C pumps out ice cold air and has great features that come along with it. The downside is the vent tube radiates a lot of heat which decreases the units ability to effectively and efficiently cool. I gave it a 4 star rating as I bet all portable models have the same problems as the tubes are very similar. They need to offer a tube that can insulate the heat and cut back on the heat that radiates from it.
In all I would recommend this model, LG offers a great in home warranty with it as well as they make good products that last. The A/C is very sleek and stylish, the one down side is that it is rather large and needs a large clear area to operate. It can take more time than the window versions but it will eventually maintain a cool room on high, economode isn't its strongest feature when you have the temp setting low. It can allow the room temperature to rise to uncomfortable temps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>