728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product98 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(65)
4
(27)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product98 of 118reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Laurelton, NY

LG portable AC

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst ac ever. First one I bought I returned it the same day, had to empty the thank every 10 mins. The 2nd one never got the room cool at all. My window AC with half the BTU's cooled the room much better. Don't buy this AC. You'll will return it the same day and get another one just as bad.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Houston, tx

Cools off room really fast

PostedApril 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cools off the room really fast, 20x25 room. Not a really quiet operation though. No problems, easy to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from high point, nc

lg portable ac

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Maybe the best comfort appliance I've purchased for my
home. Bedroom is 18x16, high vaulted ceiling , does a great job cooling. Can put frost on window. haha
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Works well, easy set-up, portable

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just this at home depot in-store. I am not good at setting up or installing things at all, but this item was a breeze to set-up.
Set up simply involved putting the window bracket in the window, then connecting hose to window and to unit and then plugging item in wall. Easy.
I had to push the reset button on the plug for the unit to start, in additiona to pushing the POWER button on the remote that is. And, unit turned on fine.
I live in a small two bedroom duplex. It does not cool down the whole duplex/apt, nor would I expect it to and I would not expect any portable air conditioner to cool down the whole house.
I have the unit in one small bedroom, and it cools down the one small bed room just fine, even with the bedroom door open. If you close the bedroom door (with all windows closed of course), it would be very very cool.
Note I am using this item in the middle of a hot Summer Day, and my review above refers to the unit operating in the middle of the afternoon, on a HOT Summer day.
If you operate it at night, of course, it will cool down more rooms and of course, the room the unit is in will be much cooler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

it's the best

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner at Home Depot last year and it's been wonderful. We use it mainly in our computer room which does get quite hot in the summer. We're going to buy another one this month since it's easy to install and it does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Brooklyn, NY

pretty decent ac

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very very sleek looking. i haven't used it for too long, yet, but so far, so good. performs well enough, but i give it 4 stars because of a couple issues.
1) really cheap window kit.
my old haier ac came with a simple (much) harder plastic kit that worked like your typical windows screen. but i guess this one adapts better to different window sizes and types. it probably won't be an issue with most people, but it bugged me.
2) the fan is weak OR loud.
at the lowest setting, the sound isn't bad. i can't complain. on the 2nd and 3rd, it gets quite loud. I just leave it on low (F1). other reviews mention it being weak. i guess you can say that, but it's good enough.
3) miscellaneous.
just a couple random things. if you look at some pictures, the air vent has a cover, which is really really weird. i guess it's for sleekness' sake. it opens and closes automatically, but it seems to just get in the way of air flow. it has an auto swing function which makes the lid go up and down (which really doesn't do very much), but that's only on the remote.
when i try to turn it off from the console on the unit, it stays on for some reason. i need to hit the power button a second time to make it shut off. i'm guess the first push of the button turned on the console. the remote does that (sometimes), too. i have to hit the power button before it works. but i'm afraid it'll shut off the ac.
also, once, i shut the ac off. and it definitely powered all the way down. a few seconds later, it turned itself back on. hoping it's just some random thing.
as for the good, well.. it works. definitely plenty of cool air coming out. and the room definitely cools down. weather hasn't got really hot yet, but from usage so far, i'm confident it can get the room comfortable. also, no leaks, as some other portable ac's seem to have a problem with this. and we haven't had any particularly humid weather either, so i don't know if i'll have to drain the thing. also, i guess the sleek thing can be a positive. it kinda looks like a big paper shredder.
like i said, so far, so good. seems like a decent product. if any bigger issues come up, i'll try to post and update. otherwise, i would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Huntsville, AL

Excellent!

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product after the SPT model was delivered to my house damaged. This unit is amazing! It is quiet, cools like a dream, has easy to read display, a digital remote, and cools my two car garage (man cave) with ease. In Alabama during the summer that is no easy task! I highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from South Boston, MA

Good portable A/C

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I only have a couple of complaints about this A/C. Its a $500 A/C but it comes with a $5 window installation kit. LG needs to redesign this installation kit because it doesn't fit every window as tightly as it should. In all of my windows this kit left a half inch gap in width and its fit was very awkward and is a pain to install. I ended up making my own window kit out of vinyl soffit covering and a 2x3 frame, which came out perfectly and looked great.
The A/C pumps out ice cold air and has great features that come along with it. The downside is the vent tube radiates a lot of heat which decreases the units ability to effectively and efficiently cool. I gave it a 4 star rating as I bet all portable models have the same problems as the tubes are very similar. They need to offer a tube that can insulate the heat and cut back on the heat that radiates from it.
In all I would recommend this model, LG offers a great in home warranty with it as well as they make good products that last. The A/C is very sleek and stylish, the one down side is that it is rather large and needs a large clear area to operate. It can take more time than the window versions but it will eventually maintain a cool room on high, economode isn't its strongest feature when you have the temp setting low. It can allow the room temperature to rise to uncomfortable temps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northern Virginia

Good Item!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this AC because my central air is down and I like this unit, it is a little to loud but not much, however it does a great job. If it was a little quiter I would have give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Phoenix, AZ

120 degrees in Phoenix - but my office is cool!

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My home office was completely miserable - hooked this up and had it cool in less than an hour. Love it, love it, love it!
Negatives, but they don't outweight the positives:
The window kit is a flimsy joke and too short for my window, but I bought a six-inch wide, two-inch thick piece of foam, cut out a slot to fit the hose, silver taped it, and it works just fine. Not so attractive, but fine.
For $500, I expected it to be quieter, though.It wouldn't be bad if it were across the room, but it has to go right next to my desk becuase of the window location. Definately not good for telephone conversations in an office enviro.
All in all - Totally worth it. So, SO AWESOME to be cool!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Fenwick Delaware

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best air conditioner!
I have it on a 10x15 sun room with single pane glass on 3 sides and 12-foot high ceilings.
In the past this room would bake between 85-90+ degrees making the room totally unsuitable on warm summer days. Now it stays a comfy 73 with the thermostat on the unit set around 80. I can leave the slider open to help cool off the rest of the house and give my heat pump a break. I use the energy saver setting on the unit and it works great. I highly recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

It does the job.

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this unit about a month ago and it's been working good so far. My studio apartment is about 350sf and it turns it into an ice box even during the heat waves.
There are some glitches with the unit though. I think the thermostat is innaccurate because the unit runs continuously even in energy save mode. Even if I set it to say 80 degrees, it cools the room till it's freezing.
One other thing I'd like to mention is that it's not as quiet as a window unit, but probably quieter than other portables. I measured it at between 65-68 dB with the compressor on and fan speed low. That's just enough to be annoying.
Overall it's a good air conditioner, but I think LG needs to make this a little quieter and smarter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Nursing Home Lifesaver

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a frail nursing home resident who refused to move from his room even though the A/C was broken. Put the LG portable unit in his room with about 86 degree temp. Within 10 minutes the temp dropped 6 degrees with the exhaust still blowing towards the open door and not yet hooked up to the window. The unit gave us time to wait until the next day for the overwhelmed A/C repairman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Alert for condensation tank to sensitive

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am forever having to empty this dang catch tank. That is the ONLY problem. Otherwise its an execellent unit..really does the job. Not really loud to me. but then thats me.. But the constant alert which shuts down the unit until emptied of water is nearly every day. I wish I knew how to disarm the dang thing I would certainly do so. Any ideas? next thing I am going to put the unit on a platform with a hose into a bucket and leave the plug out......anyway...again it does cool and takes care of more than one room easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Ohio

Well worth the price.

PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to replace an older window A/C. Based on already having a smaller LG A/C in my bedroom, I purchased this model and couldn't be more satisfied. For starters, it's nice to have the portability and relative quietness of this model. Secondly, having the entire unit indoors totally eliminates the burdensome cleaning and maintenance of a window/outdoor model. Third, the additional features of this model, such as an auto clean function as well as a cool/dry function that cools and dehumidifies (thus keeping it comfortable), make it a smart purchase. Finally, along with actually having an energy saver mode, this A/C is a lot more efficient than my old one. So far, it's been working like a dream and I can (and do) highly recommend it.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Muskegon, MI

Works well

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I went in for a different unit that was out of stock and this was the only portable AC unit left, so I bought it. It was easy to install and seems to be working well. It is quiet (about the noise level of a regular fan). The ad and information says the water containment doesn't need to be emptied but there are instructions on how to do this when the unit alarms full, so we will have to see how long that takes to fill up. It has cooled off our offic e and it is alittle larger than the square footage this is supposed to take care of. Nice unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Tampa, FL

Good value, minor annoyances but for one

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Having used a few portable units I have some familiarity with them. In my case I needed 12,000 BTU to cool my office. I've discovered an assembly error where the wires for the temperature sensor (thyristor) gets bent 90 degrees during assembly, which apparently breaks them.
The result is a unit which never turns off. I've had two of them with this assembly error. The first 5 characters of the serial number shows the batch. Which is 002TA. At this point I'm guessing that this batch might be bad and I'm searching for a different one.
It does not have automatic fan speed, which is both good and bad. There are three speeds.
Because it supposedly is self evaporating the water collector is really small, a few cc only. It does however fill up and needs to be drained.
The remote control appears broken as it comes on when you insert the batteries, and then immediately turns off. There is a power button which would appear to turn the A/C on and off, but actually turns the remote on and off.
A colleague of mine has used his portable LG for 2 years with no problems.
$500 for 12,000 portable BTU's is a pretty good deal.
LG Customer service sent a tech to my house who diagnosed the problem. It was a nice experience dealing with them.
Home Depot, as usual, let me replace the bad units or get a refund. I'm sticking to LG however.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Expected more

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit to cool a 275 sq. foot room and it definitely did not do the job. It was very quiet but the air that came out of it wasn't cold just cool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Lehigh Valley, PA

Love this a/c!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this unit to cool the downstairs level of our bi-level. We've had it since the spring and had to empty the bucket only once after days of horrible humidity. Love it and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>