728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(26)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Kauai, HI

ADEQUATE A/C

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit because I could not install a window unit as I have louvered windows. I used a 20"x40" piece of 1/4" plexiglas and attached it to the window. I then cut the required hole in the middle of the plexiglas for the vent hose. The first unit I purchased was defective in that the thermostat would not trigger the compressor to cycle off no matter what temperature I set. I have a bedroom and bath with total area around 500 sq. ft. I set the unit to 74 degrees and by the middle of the night the room temperature had dropped to 64 degrees and the unit had still not cycled off. Thankfully Home Depot exchanged the unit for another one which functions properly. The thermostat is 6 degrees off however. I have to set it at 78 to give me 72 degree room temperature. It does cycle properly and keeps the room at an even temperature. The unit is rather noisy when the compressor is running. I measured 64 db from 1 meter away with my SPL meter. I think of it as "white noise" and it actually helps me get to sleep. All things considered it does what it's supposed to do. Just make sure the unit cycles properly and maintains a constant temperature.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Ohio

Well worth the price.

PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to replace an older window A/C. Based on already having a smaller LG A/C in my bedroom, I purchased this model and couldn't be more satisfied. For starters, it's nice to have the portability and relative quietness of this model. Secondly, having the entire unit indoors totally eliminates the burdensome cleaning and maintenance of a window/outdoor model. Third, the additional features of this model, such as an auto clean function as well as a cool/dry function that cools and dehumidifies (thus keeping it comfortable), make it a smart purchase. Finally, along with actually having an energy saver mode, this A/C is a lot more efficient than my old one. So far, it's been working like a dream and I can (and do) highly recommend it.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Beavercreek, OH

Great Results

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our bedroom is on the 2nd floor. It's 18x23 with ONE (yes, one) register to pump air/heat into the room. During the peak summer days, temps in our room reach 80. I installed this A/C unit and now we can keep it at around 73.5 at night - our room is now very comfortable. It has an oscillating vent on the front that moves the air around a little more than had it just pumped air through a stationary vent. Installation is easy, although I recommend you don't stick the insulation strips to your window. You'll eventually move that unit (for winter) and you'll have a sticky mess trying to remove those strips. The only thing that is mildly annoying about this unit is the remote doesn't have a light, so you cannot see it at night. The unit is a little noisy, but nothing more than I expected from an A/C unit. It did spook our dog for a few nights, but he's fine with it now. Overall, it's a great purchase that I hope lasts. We've only had it for two weeks, but so far, so good. I did go against Clark Howard's advice and purchased the $65 2 year extended warranty. That gives me 3 years total coverage - I'll take the peace of mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Good quality and well designed portable A/C with remote control

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Set up was so easy - just plug power unit into wall outlet. You must press reset button on the connection unit. They should put BIG warning sign which has not. The unit is well designed and shows high quality stuff which all LG does nowadays. Setting up window vent was easy enough for anyone. It cools down living room very efficiently. Nice feature on remote also. Money well spent on this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Recommended for serious cooling

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Rather than pay to have a window AC installed, then removed before winter, we decided on a portable unit. It was during the heat of summer when we went shopping for one at Home Depot, so units had been flying out of the store and there were no more 10,000 BTU units left, which we originally wanted. We paid a little more for a LG 12,000 BTU portable, but I'm happy we got more capacity since it was for a 13' x 23' living room (299 sq. ft.) and probably has to work less than a 10,000 BTU unit.
Installing the window vent took a bit, but that's par for the course since there are many different type of windows and the one-size-fits-all vent extension sometimes doesn't fit in all windows. Ours are tall, vertically-closing vinyl windows. I had to drill holes in the window frame to for the vent extension screws, plus added some foam stripping (for insulation) and a piece of cardboard because the vent extensions weren't long enough.
A caveat for anyone considering buying a portable AC: the exhaust hose gets very hot, so the shortest path to the window is recommended. Be sure you have clear access to the window you plan to use for installation.
Once the window vent was installed, the unit was fired up and began cooling almost instantly. It's noisy, but probably no more so than most 12,000 BTU AC units. It may be too loud for some people to sleep.
Both the buttons and LCD panel are large and logically laid out. There are many combinations of settings including fan speed, fan only, temperature, as well as an Eco Cool setting for power saving. It has been able to keep us cool during the hottest summer days. On some settings, the fan does stay on while the compressor has cycled off.
This is our third season using the unit and it's performed flawlessly.
The only cons would be the vent doesn't stay fully raised when the AC is turned on, requiring manually raising it and the auto-swing can only be enabled by the remote, which we misplaced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Tampa, FL

Good value, minor annoyances but for one

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Having used a few portable units I have some familiarity with them. In my case I needed 12,000 BTU to cool my office. I've discovered an assembly error where the wires for the temperature sensor (thyristor) gets bent 90 degrees during assembly, which apparently breaks them.
The result is a unit which never turns off. I've had two of them with this assembly error. The first 5 characters of the serial number shows the batch. Which is 002TA. At this point I'm guessing that this batch might be bad and I'm searching for a different one.
It does not have automatic fan speed, which is both good and bad. There are three speeds.
Because it supposedly is self evaporating the water collector is really small, a few cc only. It does however fill up and needs to be drained.
The remote control appears broken as it comes on when you insert the batteries, and then immediately turns off. There is a power button which would appear to turn the A/C on and off, but actually turns the remote on and off.
A colleague of mine has used his portable LG for 2 years with no problems.
$500 for 12,000 portable BTU's is a pretty good deal.
LG Customer service sent a tech to my house who diagnosed the problem. It was a nice experience dealing with them.
Home Depot, as usual, let me replace the bad units or get a refund. I'm sticking to LG however.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Muskegon, MI

Works well

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I went in for a different unit that was out of stock and this was the only portable AC unit left, so I bought it. It was easy to install and seems to be working well. It is quiet (about the noise level of a regular fan). The ad and information says the water containment doesn't need to be emptied but there are instructions on how to do this when the unit alarms full, so we will have to see how long that takes to fill up. It has cooled off our offic e and it is alittle larger than the square footage this is supposed to take care of. Nice unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Fenwick Delaware

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best air conditioner!
I have it on a 10x15 sun room with single pane glass on 3 sides and 12-foot high ceilings.
In the past this room would bake between 85-90+ degrees making the room totally unsuitable on warm summer days. Now it stays a comfy 73 with the thermostat on the unit set around 80. I can leave the slider open to help cool off the rest of the house and give my heat pump a break. I use the energy saver setting on the unit and it works great. I highly recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Works well, easy set-up, portable

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just this at home depot in-store. I am not good at setting up or installing things at all, but this item was a breeze to set-up.
Set up simply involved putting the window bracket in the window, then connecting hose to window and to unit and then plugging item in wall. Easy.
I had to push the reset button on the plug for the unit to start, in additiona to pushing the POWER button on the remote that is. And, unit turned on fine.
I live in a small two bedroom duplex. It does not cool down the whole duplex/apt, nor would I expect it to and I would not expect any portable air conditioner to cool down the whole house.
I have the unit in one small bedroom, and it cools down the one small bed room just fine, even with the bedroom door open. If you close the bedroom door (with all windows closed of course), it would be very very cool.
Note I am using this item in the middle of a hot Summer Day, and my review above refers to the unit operating in the middle of the afternoon, on a HOT Summer day.
If you operate it at night, of course, it will cool down more rooms and of course, the room the unit is in will be much cooler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Laurelton, NY

LG portable AC

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst ac ever. First one I bought I returned it the same day, had to empty the thank every 10 mins. The 2nd one never got the room cool at all. My window AC with half the BTU's cooled the room much better. Don't buy this AC. You'll will return it the same day and get another one just as bad.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from MD

works well and has good design.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very effective at cooling large room. A little louder than first thought, but not too loud to be intrusive. We can sleep with it on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Don't buy

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Had for 2 yrs and now I have a ch03 error. Will not cool. Thermostat never worked, always over cooled. And is pretty loud.
Cons: Quality, Noisy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Raleigh, NC

LG Portable Air Con

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this yesterday to cool my office (bonus room that is the warmest in the house) so I don't have to run my central air all day as I work from home. My office is approx 450 sq ft. Took about 30 mins to setup as the window kit is a bit fiddly and you need to be a bit careful not to break the plastic.
However, once setup it works really well. Not too loud and immediatly blows cold air. I got down from 87 degrees to 78 in 58 mins. In NC it is currently 88 degrees and I run this every other hour (a bit noisy when I am on the phone).
I was a bit reluctant to spend $500, but it is working well and I am sure it will save me money in the long run.
I gave it 5 stars as it works really well even if the window kit icould probably be a bit easier to setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oviedo, Florida

Cool To Be Cool By LG

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wow! This little baby is really the coolest thing in Air Conditioning technology. I live in a mobile home and to cool this old home cost a fortune but with the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner does the trick. I have it in my bedroom and I sleep like a baby and the cost is pennies compare to the electric bill to cool the entire place. The convenience to roll it around to the rooms you want to cool is just awlsome. Not only does it cool but at the same time it dehumidifys. Beautifully slimline and easy to maintain. I will now be able to enjoy the "Hot Summers" in beautiful Florida. By the way, it took only less than an hour for my girlfriend and me to set it up and start it cooling. Her engineer husband was shocked and surprised we didn't need his expertise. Only one draw back is that you do need to have one window in each room you wish to cool set up for the hose atached to the system but it is well worth the extra cost for the comfort of the LG Cooling system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Vermont

Lg 12,000 BTU Portable Air conditioner

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We did a lot a research before buying this item. We have a great room/kitchen that is 500 sqft. The window are all crank out and cannot accomodate a window unit. This unit cools the entire area in a hurry! Wow is that a great surprise. I do sue an extra fan to move the air around corners.
The installation became a bit of a problem. We had to cut a hole in the wall for the hot air exhaust but once that was done, things were good. If you plan on using this unit as an dehumidifier (one of it's additional) features, be aware that you must have somewhere for a drain hose. The instructions state the drain pan will hold one quart of water, not so. The 'full' signal comes on about every ten minutes and only about a cup of water will drain.
Overall, I'm very, very pleased. An abundance of cool dehumidified air......Hooray!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Huntington, NY

Love it!

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just had all the windows in my house changed and didn't want to bang them up by installing our big heavy window ACs. I am using the LG LP1210BXR in my home office right now and I just love it. It cools the room in no time on a sticky humid day. Last night my husband wheeled it into the living room where we've never been able to have AC before and it did a great job there as well. We don't like to use more energy than necessary so this is a great solution to a number of problems.
I carefully compared units before purchasing this one and read as much consumer info as possible. Although Consumer Reports doesn't have a brand by brand comparison, they suggest that you buy a unit rated at about twice as many BTUs as you need based on square footage because portable units are generally less powerful than their window counterparts.
As others have said, the vent panel is pretty flimsy and this seems to be the only drawback we've encountered so far. My husband cut the second extension vent panel down with a jigsaw and connected it to the vent panel with a smaller extension panel to create a sturdier solution, although he will probably make a new custom one eventually.
I have never written a review of any product online before but I am so pleased with this item that I wanted others to know how great it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Los Angeles, CA

The Air Conditioner works great.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Is worth the money

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is perfect for the master suite which is located on the west side of the second floor (which is always hot)My gas and electric bill is lower by $70 - $100 per month while keeping the bedroom very cool. The noise of the fan does not bother me, infact I like it, but my husband feels it is a little too loud. The unit was very easy to install and the remote is great. We give it 5 stars.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Gender:Male

Motor broke after one year

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor broke after almost exactly one year. It was put in a server room and run continuously. Water did not fill up very quickly, so that was good. However, it also did not stay very cool for the last few months. For regular intermittent home use, it should be just OK.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>