728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(26)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Alert for condensation tank to sensitive

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am forever having to empty this dang catch tank. That is the ONLY problem. Otherwise its an execellent unit..really does the job. Not really loud to me. but then thats me.. But the constant alert which shuts down the unit until emptied of water is nearly every day. I wish I knew how to disarm the dang thing I would certainly do so. Any ideas? next thing I am going to put the unit on a platform with a hose into a bucket and leave the plug out......anyway...again it does cool and takes care of more than one room easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Works well, easy set-up, portable

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just this at home depot in-store. I am not good at setting up or installing things at all, but this item was a breeze to set-up.
Set up simply involved putting the window bracket in the window, then connecting hose to window and to unit and then plugging item in wall. Easy.
I had to push the reset button on the plug for the unit to start, in additiona to pushing the POWER button on the remote that is. And, unit turned on fine.
I live in a small two bedroom duplex. It does not cool down the whole duplex/apt, nor would I expect it to and I would not expect any portable air conditioner to cool down the whole house.
I have the unit in one small bedroom, and it cools down the one small bed room just fine, even with the bedroom door open. If you close the bedroom door (with all windows closed of course), it would be very very cool.
Note I am using this item in the middle of a hot Summer Day, and my review above refers to the unit operating in the middle of the afternoon, on a HOT Summer day.
If you operate it at night, of course, it will cool down more rooms and of course, the room the unit is in will be much cooler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from New London, CT

Ran 24/7 in large living room

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did NOT have to empty the tank for almost two weeks; very hot and humid weather. Great Unit.....quietest one i have owned; plan on buying a second one in near future. A+
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Muskegon, MI

Works well

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I went in for a different unit that was out of stock and this was the only portable AC unit left, so I bought it. It was easy to install and seems to be working well. It is quiet (about the noise level of a regular fan). The ad and information says the water containment doesn't need to be emptied but there are instructions on how to do this when the unit alarms full, so we will have to see how long that takes to fill up. It has cooled off our offic e and it is alittle larger than the square footage this is supposed to take care of. Nice unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Columbia, Connecticut

Please Read - Before you buy

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) As other reviewers have said, the "compressor" was very loud, compared to the Everstar and Commercial Cool portable ACs that I already own. This AC was an addition to those two, so I have serious comparisons at my leisure. Also as other reviewers say, the compressor would not cycle "off" but would instead stay on constantly. So when set at 76 degrees the kitchen went down to 66 degrees.
2) What others did not say, is that the window kit would not fit my standard, everyday normal windows. The large area of the hose came way too close to the window. So I had to loosely secure it with duct tape because I could not get the oval part at the end of the hose to snap into the window section. Again, my other two ACs had PLENTY of room.
3) Also, after powering the unit on each time, the louvers robotically open (as they are supposed to) but then they would close half way and remain that way, audibly and obviously restricting the air flow. So each time I turned it on, I had to reopen the louvers all the way by hand.
4) So, with all that said, I kept this AC for 3 months in my southern exposure kitchen and only turned it on during the hottest days that I needed it, while relying on my other two ACs to keep the rest of the house cool most other days. I could not keep it on all the time because the compressor would not shut off, but it loudly kept the kitchen cool when I absolutely needed it. Two days before the 3 month return policy was up, I gladly returned it to Home Depot and got my money back. I'll be sure to get a different brand next summer. I gave 2 stars instead of 1 star because it did put out some seriously cold air. But that's about it.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Los Angeles, CA

The Air Conditioner works great.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Boston, MA

Excellent portable air conditioner

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned that this may need to be drained more than once a day. I received this air conditioner 3 days ago and it's been running since then. Weather very hot and humid and I'm testing to see how long before the tank is full and the auto shut off kicks in. Well in 3 days that hasn't happened. Since today the weather was 90 degrees with high humidity, I decided to drain just to see, and only a few drops of water came out. I have 3 rooms and all cool, now i'm purposely running to see just how long before the tank fills and the auto shut off kicks in. Not sure why negative reviews about this issue maybe they just bought a bad unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from high point, nc

lg portable ac

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Maybe the best comfort appliance I've purchased for my
home. Bedroom is 18x16, high vaulted ceiling , does a great job cooling. Can put frost on window. haha
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Gender:Male

Motor broke after one year

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor broke after almost exactly one year. It was put in a server room and run continuously. Water did not fill up very quickly, so that was good. However, it also did not stay very cool for the last few months. For regular intermittent home use, it should be just OK.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northern Virginia

Good Item!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this AC because my central air is down and I like this unit, it is a little to loud but not much, however it does a great job. If it was a little quiter I would have give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from South Texas

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit following the demise of my central AC. This is a great unit. I have a rather large kitchen/living room combo that needs to be cooled. With the assistance of an oscillating fan, this unit provides excellent cooling for this area. I live in South Texas and it is already 95 degrees during the day and rising. When I get home in the evenings, I turn this on and within an hour the room is comfortable. The unit is well built and has nice features. I would recommend this to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Brooklyn, NY

pretty decent ac

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very very sleek looking. i haven't used it for too long, yet, but so far, so good. performs well enough, but i give it 4 stars because of a couple issues.
1) really cheap window kit.
my old haier ac came with a simple (much) harder plastic kit that worked like your typical windows screen. but i guess this one adapts better to different window sizes and types. it probably won't be an issue with most people, but it bugged me.
2) the fan is weak OR loud.
at the lowest setting, the sound isn't bad. i can't complain. on the 2nd and 3rd, it gets quite loud. I just leave it on low (F1). other reviews mention it being weak. i guess you can say that, but it's good enough.
3) miscellaneous.
just a couple random things. if you look at some pictures, the air vent has a cover, which is really really weird. i guess it's for sleekness' sake. it opens and closes automatically, but it seems to just get in the way of air flow. it has an auto swing function which makes the lid go up and down (which really doesn't do very much), but that's only on the remote.
when i try to turn it off from the console on the unit, it stays on for some reason. i need to hit the power button a second time to make it shut off. i'm guess the first push of the button turned on the console. the remote does that (sometimes), too. i have to hit the power button before it works. but i'm afraid it'll shut off the ac.
also, once, i shut the ac off. and it definitely powered all the way down. a few seconds later, it turned itself back on. hoping it's just some random thing.
as for the good, well.. it works. definitely plenty of cool air coming out. and the room definitely cools down. weather hasn't got really hot yet, but from usage so far, i'm confident it can get the room comfortable. also, no leaks, as some other portable ac's seem to have a problem with this. and we haven't had any particularly humid weather either, so i don't know if i'll have to drain the thing. also, i guess the sleek thing can be a positive. it kinda looks like a big paper shredder.
like i said, so far, so good. seems like a decent product. if any bigger issues come up, i'll try to post and update. otherwise, i would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Houston area

Second try. This one is much better.

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried a cheaper (but comparable) portable AC from Home Depot. The first unit was not made by LG. That was a disaster, but HD took it back and refunded my money.
I decided to give this LG unit a try, even though it cost more. I am glad I did. I have only been using it for a week now, but it has a number of nice features, likethe nice LCD screens on the unit and on the remote, and the fan is strong enough to spin the Ceiling fan, but it is fairly quiet (60 DB at 2 feet, and 50 DB at 10 feet according to my iPhone) . Of course, there are some things that they could do to make it better, like add buttons for the fan auto swing and auto clean to the unit (you can only set these with the remote now), and it would have been nice if it would show me the current room temperature (It only shows the 'set' temperature). I use it in my garage/workshop, and it looks like it will make the Houston summer bearable (I hope!).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

It does the job.

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this unit about a month ago and it's been working good so far. My studio apartment is about 350sf and it turns it into an ice box even during the heat waves.
There are some glitches with the unit though. I think the thermostat is innaccurate because the unit runs continuously even in energy save mode. Even if I set it to say 80 degrees, it cools the room till it's freezing.
One other thing I'd like to mention is that it's not as quiet as a window unit, but probably quieter than other portables. I measured it at between 65-68 dB with the compressor on and fan speed low. That's just enough to be annoying.
Overall it's a good air conditioner, but I think LG needs to make this a little quieter and smarter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

it's the best

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner at Home Depot last year and it's been wonderful. We use it mainly in our computer room which does get quite hot in the summer. We're going to buy another one this month since it's easy to install and it does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Laurelton, NY

LG portable AC

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst ac ever. First one I bought I returned it the same day, had to empty the thank every 10 mins. The 2nd one never got the room cool at all. My window AC with half the BTU's cooled the room much better. Don't buy this AC. You'll will return it the same day and get another one just as bad.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oviedo, Florida

Cool To Be Cool By LG

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wow! This little baby is really the coolest thing in Air Conditioning technology. I live in a mobile home and to cool this old home cost a fortune but with the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner does the trick. I have it in my bedroom and I sleep like a baby and the cost is pennies compare to the electric bill to cool the entire place. The convenience to roll it around to the rooms you want to cool is just awlsome. Not only does it cool but at the same time it dehumidifys. Beautifully slimline and easy to maintain. I will now be able to enjoy the "Hot Summers" in beautiful Florida. By the way, it took only less than an hour for my girlfriend and me to set it up and start it cooling. Her engineer husband was shocked and surprised we didn't need his expertise. Only one draw back is that you do need to have one window in each room you wish to cool set up for the hose atached to the system but it is well worth the extra cost for the comfort of the LG Cooling system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Chicago, IL

Keeping me comfortable

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these in the store during a very hot spell in late June and have been running it almost every day since. I can't afford to install central air and, due to the style of my windows, can't use window AC units, so it was portable or nothing.
Pros:
- It doesn't cool my entire 1300 sq ft home - I didn't expect it to - but with strategically located fans to help move cool air around, it makes the entire place MUCH more comfortable. My 15x32 living room where I run this gets downright chilly.
- Despite running the unit for weeks, mostly in very high humidity, I've never had to empty the tank.
- But for the one issue mentioned below, easy to set up and move.
Cons:
- Pretty darned loud - I'd never be able to sleep if I ran it in the bedroom. To be honest, I usually turn it off at night if the weather is tolerable because it can keep me awake even 40 feet away in the living room.
- The screws that came with the window installation kit were too large for the holes so I had to run to the local hardware store for smaller ones to assemble this (didn't want to make the holes larger in case I needed to return the unit).
Despite the noise, I've been very pleased with this unit, especially because we have a lot of mosquitoes this year. It's been great to keep the windows closed, the bugs out and the house comfortable. I would've had a miserable, hot summer without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Huntsville, AL

Excellent!

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product after the SPT model was delivered to my house damaged. This unit is amazing! It is quiet, cools like a dream, has easy to read display, a digital remote, and cools my two car garage (man cave) with ease. In Alabama during the summer that is no easy task! I highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>