728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.192 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product88 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(24)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product88 of 99reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

It does the job.

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this unit about a month ago and it's been working good so far. My studio apartment is about 350sf and it turns it into an ice box even during the heat waves.
There are some glitches with the unit though. I think the thermostat is innaccurate because the unit runs continuously even in energy save mode. Even if I set it to say 80 degrees, it cools the room till it's freezing.
One other thing I'd like to mention is that it's not as quiet as a window unit, but probably quieter than other portables. I measured it at between 65-68 dB with the compressor on and fan speed low. That's just enough to be annoying.
Overall it's a good air conditioner, but I think LG needs to make this a little quieter and smarter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Denton, Ne

Excellent Product

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and operate. Control panel LCD screen is large and easy to read. Cools quickly and maintains the temp you set it at. No water to dump with this unit if used on cool or fan mode. Comparable noise to a window unit but does not rattle the walls when the compressor kicks in.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from massachusetts

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great unit, and cools fast. also not to noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Nursing Home Lifesaver

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a frail nursing home resident who refused to move from his room even though the A/C was broken. Put the LG portable unit in his room with about 86 degree temp. Within 10 minutes the temp dropped 6 degrees with the exhaust still blowing towards the open door and not yet hooked up to the window. The unit gave us time to wait until the next day for the overwhelmed A/C repairman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from tampa

WOW WOW

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 10'x10'x7' room that has to be kept at 76 degrees and 50 percent humidity 24/7. This is my 3rd12,000 btu portable, first was a Frigidaire, 2nd was a Delonghi and this is by far the most effeciant and quiet unit yet! You can barely hear it run and it blows 56 degree at unit, thats cold, will cool down the room quick and it's a very hot room!
I'm very impressed with this unit and would say it's the best out there!
Many nice functions, osillating fan, auto clean function, timer Etc.
Can you tell I love this unit yet?
You need a portable ac unit, this is the best you will do!!!!!!!
BUY BUY BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Philadelphia

Looks can be ...well you get it

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible unit I read all the reviews,read the bad ones and thats what I got. my room called for 10000 btu's went bigger less effort so you would think.this thing ran for 28 strait hrs, temp stayed arround 78 degrees on hi with temp around 70...put it down to 60 no differance self evaporating yes..the hose gets so hot it almost fights itself (insolated hose would help). love the idea of a portable ac unit, just not this one.hope I just got a bad one (it happends).it was the last one at the store so no chance to improve my review.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Kauai, HI

ADEQUATE A/C

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this unit because I could not install a window unit as I have louvered windows. I used a 20"x40" piece of 1/4" plexiglas and attached it to the window. I then cut the required hole in the middle of the plexiglas for the vent hose. The first unit I purchased was defective in that the thermostat would not trigger the compressor to cycle off no matter what temperature I set. I have a bedroom and bath with total area around 500 sq. ft. I set the unit to 74 degrees and by the middle of the night the room temperature had dropped to 64 degrees and the unit had still not cycled off. Thankfully Home Depot exchanged the unit for another one which functions properly. The thermostat is 6 degrees off however. I have to set it at 78 to give me 72 degree room temperature. It does cycle properly and keeps the room at an even temperature. The unit is rather noisy when the compressor is running. I measured 64 db from 1 meter away with my SPL meter. I think of it as "white noise" and it actually helps me get to sleep. All things considered it does what it's supposed to do. Just make sure the unit cycles properly and maintains a constant temperature.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Ohio

Well worth the price.

PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to replace an older window A/C. Based on already having a smaller LG A/C in my bedroom, I purchased this model and couldn't be more satisfied. For starters, it's nice to have the portability and relative quietness of this model. Secondly, having the entire unit indoors totally eliminates the burdensome cleaning and maintenance of a window/outdoor model. Third, the additional features of this model, such as an auto clean function as well as a cool/dry function that cools and dehumidifies (thus keeping it comfortable), make it a smart purchase. Finally, along with actually having an energy saver mode, this A/C is a lot more efficient than my old one. So far, it's been working like a dream and I can (and do) highly recommend it.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Los Angeles, CA

The Air Conditioner works great.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Tampa, FL

Good value, minor annoyances but for one

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Having used a few portable units I have some familiarity with them. In my case I needed 12,000 BTU to cool my office. I've discovered an assembly error where the wires for the temperature sensor (thyristor) gets bent 90 degrees during assembly, which apparently breaks them.
The result is a unit which never turns off. I've had two of them with this assembly error. The first 5 characters of the serial number shows the batch. Which is 002TA. At this point I'm guessing that this batch might be bad and I'm searching for a different one.
It does not have automatic fan speed, which is both good and bad. There are three speeds.
Because it supposedly is self evaporating the water collector is really small, a few cc only. It does however fill up and needs to be drained.
The remote control appears broken as it comes on when you insert the batteries, and then immediately turns off. There is a power button which would appear to turn the A/C on and off, but actually turns the remote on and off.
A colleague of mine has used his portable LG for 2 years with no problems.
$500 for 12,000 portable BTU's is a pretty good deal.
LG Customer service sent a tech to my house who diagnosed the problem. It was a nice experience dealing with them.
Home Depot, as usual, let me replace the bad units or get a refund. I'm sticking to LG however.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Houston area

Second try. This one is much better.

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried a cheaper (but comparable) portable AC from Home Depot. The first unit was not made by LG. That was a disaster, but HD took it back and refunded my money.
I decided to give this LG unit a try, even though it cost more. I am glad I did. I have only been using it for a week now, but it has a number of nice features, likethe nice LCD screens on the unit and on the remote, and the fan is strong enough to spin the Ceiling fan, but it is fairly quiet (60 DB at 2 feet, and 50 DB at 10 feet according to my iPhone) . Of course, there are some things that they could do to make it better, like add buttons for the fan auto swing and auto clean to the unit (you can only set these with the remote now), and it would have been nice if it would show me the current room temperature (It only shows the 'set' temperature). I use it in my garage/workshop, and it looks like it will make the Houston summer bearable (I hope!).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from high point, nc

lg portable ac

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Maybe the best comfort appliance I've purchased for my
home. Bedroom is 18x16, high vaulted ceiling , does a great job cooling. Can put frost on window. haha
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Expected more

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit to cool a 275 sq. foot room and it definitely did not do the job. It was very quiet but the air that came out of it wasn't cold just cool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Dunbar, WV

Exactly as expected, & advertised

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read other reviews on this and other portable AC units. I picked this unit based on it's btu rating for the money and other users comments. I didn't want a window unit due to the more difficult install on a second story window. I could not be happier. I am using it to cool my upstairs bedroom that is 15 x 25 with very high angled ceilings and a 6 x 9 walk-in closet. I have it set on 72 degrees energy saving mode and the room is comfortable for the first time since replacing my central AC a few weeks ago. I had been too hot with central AC only since the replacement (whole other story not for here) and now I have closed the central vent, I no longer need it!
About the install, read the book. It really only involves mounting the exhaust vent in a nearby window. I have a dedicated 15 amp outlet so electric was no problem. It does weigh 67 pounds in box, so plan for that. Yes it makes noise but no more so that any other AC unit that I have heard. Very happy with this purchase. Another selling point was that it was available at my local Home Depot, no waiting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Works well, easy set-up, portable

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just this at home depot in-store. I am not good at setting up or installing things at all, but this item was a breeze to set-up.
Set up simply involved putting the window bracket in the window, then connecting hose to window and to unit and then plugging item in wall. Easy.
I had to push the reset button on the plug for the unit to start, in additiona to pushing the POWER button on the remote that is. And, unit turned on fine.
I live in a small two bedroom duplex. It does not cool down the whole duplex/apt, nor would I expect it to and I would not expect any portable air conditioner to cool down the whole house.
I have the unit in one small bedroom, and it cools down the one small bed room just fine, even with the bedroom door open. If you close the bedroom door (with all windows closed of course), it would be very very cool.
Note I am using this item in the middle of a hot Summer Day, and my review above refers to the unit operating in the middle of the afternoon, on a HOT Summer day.
If you operate it at night, of course, it will cool down more rooms and of course, the room the unit is in will be much cooler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Lehigh Valley, PA

Love this a/c!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this unit to cool the downstairs level of our bi-level. We've had it since the spring and had to empty the bucket only once after days of horrible humidity. Love it and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Chicago, IL

Keeping me comfortable

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these in the store during a very hot spell in late June and have been running it almost every day since. I can't afford to install central air and, due to the style of my windows, can't use window AC units, so it was portable or nothing.
Pros:
- It doesn't cool my entire 1300 sq ft home - I didn't expect it to - but with strategically located fans to help move cool air around, it makes the entire place MUCH more comfortable. My 15x32 living room where I run this gets downright chilly.
- Despite running the unit for weeks, mostly in very high humidity, I've never had to empty the tank.
- But for the one issue mentioned below, easy to set up and move.
Cons:
- Pretty darned loud - I'd never be able to sleep if I ran it in the bedroom. To be honest, I usually turn it off at night if the weather is tolerable because it can keep me awake even 40 feet away in the living room.
- The screws that came with the window installation kit were too large for the holes so I had to run to the local hardware store for smaller ones to assemble this (didn't want to make the holes larger in case I needed to return the unit).
Despite the noise, I've been very pleased with this unit, especially because we have a lot of mosquitoes this year. It's been great to keep the windows closed, the bugs out and the house comfortable. I would've had a miserable, hot summer without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Burlington, VT

Had it in and running 5 minuets after I got it home.

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet, did kick off a breaker but I live in an older home. But once I got it back on haven't had any problems.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Boston, MA

Excellent portable air conditioner

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned that this may need to be drained more than once a day. I received this air conditioner 3 days ago and it's been running since then. Weather very hot and humid and I'm testing to see how long before the tank is full and the auto shut off kicks in. Well in 3 days that hasn't happened. Since today the weather was 90 degrees with high humidity, I decided to drain just to see, and only a few drops of water came out. I have 3 rooms and all cool, now i'm purposely running to see just how long before the tank fills and the auto shut off kicks in. Not sure why negative reviews about this issue maybe they just bought a bad unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>