728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(26)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Burlington, VT

Had it in and running 5 minuets after I got it home.

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quiet, did kick off a breaker but I live in an older home. But once I got it back on haven't had any problems.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Boston, MA

Excellent portable air conditioner

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was concerned that this may need to be drained more than once a day. I received this air conditioner 3 days ago and it's been running since then. Weather very hot and humid and I'm testing to see how long before the tank is full and the auto shut off kicks in. Well in 3 days that hasn't happened. Since today the weather was 90 degrees with high humidity, I decided to drain just to see, and only a few drops of water came out. I have 3 rooms and all cool, now i'm purposely running to see just how long before the tank fills and the auto shut off kicks in. Not sure why negative reviews about this issue maybe they just bought a bad unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from MD

works well and has good design.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very effective at cooling large room. A little louder than first thought, but not too loud to be intrusive. We can sleep with it on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Watertown, CT

This product is greAT FOR A ROOM WITH SMALL WINDOWS, OR A ROOM WHERE YOU DON'T WANT THE OBSTRUCTION OFA WINDOW AIR CONDITIONER

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
iT COOLS A LARGE ROOM BEAUTIFULLY. iT IS A LITTLE MORE NOISY THAN i HAD HOPED. i WOULD RECOMMEND IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Don't buy

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Had for 2 yrs and now I have a ch03 error. Will not cool. Thermostat never worked, always over cooled. And is pretty loud.
Cons: Quality, Noisy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Denton, Ne

Excellent Product

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and operate. Control panel LCD screen is large and easy to read. Cools quickly and maintains the temp you set it at. No water to dump with this unit if used on cool or fan mode. Comparable noise to a window unit but does not rattle the walls when the compressor kicks in.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from massachusetts

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great unit, and cools fast. also not to noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northern Virginia

Good Item!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this AC because my central air is down and I like this unit, it is a little to loud but not much, however it does a great job. If it was a little quiter I would have give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Raleigh, NC

LG Portable Air Con

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this yesterday to cool my office (bonus room that is the warmest in the house) so I don't have to run my central air all day as I work from home. My office is approx 450 sq ft. Took about 30 mins to setup as the window kit is a bit fiddly and you need to be a bit careful not to break the plastic.
However, once setup it works really well. Not too loud and immediatly blows cold air. I got down from 87 degrees to 78 in 58 mins. In NC it is currently 88 degrees and I run this every other hour (a bit noisy when I am on the phone).
I was a bit reluctant to spend $500, but it is working well and I am sure it will save me money in the long run.
I gave it 5 stars as it works really well even if the window kit icould probably be a bit easier to setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oviedo, Florida

Cool To Be Cool By LG

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wow! This little baby is really the coolest thing in Air Conditioning technology. I live in a mobile home and to cool this old home cost a fortune but with the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner does the trick. I have it in my bedroom and I sleep like a baby and the cost is pennies compare to the electric bill to cool the entire place. The convenience to roll it around to the rooms you want to cool is just awlsome. Not only does it cool but at the same time it dehumidifys. Beautifully slimline and easy to maintain. I will now be able to enjoy the "Hot Summers" in beautiful Florida. By the way, it took only less than an hour for my girlfriend and me to set it up and start it cooling. Her engineer husband was shocked and surprised we didn't need his expertise. Only one draw back is that you do need to have one window in each room you wish to cool set up for the hose atached to the system but it is well worth the extra cost for the comfort of the LG Cooling system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from North Carolina

Works well even in high humidity

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter lives in a room above our garage that we have always struggled to keep cool during the hot and humid summers in North Carolina. Even with a smaller central air unit that covered several other rooms and the bonus room, the bonus room would still reach 90+ degrees at times. It was very frustrating and expensive as the AC would always be on.
In the two days I have had the LG portable unit I couldn't be more pleased. Even in efficiency mode it easily keeps the bonus room at the set temperature and has not shut off due to high humidity (other customer comments about unit not being able to handle high humidity). This was my primary concern when buying the unit and its doing great, exceeding my expectations. If this changes I will post another review but so far it has received 5 stars from me!
Thanks Home Depot. I looked at a lot of other sites and units and bought this one due to the helpful customer reviews, a very competitive price and the knowledge that Home Depot is standing behind my purchase. Cheers!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Brooklyn, NY

pretty decent ac

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very very sleek looking. i haven't used it for too long, yet, but so far, so good. performs well enough, but i give it 4 stars because of a couple issues.
1) really cheap window kit.
my old haier ac came with a simple (much) harder plastic kit that worked like your typical windows screen. but i guess this one adapts better to different window sizes and types. it probably won't be an issue with most people, but it bugged me.
2) the fan is weak OR loud.
at the lowest setting, the sound isn't bad. i can't complain. on the 2nd and 3rd, it gets quite loud. I just leave it on low (F1). other reviews mention it being weak. i guess you can say that, but it's good enough.
3) miscellaneous.
just a couple random things. if you look at some pictures, the air vent has a cover, which is really really weird. i guess it's for sleekness' sake. it opens and closes automatically, but it seems to just get in the way of air flow. it has an auto swing function which makes the lid go up and down (which really doesn't do very much), but that's only on the remote.
when i try to turn it off from the console on the unit, it stays on for some reason. i need to hit the power button a second time to make it shut off. i'm guess the first push of the button turned on the console. the remote does that (sometimes), too. i have to hit the power button before it works. but i'm afraid it'll shut off the ac.
also, once, i shut the ac off. and it definitely powered all the way down. a few seconds later, it turned itself back on. hoping it's just some random thing.
as for the good, well.. it works. definitely plenty of cool air coming out. and the room definitely cools down. weather hasn't got really hot yet, but from usage so far, i'm confident it can get the room comfortable. also, no leaks, as some other portable ac's seem to have a problem with this. and we haven't had any particularly humid weather either, so i don't know if i'll have to drain the thing. also, i guess the sleek thing can be a positive. it kinda looks like a big paper shredder.
like i said, so far, so good. seems like a decent product. if any bigger issues come up, i'll try to post and update. otherwise, i would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Vermont

Lg 12,000 BTU Portable Air conditioner

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We did a lot a research before buying this item. We have a great room/kitchen that is 500 sqft. The window are all crank out and cannot accomodate a window unit. This unit cools the entire area in a hurry! Wow is that a great surprise. I do sue an extra fan to move the air around corners.
The installation became a bit of a problem. We had to cut a hole in the wall for the hot air exhaust but once that was done, things were good. If you plan on using this unit as an dehumidifier (one of it's additional) features, be aware that you must have somewhere for a drain hose. The instructions state the drain pan will hold one quart of water, not so. The 'full' signal comes on about every ten minutes and only about a cup of water will drain.
Overall, I'm very, very pleased. An abundance of cool dehumidified air......Hooray!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Huntington, NY

Love it!

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just had all the windows in my house changed and didn't want to bang them up by installing our big heavy window ACs. I am using the LG LP1210BXR in my home office right now and I just love it. It cools the room in no time on a sticky humid day. Last night my husband wheeled it into the living room where we've never been able to have AC before and it did a great job there as well. We don't like to use more energy than necessary so this is a great solution to a number of problems.
I carefully compared units before purchasing this one and read as much consumer info as possible. Although Consumer Reports doesn't have a brand by brand comparison, they suggest that you buy a unit rated at about twice as many BTUs as you need based on square footage because portable units are generally less powerful than their window counterparts.
As others have said, the vent panel is pretty flimsy and this seems to be the only drawback we've encountered so far. My husband cut the second extension vent panel down with a jigsaw and connected it to the vent panel with a smaller extension panel to create a sturdier solution, although he will probably make a new custom one eventually.
I have never written a review of any product online before but I am so pleased with this item that I wanted others to know how great it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Nursing Home Lifesaver

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a frail nursing home resident who refused to move from his room even though the A/C was broken. Put the LG portable unit in his room with about 86 degree temp. Within 10 minutes the temp dropped 6 degrees with the exhaust still blowing towards the open door and not yet hooked up to the window. The unit gave us time to wait until the next day for the overwhelmed A/C repairman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from tampa

WOW WOW

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 10'x10'x7' room that has to be kept at 76 degrees and 50 percent humidity 24/7. This is my 3rd12,000 btu portable, first was a Frigidaire, 2nd was a Delonghi and this is by far the most effeciant and quiet unit yet! You can barely hear it run and it blows 56 degree at unit, thats cold, will cool down the room quick and it's a very hot room!
I'm very impressed with this unit and would say it's the best out there!
Many nice functions, osillating fan, auto clean function, timer Etc.
Can you tell I love this unit yet?
You need a portable ac unit, this is the best you will do!!!!!!!
BUY BUY BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Philadelphia

Looks can be ...well you get it

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible unit I read all the reviews,read the bad ones and thats what I got. my room called for 10000 btu's went bigger less effort so you would think.this thing ran for 28 strait hrs, temp stayed arround 78 degrees on hi with temp around 70...put it down to 60 no differance self evaporating yes..the hose gets so hot it almost fights itself (insolated hose would help). love the idea of a portable ac unit, just not this one.hope I just got a bad one (it happends).it was the last one at the store so no chance to improve my review.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northwestern Ohio

portable air conditoner

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I do recommend this portable air conditioner... however... I ordered it from homedepot.com and recieved it a week and a half later. I hooked it up to the window, plugged it in and it did not cool at all. I could hear the compressor come on but no cool air (I have an existing Haier portable and window unit so its easy to tell the difference between a fan and cold air).
So I packed it back up and took it to my local home depot store for an exchange. Unfortunately, they don't do exchanges so I got a refund (the store price is 50 bucks more). I bought the same portable from the store, took it home, hooked it up, plugged it in and bammo; cold air.
I am cooling about 420 sq ft and it does an okay job. Today its just about 100 outside and humid. I have had the air conditoner running all day and inside its 76. It hasn't stopped running but its keeping it more than tolerable inside.
As for noise level, its a big a 12,000 air conditioner inside the house. You have to expect its not going to be overly quiet. Personally I find it to be nice ambient noise ... when just the fan is on I'd say its pretty quiet. With the compressor running it sounds like an air conditioner.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Kauai, HI

ADEQUATE A/C

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit because I could not install a window unit as I have louvered windows. I used a 20"x40" piece of 1/4" plexiglas and attached it to the window. I then cut the required hole in the middle of the plexiglas for the vent hose. The first unit I purchased was defective in that the thermostat would not trigger the compressor to cycle off no matter what temperature I set. I have a bedroom and bath with total area around 500 sq. ft. I set the unit to 74 degrees and by the middle of the night the room temperature had dropped to 64 degrees and the unit had still not cycled off. Thankfully Home Depot exchanged the unit for another one which functions properly. The thermostat is 6 degrees off however. I have to set it at 78 to give me 72 degree room temperature. It does cycle properly and keeps the room at an even temperature. The unit is rather noisy when the compressor is running. I measured 64 db from 1 meter away with my SPL meter. I think of it as "white noise" and it actually helps me get to sleep. All things considered it does what it's supposed to do. Just make sure the unit cycles properly and maintains a constant temperature.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>