728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Get cooled off with this LG Electronics 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner that features an LCD remote for ease of operation. Large LCD controls along with the remote make it easy to stay cool, and thanks to the self-evaporation system this air conditioner is simple to maintain. The air conditioner is also equipped with multiple cooling and fan speeds to match the heat, cooling up to 500 sq. ft. The included kit makes window installation a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(26)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from high point, nc

lg portable ac

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Maybe the best comfort appliance I've purchased for my
home. Bedroom is 18x16, high vaulted ceiling , does a great job cooling. Can put frost on window. haha
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Houston area

Second try. This one is much better.

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried a cheaper (but comparable) portable AC from Home Depot. The first unit was not made by LG. That was a disaster, but HD took it back and refunded my money.
I decided to give this LG unit a try, even though it cost more. I am glad I did. I have only been using it for a week now, but it has a number of nice features, likethe nice LCD screens on the unit and on the remote, and the fan is strong enough to spin the Ceiling fan, but it is fairly quiet (60 DB at 2 feet, and 50 DB at 10 feet according to my iPhone) . Of course, there are some things that they could do to make it better, like add buttons for the fan auto swing and auto clean to the unit (you can only set these with the remote now), and it would have been nice if it would show me the current room temperature (It only shows the 'set' temperature). I use it in my garage/workshop, and it looks like it will make the Houston summer bearable (I hope!).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

it's the best

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner at Home Depot last year and it's been wonderful. We use it mainly in our computer room which does get quite hot in the summer. We're going to buy another one this month since it's easy to install and it does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from MD

works well and has good design.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very effective at cooling large room. A little louder than first thought, but not too loud to be intrusive. We can sleep with it on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Nursing Home Lifesaver

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a frail nursing home resident who refused to move from his room even though the A/C was broken. Put the LG portable unit in his room with about 86 degree temp. Within 10 minutes the temp dropped 6 degrees with the exhaust still blowing towards the open door and not yet hooked up to the window. The unit gave us time to wait until the next day for the overwhelmed A/C repairman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Works well, easy set-up, portable

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just this at home depot in-store. I am not good at setting up or installing things at all, but this item was a breeze to set-up.
Set up simply involved putting the window bracket in the window, then connecting hose to window and to unit and then plugging item in wall. Easy.
I had to push the reset button on the plug for the unit to start, in additiona to pushing the POWER button on the remote that is. And, unit turned on fine.
I live in a small two bedroom duplex. It does not cool down the whole duplex/apt, nor would I expect it to and I would not expect any portable air conditioner to cool down the whole house.
I have the unit in one small bedroom, and it cools down the one small bed room just fine, even with the bedroom door open. If you close the bedroom door (with all windows closed of course), it would be very very cool.
Note I am using this item in the middle of a hot Summer Day, and my review above refers to the unit operating in the middle of the afternoon, on a HOT Summer day.
If you operate it at night, of course, it will cool down more rooms and of course, the room the unit is in will be much cooler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Muskegon, MI

Works well

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I went in for a different unit that was out of stock and this was the only portable AC unit left, so I bought it. It was easy to install and seems to be working well. It is quiet (about the noise level of a regular fan). The ad and information says the water containment doesn't need to be emptied but there are instructions on how to do this when the unit alarms full, so we will have to see how long that takes to fill up. It has cooled off our offic e and it is alittle larger than the square footage this is supposed to take care of. Nice unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Northern Virginia

Good Item!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this AC because my central air is down and I like this unit, it is a little to loud but not much, however it does a great job. If it was a little quiter I would have give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Lehigh Valley, PA

Love this a/c!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this unit to cool the downstairs level of our bi-level. We've had it since the spring and had to empty the bucket only once after days of horrible humidity. Love it and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Fenwick Delaware

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best air conditioner!
I have it on a 10x15 sun room with single pane glass on 3 sides and 12-foot high ceilings.
In the past this room would bake between 85-90+ degrees making the room totally unsuitable on warm summer days. Now it stays a comfy 73 with the thermostat on the unit set around 80. I can leave the slider open to help cool off the rest of the house and give my heat pump a break. I use the energy saver setting on the unit and it works great. I highly recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Denton, Ne

Excellent Product

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and operate. Control panel LCD screen is large and easy to read. Cools quickly and maintains the temp you set it at. No water to dump with this unit if used on cool or fan mode. Comparable noise to a window unit but does not rattle the walls when the compressor kicks in.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Vermont

Lg 12,000 BTU Portable Air conditioner

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We did a lot a research before buying this item. We have a great room/kitchen that is 500 sqft. The window are all crank out and cannot accomodate a window unit. This unit cools the entire area in a hurry! Wow is that a great surprise. I do sue an extra fan to move the air around corners.
The installation became a bit of a problem. We had to cut a hole in the wall for the hot air exhaust but once that was done, things were good. If you plan on using this unit as an dehumidifier (one of it's additional) features, be aware that you must have somewhere for a drain hose. The instructions state the drain pan will hold one quart of water, not so. The 'full' signal comes on about every ten minutes and only about a cup of water will drain.
Overall, I'm very, very pleased. An abundance of cool dehumidified air......Hooray!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Purchased at Schenectady, NY

Very Disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product and am returning it this weekend.
The product assembly was fairly easy, and it does role very nicely, BUT it only blows air and not nessesarily cold air, and not much of it. I get more breeze from my little $20 fan.
I tried reducing the temporature and left it on "Cool" for several hours. A bit of breeze flows from the vent but after several hours it did not cool the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from tampa

WOW WOW

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 10'x10'x7' room that has to be kept at 76 degrees and 50 percent humidity 24/7. This is my 3rd12,000 btu portable, first was a Frigidaire, 2nd was a Delonghi and this is by far the most effeciant and quiet unit yet! You can barely hear it run and it blows 56 degree at unit, thats cold, will cool down the room quick and it's a very hot room!
I'm very impressed with this unit and would say it's the best out there!
Many nice functions, osillating fan, auto clean function, timer Etc.
Can you tell I love this unit yet?
You need a portable ac unit, this is the best you will do!!!!!!!
BUY BUY BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Laurelton, NY

LG portable AC

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst ac ever. First one I bought I returned it the same day, had to empty the thank every 10 mins. The 2nd one never got the room cool at all. My window AC with half the BTU's cooled the room much better. Don't buy this AC. You'll will return it the same day and get another one just as bad.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from South Texas

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit following the demise of my central AC. This is a great unit. I have a rather large kitchen/living room combo that needs to be cooled. With the assistance of an oscillating fan, this unit provides excellent cooling for this area. I live in South Texas and it is already 95 degrees during the day and rising. When I get home in the evenings, I turn this on and within an hour the room is comfortable. The unit is well built and has nice features. I would recommend this to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Phoenix, AZ

120 degrees in Phoenix - but my office is cool!

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My home office was completely miserable - hooked this up and had it cool in less than an hour. Love it, love it, love it!
Negatives, but they don't outweight the positives:
The window kit is a flimsy joke and too short for my window, but I bought a six-inch wide, two-inch thick piece of foam, cut out a slot to fit the hose, silver taped it, and it works just fine. Not so attractive, but fine.
For $500, I expected it to be quieter, though.It wouldn't be bad if it were across the room, but it has to go right next to my desk becuase of the window location. Definately not good for telephone conversations in an office enviro.
All in all - Totally worth it. So, SO AWESOME to be cool!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from New London, CT

Ran 24/7 in large living room

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did NOT have to empty the tank for almost two weeks; very hot and humid weather. Great Unit.....quietest one i have owned; plan on buying a second one in near future. A+
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote
from Beavercreek, OH

Great Results

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our bedroom is on the 2nd floor. It's 18x23 with ONE (yes, one) register to pump air/heat into the room. During the peak summer days, temps in our room reach 80. I installed this A/C unit and now we can keep it at around 73.5 at night - our room is now very comfortable. It has an oscillating vent on the front that moves the air around a little more than had it just pumped air through a stationary vent. Installation is easy, although I recommend you don't stick the insulation strips to your window. You'll eventually move that unit (for winter) and you'll have a sticky mess trying to remove those strips. The only thing that is mildly annoying about this unit is the remote doesn't have a light, so you cannot see it at night. The unit is a little noisy, but nothing more than I expected from an A/C unit. It did spook our dog for a few nights, but he's fine with it now. Overall, it's a great purchase that I hope lasts. We've only had it for two weeks, but so far, so good. I did go against Clark Howard's advice and purchased the $65 2 year extended warranty. That gives me 3 years total coverage - I'll take the peace of mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifer and Remote

Is worth the money

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is perfect for the master suite which is located on the west side of the second floor (which is always hot)My gas and electric bill is lower by $70 - $100 per month while keeping the bedroom very cool. The noise of the fan does not bother me, infact I like it, but my husband feels it is a little too loud. The unit was very easy to install and the remote is great. We give it 5 stars.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>