728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

The Melnor 5,600 sq. ft. Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is perfect for watering large areas. The pulsating sprinkler is attached to a durable metal tripod that extends 26 - 48 in. high and will water an area of up to 85 ft. in diameter.
Overall rating:
3.582 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product49 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(39)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product49 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Review 1 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from South Hill, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Range, Adjustable and it Stays in Place

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Brass Impact Sprinkler on a Tripod who would think of it. I grow up knowing these as rain birds, as a type of sprinkler and not as a brand. I have tried many types of pulsating sprinkler, on poles you push into the ground, heavy solid metal ones that sit on the ground and they all never stay in place without heavy bricks or bracing.
Now here's an heavy framed Metal Tripod that extends from 26 - 48 in. high, with a range of up to 85 ft. in diameter. You can water only a portion of a full circle by repositioning the angle adjusters or by flipping the wire stop up cover a complete circular. To limit the area you can do a number of adjustments, use the diffuser to break up the water stream, creating a softer watering pattern and there's a deflector to reduce how far it sprays. One last thing is, you can always just adjust the faucet.
For staying in-place during watering, solid as a rock, the tripod legs sit firmly on the ground and spread out wide enough to prevent movement. The center pole is the inlet and has a lock screw that hold the legs out and the hose weight connected pulls down in the center adding weight. The leg extending locks clip firmly and do not slip and you can make one leg shorter should it be needed for uneven ground.
I did have one issue with it during operation and that was the angle adjusters slipped and we went from a 1/2 circle to near a 3/4 circle and the wire stop would not freely flip up for a full circle as it hit the base. Everything flipped freely as to the level that reveres the direction, so the angle adjusters just fit to loose and is a simple fit for me.
Other quick details:
Assy. closed up, 3.75 in. W x 3.13 in. D x 29 in. H
Solid brass impact head, die-cast metal base
3/4 in. standard fitting
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: ajusters slip, wire stop binds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Concept, Flawed Execution.

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept of the Melnor Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is great. I thought, it would take care of my watering needs without the requirement of a sprinkler system or having to manually use the watering hose. Unfortunately, the execution of this concept is flawed.
1. The center tube of the tripod connects to the hose. However, once it is connected you cannot lower the tripod to the needed height because the connector tube already almost reaches to the ground. This result is a high tripod with a very high water stream that reached across my fence to the neighbor's house. The tube would need to be shorter.
2. The brass connector screw that goes onto the end of the hose detaches about 1/4" from the water tube once it is fastened to the hose, i.e. it only seals when the hose is not attached. I tried to fasten it once the hose is connected, but it doesn't work unless you repeatedly turn the entire tripod.
3. The tripod came without any manual or instructions, whatsoever. Had there been instructions, maybe it would have worked better.
Disappointed!
Pros: Functionality, great concept
Cons: flawed water connector, height adjustment limited, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Solid and well built.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Melnor stick in the ground sprinkler head, that I have used for years to help aerate my Earth pond. I really liked it as it never gave me any trouble. I still have it.
The Brass Impact Sprinkler on Tripod version has given me a much better coverage area. It is also much easier to work with as all I have to do now is move the tripod as opposed to grabbing the active head stuck in the ground and getting wet. In addition I will use it for my oversize garden and I can see using this sprinkler to bridge shrubbery and other obstacles in order to water what's thirsty.
All three legs are independently adjustable, which is great for unlevel terrain or to aim the sprinkler higher or lower or make it taller or short. The legs are metal alloy or aluminum with heavy duty plastic leg height locks. The sprinkler head has two main adjustments which are very easy to tweak while the sprinkler is active. First one will tell the head when to stop and reverse and the other determines what type of spray output you desire.The entire unit is very light. The sprinkler head is brass with other metal alloy components.
I'm very happy with this product and can see it lasting for many years.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Professional grade sprinkler

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my first experience with a tripod sprinkler and I'm impressed. Though to looks lightweight it is very sturdy and almost all parts are metal. The design is simple and functional with controls to adjust the angular arc irrigated as well as a screw to modify the pulsating jet. When watering a narrow row of vegetables, I was able to shorten one tripod leg to ensure more even watering along the row.
If the water pressure gets too low, in my case when many drip feed sprinklers are running, the spray stops oscillating. This unit is designed to spray a lot of water over a very large area, so a reasonable pressure is needed.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Valley Park, Mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Perfect

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WOW!!! This is THE sprinkler, it is awesome that it finally covers the whole lawn, before I had to move my sprinkle not one but multiple times, what a hassle, and half of it went on the concrete, now, it goes more where I want it to go and goes much further, less waste. If you are at all wondering if this is worth its money, IT IS!! I couldn't believe when I opened the box, that the tripod it is on is quality, how is it better than my camera tripod!!!??? This is a purchase you will not regret for all the reasons you needed a quality sprinkler.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Great Quality, easily adjustable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Grants Pass, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tripod sprinkler

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live on mountainous property and being able to level the spray or set it high here and low there is a real back saver. In the 10 years I have been here I have experimented with just about every type of sprinkler there is and this one beast them all, hands down!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable to any terrain, extenders on the tri-pod allow more reach w spray
Cons: none!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Willis, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

great sprinkler

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good construction, worked well right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Hampton, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Idea!

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A sprinkler on a tripod is a great idea. I can finally water areas not previously practicable with a spike-type, ground level sprinkler. The sprinkler head is brass, tripod aluminum. Easy to set up, easy to use. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Best sprinkler I've ever had

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You're going to love the design of this tripod sprinkler from Melnor. Let's start with the tripod itself. Just one look and you'll see that it is top quality. It almost seems too good to use as a water sprinkler! The legs telescope smoothly and flawlessly, each segment tightly locking in position.
The brass head assembly is top notch. I sat my sprinkler up to do a half moon, 25 feet out in all applicable directions (the half moon). It says it's rated up to 85 feet in diameter (about 42.5 feet by my calculations), but I don't need it to cover any more than a 50 feet swath. I used a black permanent ink pen and marked the spot of the adjusters (once I got it right) on the brass itself. I set up old pre-used typing paper at various intervals inside the half moon to monitor how well the sprinkler actually covered. I didn't want it to do just the perimeter and miss the inside parts of the area, nor did I want it to move its adjusters and change the area I wanted done. I hoped I would get pretty even coverage (all the pages should be wet fairly evenly).
I turned the Melnor sprinkler on and let it run for 30 minutes. Upon inspection the brass sprinkler head stayed true to the marks. There was no movement in the adjusters at all. When I checked the typing paper, each was equally drenched, regardless of where in the watering area it happened to be.
I'm thrilled with the Melnor Deluxe pulsating sprinkler with tripod. The sprinkler worked flawlessly in my test.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Northeast

Thought it was GREAT....until the 3rd use

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 4 of these to provide full coverage for my lawn area. I set them up and "configured" the spray pattern provided by some swivel clamps that allow you to set the desired surface area to water.
I hooked it up to a 4 port programmable Melnor watering scheduler (excellent product btw) and away I went. Loved it for the first 2 or 3 uses.
Then the next thing I knew I was watering my house and only part of the lawn.
ALL of these configurations had "moved" due to the back and forth nature of these sprinklers. In other words, it wouldn't hold the pattern. I find this to be a defect in the design as there's no way to "lock" the pattern. The friction based adjusters just don't hold their positions over time.
I'm returning all of these today and will be getting the one from the blue big box store. Those adjusters are a different style and hold the position much more accurately (I already have one).
Please do NOT purchase this sprinkler unless you're willing to disable the pattern feature and just water 360 degrees continuously.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: adjusters faulty
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor head Construction...Get a Rainbird head for it.

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had one of these by a different manufacturer and wanted to add a second. The concept is great and if you just want it to go in circles forever it's fine. If you want to use the stops to water a specific area, you're kind of out of luck. The stops are not designed to be tight enough around the shaft and the sprinkler head will move them each time it cycles. Fortunately, I had a few old rainbird reversing heads I could cannibalize for parts. You can get new ones online for $14-$40 direct. from rainbird online.. impact sprinklers
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Not a good sprinkler

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Concept is good. Design is ok. Sprinkler head is junk! The head will not change directions when you have the stops down. Just sits there and waters the same spot. Product may work better if you have constant high water pressure Works ok if you don't need to use the stops. Distance wise is ok but I have noticed with long distance it does not water well in the short to medium range. Would not recommend to anyone the uses well water.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Manatee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy connection great spray field

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a sprinkler which would cover my whole back yard and this did the trick. It covers a large area and works great, well worth the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Clark County Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stops didn't hold.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem as some other folks, in that the stops would not hold and we wanted less than a 360 degree pattern. I called the manufacturer to see if there was a quick fix, left a message but never got called back so returned it to HD. Too bad, it was a great concept. I was really disappointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Phenix City AL

Not worth the money!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this sprinkler at all. It is so bad I decided to come inside to write this review immediately. I purchased this because it was the most expensive sprinkler at Home Depot and I was tired of replacing the small cheap ones. This one is no better at all. It wastes a great deal of water, shoots water in a very sloppy stream and is extremely inconsistant with the settings. It actually only worked for 2 hours before malfunctioning therefore it will be going back to the store on my next visit.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Minnesota
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sprinkler head is junk

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to water a 24' x 24' garden. I was planning on sticking this on the edge of the garden and letting it rotate 360 degrees to also allow for the sprinkler to water part of my lawn as well. The sprinkler boasted an 85' diameter, so I figured a minimum of a 60’ diameter should not be a problem. The manufacturer does supply limited instructions on their website (it is unknown as to why they did not include them at the point of sale, it isn't like that savings was passed to the customer) however, after dozens of attempts, being soaking wet, and out of ideas, the sprinkler does not spray more than a 25’ diameter. The water does not come out of the nozzle as a "stream" it more or less mists, but there did not appear to be a way to adjust this and the online instructions did not have an adjustment for this problem. The frame is easy to set up, but is not durable; the braces are cheap plastic that will break with very limited pressure. All in all, you'd be better buying anything but this product because they certainly cannot be as bad.
Cons: Not Durable, will not spray more than 12.5 feet
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Charlotte, Nc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Repackaged Junk

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When the product arrived I immediately noticed it had no original packaging or merchandise tags. When I hooked the sprinkler up to water it had severe water leaking at the connection. I tried to tighten it but nothing worked. After further inspection it appeared maybe a rubber seal ring was missing. I returned it and told them HD sent me a used and defective item. I purchased the Orbit version at Lowes and it works great.
Cons: Not Durable, defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not reliable

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sprinkler seemed ideal for my garden - I have a steep bank - so I bought two. When they work, they're excellent. But they are prone to sticking in one position, so I have to keep checking them and unjamming them as needed. They cannot be trusted to operate properly unsupervised.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not consistent
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from texas

Works as I expected for the money

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well on a timer to water my raised garden. I'm going to buy another to get into some hard to reach places. Does better than I expected for the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Love this thing!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You'll see the moment you turn it on. Great distance and precise adjustability. No more bending over ! Top notch!
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>