728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

The Melnor 5,600 sq. ft. Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is perfect for watering large areas. The pulsating sprinkler is attached to a durable metal tripod that extends 26 - 48 in. high and will water an area of up to 85 ft. in diameter.
Overall rating:
3.529 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product43 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product43 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Review 1 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Grants Pass, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tripod sprinkler

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on mountainous property and being able to level the spray or set it high here and low there is a real back saver. In the 10 years I have been here I have experimented with just about every type of sprinkler there is and this one beast them all, hands down!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable to any terrain, extenders on the tri-pod allow more reach w spray
Cons: none!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Northeast

Thought it was GREAT....until the 3rd use

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 4 of these to provide full coverage for my lawn area. I set them up and "configured" the spray pattern provided by some swivel clamps that allow you to set the desired surface area to water.
I hooked it up to a 4 port programmable Melnor watering scheduler (excellent product btw) and away I went. Loved it for the first 2 or 3 uses.
Then the next thing I knew I was watering my house and only part of the lawn.
ALL of these configurations had "moved" due to the back and forth nature of these sprinklers. In other words, it wouldn't hold the pattern. I find this to be a defect in the design as there's no way to "lock" the pattern. The friction based adjusters just don't hold their positions over time.
I'm returning all of these today and will be getting the one from the blue big box store. Those adjusters are a different style and hold the position much more accurately (I already have one).
Please do NOT purchase this sprinkler unless you're willing to disable the pattern feature and just water 360 degrees continuously.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: adjusters faulty
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Clark County Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stops didn't hold.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem as some other folks, in that the stops would not hold and we wanted less than a 360 degree pattern. I called the manufacturer to see if there was a quick fix, left a message but never got called back so returned it to HD. Too bad, it was a great concept. I was really disappointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Not a good sprinkler

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Concept is good. Design is ok. Sprinkler head is junk! The head will not change directions when you have the stops down. Just sits there and waters the same spot. Product may work better if you have constant high water pressure Works ok if you don't need to use the stops. Distance wise is ok but I have noticed with long distance it does not water well in the short to medium range. Would not recommend to anyone the uses well water.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor head Construction...Get a Rainbird head for it.

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had one of these by a different manufacturer and wanted to add a second. The concept is great and if you just want it to go in circles forever it's fine. If you want to use the stops to water a specific area, you're kind of out of luck. The stops are not designed to be tight enough around the shaft and the sprinkler head will move them each time it cycles. Fortunately, I had a few old rainbird reversing heads I could cannibalize for parts. You can get new ones online for $14-$40 direct. from rainbird online.. impact sprinklers
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took it back

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stops move once they are set, window was open thankfully I checked it only passed a couple of times. When you set the stops they will move therefor this is useless piece of junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, poor execution

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one that I bought leaked out of the gasket on the bottom where the tube from the hose bib enters the spray head. The replacement didn't leak but the stops that limit the arc of rotation of the head slipped over the course of a few minutes until the head just swung in a 360 degree arc. The second replacement did the same thing. I am going to return this one too and attempt to get one that works. I have a infinite amount of patience and will continue getting replacements until I get one that works as advertised.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Dallas TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea, bad quality

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It worked very well for three months.
I guess the TX heat can be brutal on all metal parts. The spray control widget is held in place by a rivet. The rivet eventually loosened up to a point where the sprinkler is useless. Returned and got a replacement from HD. The second one died of the same problem in a month.
Either I fix rivet problem myself or get a refund.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: parts are poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from New Caney Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Happy with purchase.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is not reliable. Once you set the spray pattern with the directional change clips provided the unit will not maintain the settings for more than 10 minutes. They keep sliding and soon the you are no longer watering the area desired. Very poor design.
Cons: will not maintain spray pattern.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Manatee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy connection great spray field

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a sprinkler which would cover my whole back yard and this did the trick. It covers a large area and works great, well worth the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Yachats, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Greatest Sprinkler

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great coverage, great stability, no need to stick anything in the ground... even extended, it stands up on uneven ground. Best sprinkler ever!
Pros: Durable, great coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Catoosa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works like a sprinkler should work!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 63 and have owned many,many sprinklers and this is the first one that I will keep. It saves me so much time and effort!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from newport news va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i use it with my shallow well and the water pressure isnt as strong as house water and it works great. have had it for two weeks now and used it almost every day due to the heat here in virginia. best sprinkler i have ever used and im talking about over 40 years of experiance. and many other sprinklers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality, easy to set
Cons: none so far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Phenix City AL

Not worth the money!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this sprinkler at all. It is so bad I decided to come inside to write this review immediately. I purchased this because it was the most expensive sprinkler at Home Depot and I was tired of replacing the small cheap ones. This one is no better at all. It wastes a great deal of water, shoots water in a very sloppy stream and is extremely inconsistant with the settings. It actually only worked for 2 hours before malfunctioning therefore it will be going back to the store on my next visit.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Minnesota
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sprinkler head is junk

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to water a 24' x 24' garden. I was planning on sticking this on the edge of the garden and letting it rotate 360 degrees to also allow for the sprinkler to water part of my lawn as well. The sprinkler boasted an 85' diameter, so I figured a minimum of a 60’ diameter should not be a problem. The manufacturer does supply limited instructions on their website (it is unknown as to why they did not include them at the point of sale, it isn't like that savings was passed to the customer) however, after dozens of attempts, being soaking wet, and out of ideas, the sprinkler does not spray more than a 25’ diameter. The water does not come out of the nozzle as a "stream" it more or less mists, but there did not appear to be a way to adjust this and the online instructions did not have an adjustment for this problem. The frame is easy to set up, but is not durable; the braces are cheap plastic that will break with very limited pressure. All in all, you'd be better buying anything but this product because they certainly cannot be as bad.
Cons: Not Durable, will not spray more than 12.5 feet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not reliable

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sprinkler seemed ideal for my garden - I have a steep bank - so I bought two. When they work, they're excellent. But they are prone to sticking in one position, so I have to keep checking them and unjamming them as needed. They cannot be trusted to operate properly unsupervised.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not consistent
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Payette,ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great for the cost.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sprinkler gives excellent coverage and very reasonably priced.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Love this thing!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You'll see the moment you turn it on. Great distance and precise adjustability. No more bending over ! Top notch!
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from texas

Works as I expected for the money

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well on a timer to water my raised garden. I'm going to buy another to get into some hard to reach places. Does better than I expected for the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Enoch, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product and price to water open areas

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product to water open areas for dust control or light irrigation - efficient use of water application. Very easy to manage and excellent price for the tripod and sprinkler head. Light weight and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>