728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

The Melnor 5,600 sq. ft. Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is perfect for watering large areas. The pulsating sprinkler is attached to a durable metal tripod that extends 26 - 48 in. high and will water an area of up to 85 ft. in diameter.
Overall rating:
3.663 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product60 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(12)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product60 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Review 1 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from South Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Instant Irrigation. Just add water....

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The unit comes fully assembled. You need only cut the packing material from the hose connection. The tripod is made of lightweight aluminum and appears to be the equivalent of a typical mid level camera tripod. The leg extension locks are plastic. The hose connection was tight with no leaks out of the box.
I observed about a fifty foot diameter water coverage on a 100' foot hose with city water pressure. A shorter hose or a booster pump will likely get better results. The spray pattern is adjustable with an interruption screw much like typical reciprocating sprinkler heads. The field of coverage is adjustable with limit rings like similar heads but a nice plus is they are a heavy grade metal not plastic. I noticed no "creeping" out of the limit range like I sometimes do with the plastic rings.
Another nice plus to the design is the tripod is multi-stage. It is easy to set up at an angle for non-level areas, easy to set to shoot over hedges, and below tree branches. The initial test run for the unit was two hours with six relocations with only one glitch. When the unit was at the maximum reach of the hose it did fall over one time. Make certain you have a small amount of slack on the hose enough to reach the ground below the unit and this does not happen. A simple two foot correction on my placement solved the issue entirely.
The unit locks are plastic so baby them. The operation is smooth but as the unit gets older this may become a weak spot. A little armor all once or twice a year should help the plastic and add oil for the metal parts to reduce corrosion. If not left out in the sun it looks like this unit may last for years.
I would highly recommend this unit for use with new plantings, for use during irrigation system failures, and for supplemental watering when needed. If you will be repositioning several times or maneuvering around obstacles I would also recommend attaching an "In Line" shut off valve to your hose so you need not return to the hose bib every time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Light Weight, adjustable height
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Solid and well built.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Melnor stick in the ground sprinkler head, that I have used for years to help aerate my Earth pond. I really liked it as it never gave me any trouble. I still have it.
The Brass Impact Sprinkler on Tripod version has given me a much better coverage area. It is also much easier to work with as all I have to do now is move the tripod as opposed to grabbing the active head stuck in the ground and getting wet. In addition I will use it for my oversize garden and I can see using this sprinkler to bridge shrubbery and other obstacles in order to water what's thirsty.
All three legs are independently adjustable, which is great for unlevel terrain or to aim the sprinkler higher or lower or make it taller or short. The legs are metal alloy or aluminum with heavy duty plastic leg height locks. The sprinkler head has two main adjustments which are very easy to tweak while the sprinkler is active. First one will tell the head when to stop and reverse and the other determines what type of spray output you desire.The entire unit is very light. The sprinkler head is brass with other metal alloy components.
I'm very happy with this product and can see it lasting for many years.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Lawn Care Product

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Please watch my video how-to and review (below).
The Melnor Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod (the product itself is actually labeled the Premium Brass Impact Sprinkler on Tripod), is a great option if you want to water a large area with an easy-to-use product.
The tripod is made of metal (it feels like aluminum to me), and the legs extend easily. Once set up, the tripod is very sturdy, so there's no chance of it being knocked over by the force of the water being shot out of the sprinkler. Thankfully, the hose connector that's built into the tripod is also made of metal, so that will be able to stand up to the test of time well, too.
The sprinkler itself is made of brass, so, again, there are no concerns that it will wear out anytime soon. The sprinkler has an advertised 85' diameter coverage range (approx 42' spray distance in any one direction), and, while I haven't actually measured that, a visual check seems to confirm that the coverage range is quite large.
Thanks to the built-in metal stops, there are a number of coverage patterns that can be created ranging from a full 360° spin to very tight angles. That being said, though, the sprinkler didn't come with any instructions, so it took me a long time to figure out how to disengage the stop arm so that the sprinkler could do a full 360° rotation (to save you the hassle of figuring it out on your own, simply watch my video (below) to see how its done). Frustratingly, the design of the sprinkler on the tripod is such that the arm has to be forced past the mount and so, even knowing what to do, it's difficult to disengage the stop arm. This design flaw could have been easily avoided, but, since it exists, it's my only "dislike" of this product (and resulted in the 4-star rating instead of a 5-star rating).
Other than the issue with the frustrating stop arm, though, this tripod sprinkler is great and I very much recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: no instructions included, stop arm is very difficult to disengage and engage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from South Hill, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Range, Adjustable and it Stays in Place

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Brass Impact Sprinkler on a Tripod who would think of it. I grow up knowing these as rain birds, as a type of sprinkler and not as a brand. I have tried many types of pulsating sprinkler, on poles you push into the ground, heavy solid metal ones that sit on the ground and they all never stay in place without heavy bricks or bracing.
Now here's an heavy framed Metal Tripod that extends from 26 - 48 in. high, with a range of up to 85 ft. in diameter. You can water only a portion of a full circle by repositioning the angle adjusters or by flipping the wire stop up cover a complete circular. To limit the area you can do a number of adjustments, use the diffuser to break up the water stream, creating a softer watering pattern and there's a deflector to reduce how far it sprays. One last thing is, you can always just adjust the faucet.
For staying in-place during watering, solid as a rock, the tripod legs sit firmly on the ground and spread out wide enough to prevent movement. The center pole is the inlet and has a lock screw that hold the legs out and the hose weight connected pulls down in the center adding weight. The leg extending locks clip firmly and do not slip and you can make one leg shorter should it be needed for uneven ground.
I did have one issue with it during operation and that was the angle adjusters slipped and we went from a 1/2 circle to near a 3/4 circle and the wire stop would not freely flip up for a full circle as it hit the base. Everything flipped freely as to the level that reveres the direction, so the angle adjusters just fit to loose and is a simple fit for me.
Other quick details:
Assy. closed up, 3.75 in. W x 3.13 in. D x 29 in. H
Solid brass impact head, die-cast metal base
3/4 in. standard fitting
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: ajusters slip, wire stop binds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Water Where You Need It.

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the fact that by raising the sprinkler head, I am able to shoot water over obstacles in the yard and put water on the area you need it. It shoots out to 85 feet with the right water pressure. The tripod is strong and easy to use. The quick adjustable legs make it so easy to raise or lower. The sprinkler head has a smooth function of turning and squirting the water. I like the fact that the inlet valve fitting is curved away from the bottom so it is so easy to connect the hose to the tripod. It is light enough to tote around but heavy enough to stay in place when properly set up. I can hardly wait for the monsoons to end so I can water my tomatoes when they need it. Be Safe
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, sprays where you want it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Needs some work on the stops

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Melnor is a well known brand with many years in the sprinkler market, so I was very much surprised that the sprinkler had has a problem. The adjustable stops that constrain the sprinkler to water the desired area are too loose to be any use. Once set the sprinkler hammers them in each cycle resulting in them moving together. This defeats the whole feature of being able to control where the sprinkler waters.
I modified my sprinkler using the following steps:
1) remove the two stops by sliding them up and off the sprinkler head
2) wind some insulation tape around the shaft of the sprinkler head
3) replace the two stops by clipping them on and then sliding them down onto the insulation tape.
See one of the attached pictures.
Apart from the issue of the moving stops, this is a great sprinkler. The tripod is easily adjusted, The hose connection is solid and contains a mesh to prevent (big chunks) of dirt getting into the head.
Th rating I gave is very much influenced by the issue of the stops.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: stops dont work as supplied
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Concept, Flawed Execution.

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept of the Melnor Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is great. I thought, it would take care of my watering needs without the requirement of a sprinkler system or having to manually use the watering hose. Unfortunately, the execution of this concept is flawed.
1. The center tube of the tripod connects to the hose. However, once it is connected you cannot lower the tripod to the needed height because the connector tube already almost reaches to the ground. This result is a high tripod with a very high water stream that reached across my fence to the neighbor's house. The tube would need to be shorter.
2. The brass connector screw that goes onto the end of the hose detaches about 1/4" from the water tube once it is fastened to the hose, i.e. it only seals when the hose is not attached. I tried to fasten it once the hose is connected, but it doesn't work unless you repeatedly turn the entire tripod.
3. The tripod came without any manual or instructions, whatsoever. Had there been instructions, maybe it would have worked better.
Disappointed!
Pros: Functionality, great concept
Cons: flawed water connector, height adjustment limited, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Grants Pass, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tripod sprinkler

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live on mountainous property and being able to level the spray or set it high here and low there is a real back saver. In the 10 years I have been here I have experimented with just about every type of sprinkler there is and this one beast them all, hands down!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable to any terrain, extenders on the tri-pod allow more reach w spray
Cons: none!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Keeps getting stuck, and watering my house

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Super bummed that the sprinkler head on this doesn't work well, because the tripod itself is great. The head gets stuck in one position constantly, watering only one place. Also, the stoppers move a small amount each time the head comes around and hits them, meaning by the time it's been watering for 30 minutes instead of watering the 180 degrees that I set it at it's watering 270 including through my screen front door. Going back to the small in-ground stake ones I was using.
Cons: gets stuck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Professional grade sprinkler

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my first experience with a tripod sprinkler and I'm impressed. Though to looks lightweight it is very sturdy and almost all parts are metal. The design is simple and functional with controls to adjust the angular arc irrigated as well as a screw to modify the pulsating jet. When watering a narrow row of vegetables, I was able to shorten one tripod leg to ensure more even watering along the row.
If the water pressure gets too low, in my case when many drip feed sprinklers are running, the spray stops oscillating. This unit is designed to spray a lot of water over a very large area, so a reasonable pressure is needed.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Elma, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Just what we needed for watering our small pastures!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have approximately 2 acres separated into 4 smaller paddocks for our horses. We rotate a lot during the summer to keep the grass healthy. This sprinkler is perfect for the job. The tripod legs extend in several spots, so it can be stretched out to the highest height for larger areas, or made quite a bit shorter for smaller areas. The oscillating sprinkler head has a pretty great reach, and with it being brass we won't run the risk of it rusting out anytime soon! I can imagine this sprinkler would be great for all kinds of uses, not just pasture watering, since it can be adjusted to fit so many areas.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality, adjustable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Paramus, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

This sprinkler stands Tall !!!

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My neighbor is a senior citizen who can no longer water her lawn, due to arthritis and not being able to drag the hoses around. She has a large lawn. I've been doing it for her for a few years, but its a time consuming process due to moving and setting up sprinklers all over. I ordered this item with her in mind, I set it out twice yesterday in the front yard and once in the back and was able to reach areas that would have taken several setups with the old back and forth sprinklers she had. we have good water pressure and this sprinkler with its tall height it would spray about 85-90 feet. and puts out a lot of water as well. A solid well built item that looks like it will withstand the test of time. and well worth the money...
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Head issues

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stops on the head are not adequate. Moves with every cycle. Melnor customer service says my water pressure is either too high or too low or my hose is too long. Not satisfied at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Valley Park, Mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Perfect

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WOW!!! This is THE sprinkler, it is awesome that it finally covers the whole lawn, before I had to move my sprinkle not one but multiple times, what a hassle, and half of it went on the concrete, now, it goes more where I want it to go and goes much further, less waste. If you are at all wondering if this is worth its money, IT IS!! I couldn't believe when I opened the box, that the tripod it is on is quality, how is it better than my camera tripod!!!??? This is a purchase you will not regret for all the reasons you needed a quality sprinkler.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Great Quality, easily adjustable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Westwood, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Super Heavy Duty!

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a top notch sprinkler which has an 85 foot diameter coverage area. The tripod is very strong, and the sprinkler head is very easy to adjust. The hose connector is at the end of a metal tube, so it is very solid. It is about 4 feet high, and the tripod legs are 4 feet apart so there is little risk of it tipping over. This is an "heirloom" garden item that you will have for decades, well worth the price. I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Olympia WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Fantastic!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This has been a real bonus for watering my lawn and getting over the top of my flower pots and whatnot that I have in that area. I used to have to find something to put my sprinkler on top of or to move my plants out of the way so spots wouldn't be missed.. The tripod folds out, stands sturdy and no leaks from the connector. It is perfect for my lawn.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

This sprinkler is Fantastic.

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The sprinkler is great for large yards. We have a lot of wind in Oklahoma and this sprinkler holds up to it.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great sprinkler tripod

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tripod works great to build an irrigation system or to add on to an existing system. The tripod allows the water to reach distant areas.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from springfield, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Excellent Sprinkler

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sprinkler is very easy to set up and use. It will cover a very larger area then folds up fast.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
from Willis, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

great sprinkler

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good construction, worked well right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>