728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod

The Melnor 5,600 sq. ft. Brass Impact Tripod Sprinkler is perfect for watering large areas. The pulsating sprinkler is attached to a durable metal tripod that extends 26 - 48 in. high and will water an area of up to 85 ft. in diameter.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product38 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(8)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product38 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Review 1 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Xena1us
from Grants Pass, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tripod sprinkler

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on mountainous property and being able to level the spray or set it high here and low there is a real back saver. In the 10 years I have been here I have experimented with just about every type of sprinkler there is and this one beast them all, hands down!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable to any terrain, extenders on the tri-pod allow more reach w spray
Cons: none!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Ryan

Not a good sprinkler

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Concept is good. Design is ok. Sprinkler head is junk! The head will not change directions when you have the stops down. Just sits there and waters the same spot. Product may work better if you have constant high water pressure Works ok if you don't need to use the stops. Distance wise is ok but I have noticed with long distance it does not water well in the short to medium range. Would not recommend to anyone the uses well water.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
SneadIsl
from Manatee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy connection great spray field

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a sprinkler which would cover my whole back yard and this did the trick. It covers a large area and works great, well worth the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
EJNC
from NC

A good adjustable sprinkler

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sprinkler is a good all-around product. I like the adjustable height tripod legs to use this sprinkler over shrubbery or under trees. The sprinkler head has infinite adjustments to to get the coverage you want.
There are two things I that keep this product from having 5 stars. 1) The sprinkler head does not spray 360 degrees, or at least I haven't been able to make it do that. 2) The hose connection leaks so you get water puddles under the sprinkler.
If you can live with those two things, it's all good.
Pros: Durable
Cons: hose connection leaks, unable to get 360 degrees of full coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Szieve
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor head Construction...Get a Rainbird head for it.

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had one of these by a different manufacturer and wanted to add a second. The concept is great and if you just want it to go in circles forever it's fine. If you want to use the stops to water a specific area, you're kind of out of luck. The stops are not designed to be tight enough around the shaft and the sprinkler head will move them each time it cycles. Fortunately, I had a few old rainbird reversing heads I could cannibalize for parts. You can get new ones online for $14-$40 direct. from rainbird online.. impact sprinklers
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Bubba
from Minnesota
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sprinkler head is junk

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to water a 24' x 24' garden. I was planning on sticking this on the edge of the garden and letting it rotate 360 degrees to also allow for the sprinkler to water part of my lawn as well. The sprinkler boasted an 85' diameter, so I figured a minimum of a 60’ diameter should not be a problem. The manufacturer does supply limited instructions on their website (it is unknown as to why they did not include them at the point of sale, it isn't like that savings was passed to the customer) however, after dozens of attempts, being soaking wet, and out of ideas, the sprinkler does not spray more than a 25’ diameter. The water does not come out of the nozzle as a "stream" it more or less mists, but there did not appear to be a way to adjust this and the online instructions did not have an adjustment for this problem. The frame is easy to set up, but is not durable; the braces are cheap plastic that will break with very limited pressure. All in all, you'd be better buying anything but this product because they certainly cannot be as bad.
Cons: Not Durable, will not spray more than 12.5 feet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
UrsaMinor
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not reliable

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sprinkler seemed ideal for my garden - I have a steep bank - so I bought two. When they work, they're excellent. But they are prone to sticking in one position, so I have to keep checking them and unjamming them as needed. They cannot be trusted to operate properly unsupervised.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not consistent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Grumpy
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Love this thing!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You'll see the moment you turn it on. Great distance and precise adjustability. No more bending over ! Top notch!
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
btebbs
from Enoch, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product and price to water open areas

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product to water open areas for dust control or light irrigation - efficient use of water application. Very easy to manage and excellent price for the tripod and sprinkler head. Light weight and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
flippinfishin
from Phenix City AL

Not worth the money!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this sprinkler at all. It is so bad I decided to come inside to write this review immediately. I purchased this because it was the most expensive sprinkler at Home Depot and I was tired of replacing the small cheap ones. This one is no better at all. It wastes a great deal of water, shoots water in a very sloppy stream and is extremely inconsistant with the settings. It actually only worked for 2 hours before malfunctioning therefore it will be going back to the store on my next visit.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
txisgr8
from texas

Works as I expected for the money

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well on a timer to water my raised garden. I'm going to buy another to get into some hard to reach places. Does better than I expected for the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Slamin65
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy setup/easy to adjust & use

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ready to go right out of the box. Previously used spike style sprinkler that was hard to place and didn't have the coverage that this style offers with telescopic legs. Very easy to move and adjust coverage area.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, easy to adjust
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
et79
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product would highly recommend

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its a great item to have it waters large areas evenly.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
DAgo

Perfect For Large areas

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this because I needed something that I didn't have to move all the time and cover a large area. This was perfect and it is so easy to use and move if necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Keith
from Wethersfield, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great coverage adds efficiency

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this thing. It allowed me
To eliminate having multiple sprinkler.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
drpam
from massachusetts

good sprinkler

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
sturdy. think it will last a long time. no instructions but figured things out.. a bit tricky to point downward. powerful
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
orangesquare

It's a 1/2" fitting not a 3/4" fitting

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This site lists the sprinklers as having a 3/4" sprinkler head. I just ordered some replacement 3/4" sprinkler heads, and they were too big. This item has a 1/2" sprinkler head.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
Nate
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value for your investment!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Believe I paid $37.99 for this sprinker. I am VERY happy with how sturdy it sits while sprinkling (others I tried tipped over due to the force of the impact sprinkler head). The brass head is very heavy duty and high quality. Entire tripod is light-weight for easy transporting around the yard. With good hose pressure this can essentially water double the area of any comparable ground sitting impact sprinkler. Extremely pleased with the product and performance, and $40 is a reasonable price tag considering how long I feel it will last.
I don't understand all the negative reviews - I would highly recommend people buy this one and try for yourself. I am 100% satisfied with its durability, performance, and fully anticipate it to last a good 5+ years with heavy use. (note- I am seeding a 1+ acre lot from new construction so I have put these to the test, trust me!)
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Strong, Great Quality, brass sprinkler head, doesn't tip, doesnt need to be staked
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
pizzaman

Dissapointing

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the most expensive sprinkler in the store hoping that it would be of decent quality. This sprinkler repeatedly stopped its rotation even though it was level. I would have been better off standing out in the yard spinning around with a hose in my hand. This will be returned tomorrow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod
schoolbee123
from Crown Point, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE this

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We went to the store and got the last one. I was very easy to set up and figure out the settings. It does a big area of yard at the time, and it really does look good doing it! We have an acre yard, and did some excavating so had to re-seed our entire lawn. We are very thankful for a product like this.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>