728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head

Heavy Duty Trimmer Head

The Rino Tuff 4-Blade Heavy-Duty Trimmer Head for Gas Trimmers is designed for commercial use. Its heavy-duty construction provides excellent cutting power. It uses pre-cut line strips for fast and easy re-loading.
Overall rating:
3.474 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product12 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Features 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product12 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Bear, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rino-Tuff HD - melted first 5 minutes

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is ashame a made in USA product is so bad. The product melted before I had finished trimming my entire yard. I have a normal house with about .5 acre yard. Just trimming around the fence ect. and product failed. I emailed the company to complain and request a new part. I received no response. I will never buy another product from this company again.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Central NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seriously Substandard!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I normally have great success with my Home Depot purchases - but not this time.
Instructions were not clear and it took some time to finally assemble this trimmer head to my Ryobi trimmer.
All plastic except for the screws that hold the head together, first time using it, and YES it was assembled correctly and did not wiggle, it was securely seated, and I managed to trim around the deck steps, around the firewood stacks and PLOP the trimmer head just FALLS OFF! The plastic spacer melted! So, off to the dump with this baby.
I'm really disappointed because I truly liked the idea of the push/pull method of stringing instead of changing spools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, poor instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Scituate, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke on me in 10 min

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used mine for about 10 min and it broke the nut shaped adapter rounded out its going back and I will buy something else too bad because if they didn't make it out of plastic and if it held up I would have kept it
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: hard to setup
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head

Best purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a very easy assembly and made a big difference.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it when its not melting

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have mixed emotions about this trimmer head. I have been through 2 in the past 3 months, the first one melted after about 20 minutes use, had no problem returning it to home depot, and my new one melted on me yesterday, but I still plan on returning it for another one. It works great when it works. Just wish it was made from metal and not plastic, but i would still recommend it. To be clear the head itself is not melting, just the plastic spacers and plastic bolts. but not all weed eaters require using those.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head

Now I have a string trimmer

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been frustrated for years with the bump head on my John Deere 1200 trimmer. Spent more time repairing and respooling than cutting. Replaced it with this and now the trimmer is useful. I like the substantial feel and the ease of reloading string. Make sure you pull enough of the string through when loading to easily grab when you need to reload. No problem with installation for me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Baton Rouge
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TRIMMER HEAD FIXED

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I thought it would melt; but, held up. Fits the Ryobi which took some time to figure it out. At least this company did their homework. Works for me. Took some time to figure this out when replacing current trimmer head.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, plastic
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from warren,michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good design

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bogs down my homelite trimmer wont spin it fast enough to cut tall weeds
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from West Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This trimmer head fits many trimmers and works well.

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried other trimmer heads for my trimmer and this one gives me the comfort and ability to do the trimming easily and not have to keep banging the ground to get the line out.
Plus you can never have to disassemble it to install new line which I love.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Lenexa, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installing the product is very easy and loading the line is easy as well. The line lasts for my entire yard without having to go get extra line. Make sure you use the heavy duty line.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head

Works Great

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There was a good selection of trimmer heads at my local HD and after looking at all of them I decided this head was the easiest to load new trimmer line. None of the descriptions indicate how the line is installed but it is very simple; push the line in through one of the three holes and it locks in place. There is a spring loaded locking mechanism that allows the line to move in one direction only. Very simple.
The package comes with several adapters but the installation instructions are TERRIBLE. After fiddling with the various parts I figured out the best way to attach it to my Honda trimmer.
I then tried it out on the fence around the garden and was extremely happy. The day before when I bought the trimmer I used the whole spool that came with the bump feed head. The line broken frequently and jammed several times in the bump feed head. With the Rino head I didn't experience any breaks. The head seems powerful and cut very well.
I don't know why bump feed heads are still sold as standard equipment on new trimmers. Get the Rino Tuff 3-Blade trimmer head and you will be happy.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great Piece of equipment. I would recommend to any home owner.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is easy to use, real time saver

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works great. Easy to install, easy to change string on.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head

I'm Impressed!!

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would have given it 5 stars but the installation instructions stink. After fiddling with the multitude of parts for about 20 minutes, I found a combination that worked...and did it ever!!
I'll admit, I've been neglecting my yard for a while. Ok, for months. Grass and weeds almost covered my sidewalk. I turned my trimmer on its side and used it as an edger. It cut through thick St. Augustine grass roots, dirt and any other vegetation that happened to be there. I have about 300 LF of sidewalk and driveway to trim and changed the string 4 times but you need to understand that the over-growth…WAS TERRABLE!! Stick with the .095 or thicker (up to .115 I think). You’ll be glad you did.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from pierce county Washington

Shakespeare Rino Tuff Universal Heavy Duty Trimmer

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BUY IT!!! this is the best trimmer head on the market, I use 095 string and can do my whole 5 acres with ease. plus its guaranteed for life
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke on first use.

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was frustrated with tangled spool lines and thought this product would save my summer, it did not. On the first use the unit seperated from itself making it unrepairable. Im off to try another brand of universal head to get away from the spool-line but may have no choice.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very durable

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great as long as you don't ask much of it. The first day in the front yard with only grass worked great. Second day with brush it fell apart after an hour
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These speed spools are GREAT!!!

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These speed spools are a GREAT investment in your time!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Trimmer Head
from TN

Doesn't come with install directions

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not ship with installation directions. The cardboard insert instead refers to the company website. The website does not include directions for this model. I returned it for a refund.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.