728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shop Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light

All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light

The 4 ft. All Season shop light is ideal for garages, utility and work areas requiring additional task lighting. The shop light is fully assembled and ready to install with a 6 in. textured gray reflector to match any work space. The fixture starts reliably down to 0°s F making it ideal for all weather applications, particularly in colder environments. Two long lasting energy-efficient 32-Watt fluorescent bulbs are required and sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.211 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(256 reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product215 of 240reviews
Rating Breakdown 256 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(134)
4
(81)
3
(17)
2
(9)
1
(15)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product215 of 240reviews
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions | 189 Answers
Customer reviews for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
Review 1 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light

Great Quality For Great Price!

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased four of these lights online for my seed starting. I bought a cheaper set prior from Home Depot and was disappointed at the flimsiness. These lights however are great, nice and sturdy. The hardware included is pathetic though. The "s" hooks are tiny, the chain looks weak, and the pull string couldn't hold the weight of a dime. The power cord is a great length but- the location is odd- it's on the side about six inches from the end. The stock photo makes it look like it protrudes from the top which it does not. The fixture is a gray finish that doesn't reflect well so I will be painting it appliance paint white. I was surprising pleased with the packaging as well- it was extremely easy to open and remove the product. Great buy!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Southwest Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Light

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two of these lights for my crawl space storage area. They are very sturdy, heavy gauge metal. The grey finish is first rate and would look nice in a living area. I hung them from the included chains, installed the bulbs, plugged them in and was done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Kimberly,Wi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Let it glow

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These all season , 4 Foot shop lights with the two T8 strip fluorescent bulbs really brightened up my garage! Coming ready to plug in and use left me plenty of patience to deal with my three daughters singing Let it Glow , Let it Glow, over and over and over again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Knotts Island, N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light fixture at a good price.

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like the "industrial" look, all metal construction and especially the on/off pull cord. The 4' power cord is sufficient too.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light

Great bright lights

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought these locally. Was going to go for the cheapie $10 ones but then saw these start reliably in colder weather, and having had flashbacks growing up of a garage light that took FOREVER to go bright I decided to pay the $20. Boy was that a good call. Also these are some of the brightest out there and efficient with the T8 bulbs. Love the plug, I swapped my single garage light for a double duplex outlet and plugged 4 of these in and attached the cord to the ceiling using cord channel. Looks great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+54points
60out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 6 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Fenton MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

priced right

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy to install. the price was right for a standard four foot shop light. I purchased the fixture to use with other four foot fixtures for lighting for our plants that we are starting from seed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is simple to install, a good value

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product because of the price, but the ease of installation was a great plus. The gray color is a bit plain, but the the light functions well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Fast / Speed
Cons: Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from N. Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light but......

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought four of these to replace existing T12 fixtures in my workshop. I was concerned about them being grey but tried them anyway. After installing with the daylight color bulbs, I only noticed minor improvement in light. After unscrewing two screws and removing the light deflector I sprayed it with white appliance paint. Now they are as bright as I had hoped. Huge improvement. A few minutes to paint and overnight to dry was well worth it. The lights are instant on and they work great at start up in cold weather. They are good fixtures as is but are excellent with the painted white deflector.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: grey color
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 9 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from El Paso, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Requires a good (third wire) ground to work properly.

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced an old (30 years or more) fixture. The old one was plugged into a light fixture via an adapter which included a bulb socket and outlet which only had a two prong capability. I transferred the plug adapter from the old light (green wire had been snipped off). The light didn't work right (alternate light and dark bands moving the length of the tubes and arcing crackling sound). Located the sound at the light/socket fixture screw in contact. Plugged the lamp directly into a 3 pronged outlet and it worked fine. Probably a change in technology in 30 years caused the problem. Eliminating the cheat and having a good ground is surely an improvement.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly
Cons: required a better ground than the old fixture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Landale PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recieved Damaged

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a reasonable product that I would have had no reservations installing and utilizing other than the fact that it was recieved with the end smashed in.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be Careful when installing bulbs.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The white bulb holders were slightly skewed outward out of the box. To ensure that the bulbs were securely installed, it was necessary to bend the end cap at each end slightly towards the middle to correct the initial loose fit. I don't recall if the instructions mentioned checking for this but if it didn't I would definitely mention straightening the bulb holders before hanging the fixture. Outside of this initial issue the rest of the installation was straight forward and I am happy with the purchase.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Lake Orion, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will buy more!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good value for the money and installation was a snap. I will be buying more to finish lighting my garage.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light

Nice fixture for the price

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a nice fixture and for my application, close to a wall, is perfect because the reflector is not real large. That reflector also is gray which might be a problem if I were using actual fluorescent tubes. I am not. The LED tubes I am using radiate light only 180°, not 360° like a fluorescent and are perfect for this fixture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Southwest, MI.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well spent $

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought two of these fixtures to light my 21x23 garage (winter and occasional night use), as before it was lit by three 13watt CFL's. They're quite sturdy considering their stamped steel construction, and easy enough to pull apart for ballast replacement. Instructions say hanging mount only, but I used a 2x4 between fixture and ceiling (8' ceiling doesn't leave enough room for hanging!). Whooa the difference is HUGE! Now I can actually do wood working (without fear of injury do to lack of light!), and work on our vehicles! My only dissatisfaction is the grey finish. Ummm, hello it's a light and at the very least they could have coated the reflective surface in white (which is why only four stars). Other than that easy to hang, quiet, and so far in the Michigan cold not one problem starting up! Great light for a great price!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Easy Installation, good bang for the buck
Cons: reflective surface should be white
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it was easy just string it up and plug it in

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I pick up some daylight bulbs to go with it. Now when the sun goes down I barely notice.
Pros: Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Chicago, IL

Efficient, inexpensive fixture.

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fixture is an exceptional deal--cheaper than any ballast I could find for my old fixture. It uses t8 32 watt bulbs so it uses 8 watts less electricity per bulb than the old standard t12 540 watt bulb fixtures. This is because of the electronic ballasts new fixtures like this one use. The electronic ballasts fixtures also don't pour out heat like the old magnetic ballasts. The top of the fixtures just get a little warm not super-hot like older fixtures. I have had several of these fixtures for a year and no problems yet.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from MN

Shop Light

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Good product for the money if you like to do minor repairs. Purchased 32 units and had to repair 20. Biggest problem was packing did not prevent damage to light ends. No broken parts but lots of reshaping metal on ends that were bent. All balast worked. Give light expected.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for a relatively low price

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 6 of these to replace some older T12's that I had in my garage. Overall quality of the product is very good. The fixtures are made of a heavier gauge material that what I would have expected and they have a nice hammered finish to them.
My garage has an open ceiling and I ended up flush mounting them to the joists and forgoing the drop chains. The 4' cord is a plus, allowing to give you some flexibility when plugging into a receptacle. I was able to use the same receptacle for a row of 2 lights due to the cord being so long.
I will notes that, the lights take about a minute or two to come up to complete brightness, However it is quick. There's no flickering or buzzing, Just lots of light.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works good but has irritating design flaws-- Grey Reflectors??!!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
T-8 fixtures always worked well for me. They start even in cold weather. I bought 4 of these to replace some older, failing T-12 fixtures that cover my entire garage ceiling. Twice the price I bought some a couple years ago. These have some glaring design flaws. First is the grey, non reflecting, reflector. Just stupid to throw half the light output away. I bought some chrome paint to paint over the gray finish. Second, the bulbs are too close together and it makes it difficult to install the bulbs, this also reduces the overall light output due to lack of reflection area. Other than that, they work ok. I might try some other units from the other store, but their reviews were that half of them didn't work out of the box which is why I bought these instead.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, starts in cold weather
Cons: grey reflectors, bulbs too close together
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for All Season 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent Shop Light
from Ma.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great shop light

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice well made looks great and very strong....
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>