728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shop Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

The 4 ft. All Season shop light is ideal for garages, utility and work areas requiring additional task lighting. The shop light is fully assembled and ready to install with a 6 in. textured gray reflector to match any work space. The fixture starts reliably down to 0 degrees F making it ideal for all weather applications, particularly in colder environments. Two long lasting energy-efficient 32-watt fluorescent bulbs are required and sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product187 of 208reviews
Rating Breakdown 224 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(123)
4
(66)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(12)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product187 of 208reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer reviews for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
Review 1 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Knotts Island, N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light fixture at a good price.

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like the "industrial" look, all metal construction and especially the on/off pull cord. The 4' power cord is sufficient too.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

Great bright lights

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought these locally. Was going to go for the cheapie $10 ones but then saw these start reliably in colder weather, and having had flashbacks growing up of a garage light that took FOREVER to go bright I decided to pay the $20. Boy was that a good call. Also these are some of the brightest out there and efficient with the T8 bulbs. Love the plug, I swapped my single garage light for a double duplex outlet and plugged 4 of these in and attached the cord to the ceiling using cord channel. Looks great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+51points
57out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 3 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be Careful when installing bulbs.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The white bulb holders were slightly skewed outward out of the box. To ensure that the bulbs were securely installed, it was necessary to bend the end cap at each end slightly towards the middle to correct the initial loose fit. I don't recall if the instructions mentioned checking for this but if it didn't I would definitely mention straightening the bulb holders before hanging the fixture. Outside of this initial issue the rest of the installation was straight forward and I am happy with the purchase.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is simple to install, a good value

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product because of the price, but the ease of installation was a great plus. The gray color is a bit plain, but the the light functions well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Fast / Speed
Cons: Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from N. Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light but......

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought four of these to replace existing T12 fixtures in my workshop. I was concerned about them being grey but tried them anyway. After installing with the daylight color bulbs, I only noticed minor improvement in light. After unscrewing two screws and removing the light deflector I sprayed it with white appliance paint. Now they are as bright as I had hoped. Huge improvement. A few minutes to paint and overnight to dry was well worth it. The lights are instant on and they work great at start up in cold weather. They are good fixtures as is but are excellent with the painted white deflector.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: grey color
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 6 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from California

Really great fluorescent ballast and fixture

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pros: I haven't purchased fluorescent light ballasts/fixtures in several (10+) years. My garage had old fixtures from the 90's and I bought several more of these for additional lighting. They turn on instantly with no humming and no warm up period. I couldn't believe how far fluorescent lighting has come (even with the advent of LED lighting). I will replace the remaining old fixtures with these because I like them so much.
Cons: As others have stated, they do come in a gray finish. I spray painted mine with white paint to get a better reflective surface. I can't say for sure if it helped with the quality of light, but it sure looks better than the gray finish. Overall a very minor "con" which is fixed in 5 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly Recommended

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced two out of four older shop lights in my garage with these all season lights. The new lights start up fast in the cold weather while the older lights sputter and buzz. I plan to replace those with this model as well.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Southwest, MI.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well spent $

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought two of these fixtures to light my 21x23 garage (winter and occasional night use), as before it was lit by three 13watt CFL's. They're quite sturdy considering their stamped steel construction, and easy enough to pull apart for ballast replacement. Instructions say hanging mount only, but I used a 2x4 between fixture and ceiling (8' ceiling doesn't leave enough room for hanging!). Whooa the difference is HUGE! Now I can actually do wood working (without fear of injury do to lack of light!), and work on our vehicles! My only dissatisfaction is the grey finish. Ummm, hello it's a light and at the very least they could have coated the reflective surface in white (which is why only four stars). Other than that easy to hang, quiet, and so far in the Michigan cold not one problem starting up! Great light for a great price!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Easy Installation, good bang for the buck
Cons: reflective surface should be white
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Live by the beach in Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatlight

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
provides great light for my holiday tent and family gathering
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Long Beach, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Functional and well-priced

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pull-cord, chain-hung fluorescent light for garage lighting. Exactly what I needed, easy to hang up, and on my tall garage roof I can still reach the on/off pull cord, so it's great.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright, no assembly, lightweight hanging
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it was easy just string it up and plug it in

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I pick up some daylight bulbs to go with it. Now when the sun goes down I barely notice.
Pros: Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

Poor quality

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased four of these fixtures to replace the old T12 fixtures in my garage. Three of them had bent and damaged hoods; the steel material is very flimsy and very easy to get bent out of shape. Apparently the shipping box is not made to coincide with the flimsy hood.
Also, there were wires sticking out from under the casing. I had to force the rear casing open on two of the units to push the wiring back into the housing - very sloppy assembly.
They were easy to install because you just hang them and plug in the supplied cord.
Due to the quality issues I hope they last longer than a few months.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor quality hood, poor assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from MN

Shop Light

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Good product for the money if you like to do minor repairs. Purchased 32 units and had to repair 20. Biggest problem was packing did not prevent damage to light ends. No broken parts but lots of reshaping metal on ends that were bent. All balast worked. Give light expected.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from New Braunfels, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Shop Light!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just what was needed to go over my work bench for the light needed...pull chain makes it easy to turn on/off, install easy.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but disappointing in cold

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 3 of these last spring in my garage. My garage isn't insulated, and I was really drawn to the 0-degree operation. Just got our first bit of single digit temps, and the lights don't work. They turn on instantly, but they're so dim you can't see anything. They work great during the year, but when it's cold, they certainly don't work as advertised. I'm really disappointed, but what can you expect for $20?
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't work in cold
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from New York

You Won't be sorry

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Despite what others have said about the grey color I think it's a beautiful fixture. The grey is a semi gloss so to me it pops. This thing comes in a perfect box and you can pull it out put two bulbs in and its ready to go. The cord is a bit short but you would need an extension anyway if your outlet is far anyway.
Im using this to start vegetables in my closet for this season upcoming.
Keep in mind the chains I bought separately.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great all weather ligting

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great lights for my cold garage! Once the heat gets up to 65 - 70 degrees then they are even better. Painted the reflector gloss white to even enhance the brightness. Wish they were already white from the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Forsyth, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Price-Great Quality

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did not know this light was approved to 0 degrees F installation, great feature in a cold carport to still have light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Philadelphia Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

doesnt come with necessary hardware

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
first off I hope you had an old fixture to put the parts on that didnt come with it. It needed a power cord, a wire protector, wire nuts, hanging chain and hooks and directions. I hope it works for awhile because the ballast appears to be very small. It didnt mention any of these things on the box.Oh also it has to be wired and assembled. It was obvious it didnt come with bulbs
Pros: Functional
Cons: no hardware
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Chicago, IL

Efficient, inexpensive fixture.

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fixture is an exceptional deal--cheaper than any ballast I could find for my old fixture. It uses t8 32 watt bulbs so it uses 8 watts less electricity per bulb than the old standard t12 540 watt bulb fixtures. This is because of the electronic ballasts new fixtures like this one use. The electronic ballasts fixtures also don't pour out heat like the old magnetic ballasts. The top of the fixtures just get a little warm not super-hot like older fixtures. I have had several of these fixtures for a year and no problems yet.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>