728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shop Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

The 4 ft. All Season shop light is ideal for garages, utility and work areas requiring additional task lighting. The shop light is fully assembled and ready to install with a 6 in. textured gray reflector to match any work space. The fixture starts reliably down to 0 degrees F making it ideal for all weather applications, particularly in colder environments. Two long lasting energy-efficient 32-watt fluorescent bulbs are required and sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(198 reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product165 of 182reviews
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(109)
4
(61)
3
(12)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product165 of 182reviews
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 152 Answers
Customer reviews for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
Review 1 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is simple to install, a good value

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product because of the price, but the ease of installation was a great plus. The gray color is a bit plain, but the the light functions well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Fast / Speed
Cons: Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from N. Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light but......

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought four of these to replace existing T12 fixtures in my workshop. I was concerned about them being grey but tried them anyway. After installing with the daylight color bulbs, I only noticed minor improvement in light. After unscrewing two screws and removing the light deflector I sprayed it with white appliance paint. Now they are as bright as I had hoped. Huge improvement. A few minutes to paint and overnight to dry was well worth it. The lights are instant on and they work great at start up in cold weather. They are good fixtures as is but are excellent with the painted white deflector.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: grey color
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

Great bright lights

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these locally. Was going to go for the cheapie $10 ones but then saw these start reliably in colder weather, and having had flashbacks growing up of a garage light that took FOREVER to go bright I decided to pay the $20. Boy was that a good call. Also these are some of the brightest out there and efficient with the T8 bulbs. Love the plug, I swapped my single garage light for a double duplex outlet and plugged 4 of these in and attached the cord to the ceiling using cord channel. Looks great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+47points
52out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 4 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be Careful when installing bulbs.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The white bulb holders were slightly skewed outward out of the box. To ensure that the bulbs were securely installed, it was necessary to bend the end cap at each end slightly towards the middle to correct the initial loose fit. I don't recall if the instructions mentioned checking for this but if it didn't I would definitely mention straightening the bulb holders before hanging the fixture. Outside of this initial issue the rest of the installation was straight forward and I am happy with the purchase.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Southwest, MI.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well spent $

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought two of these fixtures to light my 21x23 garage (winter and occasional night use), as before it was lit by three 13watt CFL's. They're quite sturdy considering their stamped steel construction, and easy enough to pull apart for ballast replacement. Instructions say hanging mount only, but I used a 2x4 between fixture and ceiling (8' ceiling doesn't leave enough room for hanging!). Whooa the difference is HUGE! Now I can actually do wood working (without fear of injury do to lack of light!), and work on our vehicles! My only dissatisfaction is the grey finish. Ummm, hello it's a light and at the very least they could have coated the reflective surface in white (which is why only four stars). Other than that easy to hang, quiet, and so far in the Michigan cold not one problem starting up! Great light for a great price!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Easy Installation, good bang for the buck
Cons: reflective surface should be white
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cost Affective

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight. Recommend indoor only. Spray inside of reflector gloss white to increase (~1.4) light output.
Cons: wrong color for light output
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it was easy just string it up and plug it in

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I pick up some daylight bulbs to go with it. Now when the sun goes down I barely notice.
Pros: Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Hill County, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Little Lights..........after a bit of remediation!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great little lights, but ONLY after removing the reflector and painting it white. Prior to painting, light distribution is only fair. When the reflectors are painted, light distribution is excellent! I also recommend very white bulbs!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: horrible grey reflectors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

perfect shop light

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light was easy to setup and exactly what I was looking for. Sheds light where you need it, and works perfectly over a work bench.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Kansas City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality Shop Light

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good balance between quality and price. I would have preferred to have a white reflector interior as some reviewers mentioned but I have eought light so painting it white wasn't worth the hassle. The best feature (and why I bought this model) is the ability to operate in cold termperatures. My garage occasionally gets to freezing during cold weather. The light comes on almost instantly on when swithced on. I also like on-off pull chain. Some cheap models don't have that.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Chicago, IL

Efficient, inexpensive fixture.

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fixture is an exceptional deal--cheaper than any ballast I could find for my old fixture. It uses t8 32 watt bulbs so it uses 8 watts less electricity per bulb than the old standard t12 540 watt bulb fixtures. This is because of the electronic ballasts new fixtures like this one use. The electronic ballasts fixtures also don't pour out heat like the old magnetic ballasts. The top of the fixtures just get a little warm not super-hot like older fixtures. I have had several of these fixtures for a year and no problems yet.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Chesapeake, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent General Garage Lighting

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed two 4 foot fixtures to replace the "bare bulbs" in a two car garage. Easy to install and provides great general lighting.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from West Valley City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't need grey reflector

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The description said it was a Grey Fluorescent Strip.
I never imagined that the inside of the reflector would also be grey, rather than the normal white!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Good Size & Weight
Cons: grey reflector!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works good but has irritating design flaws-- Grey Reflectors??!!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
T-8 fixtures always worked well for me. They start even in cold weather. I bought 4 of these to replace some older, failing T-12 fixtures that cover my entire garage ceiling. Twice the price I bought some a couple years ago. These have some glaring design flaws. First is the grey, non reflecting, reflector. Just stupid to throw half the light output away. I bought some chrome paint to paint over the gray finish. Second, the bulbs are too close together and it makes it difficult to install the bulbs, this also reduces the overall light output due to lack of reflection area. Other than that, they work ok. I might try some other units from the other store, but their reviews were that half of them didn't work out of the box which is why I bought these instead.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, starts in cold weather
Cons: grey reflectors, bulbs too close together
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 15 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

Shop lights

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy, convenient, very serviceable. Internal wire nut was off. Found problem, then fixed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for a relatively low price

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 6 of these to replace some older T12's that I had in my garage. Overall quality of the product is very good. The fixtures are made of a heavier gauge material that what I would have expected and they have a nice hammered finish to them.
My garage has an open ceiling and I ended up flush mounting them to the joists and forgoing the drop chains. The 4' cord is a plus, allowing to give you some flexibility when plugging into a receptacle. I was able to use the same receptacle for a row of 2 lights due to the cord being so long.
I will notes that, the lights take about a minute or two to come up to complete brightness, However it is quick. There's no flickering or buzzing, Just lots of light.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent

does what they say it does

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read other reviews, here's my experience.
Grey paint is reflective and works fine.
I had no problem installing the bulbs..plenty of room for my fat fingers.
Fixture installation is standard shoplight. You will need to get eye bolts to anchor to ceiling.
Plenty of light.instant on. bought 5 fixtures, all bulbs are same brightness.
No noise what so ever.
you can't beat these for the money. Now we wait to see if they last. Will update if they fail. Or bulbs don't deliver.
Be realistic, If you are looking for the light of the sun to illuminate your workspace, this is not your fixture. I have 5 in a 24x24 garage and thats plenty of light to wax a car etc. My working garage has 8' fixtures and is bright enough for most anything. I like these.
Pros: Functional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Value

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked well right out the box....small work shop/area in garage..perfect for small repair applications in my situation......
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Newark, DE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just mediocre

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quality just isn't there for this light fixture. I don't think its worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product for the money

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple plug and play installation ,when using the provided chain for hanging fixtures. I personally installed them directly to ceiling .
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>