728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

Built to last through even the most extreme conditions, the SnoBoss 26 in. high-capacity blade with steel wear strip allows for the removal of more snow in less time and is constructed using only high quality resins. Together, the blade and handle provide optimal design integrity and do so with no unwanted screws, nuts, rivets, or edges. And it's even reversible. Just turn it over, and it's ideal for scraping tight areas, such as steps and porches. Nothing works harder, or more comfortably, to keep snow from getting in your way.
Overall rating:
3.622 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product57 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(17)
3
(11)
2
(11)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product57 of 86reviews
Customer reviews for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Review 1 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Chestnut Ridge, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This shovel could be great

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This was the best shovel I ever used. I even cleared my driveway and walks faster with this shovel than with my 26 inch snowblower! Then it fell apart the third time I used it! The metal edge on the front of the shovel that clears everything clean came off due to the rivets shearing off from the bottom! My driveway is newly paved and perfectly smooth so the shovel never got hung up on any obstructions to shear the rivets. I will try to exchange it and give it one more chance if there are any left. So I will recommend it with caution for now.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: poor construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Long Island, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rivets Fail in Short Order

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great shovel for the first couple of uses and then the rivets wear down and the metal scraper blade comes loose and falls off. When this happened to me I put it back on with small carriage bolts and locking nuts. My bolts have lasted much longer than the original rivets but now the blade itself is wearing down on both edges to the plastic. I was hoping to find a replacement piece but I haven't been successful in finding one.so I guess I'll have to make one. I must say that when the shovel works, it works well but it was not made to last. I went out to take pictures of the Snoboss just now and found that one of the two replacement end bolts is missing, This must have happened this morning during my shoveling activity because they were all there last night when I checked the shovel for readiness. See my pictures.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Wear Stripe will not last more than a few times

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So I have 2 of these shovels. They both latest no more than a season on a new driveway. There is a design flaw where the shovel must ride on the rivets causing them to grind down to nothing. Once they are gone the wear stripe pops right. TrueTemper replaced 1 shovel for me, and I got to use that shovel twice before the same thing happened. I have a 120ft driveway plus sidewalks.
Now when it works, these are perfect for a light dusting. They just do not last. I called true temper and customer service seemed to have no idea of an issue. The Snow Boss has been out for over a year, I don't see them doing anything to fix the design.
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Blauvelt, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice shovel - but only lasts 3 snow falls. Bad Rivets on all 3 I have.

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shovels seem nice to use - but the rivets that hold the metal blade in place all pop in half - it really is awful. I just emailed True Temper today - as I have a new one I'm going to return if they don't replace the rivets somehow. A 4" snowfall on a smooth blacktop driveway broke 4 rivets in half - it's a very bad blade design.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable, blade rivets break
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

Needs some modification!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This shovel is the best. But be warned that the rivets will pop off. I used my own screws with locking nuts to secure the metal piece in place. If you do that modification, you truly will have a snow boss.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Why can't all companies and products be this good?
This is a special purpose shovel. I don't use it as much as my Rugg Backsaver. I shovel a real lot of snow and when I need it, this shovel is indispensable. It is unique, nobody makes anything else like it. Pushing, scraping, and moving giant chunks of snow, it's unbeatable. Ergo design lets you use both arms. Not great for tossing snow but that's not what I have this one for.
See the photo. When you get those big piles of packed snow, I chop a giant chunk of it loose with this thing. Then I ram the blade underneath and pry the chunk off the ground and drag it to get rid of it. I have moved hunks weighing at least 100 lbs, easily, like pushing a baby carriage. Work that would have taken hours is done in a few minutes.
It is also great for lighter snow storms where you have a lot of area to clear. I push it along and all the snow gets scraped up and accumulates in the scoop. Then, when I get to the end of the driveway I can either lift and dump or just tilt it to unload if I have room for that.
After a year of abusing this thing, I wore the metal edge out. I emailed Ames/TrueTemper. They sent me 4 new edges ups, a day or two, no cost at all to me. Couldn't be easier. John, Massachusetts
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

Rivets snapped off metal blade

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First snow storm I used this shovel and the rivets holding the metal blade started snapping off. I donot reccomend the tru temper snow shovel poor craftsmanship!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Flemington, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVED this shovel until the rivets sheared off!

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had this shovel less than 1 year. LOVED it when I first used it in my long driveway. Clears FAST and with little stress on the back. However, when this winter season began, I noticed that several of the rivets along the metal blade strip had come out - leaving the shovel useless. THIS SHOULDN'T HAPPEN ON A PRODUCT THAT IS SO NEW.
Disappointed, especially considering the price we paid for the extra features.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: poor workmanship, rivets come out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from NEW YORK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR?? THINK AGAIN....

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
LOVE THE SHOVEL OVERALL. DURABLE ERGONOMIC. BLADE IS VERY GOOD QUALITY AND SHARP EXCEPT FOR WHEN IT FELL OFF BOTTOM OF SHOVEL AFTER USING TWICE. MY OBVIOUS GUESS FROM NATURALLY RUBBING AGAINST CEMENT. IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE MADE FOR EXCESSIVE USAGE AND FUNCTIONALITY. ALL 7 RIVETS OUT OF 8 FELL OFF AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE THEY WENT. THE ONE THAT WAS LEFT ON WAS WORN. FIRST OFF THE RIVET WAS THE SAME DIAMETER AS THE HOLES THAT WERE MADE ON THE BASE OF THE SHOVEL. SO, AS THE FRICTION OF USAGE SHOVELING THE SNOW FROM THE CEMENT WAS HAPPENING THE RIVET WORN OUT AND NARROWED ITS WIDTH MAKING THE RIVET FALL THROUGH THE HOLE ON SHOVEL ITSELF. IF, MAYBE... THE BOTTOM OF RIVET WAS WIDER SPREADING OVER THE BOTTOM OF THE SHOVEL THIS WOULD NOT HAVE OCCURRED. BETTER YET, INSTALL THE PRODUCT WITH STRONGER RIVETS OR SCREWS WITH BOLTS.... I WAS GOING TO RETURN THE SHOVEL BUT ENDED UP FIXING MY SHOVEL WITH SCREWS AND BOLTS THAT I HAD HOME. I PUT THE BLADE BACK THE WAY IT CAME ON BOTTOM OF SHOVEL. THEN NOTICED THERE WAS AN INLAY WHERE THE BLADE LAYED MORE FLUSHED AGAINST THE INSIDE OF SHOVEL. THIS MADE THE SCREW/BOLT THAT GOES THROUGH THE HOLES ON THE SHOVEL HIGHER UNDERNEATH THE SHOVEL AND DOES NOT RUB AGAINST CEMENT. SO FAR?? HOME DEPOT WEBSITE PHOTO OF SHOVEL SHOWS BLADE ON THE INSIDE OF SHOVEL WHERE AS MANUFACTURERS WEBSITE (AMES TRUE TEMPER) SHOWS IT ASSEMBLED ON THE BOTTOM . IN MY STRONG OPINION...THAT IS THE OBVIOUS PROBLEM.. .SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT AMES TRUE TEMPER MANUFACTURING COMPANY??? AGREE?? BOTTOM LINE YOU NEED TO BE HANDY AND DO THE MANUFACTURERS WORKERS JOB. YOU PAY FOR PRODUCT BUT DO NOT GET THE QUALITY YOU PAY FOR.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp
Cons: blade assembled incorrectly, poor qualilty of rivet material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best shovel out there

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second SnowBoss 26. The original wore out on the outside edges after 5 years. We often get 15-20 snow events a winter (often multi day), so this life span seems reasonable to me. The metal edge and plastic on the side ground away after time, and it finally cracked when I was hammering at some ice. I immediately went on a hunt for a new one, which should tell you all you need to know.
I like the wide swath of snow that you can push with this shovel. It has two handles near the blade for lifting and tossing. I use the lower one for heavier snow. The new shovel I got has a different design on the metal edge, so hopefully it will last longer.
Beware the look a like (I think it is even the same manufacturer) without the metal edge. You won't get the same ice busting power without it.
Additionally, I am 6'1" and have no problem lifting the shovel when it is loaded. My 5'2" wife hates this shovel.
Pros: Functionality, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Are you people serious?

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How could anyone possibly give this shovel a "good " review. After just one season, (only three light snow storms) the rivets wore off from the concrete leaving the metal blade hanging off the shovel. people if you are going to write reviews, at least try the items for a season to see if they uphold their duties. What good do reviews do people if they are not accurate...very disappointed in the shovel and all the good reviews.
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

WOW!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I simply could not believe it, but this product is easy to use and hold for me. I am a senior woman and have arthritis and other joint issues, but this product works for me. Thank you so much.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Boston Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding shovel

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've lived in New England all my life, and this is the best shovel I've ever used, even in these past two weeks with 60 inches of snow. I have not had the rivet problems others have noted. You can use this as a plow, with the double stem providing stability, and when snow is light each scoop lifts a lot. And the two crossbars near the blade make it much easier to lift and throw because you don't have to turn your wrist to grasp the stem. It is big, and so it's heavier than some of the dinkier shovels, but it's relatively light for a shovel this size. If you've got big snow, this is the shovel for it.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with quality

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shovel cleaned a lot of snow and was easy to use. Design helped shovel without back problems. Thought the price was too high. Rivets attaching the metal blade to the shovel kept popping out. I had to replaced the first one I bought with the same model. The second shovel popped rivets as well. I returned the shovel and bought different model. If the rivets didn't keep popping, would have given this shovel a better review.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Lanham, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great snow shovel, easy to use

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered this after using someone else's to clean up after last snowfall. Easiest one I've ever used.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Good Shape, easy to lift or push
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

Great product for shoveling snow

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the third one I've owned and used over many years. It's great to use when you don't want to get the blower out, or can't! Even if there is a little snow it does the job faster and easier with its wide scoop and easy handles. Thumbs up!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: can be heavy with wet snow loads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Trenton, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good shovel, easy on the back

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The concept is great, much better on the back than a shovel because you never need to lift snow off the ground. Just scoop it up and push it along. On deeper snow you can plow into the snow, fill up the large shovel then lower the handle a bit so the scoop glides over the snow instead of scooping it. Then it's just a matter of pushing it along to were you dump it. I've made piles well over my head while never lifting snow off the ground. Just keep dumping snow in the same place and build up a ramp. The back likes pushing much more than lifting, that's for sure.
Although the metal blade edge helps, like all plastic shovels it isn't great for breaking up ice. Took off 1 quality mark because when you slide it around you do end up sliding plastic on the ground which will eventually wear down. I'd like to see a couple strips of sheet metal underneath to slide on. However that is a minor quibble and wouldn't deter me from buying another, which is probably why it isn't there.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

This Shovel is a beast!!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Makes quick work out of a labor intensive chore. Sturdy and well built. Little pricy but it should last for years. My next purchase will be a snow thrower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
from Central Mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Using this shovel will destroy your deck!

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The design of this shovel is without regard to any ones personal property. Sure it moves snow. But before you buy one, flip the shovel over and notice the exposed rivets. If you use this shovel on a wooden or Trex deck, it will leave very heavy gouge marks! This is total irresponsible design where all they had to do to make it a good shovel would be to add a better blade where the rivets are located in a recess so they wouldn't rip grooves in your deck and at the same time, the heads of the rivets wouldn't get ground off in short order. But what the heck, they got your money and you ended up with a bad product. Don't buy this shovel or any with exposed rivets.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, irresponsible design
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

This shovel is amazing!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
FInally! A shovel that holds up to heavy wet snow, has a great handle, and 2 levels of grips for people of different heights. I do two passes with this thing, and my driveway is DONE! It's over 2 feet wide, and the plastic is heavy duty with a steel strip on the bottom. It doesn't weight a lot, but is very sturdy. *Thank you, SnoBoss!*
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>