728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel

Built to last through even the most extreme conditions, the SnoBoss 26 in. high-capacity blade with steel wear strip allows for the removal of more snow in less time and is constructed using only high quality resins. Together, the blade and handle provide optimal design integrity and do so with no unwanted screws, nuts, rivets, or edges. And it's even reversible. Just turn it over, and it's ideal for scraping tight areas, such as steps and porches. Nothing works harder, or more comfortably, to keep snow from getting in your way.
Overall rating:
3.629 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product40 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(11)
3
(9)
2
(8)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product40 of 59reviews
Customer reviews for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Review 1 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Donuts
from Chestnut Ridge, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This shovel could be great

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This was the best shovel I ever used. I even cleared my driveway and walks faster with this shovel than with my 26 inch snowblower! Then it fell apart the third time I used it! The metal edge on the front of the shovel that clears everything clean came off due to the rivets shearing off from the bottom! My driveway is newly paved and perfectly smooth so the shovel never got hung up on any obstructions to shear the rivets. I will try to exchange it and give it one more chance if there are any left. So I will recommend it with caution for now.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: poor construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
unbelieveable
from NEW YORK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR?? THINK AGAIN....

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
LOVE THE SHOVEL OVERALL. DURABLE ERGONOMIC. BLADE IS VERY GOOD QUALITY AND SHARP EXCEPT FOR WHEN IT FELL OFF BOTTOM OF SHOVEL AFTER USING TWICE. MY OBVIOUS GUESS FROM NATURALLY RUBBING AGAINST CEMENT. IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE MADE FOR EXCESSIVE USAGE AND FUNCTIONALITY. ALL 7 RIVETS OUT OF 8 FELL OFF AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE THEY WENT. THE ONE THAT WAS LEFT ON WAS WORN. FIRST OFF THE RIVET WAS THE SAME DIAMETER AS THE HOLES THAT WERE MADE ON THE BASE OF THE SHOVEL. SO, AS THE FRICTION OF USAGE SHOVELING THE SNOW FROM THE CEMENT WAS HAPPENING THE RIVET WORN OUT AND NARROWED ITS WIDTH MAKING THE RIVET FALL THROUGH THE HOLE ON SHOVEL ITSELF. IF, MAYBE... THE BOTTOM OF RIVET WAS WIDER SPREADING OVER THE BOTTOM OF THE SHOVEL THIS WOULD NOT HAVE OCCURRED. BETTER YET, INSTALL THE PRODUCT WITH STRONGER RIVETS OR SCREWS WITH BOLTS.... I WAS GOING TO RETURN THE SHOVEL BUT ENDED UP FIXING MY SHOVEL WITH SCREWS AND BOLTS THAT I HAD HOME. I PUT THE BLADE BACK THE WAY IT CAME ON BOTTOM OF SHOVEL. THEN NOTICED THERE WAS AN INLAY WHERE THE BLADE LAYED MORE FLUSHED AGAINST THE INSIDE OF SHOVEL. THIS MADE THE SCREW/BOLT THAT GOES THROUGH THE HOLES ON THE SHOVEL HIGHER UNDERNEATH THE SHOVEL AND DOES NOT RUB AGAINST CEMENT. SO FAR?? HOME DEPOT WEBSITE PHOTO OF SHOVEL SHOWS BLADE ON THE INSIDE OF SHOVEL WHERE AS MANUFACTURERS WEBSITE (AMES TRUE TEMPER) SHOWS IT ASSEMBLED ON THE BOTTOM . IN MY STRONG OPINION...THAT IS THE OBVIOUS PROBLEM.. .SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT AMES TRUE TEMPER MANUFACTURING COMPANY??? AGREE?? BOTTOM LINE YOU NEED TO BE HANDY AND DO THE MANUFACTURERS WORKERS JOB. YOU PAY FOR PRODUCT BUT DO NOT GET THE QUALITY YOU PAY FOR.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp
Cons: blade assembled incorrectly, poor qualilty of rivet material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
beathinker
from colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Are you people serious?

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How could anyone possibly give this shovel a "good " review. After just one season, (only three light snow storms) the rivets wore off from the concrete leaving the metal blade hanging off the shovel. people if you are going to write reviews, at least try the items for a season to see if they uphold their duties. What good do reviews do people if they are not accurate...very disappointed in the shovel and all the good reviews.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Rivetman
from Central Mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Using this shovel will destroy your deck!

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The design of this shovel is without regard to any ones personal property. Sure it moves snow. But before you buy one, flip the shovel over and notice the exposed rivets. If you use this shovel on a wooden or Trex deck, it will leave very heavy gouge marks! This is total irresponsible design where all they had to do to make it a good shovel would be to add a better blade where the rivets are located in a recess so they wouldn't rip grooves in your deck and at the same time, the heads of the rivets wouldn't get ground off in short order. But what the heck, they got your money and you ended up with a bad product. Don't buy this shovel or any with exposed rivets.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, irresponsible design
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
artsy
from Upper Darby, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great and easy to use

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this snow shovel - it is really more like a small snow plough. It pushes the snow away, and no lifting is really necessary...and with my back, this is a very good thing.
Even if the snow needs to be lifted, it is much easier to do so because of the leverage created by the shorter double handle grip.
After the last snow storm I was clearing my front sidewalk and numerous passers by wanted to know " What is that? and where do I get one?"
Believe it or not, this little snow boss makes a snow day almost fun again.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Strong, Easy to Use
Cons: only thing is - it still needs to be human powered
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Chad
from Harrisburg, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed, please read this before buying.

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is a metal blade on the edge of the shovel. During the shoveling motion of pushing the shovel across the concrete, this metal edge digs into the concrete and brings the shovel to a very abrupt, premature stop. Feels like it "sticks" on the concrete, for lack of a better word. I shoveled last night for over and hour and it was "sticking" the entire time, with almost every shoveling motion. Again, it's the metal edge actually digging in to the concrete forcing the shovel to stop (before you can complete the shoveling motion). You have to lift up and start the motion again, hoping it doesn't "stick" again. Extremely annoying, I was regretting my purchase the entire time I was shoveling last night. I've never had a snow shovel do this, and I've had a couple of metal edge shovels.
If you have concrete, I do NOT recommend this shovel. Maybe it works better on blacktop?
Pros: Vibrant Color, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: poor design for use on concrete
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
gleinz
from Connecticut

Great Design, Terrible Quality, Won't Last.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the product is a great design... it allows you to clear snow quickly without breaking your back.
However, the quality is not there. After 2 winters, the rivets that hold the metal edge on the front of the shovel have all broken, making the shovel virtually unusable. I have several other $10 shovels that aren't designed as well, but are 5+ years old and still are holding up fine. Based on this, this is a poor product and I do not recommend that anyone buys it.
Pros: good design
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
MrPlow
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best shovel out there

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my second SnowBoss 26. The original wore out on the outside edges after 5 years. We often get 15-20 snow events a winter (often multi day), so this life span seems reasonable to me. The metal edge and plastic on the side ground away after time, and it finally cracked when I was hammering at some ice. I immediately went on a hunt for a new one, which should tell you all you need to know.
I like the wide swath of snow that you can push with this shovel. It has two handles near the blade for lifting and tossing. I use the lower one for heavier snow. The new shovel I got has a different design on the metal edge, so hopefully it will last longer.
Beware the look a like (I think it is even the same manufacturer) without the metal edge. You won't get the same ice busting power without it.
Additionally, I am 6'1" and have no problem lifting the shovel when it is loaded. My 5'2" wife hates this shovel.
Pros: Functionality, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
rene

This product has wonderful features

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the greatest shovel ever invented! So easy to use! I am an older person and was able to shovel with ease. Love it
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Rajesh
from Norristown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad product

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rivets from the metal edge came off after 3rd use. Not durable.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Anonymous
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not durable; Rivets holding metal edge are broken off

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I originally liked this shovel. It worked great. Today the metal edge fell of because the rivets broke. It has been used 3 times and now it is useless.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, disposbale
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
GBrown
from Linthicum Heights, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snoboss 26in

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shovel is awesome. There is no comparison to this and the regular 18" shovel, trust me. The leverage you get with this shovel when moving and pushing snow is incredible, with the hand position's being in the perfect place for lifting and dumping the snow. It's easy too load the snow and drag it way to dump in another area if you need too. What an ingenious design, you can't go wrong with this shovel.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
raywon67
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great snow shovel for the medium to heavy jobs

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
a little overkill for light snows, but it scoops so much that it clears light snows quickly. Heavier jobs, I found myself outpacing the neighbors and eventually lent it to them. Probably sold a few indirectly along with the help of the bad weather. Good foot place in middle for wet/frozen piles caused by snowplows. two handed placement for good power along with a little belly bar to really get behind pushing it. It slides back with a heavy load of snow in it so you move snow away from the driveway etc. This size of a snow load capability may be a little much for smaller folks.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, foot pedal for tough piles of snow, slides with a load of snow
Cons: can get heavy for a smaller shouldered person
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Eric
from Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Gender:Male

Great Shovel

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this shovel makes clearing my driveway quick and easy. Im able to use it like a plow with lighter snow falls or like a regular shovel with heavier snow falls. Built tough and its easy on the back. The metal edge provides a clean surface and can cut through slush and ice. I was going to buy a snow blower until I found this shovel. I will continue to use this product going forward
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality, clears large areas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Dav0
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good idea but not the best implementation of the metal edge

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I chose "yes" with the caveat that you need to repair/replace the rivets on the metal edge with something more permenant. You also need to be in pretty good shape to actually use this shovel due to the larger snow load the 26" dish will hold.
With those two things in mind, this is by far my favorite shovel. Now if I can only find away to re-attach the blade to the dish! I'm thinking perhaps some small nuts & bolts or perhapes a combination of that and superglue (don't laugh, I've used it on some pretty high stress components).
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
KJ2455
from Rockland County, NY, USA

Great shovel but not built to last

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shovel worked well with helping to move large amounts of snow, so that was a positive.
The biggest negative is the quality of the workmanship in the design and production of the shovel. The rivets broke off the blade at the bottom fairly easily, had to return it after a month of use. And I didn't use the shovel to scrape ice, but because of the design and how they are exposed at the bottom they rip out quite easily when they happen to hit ice or concrete/blacktop
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
HappyMomma
from United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Parents Must Buy....Best. Snow Shovel. Ever!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this shove!!! I have owned this style shovel for over 7 years. Because of the design, it is easy to use regardless of your physical stature. My kiddos were able to remove over a foot of snow with this shovel. My youngest weighs only 60 pounds & the design of this shovel made it easy for him to use. I literally bought a shovel for each kid! Now I don't have to worry about snow removal.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
hk3070
from Williams County, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not as good as it could be.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have this same shovel with a different name brand name. It is blue and it has a much better reinforcement strip at the front edge of the shovel blade. The strip on this model/brand name catches on everything while the strip on my blue one seldom catches on anything. My blue shovel would earn five stars, this one gets a three just because of that strip. It really makes that much of a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
JayB
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good pusher.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shovel does well with light powdery snow. The unique 90 degree handle threw me at first but I then realized it made pushing snow a lot easier. Because the shovel is so big it can be a bit difficult to lift a shovel full of wet snow. The one disappointment with this shovel is that it does not work well as a scraper. If you push from behind there isn't enough pressure pushing down on the blade .
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Functionality, Strong
Cons: not a good scraper
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SnoBoss 26 in. Snow Shovel
Naudan

Looks Ridiculous, But Its Totally Worth it.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So people will look at you like your crazy because the thing is huge and odd looking, but let me tell you, its awesome.
You have to leverage the design of this tool for it to work as intended. You push it like a plow and it just scoops up everything. Then just slide it to the area you want to dump and your done. Its extremely quick and makes it easy on your back.
The design of it is made so that the shovel slides with the perfect position/pitch to the ground, use that to your advantage.
Very sturdy. I even used it to scrape up 1 inch of ice on the driveway and it worked wonderfully.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>