728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

The Ames Thatching rake is an all-purpose lawn rake. The curved tines are designed to clear dead grass (thatch) clippings from the lawn. This will allows air, sunshine, water, and fertilizers in to keep the grass healthy.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
Review 1 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for dethatching and preparing soil for over-seeding.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was actually quite surprised at how well this rake worked. I always agonize over every purchase, but it was worth it. You simply PULL the rake through the grass and Bob's your uncle (as the Brits say). Sure, like others said, it will give you a work-out, but that is better than paying $200 for an exercise machine that collects dust. You can always space it out over the course of the day or week.
Pros: Functionality, Strong
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Prattville, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does the job!

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This rake will get the bulk thatch out...for sure! It will give you a workout and a few blisters if you don't wear gloves. It is not difficult to use, just the nature of the job to be done by hand. I am not sure what the purpose or need of being 'adjustable'? It is comparable in price with others for the style, although, I thought the 'thatch' rakes overall were over-priced.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

Great Rake

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it yesterday and tested it out before I verticutt in September for new seed. I can't believe how much thatch it pulls out. I found it not to be as stressful and hard to use as one would think. It has some flat faces on the blades perpendicular to the ground so one can slide it back and forth and it cleans itself. I plan to use this on front and back yard. Save yourself a trip to the rental store and $, use this and get a good dethatched lawn and some exercise.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

Does the job

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hard work but does a great job. Easy to clean on the fly so you don't have to stop working. Good quality. Fair price.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

Cuts through thatch like butter!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well built rake and the adjustable tines are made to cut right through the toughest thatch.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Astoria, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great tool

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
great for small areas. i have almost a 1/2 acre. took me 3 hours to do a small area. it works great, it did rip some grass out but i expected that.
would recommend a power rake if you are doing your whole yard
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: only works for small areas
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Lansing, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Others have remarked how labor intensive it is to de-thatch with this rake, but because I only do the areas which have obvious problems, this rake is perfect.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

nice tool

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
hello I am also fan of gardening tools and the best garden tools that I found is the Tiger Jaw garden tools
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Folsom, CA

Exactly what I needed

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A well made product, easy to use and a great workout too.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake

Great Thatcher

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this on my lawn and works great. Doesn't pick up grass just the thatch. I recommend it
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works real well

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this at Home Depot and used it right away..gives you quite a work out.But gets the job done!I did a 2nd passing through the grass just to be sure the dead grass are taken away.Overall,happy w/the purchase and highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from greenville sc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

misleading, NOT for turfgrass

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A. The head itself is adjustable, not the tines. They are about an inch apart and stay there. B. NOT for purchases, centipede, Bermuda ect. It will rip the grass right up. Could be used if times were further apart. Built well though and will scratch the manure out of bare dirt, be good to prep bare spots to reseed.
Pros: Durable, Sharp
Cons: limited use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from San Diego, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I agree with BlackJack

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item is not bad for what it is but I bought it and spent an hour in the yard with minimal progress (about 5-10% completion). After this, I decided to rent a power rake for dethatching. Took me less than an hour to complete for a $43.00 rental. I'd rather rent the power rake every couple years than spend the labor over a couple days dethatching manually. Worth it if you have an extremely small yard or nothing else to do over your weekend. Otherwise, rent the power rake.
Pros: none compared to a power rake rental
Cons: slow, back breaking
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Graham, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I've always wanted to try Honda Lawn Mowers....

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got the Honda home, it was extremely easy to finish the installation of parts and il. I was very pleased with the instructions and how quickly it started. The features blew me away....several cool features that will make my life easier. Thanks for carrying what I wanted Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, manuverable and responsive
-42points
3out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 19-Tine Adjustable Thatch Rake
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth $30

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rake is made of sharp but weak teeth. They bend too easily. "The adjustment" means little-it still takes "elbow grease" and a lot of it to thatch grass. I was obviously looking for an easier way. This was not it.Motorized thatching is the only way to go.
Cons: Not Durable
-20points
3out of 26found this review helpful.