728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

With 5 cu. ft. of hauling capacity, the True Temper C5 is ideal for homeowners, landscapers and light construction work. This 5 cu. ft. contractor-grade wheelbarrow is built tough to provide years of service. Around the house or on the job, the seamless steel tray, strong hardwood handles and durable steel undercarriage get the job done.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
Review 1 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Winston Salem, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just got mine put together

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was a snap, took maybe 30 minutes. I bought this to replace an over-30 year old 4 cu ft wheelbarrow I left out in the rain too many times, and the handles rotted. Plus I wanted a bigger wheelbarrow, but not a 6 cu ft. As soon as I put it together I used it to move a balled tree I had just bought. Instantly I felt it flexing and got an uneasy feeling. I compared the steel thickness of the tray and supports to my old wheelbarrow, and the new one is much thinner, allowing the flexing. So, if you're going to use this for light duty, it's fine, but if you're like me and use it occasionally for heavy tasks, you'll be disappointed. And for the life of me I don't understand why this couldn't be shipped to a store instead of my house.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: thin materials
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Grass Valley, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete Piece of Junk!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is one of the worse purchases I've ever made.
Where to begin with this thing? The bucket is constructed of thin metal, not heavy-duty like you'd expect. The metal is so thin that it is flexible, and mine has cracks near the bolt holes that hold the bucket to the frame, the cracks caused by metal fatigue. This has in turn weakened the structure of an already weak design. Next, the assembly materials: there are no lock washers, so if you don't go out and buy washers and lock washers for every connection, the bolts will loosen themselves and cause the wheelbarrow to become very unstable. This will happen very quickly, the wheelbarrow rattles itself apart, especially the bolts that hold the wheel assembly to the frame. Even after having washers installed, if you actually use this piece of junk for hauling heavy things like concrete, the whole wheelbarrow has a tendency to warp and bend, making it difficult to move and maneuver, and it is untrustworthy when even when sitting on the ground because the whole frame shifts under loads. The tire is thin and was punctured within 10 minutes of using it; I had to go buy a universal, foam filled replacement, which frankly should be standard on something that calls itself a "contractor" version. The little bar in front of the wheel CONSTANTLY twists up or down and will cause the wheelbarrow to stop in its tracks due to the friction it causes on the tire. If you buy this, be prepared to adjust that poorly held bar after dumping every single load. No exaggeration. This in turn loosens the bolts holding the bar on, which further destabilizes the wheelbarrow.
There is nothing whatsoever to like about this product. Its first failure happened within an hour of assembling it with the tire friction thing, which caused me to trip and lose a load of concrete. I despise this item, and now I hate the company that sells it. I won't buy the True Temper brand, and it infuriates me that The Home Depot would even sell such a shoddy, worthless product. I would rather use my bare hands to move concrete than this abomination of a product.
Cons: Not Durable, poor design, cheap parts
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great wheelbarrow for the price

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Admittedly this is the first wheelbarrow I have ever purchased and first I have used in quite some time, but I am very happy with it. Assembly was a little difficult, mainly because I didn't lay out all the parts before starting (who really does?) so I missed the spacers on the bottom as the directions are not very explicit. But once assembled the wheelbarrow is very sturdy, and feels like it will last. I have moved a couple tons of rock up a fairly steep incline so far without any issues. And at this price point, I can leave the wheelbarrow in my yard without a tremendous amount of fear that it won't be around when I get back.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality, Great Value
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Manchester, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worth the money

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been a landscaper for 13 years. This wheelbarrow was one of my very first purchases and has lasted this long. From hauling yards of mulch to dirt. Unfortunatlly I have to go buy a new one because there's a split starting on one of the handles where the bolt is. But from using nonstop for 13 years and being outside in the elements. That's a pretty good product!!!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Lakewood, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Wheelbarrow

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, I use it daily for horse manure and the finish on the metal keeps it from getting all gross. Definitely get a metal wheelbarrow over a plastic one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact wheelbarrow that works

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I only wanted a small wheelbarrow - we are an older couple, and our yard isn't very big. The plastic one we bought first tore within a very short time, so we definitely needed a replacement that was sturdier. I definitely recommend getting a metal wheelbarrow. This one works fine. Rolls easily over a gravel path, and we have used it for some heavy (for us) loads. Easy to assemble (had a handworker who was working at our home tighten the nuts, though.) I would recommend that the manufacturer offer a smaller size in the same quality, though.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Atlanta
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned mine for 4-5 years. Has held up very well for light duty. And heavy duty work. Have hauled many load's of gravel. Just had to replace the tube and decided to leave a review.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A good wheelbarrow for our home garden use. Good build quality and easy to assemble, only need a screwdriver and wrench.
Have owned a comparable model from the same manufacturer. After 15 years of home use the time for replacement came. The product is as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

very sturdy

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was reasonably easy to assemble by myself. It is smooth over trails and goes over rocks and rough terrain easily. I use it to haul firewood and dirt. Just what I was looking for.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

Good wheelbarrow, but not contractor grade

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased because of smaller bucket in order not to overdo while moving gravel. Paint stood up well with shoveling gravel in and out of bucket. Don't expect a miniature version of the contractor and you'll be happy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Santa Rosa, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 Cubic Feet Model vs. 6 Cubic Feet True Temper Wheelbarrow.

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I compared the wimpier 5 Cubic Feet product to True Temper's 6 CF wheelbarrow (at $84) and found that the handles on the 5CU model were made of wood....very thin handles at that....and that the gauge of the 5 CF carrier (or "bucket") steel was a bit lighter than that of the more expensive model.
I feel that the 5CF model's steel handles would handle a lot more stress than the cheaper model, but that the 5CF wheelbarrow would work well for lighter loads. The 5 CF is a bit narrower than the orange 6CF, and it seems that it would be more than adequate for use in an average garden. If heavier loads are anticipated, I would spring for the more expensive 6CF True Temper model. It has better handles, a slightly larger tire and a heavier-gauge bucket. It must be remembered that it is also weighs more than the cheaper model.
Regarding posted comments on the wheels, I see no reason why heavy loads would tend to flatten the rubber portion of the wheels unless the wheelbarrow was used to carry very heavy loads, such as cement, in which case, it might be wise to either rent a professional-grade wheelbarrow or merely don't load the True Temper to the point where the rubber tends to flatten. Neither model I saw had pneumatic wheels.
As a result of my in-store investigation, I plan to buy the orange 6 cubic foot model. Better quality handles and bucket, plus a slightly larger wheel at only $20 more. I also see no reason why the wheelbarrow would bottom out at the front of the wheel unless it was pushed into a low spot in the ground, such as a ditch. The front ends of all of the different wheelbarrows I looked at were designed essentially the same way, so I see no reason why the True Tempers should be singled out as having this "drawback."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
Gender:Male

Okay

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Looks like it'll work fine. Parts were not well aligned though and metal frame appears slightly bent. Too much of a hassle to return ship.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One that will last.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a new wheelbarrow, the one I had was about 15 to 20 years old. I think this one will last just as long. I am very happy with it. I haul wood with it and have no complaints.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I found the wheelbarrow to be of sturdy construction.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wheelbarrow was very sturdy and well constructed. The instructions that came with it made assembly easy and quick.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

Great value

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, this is a wise economical purchase. It is durable and gets the job done with no issues. I believe its quality is comparable to some wheelbarrows that are almost double the cost.
Pros: Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Litchfield, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nervous about how it will hold up.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product was the right price for the right size. It was exactly what we needed in that aspect. However I am very concerned about the durability of the wooden handles. They seem to creak every time we lift up on them no matter how big or small the load is. They are solid, but I get this uneasy feeling that they will snap any day. Other then that it is working quite nicely and does haul a lot. We use it daily to clean our 4 horse stalls. At this point it is something I would purchase again as long as the handles hold up.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

Wheelbarrow

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The wheelbarrow is just right for my garden needs. I plan on having it for 20+ years.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This wheelbarrow purchased for simple function for hauling lawn and garden related work.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received this wheelbarrow quickly. It was properly packaged, but did have a dent on the bottom. I did not return and I will soon add my own dents.
For the price, it is a good value. Priced similar item at lowes and Walmart....Lowes was a bit more costly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

Steady under load, well constructed. It works.

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This wheelbarrow seems to be just the ticket. Not the biggest or most expensive but of a very adequate size for moving topsoil, mulch or brick around our property. I cannot as yet speak to its long-term dependability but it has functioned well for the last two months. It is steady while loaded and the steel bucket will hopefully last for years.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 cu. ft. Steel Wheelbarrow

Very sturdy

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was a snap. This wheelbarrow seems very sturdy. I have yet to give it a real workout, but the few small jobs have given me no problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>