728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cartridges & Stems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

This Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is designed for use with Moen faucets. This durable, attractive cartridge is made of solid brass and offers hot/cold operation.
Overall rating:
4.476 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(48)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Review 1 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great salesman

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Home depot salesman asked if I pulled the shower handle or turned it to start the water. I turn it so this was the correct item for me. Pulling these cartridges out of the fixture can be extremely hard (and impossible if you don't pull the U-shaped metal pin out of the fixture before trying to pull the cartridge). I bought a puller at Home Depot. I had replaced this cartridge once before and it pulled right out this time (Guess it knew I had a 4-foot pry bar ready to use on it.) Put the grease lubricant in the box on the side of the cartridge. The cartridge has H and C on the front. Be sure to insert it so you can read the letters (and hot/cold water will come out correctly).
Pros: No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Lehigh Acres FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Men of Skill best pick.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The valve cartridge was easy to install. It is always my choice to use name brands when replacing valves.
Pros: Easy to Install, dependable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Purchase this one, not the cheaper danco replacement cartridge

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
long story short...purchased two of the danco replacement cartridges in approximately a year, second danco cartridge leaked immediately, returned it to home depot and purchased this moen replacement cartridge and now the leak is no more, so hopefully I get more than a year out of the moen replacement cartridge unlike the danco replacement garbage!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Works perfectly!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been using it one month and so far no problem at all. Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

worked well but diffficult to replace.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not a job for a novice to replace. Old valve can be very difficult to remove, even with the tool.
New valve worked very well after I got the old one out.
Pros: No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Fountain, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well. Not difficult to replace.

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Following the directions very carefully I started the cartridge removal. The tool that comes with the part was useless. As I tried to turn the cartridge to pull it out, the tool itself started to get distorted. The cart. was firmly stuck in the valve body. It has been in since 2000 and our water is very hard. I was not about to go to the store to buy a tool for a one shot deal. I ended up using two screwdrivers to pry it out very carefully. I was careful to not distort the brass valve body the cartridge goes into. That was the hardest part of the job. After the removal, installation of the new part went fairly easy. The only concern I had was firmly seating the new part into the valve body. I really had to firmly push it to get it fully seated, When I did this the clip slid in easily.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a valve puller, worked well, valve installed very easy!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Southwest Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't forget the puller.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Old cartridge was hard to remove. Make sure you get the puller but don't open it unless you need it. You can return the puller if the old cartridge comes out easy. Most likely you will need the puller. Good videos are available on you tube that show how to remove and install if you need help.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Get it for free from Moen

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This replacement cartridge is super easy to install as long as you coat the lubricant that comes in the kit. I didn't use any removal kit. Just pried it out slowing using screwdrivers. Make sure the cartridge is in off position (no whole seen from the top) and put the clip in as well, otherwise the strong water will blow it out and you'll have a geyser in your house. Btw, they're part of Moen lifetime warranty so you can get them for free from them (i wasn't asked any receipt).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Las Vegas

Changing cartridge

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before changing the cartridge, strongly suggest watching u-tube videos that show how to remove the old cartridge. Also, highly recommend buying the $15 Moen cartridge removal tool and watch the applicable u-tube video. The directions on the back of the package aren't very good. After this, actually removing and installing the cartridge was very, very easy and everything works great. Home Depot price was also good - Ferguson Plumbing charged about $58 with tax - however, they did have more advice to relate. If you aren't sure you have a Moen faucet, look inside the handle. The single lever Moen faucet that doesn't require pulling initially to turn it on - takes the 1222 cartridge - but you'll easily see once you remove the old one.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Buy OEM parts

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shower was leaking. Went to local Home Depot and bought 3rd party replacement cartridge. Did not fix leak. After reading reviews on the other brand replacement cartridge I was not the only one having same issue. I did return part and had to dive to another Home Depot to get get a moen oem cartridge. Leak stop. So if you have moen buy moen. Don't buy off brand to save a few dollars.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Spokane
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only go with the best...

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Would have been 5-stars across the board, but...
After a couple of trips, I finally found the Moen replacement cartridge. Don't use the knock-off el cheapo - the gaskets won't match the fixture layout.
Too bad HD didn't have just the gasket replacement kits in stock. When you need a working shower, you need to be able to get the parts! These things usually only happen on a Sunday morning!
AND - HD did not have the installation/removal tool at all! I went to the other big-box across the street (who was also zero-balance on that item) and one of their section clerks was kind enough to allow me to borrow his personal install tool (he manages properties as a side gig).. I bought a tool the next business day at a local plumbing supply shop, so now I'm ready for the next time....
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: hd didn't have just the gasket repair kit, hd didn't have the install tool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The posi temp valve can be costly to keep in operation if not consistantly used.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The cartridge is easy to install, the problem lies in removing the old one, even with a puller it can be difficult. The Moen 1222 cartridge works fine as long as it does not sit unused, if not used for a couple of months it can get stuck and not supply hot water.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Pittsburg, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We visited two Home Depot stores to find this product. We needed the "puller" ($15) because the old one was stuck in there pretty good. We couldn't find the shutoff valve for the shower, so had to shut down the entire house before we ran to the store to purchase. Moen has two major mixer valves, the 1225 and the 1222. We had the 1222, but make sure you know which one you have before you go to the store or order. I forgot to pay attention to the order I took items apart, so make sure to watch the utube videos online. It is a pretty expensive part, but once I figured out how to take it apart it was easy to install. The only difficult part was removing the old one. I've heard these things need to be replaced if they aren't used very often. The instructions with the package were pretty good with pictures, but I still preferred the online videos. Good luck! I had a good time and now have a working shower!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from South Florida

Great quality. Get it if you need it.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have cold and no hot, or hot and no cold, you probably need this. I guess these get blocked up with deposits if they are not used. Well worth it, get it. This was in my third full bath on the first floor, which was not used much, but great when you get out of the pool so it is nice to have a full three bath operational now instead of a 2.5 bath! You do need to turn of the water to the house before doing this job. take pictures of the old vavle in place from all angles where the stops are set at etc. It will help when installing this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Excellent replacement

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent replacement for original part. Replacement is not straight forward, you would need to be bit handy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Worked great!

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a cheaper part through HD (didn't see this one) and a water hammer developed pretty quick when the washer was running. I bought this one and the water hammer instantly went away. I tried troubleshooting the issue prior to replacing, but couldn't get it fixed. Good quality product!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

excellent result after installation; easy to install/use

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The hard part is to take the old rusted one out. The shower now is excellent to turn/use after installed this new one.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Austin Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Start with OEM - this one.

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I couldn't find this one on my first trip, so I bought the Danco knockoff. Thanks to that, I have changed this valve twice in as many days. The Danco valve, little to my knowing, has a design flaw that causes knocking/water hammer in your pipes.
This OEM product, does not. Buy this one and forget the others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Central New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Posi-Temp shower cartridge

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this cartridge due to drips from the shower head. The old cartridge did not come out easily even with the Moen tool, but the installation of the new one was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>