728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cartridges & Stems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

This Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is designed for use with Moen faucets. This durable, attractive cartridge is made of solid brass and offers hot/cold operation.
Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Review 1 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Get it for free from Moen

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This replacement cartridge is super easy to install as long as you coat the lubricant that comes in the kit. I didn't use any removal kit. Just pried it out slowing using screwdrivers. Make sure the cartridge is in off position (no whole seen from the top) and put the clip in as well, otherwise the strong water will blow it out and you'll have a geyser in your house. Btw, they're part of Moen lifetime warranty so you can get them for free from them (i wasn't asked any receipt).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Fontana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shower and tub water control cartridge

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cartridge was easy to install. All you have to do is turn off the water supply and open the faucet to drain any water from the shower head. Make sure you add the included lubricant to extend the life of the rubber parts.
It took a while to get around to fix our shower. It only gave cold water? I found that the original unit installed was defective when the shower was installed!
The instructions were easy to follow on the installation. It is best to remove the original to see the exact type as while we were in the Home Depot there were two that looked similar, although both may have worked. Ours had the round outlets where the other had diamond shape holes.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Boardman
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy replacement

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This was a very easy replacement . Make sure when you replace old valve you put the supplied grease on the new valve that comes with it
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Buy OEM parts

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shower was leaking. Went to local Home Depot and bought 3rd party replacement cartridge. Did not fix leak. After reading reviews on the other brand replacement cartridge I was not the only one having same issue. I did return part and had to dive to another Home Depot to get get a moen oem cartridge. Leak stop. So if you have moen buy moen. Don't buy off brand to save a few dollars.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Riverside, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Moen Cartridge

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If this part didn't work Iwas looking at a tear out to get at the plumbing. WHat a relief!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Las Vegas

Changing cartridge

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before changing the cartridge, strongly suggest watching u-tube videos that show how to remove the old cartridge. Also, highly recommend buying the $15 Moen cartridge removal tool and watch the applicable u-tube video. The directions on the back of the package aren't very good. After this, actually removing and installing the cartridge was very, very easy and everything works great. Home Depot price was also good - Ferguson Plumbing charged about $58 with tax - however, they did have more advice to relate. If you aren't sure you have a Moen faucet, look inside the handle. The single lever Moen faucet that doesn't require pulling initially to turn it on - takes the 1222 cartridge - but you'll easily see once you remove the old one.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Pittsburg, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We visited two Home Depot stores to find this product. We needed the "puller" ($15) because the old one was stuck in there pretty good. We couldn't find the shutoff valve for the shower, so had to shut down the entire house before we ran to the store to purchase. Moen has two major mixer valves, the 1225 and the 1222. We had the 1222, but make sure you know which one you have before you go to the store or order. I forgot to pay attention to the order I took items apart, so make sure to watch the utube videos online. It is a pretty expensive part, but once I figured out how to take it apart it was easy to install. The only difficult part was removing the old one. I've heard these things need to be replaced if they aren't used very often. The instructions with the package were pretty good with pictures, but I still preferred the online videos. Good luck! I had a good time and now have a working shower!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The posi temp valve can be costly to keep in operation if not consistantly used.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The cartridge is easy to install, the problem lies in removing the old one, even with a puller it can be difficult. The Moen 1222 cartridge works fine as long as it does not sit unused, if not used for a couple of months it can get stuck and not supply hot water.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use to install

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The part was easy to install and fit perfectly. The instruction were pretty good until the end of the process. It just got confusing on the last two steps. Regardless of the fact, it was pretty easy and self explanatory. There's only one way that the part will fit. All in all, it was an easy DIY project took very little skill or time.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Cartridge

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was easy. And price was better than our wholesale prices.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Bethlehem, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moen shower faucets require a special tool to get the old one out but after that I took the new cartridge and put it in with ease. Very easy to replace. My brother who is a plumber said that they should be replaced every 5 years. I have this faucet for approximately 10 years so it did need replacement. Moen makes a good product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from west bloomfeild mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, Mohen over priced

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The only reason to reccomend this product if the proce diffencr between no band cartridge and Mohen brand. If you have a Mohen, expect to pay ...and pay
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hassle free installation

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ease of removing and installing was shocking. I installed 2 cartridges in just over an hour.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Harwich Port ,MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exact Replacement

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Exact replacement part. Easy to install. Shower valve now works great. I thought the part was a little to expensive.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Has leaked since install

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Imported inferior product. Leaked after install, removed cleaned and reinstalled and still leaks.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Monument CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't bother...

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As other have stated in the reviews, this part leaks. It is not an OEM part, but made by PartMaster Pro (58373). I installed the first one and it all went smooth until I turned the water back on. I never could get the water to completely shut off, it just slowly dripped. I thought maybe I had a bad one, so I exchanged it. But the second one had the same problem. I put the old one back in and no leaks -- it's just too hard to turn.
Went to Lowes and bought an actual Moen brand cartridges and it worked perfect. Home depot should just stop selling these. Next time I'll read these reviews first.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from North Richland Hills, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was able to install without calling a plumber.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glad I chose to install the part myself. Saved a lot of money.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: should include a removal tool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product, received in a timely manner.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price was right and the delivery timely. The old cartridge was the most difficult in that it was frozen into place. The new unit works perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, price was a lowest found
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this cartridge to replace one in a shower that would not shut fully off. The leak stopped and it was easy to install. Instructions were clear. Moen web site directed me to the right part. Saved $ buying from HD. Also purchased the install tool. Pricy but effective. I just hope this cartridge lasts longer than the original.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's a legacy product but I was surprised to find Home depot had it in stock when my order online was delayed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>