728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cartridges & Stems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

This Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is designed for use with Moen faucets. This durable, attractive cartridge is made of solid brass and offers hot/cold operation.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product26 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product26 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Review 1 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
BillyJ
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hassle free installation

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ease of removing and installing was shocking. I installed 2 cartridges in just over an hour.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
bethcing
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Get it for free from Moen

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This replacement cartridge is super easy to install as long as you coat the lubricant that comes in the kit. I didn't use any removal kit. Just pried it out slowing using screwdrivers. Make sure the cartridge is in off position (no whole seen from the top) and put the clip in as well, otherwise the strong water will blow it out and you'll have a geyser in your house. Btw, they're part of Moen lifetime warranty so you can get them for free from them (i wasn't asked any receipt).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Spsmith303

Buy OEM parts

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shower was leaking. Went to local Home Depot and bought 3rd party replacement cartridge. Did not fix leak. After reading reviews on the other brand replacement cartridge I was not the only one having same issue. I did return part and had to dive to another Home Depot to get get a moen oem cartridge. Leak stop. So if you have moen buy moen. Don't buy off brand to save a few dollars.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
JJPDIY
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use to install

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The part was easy to install and fit perfectly. The instruction were pretty good until the end of the process. It just got confusing on the last two steps. Regardless of the fact, it was pretty easy and self explanatory. There's only one way that the part will fit. All in all, it was an easy DIY project took very little skill or time.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Marcus
from North Richland Hills, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was able to install without calling a plumber.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glad I chose to install the part myself. Saved a lot of money.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: should include a removal tool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Franklin
from Pittsburg, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We visited two Home Depot stores to find this product. We needed the "puller" ($15) because the old one was stuck in there pretty good. We couldn't find the shutoff valve for the shower, so had to shut down the entire house before we ran to the store to purchase. Moen has two major mixer valves, the 1225 and the 1222. We had the 1222, but make sure you know which one you have before you go to the store or order. I forgot to pay attention to the order I took items apart, so make sure to watch the utube videos online. It is a pretty expensive part, but once I figured out how to take it apart it was easy to install. The only difficult part was removing the old one. I've heard these things need to be replaced if they aren't used very often. The instructions with the package were pretty good with pictures, but I still preferred the online videos. Good luck! I had a good time and now have a working shower!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
HXKRAM
from Las Vegas

Changing cartridge

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before changing the cartridge, strongly suggest watching u-tube videos that show how to remove the old cartridge. Also, highly recommend buying the $15 Moen cartridge removal tool and watch the applicable u-tube video. The directions on the back of the package aren't very good. After this, actually removing and installing the cartridge was very, very easy and everything works great. Home Depot price was also good - Ferguson Plumbing charged about $58 with tax - however, they did have more advice to relate. If you aren't sure you have a Moen faucet, look inside the handle. The single lever Moen faucet that doesn't require pulling initially to turn it on - takes the 1222 cartridge - but you'll easily see once you remove the old one.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
EHoffman
from Monument CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't bother...

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As other have stated in the reviews, this part leaks. It is not an OEM part, but made by PartMaster Pro (58373). I installed the first one and it all went smooth until I turned the water back on. I never could get the water to completely shut off, it just slowly dripped. I thought maybe I had a bad one, so I exchanged it. But the second one had the same problem. I put the old one back in and no leaks -- it's just too hard to turn.
Went to Lowes and bought an actual Moen brand cartridges and it worked perfect. Home depot should just stop selling these. Next time I'll read these reviews first.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Mahi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The posi temp valve can be costly to keep in operation if not consistantly used.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The cartridge is easy to install, the problem lies in removing the old one, even with a puller it can be difficult. The Moen 1222 cartridge works fine as long as it does not sit unused, if not used for a couple of months it can get stuck and not supply hot water.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
trek

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's a legacy product but I was surprised to find Home depot had it in stock when my order online was delayed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
FTN14

Simple replacement, built solid

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This item was easy to install and slid right in to the faucet. It fits well and seems like it will last years without leaks. It worked better than a seal replacement kit.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
arminrussi
from Northville Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My son cleaned be bathtub and it was dipping so he forced it to close. Suddenly he had the handle in his hand while the water was still running. Took it apart but the old cartridge was pretty hard to get out.
did buy the last one in stock from Home Depot and with the "tool" tried to take the old cartridge out. I has to brake off the top and bottom plastic piece to be able to turn it about 45 degrees left and right. With a screw driver I was able to pray it out.
The new one went in like a charm. No leaks.
Removing old one 2 hours with bloody blisters form players. Putting in new one 20 minutes.
I am soooooo happy I did not have to solder a complete new unit into the wall.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
jeff
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this cartridge to replace one in a shower that would not shut fully off. The leak stopped and it was easy to install. Instructions were clear. Moen web site directed me to the right part. Saved $ buying from HD. Also purchased the install tool. Pricy but effective. I just hope this cartridge lasts longer than the original.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
MrTechPro
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Moen Brand stopped the drip

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used a non-Moen brand and my shower would not stop dripping. I bought the Moen brand and the drip stopped immediately. So pay for the Moen brand and you will not be disappointed. It will save you time from having to install and then take out the off brand.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
jmanth
from Atlanta
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement part for a leaky shower

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is working exactly as expected and the dripping shower head is now gone. It was a perfect fit.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Chevy
from Corona, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Aftermarket Part

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not waste your time with these aftermarket parts. Read reviews about a leaking problem but bought 1 anyway and it leaked. So bought 1 at Lowes in a different package for $6 less and it was the same exact part as Home Depot and it also leaked. Put the OEM old part back in and no leak. The original part was getting hard to turn but never leaked. Bought an OEM part off Ebay for $20 and works perfect. If you like driving around and replacing parts trying to find a good one, maybe you will get lucky with one of these.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
bmcnick

EASY installation,and no leaks.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was easy putting it in as long as you use the grease on the rubber.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
lsword
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product, received in a timely manner.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price was right and the delivery timely. The old cartridge was the most difficult in that it was frozen into place. The new unit works perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, price was a lowest found
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
bryan

it's fine

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it was a fine replacement cartridge, but expensive. also, the old cartridge does not come out easily, so be ready for a struggle.
i would recommend buying a delta faucet instead of moen. leak fixing in the delta--$2.00 spring and washer. leak fixing in the moen--$35.00 cartridge. kind of a pain.
Pros: fixed the leak
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
bigbear
from new york
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fit good

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works like new now,was easy to put in.wish i would have changed it a long time ago.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>