728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cartridges & Stems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

This Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is designed for use with Moen faucets. This durable, attractive cartridge is made of solid brass and offers hot/cold operation.
Overall rating:
4.372 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Review 1 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Lehigh Acres FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Men of Skill best pick.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The valve cartridge was easy to install. It is always my choice to use name brands when replacing valves.
Pros: Easy to Install, dependable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from South Florida

Great quality. Get it if you need it.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have cold and no hot, or hot and no cold, you probably need this. I guess these get blocked up with deposits if they are not used. Well worth it, get it. This was in my third full bath on the first floor, which was not used much, but great when you get out of the pool so it is nice to have a full three bath operational now instead of a 2.5 bath! You do need to turn of the water to the house before doing this job. take pictures of the old vavle in place from all angles where the stops are set at etc. It will help when installing this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality at a good price

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instructions where easy to follow and the cartridge works perfectly. Couldn't ask for an easier project
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Get it for free from Moen

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This replacement cartridge is super easy to install as long as you coat the lubricant that comes in the kit. I didn't use any removal kit. Just pried it out slowing using screwdrivers. Make sure the cartridge is in off position (no whole seen from the top) and put the clip in as well, otherwise the strong water will blow it out and you'll have a geyser in your house. Btw, they're part of Moen lifetime warranty so you can get them for free from them (i wasn't asked any receipt).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

worked well but diffficult to replace.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not a job for a novice to replace. Old valve can be very difficult to remove, even with the tool.
New valve worked very well after I got the old one out.
Pros: No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Las Vegas

Changing cartridge

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before changing the cartridge, strongly suggest watching u-tube videos that show how to remove the old cartridge. Also, highly recommend buying the $15 Moen cartridge removal tool and watch the applicable u-tube video. The directions on the back of the package aren't very good. After this, actually removing and installing the cartridge was very, very easy and everything works great. Home Depot price was also good - Ferguson Plumbing charged about $58 with tax - however, they did have more advice to relate. If you aren't sure you have a Moen faucet, look inside the handle. The single lever Moen faucet that doesn't require pulling initially to turn it on - takes the 1222 cartridge - but you'll easily see once you remove the old one.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Buy OEM parts

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shower was leaking. Went to local Home Depot and bought 3rd party replacement cartridge. Did not fix leak. After reading reviews on the other brand replacement cartridge I was not the only one having same issue. I did return part and had to dive to another Home Depot to get get a moen oem cartridge. Leak stop. So if you have moen buy moen. Don't buy off brand to save a few dollars.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Santa Fe, New Mexico
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what I needed

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cartridge was easy to install after struggling with to get the old one out. The old one had to be chipped away and broken into pieces to get out.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Glenn Dale
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No muss no fuss replacement install....

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the puller, was able to extract old cartridge. Slapped the oil on the new cartridge, slid it in and done. Mixing was off, so I turned it 180 degrees as recommended.
I wish all my fixits were this easy...
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Pittsburg, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We visited two Home Depot stores to find this product. We needed the "puller" ($15) because the old one was stuck in there pretty good. We couldn't find the shutoff valve for the shower, so had to shut down the entire house before we ran to the store to purchase. Moen has two major mixer valves, the 1225 and the 1222. We had the 1222, but make sure you know which one you have before you go to the store or order. I forgot to pay attention to the order I took items apart, so make sure to watch the utube videos online. It is a pretty expensive part, but once I figured out how to take it apart it was easy to install. The only difficult part was removing the old one. I've heard these things need to be replaced if they aren't used very often. The instructions with the package were pretty good with pictures, but I still preferred the online videos. Good luck! I had a good time and now have a working shower!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The posi temp valve can be costly to keep in operation if not consistantly used.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The cartridge is easy to install, the problem lies in removing the old one, even with a puller it can be difficult. The Moen 1222 cartridge works fine as long as it does not sit unused, if not used for a couple of months it can get stuck and not supply hot water.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Noisy and leaking

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a hard time reinserting the pin with the new cartridge. It makes a knocking noise when water is turned on and off and it leaks. I will replace with an actual moen OEM part.
Cons: Leaks, make knocking noise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from American Fork, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gotta have it!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This particular time it was an easy installation as I didn't need the special wrench to pull my old cartridge out. 10 minute installation! Watched installation video online and that helped a ton!
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Florida

Work as advertised...

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A valve, is a valve, is a valve - so long as it's decent quality (which this one is). You will need a special "socket wrench" to remove the old one and install the new - but, the next time you (or someone you know) needs it, you have it - it fits a variety of shower valves.. Also, HEED THE WARNING about little parts popping out and disappearing down the drain. Do yourself a favor - plug, or put a cover over the drain and save yourself a lot of grief.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: remove old valve carefully!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from crosslake, mn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

QUALITY repair part

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installing the faucet repair cartridge was an excellent experience. The part was easily installed as the result of the high quality. In the past, I've tried using a "Knock-Off" brand (Ace is the place) which had unacceptable quality and had to be returned. Home Depot stocks the Original Equipment Moen brand.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Fontana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shower and tub water control cartridge

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cartridge was easy to install. All you have to do is turn off the water supply and open the faucet to drain any water from the shower head. Make sure you add the included lubricant to extend the life of the rubber parts.
It took a while to get around to fix our shower. It only gave cold water? I found that the original unit installed was defective when the shower was installed!
The instructions were easy to follow on the installation. It is best to remove the original to see the exact type as while we were in the Home Depot there were two that looked similar, although both may have worked. Ours had the round outlets where the other had diamond shape holes.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Worked like a dream

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would recommend buying the extractor as well, otherwise you will be going back for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Boardman
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy replacement

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This was a very easy replacement . Make sure when you replace old valve you put the supplied grease on the new valve that comes with it
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use to install

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The part was easy to install and fit perfectly. The instruction were pretty good until the end of the process. It just got confusing on the last two steps. Regardless of the fact, it was pretty easy and self explanatory. There's only one way that the part will fit. All in all, it was an easy DIY project took very little skill or time.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hassle free installation

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ease of removing and installing was shocking. I installed 2 cartridges in just over an hour.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>