728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cartridges & Stems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

This Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is designed for use with Moen faucets. This durable, attractive cartridge is made of solid brass and offers hot/cold operation.
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product63 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product63 of 71reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer reviews for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Review 1 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Missing base rubber gasket

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product before had an additional rubber around the base, which may have been the reason the leaks stopped. Now, this product no longer has this design and the leaks have continued with 2 different purchases of this product. The manufacturer need to resume its previous model.
Joyce Riley,
Unhappy customer.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, does not work, faucet still leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Berlin, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just like new.

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The Danko unit I bought before I saw the MOEN in the corner of the display made a noise like water hammer when a nearby faucet was operated. Original MOEN does not.
But I wish for the days before PosiTemp when I could push-pull to turn the shower off or on at the fixed temperature setting. There is no need for a PosiTemp feature in a properly laid out plumbing system. Just another GOVERNMENT control to "protect children" from scalding.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Had to buy and install 2. The first was a piece of junk the second has held up for a month so far.

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Bought 2 the first was a piece of junk after install it lasted about 3 weeks and started to leak. The leak was minor so I kept it for about 8 months until the water just poured out. Removed the piece but it was a pain the plastic had shifted and gotten stuck - total piece of junk. I purchased another and it went in fairly easy and hasn't leaked. Paid way to much for 2 parts and took way to long to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from San Antono\io
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stopped the leaking

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replacement part. Went in easily once I got the older part out. Is doing the job requested.
Pros: No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Worked like a charm!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Showerhead had a slight drip and was told it was probably due to an old cartridge. Picked up this replacement cartridge at local Home Depot and about 30min later I had a drip free showerhead! Getting the old one out took about 29min. Putting the new one in took 1min. Very satisfied!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great salesman

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Home depot salesman asked if I pulled the shower handle or turned it to start the water. I turn it so this was the correct item for me. Pulling these cartridges out of the fixture can be extremely hard (and impossible if you don't pull the U-shaped metal pin out of the fixture before trying to pull the cartridge). I bought a puller at Home Depot. I had replaced this cartridge once before and it pulled right out this time (Guess it knew I had a 4-foot pry bar ready to use on it.) Put the grease lubricant in the box on the side of the cartridge. The cartridge has H and C on the front. Be sure to insert it so you can read the letters (and hot/cold water will come out correctly).
Pros: No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Get it for free from Moen

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This replacement cartridge is super easy to install as long as you coat the lubricant that comes in the kit. I didn't use any removal kit. Just pried it out slowing using screwdrivers. Make sure the cartridge is in off position (no whole seen from the top) and put the clip in as well, otherwise the strong water will blow it out and you'll have a geyser in your house. Btw, they're part of Moen lifetime warranty so you can get them for free from them (i wasn't asked any receipt).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Las Vegas

Changing cartridge

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before changing the cartridge, strongly suggest watching u-tube videos that show how to remove the old cartridge. Also, highly recommend buying the $15 Moen cartridge removal tool and watch the applicable u-tube video. The directions on the back of the package aren't very good. After this, actually removing and installing the cartridge was very, very easy and everything works great. Home Depot price was also good - Ferguson Plumbing charged about $58 with tax - however, they did have more advice to relate. If you aren't sure you have a Moen faucet, look inside the handle. The single lever Moen faucet that doesn't require pulling initially to turn it on - takes the 1222 cartridge - but you'll easily see once you remove the old one.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The posi temp valve can be costly to keep in operation if not consistantly used.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The cartridge is easy to install, the problem lies in removing the old one, even with a puller it can be difficult. The Moen 1222 cartridge works fine as long as it does not sit unused, if not used for a couple of months it can get stuck and not supply hot water.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Fountain, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well. Not difficult to replace.

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Following the directions very carefully I started the cartridge removal. The tool that comes with the part was useless. As I tried to turn the cartridge to pull it out, the tool itself started to get distorted. The cart. was firmly stuck in the valve body. It has been in since 2000 and our water is very hard. I was not about to go to the store to buy a tool for a one shot deal. I ended up using two screwdrivers to pry it out very carefully. I was careful to not distort the brass valve body the cartridge goes into. That was the hardest part of the job. After the removal, installation of the new part went fairly easy. The only concern I had was firmly seating the new part into the valve body. I really had to firmly push it to get it fully seated, When I did this the clip slid in easily.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Pittsburg, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We visited two Home Depot stores to find this product. We needed the "puller" ($15) because the old one was stuck in there pretty good. We couldn't find the shutoff valve for the shower, so had to shut down the entire house before we ran to the store to purchase. Moen has two major mixer valves, the 1225 and the 1222. We had the 1222, but make sure you know which one you have before you go to the store or order. I forgot to pay attention to the order I took items apart, so make sure to watch the utube videos online. It is a pretty expensive part, but once I figured out how to take it apart it was easy to install. The only difficult part was removing the old one. I've heard these things need to be replaced if they aren't used very often. The instructions with the package were pretty good with pictures, but I still preferred the online videos. Good luck! I had a good time and now have a working shower!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Southwest Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't forget the puller.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Old cartridge was hard to remove. Make sure you get the puller but don't open it unless you need it. You can return the puller if the old cartridge comes out easy. Most likely you will need the puller. Good videos are available on you tube that show how to remove and install if you need help.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Buy OEM parts

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shower was leaking. Went to local Home Depot and bought 3rd party replacement cartridge. Did not fix leak. After reading reviews on the other brand replacement cartridge I was not the only one having same issue. I did return part and had to dive to another Home Depot to get get a moen oem cartridge. Leak stop. So if you have moen buy moen. Don't buy off brand to save a few dollars.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

Worked great!

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a cheaper part through HD (didn't see this one) and a water hammer developed pretty quick when the washer was running. I bought this one and the water hammer instantly went away. I tried troubleshooting the issue prior to replacing, but couldn't get it fixed. Good quality product!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Austin Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Start with OEM - this one.

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I couldn't find this one on my first trip, so I bought the Danco knockoff. Thanks to that, I have changed this valve twice in as many days. The Danco valve, little to my knowing, has a design flaw that causes knocking/water hammer in your pipes.
This OEM product, does not. Buy this one and forget the others.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Lehigh Acres FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Men of Skill best pick.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The valve cartridge was easy to install. It is always my choice to use name brands when replacing valves.
Pros: Easy to Install, dependable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Prefect fit replacement cartridge

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Exact replacement works great, no more drip, drip.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, exact relacement model
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nightmare

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the first unit was defective after installing several times I , went and bought another it was good the first install, i returned the defective unit and got noting but grief the teller intially told me I could not return it because it was used. I explained to her I had intalled it and it was defective,after asking for the manager I finally got my refund. The overall experiance was terrable !
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nervous to tackle the job, but it wasn't too bad after all

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'm anything but a handyman, but I didn't want to pay an arm and a leg to fix a leak in the tub. Watched a lot of YouTube and Googled a lot. The job of replacing the cartridge took me a a few hours, simply because I have zero experience in working with plumbing. HD lists this item, but my store actually sells the Danco equivalent.
Advice--I would never have gotten the cartridge out without the cartridge puller. It works similar to a corkscrew for winebottles. One thing that isn't clear in all the videos. For single handle tub/shower faucets that don't pull out, you will need the Moen 1222 cartridge or equivalent. For single handles that pull out, you will need the 1225
Pros: No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and remove the old cartridge, but you need the their tool to complete the job.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>