728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Supply electricity to your landscape lighting system with this DIY-friendly Malibu Low Voltage Outdoor 200-Watt Digital Transformer. This power pack transformer also functions to reduce the standard 200-volt household current to a safer 12 VAC.
Overall rating:
2.254 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product35 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(10)
1
(66)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product35 of 109reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Daphne AL
Home Improvement Profile:Other

didnt last 6 months

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
got mine in Nov 2013, stopped working in march 2014. Brought back to home depot - of course i dont have a receipt - and becuase of that i need to send to malibu for warranty of 1 yr. home depot would exchange under 90days with receipt. bottom line, you are risking defect - save receipt and be prepared to pay shipping to malibu for warranty. someone please comment if you know of a brand thats any good, i use 4 of these to run my lights. i am tired of the junk !!!!!
Cons: doesnt last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't last long!

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now on my 3rd Malibu Low Voltage Transformer and it just went out at just under 2 years. Warranty is 1 year. Will see if I can find the receipt and maybe the Credit Card will double the warranty. None of the units I have bought have lasted past 2 years. Now the unit just stays ON and won't turn the lights OFF even when turned into the OFF position.
Malibu Transformers are basically worthless but I think that is all Home Depot carries.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Worthless

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My second transformer just died on me within a year. I will not be buying another Malibu. Any other suggestion out there?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Don't buy this piece of JUNK !!!!!

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one died 2 days after installation. The second one lasted 3 months. This third one has been working for 16 months (it's now out of warranty) and now won't shut off. Save your money. Buy ANYTHING else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Kerrville, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good fit for an older brand/model of transformer

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed to replace a faulty transformer and rehab exterior lighting circuit. Quick install. Only problem was only one set of contacts necessitated making a wiring harness. Other than that, it was good.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Only one on-off period

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My last 200W Malibu had the old, familiar plastic clock face with movable pegs for setting the on-off periods. It came with two sets of pegs so you could have the lights come on in the evening, go off at midnight or so, then back on for a while in the early morning hours. The new digital version has lots of options, but only allows one on-off period. To accomplish what I am used to, I'll have to install a timer between the power and the transformer. Don't product developers ever use their own products? I've had good luck with Malibu transformers, but I could have done without the digital clock (that you can hardly read in the daylight) and wish they would not have eliminated the additional time period.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Sherwood, Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time or money on Malibu landscape lighting transformers. Bought the smaller unit and it lasted six months. Bought the larger 200 watt unit a week ago but saved my receipt this time. I needed it too. The last purchase went out after six nights Taking this one back for another better rated brand, even if I have to order it - rather than picking it off the shelf.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from McAllen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Listen to the Reviews!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews before buying this...my old Malibu (with the rotary timer and pins) never gave me a lick of trouble...until a hail storm did a number on it. I bought this unit to replace it. At first, I was like some of the five-star reviewers - loved it! First, it fit perfectly onto the old mounting screws which made me very happy that I didn't have to drill into brick (and the reason for replacing with the same brand), second - the dusk/dawn sensor and digital read-out are vast improvements over fumbling with pins, and finally, the magnetic door to seal everything away from the elements (like hail) is awesome. However, that's where the love ends. After just three months of flawless on-at-dusk/off-at-set-number-of-hours timing, the circuit breaker decided to go haywire. At first I thought it was the South Texas heat, but then I read all of these reviews. I go out and hit the breaker, lights come on, within 30 minutes (time varies) they're off again. I'm off to buy another brand. Yes, it's under warranty...but A) who saves receipts for purchases under $100? B) is it worth the hassle to call their 800 number, get a return authorization, box it up, wait, etc.? Nope.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Old one lasted about 2 years so had to buy a new one.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this same transformer approximately 3 years ago and in less than 2 years it became intermittant in its operation. I first noticed that the magnet holding the cover closed came out and no longer held the door closed, so I put a strap around the door to hold it closed. In just under 2 years the transformer began losing its settings periodically. I also found that the push buttons became very hard to depress to reset the timer. In a little over 2 years the timer function stopped working altogether so I bought a new transformer of the same type a few weeks ago. It appears the magnet design has been improved, the timer pushbuttoms are much easier to depress and the transformer has been working fine so far.
Pros: Lots of Features, has all of the features i wanted.
Cons: my first one lasted less than 2 years.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Irvine,Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive but good.!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Heavy and bulky looking. Good for either indoor or outdoor.
multi-function. You can set auto, time or timer. A little bit expensive. Good product, will
recommend to anyone.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install,love the methods of turning on and off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

No battery - have to keep resetting clock

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here I am looking for a replacement after this one lasted maybe two years. Not buying Malibu again for sure. The worst thing next to a heavy transformer dying that quickly after powering ONE 35W light is the shoddy way the clock is built. With no battery to backup the time during a power failure, it frequently needs to be reset by messing with tiny, hard-to-press buttons. You'll hate this one after your first power failure when you have to spend time resetting the clock AND on/off times. I'm going back to an old style rotary dial with plastic on/off pins. This one is junk.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only works for short period of time

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know why I went back for the 3rd one to replace the ones that didn't work prior. It worked great for about 1 month, then it wouldn't turn off. Then I got another one & the breaker keeps tripping; same for the next one.
I should have stopped then, but off to buy another brand & hope for the best.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor performance
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Murfreesboro, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product and Customer Service

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Review
I have been a user of Malibu products for a long time.
Malibu’s timers & transformers and flooding lights are easy to install and work well.
My experience with Malibu services has been excellent. I recently found one of my Malibu’s timer & transformer and one of the LED flooding lights not working in my front yard. I contacted Malibu Customer Service. After only a few necessary questions and red tapes on their side, Malibu decided to send me replacement transformer & timer and floodlight. All now is working fine. The Customer Service contact person was very helpful and supportive. I am very happy with Malibu products and services and recommend them.
Clovis Evangelista
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

you get what you pay for ?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
everything is great about this unit, the features, ease of use, nice illuminated controls, used it following manufacturers guidlines... but only lasted about 6 months before it started to fail, it started tripping the circuit breaker in the back after 15 minutes of normal operation no matter what setting, i disconnected several lights and trouble shooted to make sure it wasnt an issue with my light system. then i noticed the unit stayed hot to the touch when plugged in but wiring to lights disconnected (scary) invest more money and try something of better quality, mine is going back, we will see if they warranty it....
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from eastham, ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good. The transformer works as expected.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced a burned out 200 watt transformer with a new one.
The old one lasted about 5 years.
Perhaps the bad weather this winter caused the old one to fail.
I installed the new one in a few minutes.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

low quality

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wished I had read the reviews before buying the second unit after I had trouble with the first. I have the SAME problem with the circuit breaker tripping. I spent about a day troubleshooting the problem and all along it was the weak breaker the Chinese put in this. I am going all US whenever possible, regardless of cost. It is either getting value at a price or frustrating junk from China.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best I have ever had

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit was the best Malibu transformer I have ever had. We lived in California for a long time and usually did low voltage lights around our house. This transformer has everything you need.
We took the 200 watt edition not knowing if we would need it. It came with everything you need to get it up and running including the proper screws to attach it to a side board on the porch and a perfect template for the holes! It has a magnetic door closer that makes it easy to open.
Also great is the ambient light sensor that turns on the transformer just before sunset and off just after sunrise. It can be timed but we prefer the on all the dark hours. It has the feature of on at dust off 2, 4, ... hours later which would have been a second choice!
Finally no more setting the clock on a timer to make sure it is on at certain hours, the good old sun takes care of that for me now.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Poor quality control

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own a lighting business and purchase these often. About 1 in 5 of these is defective. No power (dead), no clock, time will not set, etc.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Slidell, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks good. It was easy to set up and very easy to program, and is working great.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>