728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Supply electricity to your landscape lighting system with this DIY-friendly Malibu Low Voltage Outdoor 200-Watt Digital Transformer. This power pack transformer also functions to reduce the standard 120-volt household current to a safer 12 VAC.
Overall rating:
2.309 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
34%of customersrecommend this product40 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(70)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
34%of customersrecommend this product40 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Daphne AL
Home Improvement Profile:Other

didnt last 6 months

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
got mine in Nov 2013, stopped working in march 2014. Brought back to home depot - of course i dont have a receipt - and becuase of that i need to send to malibu for warranty of 1 yr. home depot would exchange under 90days with receipt. bottom line, you are risking defect - save receipt and be prepared to pay shipping to malibu for warranty. someone please comment if you know of a brand thats any good, i use 4 of these to run my lights. i am tired of the junk !!!!!
Cons: doesnt last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Tampa, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Timer

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice product. Easy to set up and program. A little on the heavy side so it definitely needs two screws to hold it up.
Works as advertised and keeps excellent time. I needed to support 17 lights over a 150 ft span and this works fine.
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't last long!

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now on my 3rd Malibu Low Voltage Transformer and it just went out at just under 2 years. Warranty is 1 year. Will see if I can find the receipt and maybe the Credit Card will double the warranty. None of the units I have bought have lasted past 2 years. Now the unit just stays ON and won't turn the lights OFF even when turned into the OFF position.
Malibu Transformers are basically worthless but I think that is all Home Depot carries.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Only one on-off period

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My last 200W Malibu had the old, familiar plastic clock face with movable pegs for setting the on-off periods. It came with two sets of pegs so you could have the lights come on in the evening, go off at midnight or so, then back on for a while in the early morning hours. The new digital version has lots of options, but only allows one on-off period. To accomplish what I am used to, I'll have to install a timer between the power and the transformer. Don't product developers ever use their own products? I've had good luck with Malibu transformers, but I could have done without the digital clock (that you can hardly read in the daylight) and wish they would not have eliminated the additional time period.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from pell city, al
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This one works

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This one works fine thus far. Prior selections were not strong enough and failed.
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Analog but poor digital

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The transformer is fine, it is the digital timer that does not last. Mine lasted exactly 2 years and the display quit working. I read a lot of reviews where people changed the capacitors on the circuit board, which is too much trouble. I just opened the case and bypassed the circuit board completely. Then I bought a 15 Amp Outdoor Plug-In Mechanical Dusk to Dawn Countdown Timer with Grounded Outlet and plugged the transformer to it. Presto, simple fix now and in the future.
Pros: good transformer
Cons: poor digital quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from McAllen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Listen to the Reviews!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews before buying this...my old Malibu (with the rotary timer and pins) never gave me a lick of trouble...until a hail storm did a number on it. I bought this unit to replace it. At first, I was like some of the five-star reviewers - loved it! First, it fit perfectly onto the old mounting screws which made me very happy that I didn't have to drill into brick (and the reason for replacing with the same brand), second - the dusk/dawn sensor and digital read-out are vast improvements over fumbling with pins, and finally, the magnetic door to seal everything away from the elements (like hail) is awesome. However, that's where the love ends. After just three months of flawless on-at-dusk/off-at-set-number-of-hours timing, the circuit breaker decided to go haywire. At first I thought it was the South Texas heat, but then I read all of these reviews. I go out and hit the breaker, lights come on, within 30 minutes (time varies) they're off again. I'm off to buy another brand. Yes, it's under warranty...but A) who saves receipts for purchases under $100? B) is it worth the hassle to call their 800 number, get a return authorization, box it up, wait, etc.? Nope.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Florida

Won't turn off

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had my Malibu transformer for almost 2 years and it just malfunctioned this past weekend. The unit will not turn off. I tried unplugging the unit in an effort to reset it and it still won't turn off. I hooked up a $5 timer to it until I can find a new unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Worthless

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My second transformer just died on me within a year. I will not be buying another Malibu. Any other suggestion out there?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Don't buy this piece of JUNK !!!!!

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one died 2 days after installation. The second one lasted 3 months. This third one has been working for 16 months (it's now out of warranty) and now won't shut off. Save your money. Buy ANYTHING else.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Good product

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this 3 months ago to light up oak tree and still working like a champ.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality transformer

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great low voltage transformer. It's easy to install and powers six yard spotlights. Also several great timer options give you maximum control over its use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Eugene, OR

Not worth the money

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had my 200 watt transformer for about a year and a half before it quit working properly. I could not even shut the unit off. It is a poor value for the money. Who wants to spend $70 every year of so to replace the product? I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: didn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Old one lasted about 2 years so had to buy a new one.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this same transformer approximately 3 years ago and in less than 2 years it became intermittant in its operation. I first noticed that the magnet holding the cover closed came out and no longer held the door closed, so I put a strap around the door to hold it closed. In just under 2 years the transformer began losing its settings periodically. I also found that the push buttons became very hard to depress to reset the timer. In a little over 2 years the timer function stopped working altogether so I bought a new transformer of the same type a few weeks ago. It appears the magnet design has been improved, the timer pushbuttoms are much easier to depress and the transformer has been working fine so far.
Pros: Lots of Features, has all of the features i wanted.
Cons: my first one lasted less than 2 years.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do Not Buy this product!

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As so many others state on here, I wish I would have read these reviews before buying. Worked great for about three months but now is completely dead. How do they get away with making junk like this?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good product

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to replace a 6-7 year old Malibu dial timer type transformer that worked flawlessly. I just wanted to add more lights and needed more power. I purchased this 200w unit and it was easy to install and set up. The problem is that it suddenly stopped working after 3-4 months. From the other reviews I've read this is a common problem.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only works for short period of time

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know why I went back for the 3rd one to replace the ones that didn't work prior. It worked great for about 1 month, then it wouldn't turn off. Then I got another one & the breaker keeps tripping; same for the next one.
I should have stopped then, but off to buy another brand & hope for the best.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor performance
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Sherwood, Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time or money on Malibu landscape lighting transformers. Bought the smaller unit and it lasted six months. Bought the larger 200 watt unit a week ago but saved my receipt this time. I needed it too. The last purchase went out after six nights Taking this one back for another better rated brand, even if I have to order it - rather than picking it off the shelf.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

low quality

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wished I had read the reviews before buying the second unit after I had trouble with the first. I have the SAME problem with the circuit breaker tripping. I spent about a day troubleshooting the problem and all along it was the weak breaker the Chinese put in this. I am going all US whenever possible, regardless of cost. It is either getting value at a price or frustrating junk from China.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

you get what you pay for ?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
everything is great about this unit, the features, ease of use, nice illuminated controls, used it following manufacturers guidlines... but only lasted about 6 months before it started to fail, it started tripping the circuit breaker in the back after 15 minutes of normal operation no matter what setting, i disconnected several lights and trouble shooted to make sure it wasnt an issue with my light system. then i noticed the unit stayed hot to the touch when plugged in but wiring to lights disconnected (scary) invest more money and try something of better quality, mine is going back, we will see if they warranty it....
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>