728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Supply electricity to your landscape lighting system with this DIY-friendly Malibu Low Voltage Outdoor 200-Watt Digital Transformer. This power pack transformer also functions to reduce the standard 200-volt household current to a safer 12 VAC.
Overall rating:
2.147 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
28%of customersrecommend this product25 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(5)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(58)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
28%of customersrecommend this product25 of 90reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Daphne AL
Home Improvement Profile:Other

didnt last 6 months

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
got mine in Nov 2013, stopped working in march 2014. Brought back to home depot - of course i dont have a receipt - and becuase of that i need to send to malibu for warranty of 1 yr. home depot would exchange under 90days with receipt. bottom line, you are risking defect - save receipt and be prepared to pay shipping to malibu for warranty. someone please comment if you know of a brand thats any good, i use 4 of these to run my lights. i am tired of the junk !!!!!
Cons: doesnt last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Energy efficient, easy to install and program.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like that his model is electronic and fairly easy to read, has no "moving parts", and can be set one time to follow the sunset throughout the year. And, I was able to hang it basically where the replaced unit was hung.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, easy to attached the wires, functional sunlight sensor
Cons: i would have liked to be able to set a 2nd phase
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Sherwood, Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time or money on Malibu landscape lighting transformers. Bought the smaller unit and it lasted six months. Bought the larger 200 watt unit a week ago but saved my receipt this time. I needed it too. The last purchase went out after six nights Taking this one back for another better rated brand, even if I have to order it - rather than picking it off the shelf.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Cleveland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to set up

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy set up, timer was easy to set. Just plug in and choose your option
Pros: Fast / Speed, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Old one lasted about 2 years so had to buy a new one.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this same transformer approximately 3 years ago and in less than 2 years it became intermittant in its operation. I first noticed that the magnet holding the cover closed came out and no longer held the door closed, so I put a strap around the door to hold it closed. In just under 2 years the transformer began losing its settings periodically. I also found that the push buttons became very hard to depress to reset the timer. In a little over 2 years the timer function stopped working altogether so I bought a new transformer of the same type a few weeks ago. It appears the magnet design has been improved, the timer pushbuttoms are much easier to depress and the transformer has been working fine so far.
Pros: Lots of Features, has all of the features i wanted.
Cons: my first one lasted less than 2 years.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Defective Equipment

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a repalcement trnsformer as the first stopped working. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH MALIBU PRODUCTS to say the least. The second transformer came on last night and should have gone off at 11:00 PM but noticed it was still on this AM. Turned dial to off and every other position and the lights would not shut off. Taken this back AGAIn to Home Depot. Also the stakes kfor the lights are plastic and it inserts into the metal rod where the ligth attaches. These stake also snap if they are lightly tuched, Thelights look good but I would not recooend Malibu unless you like to go back and forth to Home Dept.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Only one on-off period

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My last 200W Malibu had the old, familiar plastic clock face with movable pegs for setting the on-off periods. It came with two sets of pegs so you could have the lights come on in the evening, go off at midnight or so, then back on for a while in the early morning hours. The new digital version has lots of options, but only allows one on-off period. To accomplish what I am used to, I'll have to install a timer between the power and the transformer. Don't product developers ever use their own products? I've had good luck with Malibu transformers, but I could have done without the digital clock (that you can hardly read in the daylight) and wish they would not have eliminated the additional time period.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted 2 days

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I installed at the output was 11.7 V. Two days later I measured 11.2. The system kept flipping the internal breaker and turning all lights off. I'm only running 142 W so I am well within the limit.
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Two quit after half year of service

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had two Malibu 600 watt transformers stop working. Of course it was after 90 days so Home Depot wouldn't do anything but refer me to manufacturer. Terrible quality and performance.
Cons: doesn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from McAllen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Listen to the Reviews!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews before buying this...my old Malibu (with the rotary timer and pins) never gave me a lick of trouble...until a hail storm did a number on it. I bought this unit to replace it. At first, I was like some of the five-star reviewers - loved it! First, it fit perfectly onto the old mounting screws which made me very happy that I didn't have to drill into brick (and the reason for replacing with the same brand), second - the dusk/dawn sensor and digital read-out are vast improvements over fumbling with pins, and finally, the magnetic door to seal everything away from the elements (like hail) is awesome. However, that's where the love ends. After just three months of flawless on-at-dusk/off-at-set-number-of-hours timing, the circuit breaker decided to go haywire. At first I thought it was the South Texas heat, but then I read all of these reviews. I go out and hit the breaker, lights come on, within 30 minutes (time varies) they're off again. I'm off to buy another brand. Yes, it's under warranty...but A) who saves receipts for purchases under $100? B) is it worth the hassle to call their 800 number, get a return authorization, box it up, wait, etc.? Nope.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

you get what you pay for ?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
everything is great about this unit, the features, ease of use, nice illuminated controls, used it following manufacturers guidlines... but only lasted about 6 months before it started to fail, it started tripping the circuit breaker in the back after 15 minutes of normal operation no matter what setting, i disconnected several lights and trouble shooted to make sure it wasnt an issue with my light system. then i noticed the unit stayed hot to the touch when plugged in but wiring to lights disconnected (scary) invest more money and try something of better quality, mine is going back, we will see if they warranty it....
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Dead after 14 months.

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fist one was dead on arrival. I should have taken the cue and steer clear. I exchanged it instead, the second one lasted 14 months.
It wasn't overworked: my lights are LED and total 25W, and the cables were laid before LED, so they are thick and I built a little roof so that it didn't get rained on.
I give it 2 stars because it didn't set my yard on fire.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Phoenix
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor reliability.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The clock function stopped working after 2 years. The warrantee was for 1 year
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only works for short period of time

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know why I went back for the 3rd one to replace the ones that didn't work prior. It worked great for about 1 month, then it wouldn't turn off. Then I got another one & the breaker keeps tripping; same for the next one.
I should have stopped then, but off to buy another brand & hope for the best.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor performance
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Pueblo, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought it and when I got home the first thing I noticed was the door was missing, I decided to try it anyway and after only installing 3 20Watt lights it kept popping the little breaker on it. Tried everything but couldn't get it to work, saw on some of the reviews they had similar problems. Liked the features like the light up dial but not worth it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Cedar Hill TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Malibu 200 Watt Low Voltage Timer

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plan on replacing this timer every 2-3 years. All Malibu timers seem to have a short life.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: durability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Failed in 6 months

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit was installed for us by our landscape contractor. It failed within 6 months, and it wasn't the breaker. Based on the reviews here, I'm not even going to bother with getting a replacement but will buy a different unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from HTX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should Avoid

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just returned this unit today, after it failed within 48hrs. My last one only made it past 9months. The overall appearance and functions are nice, however the build quality is poor, even at this price point. I'll def look for an alternative to this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
Cons: poor quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

low quality

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wished I had read the reviews before buying the second unit after I had trouble with the first. I have the SAME problem with the circuit breaker tripping. I spent about a day troubleshooting the problem and all along it was the weak breaker the Chinese put in this. I am going all US whenever possible, regardless of cost. It is either getting value at a price or frustrating junk from China.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted 3 months

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This just died on me after only 3 months of operation. Do not recommend anyone purchase based off of my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>