728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Supply electricity to your landscape lighting system with this DIY-friendly Malibu Low Voltage Outdoor 200-Watt Digital Transformer. This power pack transformer also functions to reduce the standard 200-volt household current to a safer 12 VAC.
Overall rating:
2.193 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product24 of 83reviews
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(53)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product24 of 83reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Daphne AL
Home Improvement Profile:Other

didnt last 6 months

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
got mine in Nov 2013, stopped working in march 2014. Brought back to home depot - of course i dont have a receipt - and becuase of that i need to send to malibu for warranty of 1 yr. home depot would exchange under 90days with receipt. bottom line, you are risking defect - save receipt and be prepared to pay shipping to malibu for warranty. someone please comment if you know of a brand thats any good, i use 4 of these to run my lights. i am tired of the junk !!!!!
Cons: doesnt last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Energy efficient, easy to install and program.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like that his model is electronic and fairly easy to read, has no "moving parts", and can be set one time to follow the sunset throughout the year. And, I was able to hang it basically where the replaced unit was hung.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, easy to attached the wires, functional sunlight sensor
Cons: i would have liked to be able to set a 2nd phase
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted 2 days

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I installed at the output was 11.7 V. Two days later I measured 11.2. The system kept flipping the internal breaker and turning all lights off. I'm only running 142 W so I am well within the limit.
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Old one lasted about 2 years so had to buy a new one.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this same transformer approximately 3 years ago and in less than 2 years it became intermittant in its operation. I first noticed that the magnet holding the cover closed came out and no longer held the door closed, so I put a strap around the door to hold it closed. In just under 2 years the transformer began losing its settings periodically. I also found that the push buttons became very hard to depress to reset the timer. In a little over 2 years the timer function stopped working altogether so I bought a new transformer of the same type a few weeks ago. It appears the magnet design has been improved, the timer pushbuttoms are much easier to depress and the transformer has been working fine so far.
Pros: Lots of Features, has all of the features i wanted.
Cons: my first one lasted less than 2 years.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Dead after 14 months.

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fist one was dead on arrival. I should have taken the cue and steer clear. I exchanged it instead, the second one lasted 14 months.
It wasn't overworked: my lights are LED and total 25W, and the cables were laid before LED, so they are thick and I built a little roof so that it didn't get rained on.
I give it 2 stars because it didn't set my yard on fire.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Pueblo, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought it and when I got home the first thing I noticed was the door was missing, I decided to try it anyway and after only installing 3 20Watt lights it kept popping the little breaker on it. Tried everything but couldn't get it to work, saw on some of the reviews they had similar problems. Liked the features like the light up dial but not worth it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

you get what you pay for ?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
everything is great about this unit, the features, ease of use, nice illuminated controls, used it following manufacturers guidlines... but only lasted about 6 months before it started to fail, it started tripping the circuit breaker in the back after 15 minutes of normal operation no matter what setting, i disconnected several lights and trouble shooted to make sure it wasnt an issue with my light system. then i noticed the unit stayed hot to the touch when plugged in but wiring to lights disconnected (scary) invest more money and try something of better quality, mine is going back, we will see if they warranty it....
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Only one on-off period

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My last 200W Malibu had the old, familiar plastic clock face with movable pegs for setting the on-off periods. It came with two sets of pegs so you could have the lights come on in the evening, go off at midnight or so, then back on for a while in the early morning hours. The new digital version has lots of options, but only allows one on-off period. To accomplish what I am used to, I'll have to install a timer between the power and the transformer. Don't product developers ever use their own products? I've had good luck with Malibu transformers, but I could have done without the digital clock (that you can hardly read in the daylight) and wish they would not have eliminated the additional time period.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted 3 months

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This just died on me after only 3 months of operation. Do not recommend anyone purchase based off of my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from McAllen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Listen to the Reviews!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews before buying this...my old Malibu (with the rotary timer and pins) never gave me a lick of trouble...until a hail storm did a number on it. I bought this unit to replace it. At first, I was like some of the five-star reviewers - loved it! First, it fit perfectly onto the old mounting screws which made me very happy that I didn't have to drill into brick (and the reason for replacing with the same brand), second - the dusk/dawn sensor and digital read-out are vast improvements over fumbling with pins, and finally, the magnetic door to seal everything away from the elements (like hail) is awesome. However, that's where the love ends. After just three months of flawless on-at-dusk/off-at-set-number-of-hours timing, the circuit breaker decided to go haywire. At first I thought it was the South Texas heat, but then I read all of these reviews. I go out and hit the breaker, lights come on, within 30 minutes (time varies) they're off again. I'm off to buy another brand. Yes, it's under warranty...but A) who saves receipts for purchases under $100? B) is it worth the hassle to call their 800 number, get a return authorization, box it up, wait, etc.? Nope.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Pulaski Tn.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and works well. Would recommend anyone to use this product.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Gainesville VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and affordable

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this transformer and 8 of the 50W lights and was surprised at how easy this entire project was to install. I got a professional estimate for almost $5,000 and was able to do this for well under $1,000. Very happy. Transformer does make a soft buzzing noise but nothing annoying. I use the electric eye to come on at dusk and off 3 hours later but there are many other options for the on/off feature. Very happy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from HTX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should Avoid

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just returned this unit today, after it failed within 48hrs. My last one only made it past 9months. The overall appearance and functions are nice, however the build quality is poor, even at this price point. I'll def look for an alternative to this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
Cons: poor quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only works for short period of time

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know why I went back for the 3rd one to replace the ones that didn't work prior. It worked great for about 1 month, then it wouldn't turn off. Then I got another one & the breaker keeps tripping; same for the next one.
I should have stopped then, but off to buy another brand & hope for the best.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor performance
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Connecticut

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed one of these in November of 2013. It's no longer sending the power to the lights. Read the other reviews. Do not buy this thing. I'm going to purchase a different one from an electrical supply house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from Atlanta GA
Gender:Male

Lasted just over a year. Don't waste your money.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the title says... lasted just over a year. What a coincidence, one year warranty = one year life. I have the old rotary unit going strong after 5 years. Sometimes "new technology" is a bad thing.
Cons: short life span
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

low quality

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wished I had read the reviews before buying the second unit after I had trouble with the first. I have the SAME problem with the circuit breaker tripping. I spent about a day troubleshooting the problem and all along it was the weak breaker the Chinese put in this. I am going all US whenever possible, regardless of cost. It is either getting value at a price or frustrating junk from China.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Poor quality control

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a lighting business and purchase these often. About 1 in 5 of these is defective. No power (dead), no clock, time will not set, etc.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
from St. Charles, MO, USA

Only lasts for 1 year

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This company would be bankrupt if they changed the warranty from 1 year to 2 years. I have had three of these transformers and each one has lasted about 15 months. Bottom line is do not buy
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor quality
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't ever do this one again

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this one to replace an old one and wish I had looked at the reviews before I did. I have been messing with it for two days now and have tried everything I can and I can not get it to shut off. Auto on with the sensor was fine but was supposed to go off at 5 A.M. didn't happen. Tried the timer function and right after I programmed it the light came on and it was the middle of the day, only way to get it to turn off was to put the selector in the off position. It will be going back to the store today and I will not be getting another one of these.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: doesn't work, even thou the installation is easy the instruction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>