728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer

Supply electricity to your landscape lighting system with this DIY-friendly Malibu Low Voltage Outdoor 200-Watt Digital Transformer. This power pack transformer also functions to reduce the standard 200-volt household current to a safer 12 VAC.
Overall rating:
2.18 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product21 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(3)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(48)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product21 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
TimF

Old one lasted about 2 years so had to buy a new one.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this same transformer approximately 3 years ago and in less than 2 years it became intermittant in its operation. I first noticed that the magnet holding the cover closed came out and no longer held the door closed, so I put a strap around the door to hold it closed. In just under 2 years the transformer began losing its settings periodically. I also found that the push buttons became very hard to depress to reset the timer. In a little over 2 years the timer function stopped working altogether so I bought a new transformer of the same type a few weeks ago. It appears the magnet design has been improved, the timer pushbuttoms are much easier to depress and the transformer has been working fine so far.
Pros: Lots of Features, has all of the features i wanted.
Cons: my first one lasted less than 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
yourdaddy123
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

you get what you pay for ?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
everything is great about this unit, the features, ease of use, nice illuminated controls, used it following manufacturers guidlines... but only lasted about 6 months before it started to fail, it started tripping the circuit breaker in the back after 15 minutes of normal operation no matter what setting, i disconnected several lights and trouble shooted to make sure it wasnt an issue with my light system. then i noticed the unit stayed hot to the touch when plugged in but wiring to lights disconnected (scary) invest more money and try something of better quality, mine is going back, we will see if they warranty it....
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Htownboxer
from HTX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should Avoid

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just returned this unit today, after it failed within 48hrs. My last one only made it past 9months. The overall appearance and functions are nice, however the build quality is poor, even at this price point. I'll def look for an alternative to this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
Cons: poor quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
MikeM

Only one on-off period

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My last 200W Malibu had the old, familiar plastic clock face with movable pegs for setting the on-off periods. It came with two sets of pegs so you could have the lights come on in the evening, go off at midnight or so, then back on for a while in the early morning hours. The new digital version has lots of options, but only allows one on-off period. To accomplish what I am used to, I'll have to install a timer between the power and the transformer. Don't product developers ever use their own products? I've had good luck with Malibu transformers, but I could have done without the digital clock (that you can hardly read in the daylight) and wish they would not have eliminated the additional time period.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
WithoutInTexas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't ever do this one again

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this one to replace an old one and wish I had looked at the reviews before I did. I have been messing with it for two days now and have tried everything I can and I can not get it to shut off. Auto on with the sensor was fine but was supposed to go off at 5 A.M. didn't happen. Tried the timer function and right after I programmed it the light came on and it was the middle of the day, only way to get it to turn off was to put the selector in the off position. It will be going back to the store today and I will not be getting another one of these.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: doesn't work, even thou the installation is easy the instruction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
NSands
from McAllen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Listen to the Reviews!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews before buying this...my old Malibu (with the rotary timer and pins) never gave me a lick of trouble...until a hail storm did a number on it. I bought this unit to replace it. At first, I was like some of the five-star reviewers - loved it! First, it fit perfectly onto the old mounting screws which made me very happy that I didn't have to drill into brick (and the reason for replacing with the same brand), second - the dusk/dawn sensor and digital read-out are vast improvements over fumbling with pins, and finally, the magnetic door to seal everything away from the elements (like hail) is awesome. However, that's where the love ends. After just three months of flawless on-at-dusk/off-at-set-number-of-hours timing, the circuit breaker decided to go haywire. At first I thought it was the South Texas heat, but then I read all of these reviews. I go out and hit the breaker, lights come on, within 30 minutes (time varies) they're off again. I'm off to buy another brand. Yes, it's under warranty...but A) who saves receipts for purchases under $100? B) is it worth the hassle to call their 800 number, get a return authorization, box it up, wait, etc.? Nope.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Mouse
from Clarence ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Biggest PC of junk

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Quit working after 90 days. Then worked now just throws breaker
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Dissatisfied
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only works for short period of time

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know why I went back for the 3rd one to replace the ones that didn't work prior. It worked great for about 1 month, then it wouldn't turn off. Then I got another one & the breaker keeps tripping; same for the next one.
I should have stopped then, but off to buy another brand & hope for the best.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor performance
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
bklynz00
from Smyrna, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

INFERIOR PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have brought two of the Malibu 200W LV digital transformers for my out side garden lighting, June 2013. Six months later they both do not work. It appears in my situation, that the transformers have shorted out internally and my lights stay continuously on. My accumulated lighting is well below the 200W rating of the transformer. Is it worth sending the transformer back to the manufacturer (Malibu) for them to repair or replace? I'm not so sure. Seriously considering another brand for better results. I have been using their products for approximately 7 years and they all have extremely short life spans. Bottom line, it is an INFERIOR PRODUCT!
Disgusted
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
BW1971
from St. Charles, MO, USA

Only lasts for 1 year

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This company would be bankrupt if they changed the warranty from 1 year to 2 years. I have had three of these transformers and each one has lasted about 15 months. Bottom line is do not buy
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor quality
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
yardslave

low quality

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wished I had read the reviews before buying the second unit after I had trouble with the first. I have the SAME problem with the circuit breaker tripping. I spent about a day troubleshooting the problem and all along it was the weak breaker the Chinese put in this. I am going all US whenever possible, regardless of cost. It is either getting value at a price or frustrating junk from China.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
pg92

no brainer to light the night

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
quick easy install, enough power for the multiple spotlights, includes the light sensor
Pros: High Quality of Material, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
dissapointedbuyer

Poor quality control

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a lighting business and purchase these often. About 1 in 5 of these is defective. No power (dead), no clock, time will not set, etc.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Mike
from Long Beach CA

Poor Quality - Don't Buy One!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked for two nights, then starting making the lights blink on and off every 30 seconds, then didn't work at all. I will try to find a better brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Beaver
from Riverside ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't waste your hard earned $'s

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After two days the unit began tripping the breaker, the same GFI my pool equipment timer worked off of. After resetting twice the unit no longer shuts off, no matter what position the selector is in...even in the off position!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
DavisEG
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Male

Awesome! Easy to replace. Wish I had done it years ago.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The review is for Drawer hardware that broke with a fair amount of use. I could not find replacement hardware anywhere until I stumbled across this at Home Deport.
Parenthetically, my Highboy, night stands and two dressers use the same hardware for the drawers.
Anyhow, I over bought for now, but the price is so reasonable that I have no regret and plenty for future repairs.
Okay, to the heart, Fits exactly, easy to replace (Less than 5 min/drawer) and it arrived 5 days early. Nice!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
LoveWVU
from Canonsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does What It's Supposed To Do

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a lower voltage unit. This was easy to install. Very easy to program.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
drmiagi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

unreliable junk

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 timers for 2 circuits, and had to replace them a total of 4 times in less than a year!! Both timers were almost double the capacity of the lighting load on the circuit, and the circuits ground fault protected so install was proper. Some froze with the lights on even when switched to off, others just quit with the indicator panel on showing power good, but no lights in any position. We use for security as well as mood, so no lights for weeks at a time awaiting replacement was unacceptable.
Bought a different brand this time!!
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Myrt
from Stamford, CT

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is quality constructed and feels very heavy duty. The door has a magnetic latch and rubber seal around it. The timer displays in bright red numbers and is very easy to program. The photocell included plugs into the bottom with a 3ft (approx) cord so you can place it away from the transformer in a spot that gets a more accurate day/night reading. You can set it to turn on with the photocell, and run for 4,6,8 hours, or day to night, or timed. I only wish i could find another 300w to replace my other transformer.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage 200-Watt Digital Transformer
Hickorynut
from Arlington Heights, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Broke after just over one year

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My handyman installed this transformer, but it did not last. Had to be replaced after one year.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>