728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Patio Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior

71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior

Composite patio doors from MasterPiece offer a traditional look with a lifetime of energy efficiency and performance. MasterPiece Patio Doors commitment to design excellence is built into our patio door systems to meet the industry's growing needs. Our doors successfully blend style, efficiency and economy along with the most advanced technology for today's discerning homeowner.
Overall rating:
4.254 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product55 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product55 of 62reviews
Customer reviews for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Review 1 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
SafetyGuy
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Door

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this door to replace an Anderson wood slider that couldn't handle the north-facing exposure (rotted.)
My installer refused to read directions but had good gut instincts to get the job done right.
The door feels "massive" - like a "bank vault". I am happy I bought it.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Urbangirl
from San Francisco, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's great!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I agree with the other reviewer that the door is like a bank vault. It's awesome. It keeps the heat in and the noise out. It has hugely upgraded my house. Yes, my house, since you can see the door from most of the rooms. I love this sliding glass door, it is beautiful with the woodgrain look and really expensive and classy looking. I have had no problems with locks but I did have a professional install it.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
seniorhomeowner
from Lakewood, NJ

MasterPiece Gliding Patio Door

PostedMay 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a fine product -- well-constructed and attractive.
Minor problem of wind noise during strong storms was solved by applying 1-in. wide strip of adhesive-backed white vinyl bathroom caulk tape as weatherstripping down the exterior center joint.
Holding this 220-lb. fully-assembled door vertically, two medium-build guys placed it on an old surfboard and, with a helper pulling it like a sled, slid it over lawn to patio.
Cool!
In the Installation and Finishing Instructions, under Tools Required, the line 13/32" & 1/8" Drill Bits is incorrect: A 13/32" bit is a BIG bit and neither bit was required as jamb and header screw holes were perfect. Installation screws and plugs were included. Six-inch wide butyl wrap was used on jambs and sill.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
NorCalFixerUpper
from Red Bluff, CA

Excellent

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just had this door installed and it is awesome. It glides easily but it does need a little help from you because the door is heavy due to the great quality and construction. Looks great! I would definitely recommend this door to anyone looking for a great quality door. Only negative is I had to purhcase a screen seperately.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Lampe
from Flagstaff, AZ

composite sliding patio door

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great door! When I ordered the door I was uncertain about the look of the composite. After the door
was installed.. WOW it is gorgeous. Heavy, elegant, what a huge improvement over the aluminum door that it replaced. I highly recomend this door. I do wish I could get windows to match.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
newman
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdier than major name brands

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great value for the money! The deadbolt feature sold it for me. I was kind of disappointed that I have to buy the screen seperate, that adds $60 to the price
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Fairmontwv
from Fairmont, WV 26554, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great door for a great price!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted an aluminum clad wooden patio door, but decided to go with this door instead because of the price as well as the claims made by the manufacturer that this extruded door would never rot, warp, etc. I had previously considered buying a Pella, but didn't like the way their door slides on the exterior of the house instead of the interior side. The door was easy to install and actually feels like a high-end door due to the nice hardware that came with it including the extra lock built into the side of the door. Make sure you buy the correct screen to go along with it. Initially, we bought the wrong one and really hated the way it worked with the door. Once we found the screen that is made for the door, we are very happy with it. Only problem I see with it is that the built-in flip lock has sharp areas around the latch opening which could cut you if you're not careful. All in all, the door is great and I can now use the family room in the winter because it's warm and comforable because of the new door. The wood-grain appearance on the inside of the door is also a very nice feature.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
MattyC
from Waukee, IA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Patio Doors!!!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These doors are great. Nice and heavy doors, they look rich. Not like the cheap vinyl doors. Great price and the look of the wood interior is nice. Looking forward to staining them. Have not had any problems with the locks. Need to order screen doors though.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Fowlerwa
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Master Piece Patio Door Model # G6068R01

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased these doors on 9/26/13 and had to have them shipped to our home at an outrageous shipping cost. Delivery date was supposed to be on 10/8/13. Doors were being shipped from Houston to OKC. The tracking notice showed the doors arrived in OKC on 10/2/13 (not sure why it would take so long to get them across town). We waited for the delivery guys and they were a no show. Didn’t bother calling or emailing. So we called Home Depot customer service and they were great. They contacted the shipper (NonStopDelivery NSD) and found out something happened and the doors would not be delivered until 10/10/13. I complained to customer service about the shipper and received a discount on the shipping costs…woohoo!
Doors arrived on 10/10/13 in the back of a pickup truck. My husband had to assist the guys getting them out of the truck (they didn’t know how to get these large doors out…geez).
Got a friend who works construction to help us install them and they look great, with only one problem. The flush mount bolt doesn’t work. The rod (at the top of the door) does not appear to be working.
On 10/13/13, I went to Masterpiece website and submitted a “contact us” for help. No response yet and there is nothing on their website about this lock. I’m hoping a rep will see my post and contact me. If not, I will continue to keep submitting requests until I get a response.
I love the doors, they feel very solid. Had a little trouble aligning the locking latch, but got it working. Unfortunately the flush mount bolt (secondary lock) is not working.
Overall I’m happy with this purchase and would recommend these doors.
Pros: Great Value, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Detail
Cons: flust bolt doesnt work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Timpiano
from Weaverville, NC

Heavy and good quality

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The door arrived on time for us to have it installed during our stay here. It's a vacation home and we have been upgrading. The door is great, BUT two words of caution:
The woodgrain interior was harder to finish than anticipated. The instructions say it should be done parallel (on sawhorses) prior to installation. Since it was already installed that wasn't an option...also one door is stationary, so there remains a strip between the doors that is still unstained. I'm not sure we'll ever find a way to remove it and stain it..the process takes four full days, BTW. Also the installer didn't figure out how to raise the movable door (little plugs cover the rollers on the bottom, and can be raised with a screwdriver). Once I let out the left roller to max, the door opened without jumping and raising off the track. All told, we love the door but it presented some challenges. Oh, and we're still trying to find out how to buy a screen.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
phoenix

These doors look great and were fairly easy to install.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed 2 of these doors and the look is fantastic. I look all over to find something paintable with in my budget these doors look and feel great I would highly recommend them. I only wish they made an 8' set of door as I still have a set not replaced and that they came with a screen I can't seem to find one that fits
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Charlie
from DC metropolitan

Good Product, Excellent Price

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't want to spend a ton of money, since other windows and doors in this house are not top-of-the-line. Bonus point for having all the lock and handle hardware pre-installed. You will invariably have to adjust the slider bearings; both my doors were dragging on the bottom immediately after install. Also beware you need to purchase screens separately.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
ddma
from arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very pleased - beautiful door!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our carpenter said he will keep this product in mind when recommending to others that are looking for great looking quality doors at a very reasonable price!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Keith

Wood grained composite material was nice

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Had some trouble getting the latch to work properly and some idiot from the factory ran a screw thru the side of the track (from attaching the wood for shipping), but door operated smoothly and the customer was happy. Did not use the "fins" to surface mount the door...they didn't snap onto the door like I thought they should.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
dldbbll
from columbia sc

excellent and very solid door.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent and very solid door. It will take some time and detail to paint the interior so that the trim felt is not painted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Doug
from Arlington, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Updated Review- Great Customer Service

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. Composite White Right-Hand Sliding Patio Door with Smooth Interior
This is a follow-up to my post from a few weeks ago. I had noted some problems with the lock that I wasn't sure whether this was due to installer problem or door hardware problem. Turns out it was an installer issue. There's actually an adjustable screw that controls how far out the lock extends, so you can get it to seat perfectly with the lock "keeper." My installers just completely missed this.
More importantly, this gives me an opportunity to comment on the exceptional customer service from Masterpiece. Apparently in response to seeing my review, the Masterpiece sales manager (Jim) proactively reached out to me to see if they could get someone to come by and fix it for me. Yes, you heard me right, I didn't contact them to complain- they contacted me!!! Within a couple days, they had their rep (Ian), also great, out here and got it fixed within just a few minutes. He also did some cleanup of some excess silicone around the glass panes that, frankly, I hadn't even noticed. That just reflects a sense of pride in the product and desire for the customer to have the best product possible that you just don't see too often. Very happy, so I am upgrading my score overall to 5. I am also posting a couple additional photos to specifically show the lock "keeper" now properly installed and point out the screw that controls the extension of the lock.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
40out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Tousam
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All around great door for the price, works like a champ!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. Composite White Right-Hand Sliding Patio Door with Smooth Interior
I love the handle and locking mechanisms. Door rolls smooth and it was easy to install. It's been 2 weeks already and not one issue.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, added locking pin
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Russ
from Catharpin, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A good quality door for the money.

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. Composite White Left-Hand Sliding Patio Door with Smooth Interior
This door has some nice features that you will not find in other doors at this price. The wide stiles provide a nice look, There is a good key lock, and the flip-style bolt lock at the top provides security without the old "charley bar" across the door. I have installed a lot of sliding doors, and this is one of the easiest, and most hassle free that I have worked with.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
HDshopper
from South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Door!

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. Composite White Right-Hand Sliding Patio Door with Smooth Interior
It feels much more substantial, and looks better than most doors that cost a lot more. Excellent sliding mechanism. I really like the composite material since this door replaced a rotted, wooden door. I also like that it's paintable to match existing exterior and interior trim, and I'm not limited to the manufacturer's color choices. The guys who installed it had no more issues than with any other replacement project, and were also very complimentary of the door. I am very happy that Master Piece now offers a matching screen - especially after reading reviews from those who struggled to find a screen that fit.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. White Left-Hand Composite Gliding Patio Door with Woodgrain Interior
Pastorbart1
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The door lived up to the advertised description!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:71-1/4 in. x 79-1/2 in. Composite White Right-Hand Sliding Patio Door with Smooth Interior
This is a basic slider, and it functions well. The quality of the manufacturing is evident as well as the planning that went into preparing it for you and I to install. I am a basic "don't know your left hand hammer from your right hand hammer " kind of guy. It went in like a dream. It looks good and does it,s job. I would recommend MasterPiece doors for ease of installation, looks and funtionality.
Pastor Bart
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>