728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Closet Organizers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

A perfect start towards complete home organization from Martha Stewart Living. This kit is for any 4 ft.-8 ft. wide space. It's simple to add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets, and accessories to this Starter Kit. Hardware is included for convenient installation.
Overall rating:
4.27 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(385 reviews) 383
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product318 of 357reviews
Rating Breakdown 385 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(217)
4
(106)
3
(30)
2
(13)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product318 of 357reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Review 1 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Stains cloud MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

closet project

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The quality of the material is excellent. Not to difficult to install if you have knowledge of construction . End result fabulous closet. Biggest complaint was delivery. It was sent in a 53 foot semi that had to leave it at the end of my drive. I had to manually haul it out of the snow in very cold weather. The driver said they should have transferred it to a smaller truck that could have delivered it to my door. If I had refused it it would have been sent back He was not able to arrange to transfer to a smaller truck. Poor shipping details
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Lisle, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great product!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fairly simple to install... very flexible product allowing you to adjust for non-standard closet heights and widths. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to improve and organize their closet. Caution, the edges of the laminate boards can be pretty sharp - handle with care.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Very sturdy and easily adjustable

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I chose this product because it is completely wall supported and does not touch the floor. It took 2 people about 4 hours to assemble in our 8' x 9' closet. The system is very sturdy and the hardware that comes with it is high quality. The shelves are particle board, but they look high end.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Well built, looks high end once installed.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the Martha Stewart closet system. We purchased many of the different pieces to fill a 15 foot walk-in (30 feet of closet components). The kit went together easy and was fairly simple to install. The only complaint I have is that the closet design tool is misleading. You cannot install two sections next to each other that contain drawers but the design tool lets you design your closet that way. However, my closet looks amazing and looks like I spent much more than I did.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Functional, Looks High End
Cons: design tool is not accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Maysville, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great quality for the price

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this system to complete our Master bedroom and Master closet remodel. I wasn't too sure of the quality to expect for this price point, especially after looking at many similar systems that were a lot more expensive. I bought the 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit, 72 inch Espresso Hanging Starter Closet Kit, 48 in. Espresso Vertical Panels (2-Pack), 4 of the 24 inch Espresso Shelves (2-Pack), 4 of the 35 inch Espresso Shelves (2-Pack) and an additional 32 inch closet System Rail. This allowed me to have 1 wall of that included 96 inches of double hanging, and 24 inches of long hanging for my wife’s dresses. It also gave me two 72 inch towers, one tower with 24 inch shelves and one tower with 35 inch shelves. My decision in what to buy was based on using the Martha Stewart closet design website. After I entered my room dimensions and edited the recommendation to suit our needs, the website gave me the list of things I needed to buy through Home Depot’s website. I was able to install the entire closet system by myself in under 2.5 hours (My pregnant wife watch silently in amazement from our bed). I think the most difficult part for most people will be cutting the metal rails to the correct size. The instructions suggest using a hacksaw. Fortunately for me I just bought a Dremel 4200 on Black Friday that came with a metal cutting wheel that made short work of cutting the rails for me. I think the photos do not do justice to the completed project. But my toughest critics (the lovely wife) absolutely loves who new closet. She even shares part of it with me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Inexpensive and functional closet system.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This closet system is a quick and inexpensive fix for a more organized closet. My local Home Depot did not carry the espresso finish, so I ordered on-line. I was sent a previously opened box with no instructions and cracked shelves. The problem was taken care of, but be forewarned about the quality control for this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: pressed board
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA

LOVE my new closet!!!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did not expect this quality from a box... I LOVE my new closet and it looks like a million bucks - but was a FRACTION of the estimates we rec'd from other closet retailers...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great closet system!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this system. I installed one unit on each side of my closet which is only 59 1/2 inches wide and was afraid I wouldn't have enough room to walk in between them well enough with the clothes hanging up, but it actually works out. I did screw the 48" side panels to the end walls for extra support. The finish is good on the units and easy to install if you have any handy gal skills at all. Do inspect your boxes before leaving the store if you plan on going home and installing them right away and have a long drive back to the store. One unit was perfectly fine, and the other had a 48" vertical panel missing, cleat missing, and one of the 14" x 24" shelves had been ripped down to 12"x 24", as well as the supports were 4 of the 32" supports instead of 2 of the 48" supports. I called the toll free number on the instruction sheet and was shipped out replacement parts so I did not have to return to the store one way trip over an hour away. I did purchase extra 24" shelves and some 35" shelves as well. I love the desgin being up off the floor.....awesome!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Florida

Excellent design tool and well made

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very impressed with the online design tool for this product. The product is well made and fits together well. The drawers (sold separately) have slides that allow the drawer to come all the way out and they roll extremely well. I highly recommend this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from London, OH 43140, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

We were pleased with the product and the experience.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We built a new walk-in closet and needed a complete closet organizer build out. We shopped on line extensively before makinG our final decision. The web site was one of the best we worked with and the personal support was personable and helpful. Great value and experience
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

White closet

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought two of these in white for two 5ft reach in closets. The materials are cheap and flimsy particle board. The portion holding all of the weight does not seem sturdy limiting the amount of clothes I am comfortable hanging. The picture online shows a middle divided with racks for clothing on each side. With a closet that's only 5 feet you will need to reconfigure this so the middle portion is off to one side leaving you with top and bottom racks on one side vs two.
Not what I expected at all. Disappointed in the two purchases. Originally wanted the Allen Roth lowes set but it did not come in a true white.
Wish I saw the parts in person before purchasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Looks great and easy to install

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation very easy. Layout was the only time-consuming part. Pay special attention to the location of the studs and the proposed panel location. Not "Cadillac quality" materials, but not "Kia" either. Somewhere in the middle, but the grea price makes the value unbeatable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Florida

Completed in one day

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with the product. The direction are somewhat kind of confusing but happy with the end result. I would recommend this to anyone and even a newby can do it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Nice product

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 2 of these units on either side of our walk-in closet. The instructions are easy to follow, and the installation itself is pretty straight forward too. However, if you just buy the starter kit itself, I found that the short end pieces on either side are not really stable. You need to buy a bunch of packs of shelves to screw into the tops and middle to stabilize the whole unit, or get some brackets to attach the short ends to the wall. That being said, I still ended up paying way less than any custom closet place, and the closet is AWESOME!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
16out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Central California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best closet deal on the internet

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions, although simple, were a little confusing. But after reading them several times, I understood what they were going for. I added a little more screws to the wall than what was called for. I like things sturdy. But it looks great and it is basically the same closet system that you can pay more on those internet sites. This is a better deal with the optional drawers etc.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

OBSESSED!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
LOVE THIS! EXCELLENT VALUE! Super easy to install, so many possible configurations. Got one for my closet, one for my husbands, and plan on buying one for my sister as a 'house warming gift' for their first home (being renovated and has small closets that need maximized). I have had it installed for about 2 weeks and I'm still stoked every time I go to my closet!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Ghent, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

This seems to be a good product, but not what i expected.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased several different pieces that covered in excess of 25' of wall space. Delivery was a real pain that got ugly at times. I was expecting a product that was all wood, but this product is particle board. With all the boxes I had, it was a bit overwhelming, but by taking my time and reading directions, installation proved to be easy. It was time consuming because there was so much of it (over $1600), but it went together with ease. And while there may have been a few hiccups along the way, I am happy with the finished product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: particle-board construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Easier than I thought

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this to put in a guest bedroom on a wall.
It took us just under 2 hours to complete and I'm very happy with it.
My only disappointment is the way the pieces were packaged, as we were putting it together some of the panels and brackets were scratched and/or bent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Great product, Great price.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased an entire master closet full of this stuff, and paid a friend to install it. I watched him do most of it, and it looked pretty easy. This product is just a laminate on top of particle board, but it's pretty sturdy. We purchased it in the 'espresso' color, which is a dark brown. We were most impressed by how professional it looked with the corner shelves and drawers; those dressed it up the most. You can buy the D1 or D2 kits as your base, and then add on pieces as needed. Just draw out your dimenions on paper, and make a list. I found a coupon online that saved a bunch, plus it had free shipping. Beats driving to the store and hauling it all home. Some tips:
1.) we hung ours 8 inches off the floor (everything hangs on a metal horizontal bracket that you mount first, which is why the rest is pretty easy). That still allowed my wife to reach the top hanging rods, and also left us room on the floor to sweep and/or put shoes.
2.) In the picture, the D1 and D2 kits appear to have a top shelf. They DO NOT. The top piece you see is the closet rod, and the 2nd horizontal item is the mounting bracket. We knew this, so I ordered extra shelving in either 24 or 36 inches, and my friend installed a top shelf all around the top of the closet; gives you LOTS more storage for bins on top, etc. Also note: in the D1 and D2 kits, the middle section has vertical pieces that are full-height, but the sides do not. If you plan to buy several kits or place some side by side, you may need to purchase adt'l 48 inch vertical pieces if your adjacent section will have shelves or drawers in the lower half. That's what we did and it worked fine.
3.) The drawers fit in the 24 inch width areas (and 2 depths of drawers are available. Get the 8 inch. The smaller ones won't hold much). The hanging rods can go all the way to about 35 inches, at which they rate the load at a max of 35 lbs. I just started hanging clothes, and it appears it will handle at least that much. You can beef up the mounting if you need to, for the rods.
4.) The price seems really cheap, until you actually total the complete list for a decent size closet. However, it is STILL much cheaper than having a professional company install it, even when paying a friend to install it. Do it yourself and save even more.
5.) I had some vertical sections that I wanted, that had drawers side-by-side (3 drawers in a 24 inch section right beside another section of 3 drawers). I had to have each section have its OWN vertical side piece in order to make the drawers be at the exact same height, side-by-side. If you only use one piece of vertical wood as the middle piece, because of the holes required to mount drawers, they would have been one hole higher or lower for the adjacent section (you can't use the same hole in just one piece of wood to mount the same thing, at the same height, on both sides of the board). Just a note; if you want a professional installed look, make sure to have enough vertical pieces (which have holes for the pegs or mounting screws up the entire length).
6.) Overall, I'm very impressed. We did a lot of research, at several stores and calling custom closet companies. I knew my friend was very capable of installing them, and it is saving me a lot of time. The product is as-described, is a good value for the money, and in this color, really looks impressive. I would recommend it and will probably buy more for the kids' closets. Again, to make it really look nice, add some corner shelves (which have a rounded edge at the inside corner; look at a picture) or at least some drawers. The drawer fronts are really good looking and come with nice metal pulls in a sort of pewter look. Regarding the whole thing: My wife said 'it's awesome', which pretty much is the best endorsement I can provide.
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

easy to use

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the Martha Stewart closet design system to get an idea of what I needed. Don't be fooled by the picture of the starter set, it is a really really good idea to add the top shelves. We put 2 starter sets against side walls and it was not sturdy until we added those top shelves. It is very simple to put up and quite sturdy! We added 3 shoe racks stacked on top of each other. It really maximizes our space in a beautiful way!! We have an odd shaped closet and this was really easy to setup and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>