728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

A perfect start to complete closet organization, this smart, versatile design fits any closet 4-8 ft. wide. You can easily add drawers, baskets and accessories (all sold separately) to this starter kit to build the closet you've always wanted. This organizational solution will allow you to keep all your personal items off the floor and out of your way.
Overall rating:
4.285 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(421 reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product350 of 391reviews
Rating Breakdown 421 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(242)
4
(113)
3
(31)
2
(14)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product350 of 391reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Review 1 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Stains cloud MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

closet project

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The quality of the material is excellent. Not to difficult to install if you have knowledge of construction . End result fabulous closet. Biggest complaint was delivery. It was sent in a 53 foot semi that had to leave it at the end of my drive. I had to manually haul it out of the snow in very cold weather. The driver said they should have transferred it to a smaller truck that could have delivered it to my door. If I had refused it it would have been sent back He was not able to arrange to transfer to a smaller truck. Poor shipping details
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Very sturdy and easily adjustable

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I chose this product because it is completely wall supported and does not touch the floor. It took 2 people about 4 hours to assemble in our 8' x 9' closet. The system is very sturdy and the hardware that comes with it is high quality. The shelves are particle board, but they look high end.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Well built, looks high end once installed.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the Martha Stewart closet system. We purchased many of the different pieces to fill a 15 foot walk-in (30 feet of closet components). The kit went together easy and was fairly simple to install. The only complaint I have is that the closet design tool is misleading. You cannot install two sections next to each other that contain drawers but the design tool lets you design your closet that way. However, my closet looks amazing and looks like I spent much more than I did.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Functional, Looks High End
Cons: design tool is not accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Inexpensive and functional closet system.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This closet system is a quick and inexpensive fix for a more organized closet. My local Home Depot did not carry the espresso finish, so I ordered on-line. I was sent a previously opened box with no instructions and cracked shelves. The problem was taken care of, but be forewarned about the quality control for this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: pressed board
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA

LOVE my new closet!!!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did not expect this quality from a box... I LOVE my new closet and it looks like a million bucks - but was a FRACTION of the estimates we rec'd from other closet retailers...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great closet system!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this system. I installed one unit on each side of my closet which is only 59 1/2 inches wide and was afraid I wouldn't have enough room to walk in between them well enough with the clothes hanging up, but it actually works out. I did screw the 48" side panels to the end walls for extra support. The finish is good on the units and easy to install if you have any handy gal skills at all. Do inspect your boxes before leaving the store if you plan on going home and installing them right away and have a long drive back to the store. One unit was perfectly fine, and the other had a 48" vertical panel missing, cleat missing, and one of the 14" x 24" shelves had been ripped down to 12"x 24", as well as the supports were 4 of the 32" supports instead of 2 of the 48" supports. I called the toll free number on the instruction sheet and was shipped out replacement parts so I did not have to return to the store one way trip over an hour away. I did purchase extra 24" shelves and some 35" shelves as well. I love the desgin being up off the floor.....awesome!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Lisle, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great product!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fairly simple to install... very flexible product allowing you to adjust for non-standard closet heights and widths. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to improve and organize their closet. Caution, the edges of the laminate boards can be pretty sharp - handle with care.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from London, OH 43140, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

We were pleased with the product and the experience.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We built a new walk-in closet and needed a complete closet organizer build out. We shopped on line extensively before makinG our final decision. The web site was one of the best we worked with and the personal support was personable and helpful. Great value and experience
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Florida

Excellent design tool and well made

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very impressed with the online design tool for this product. The product is well made and fits together well. The drawers (sold separately) have slides that allow the drawer to come all the way out and they roll extremely well. I highly recommend this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Maysville, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great quality for the price

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this system to complete our Master bedroom and Master closet remodel. I wasn't too sure of the quality to expect for this price point, especially after looking at many similar systems that were a lot more expensive. I bought the 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit, 72 inch Espresso Hanging Starter Closet Kit, 48 in. Espresso Vertical Panels (2-Pack), 4 of the 24 inch Espresso Shelves (2-Pack), 4 of the 35 inch Espresso Shelves (2-Pack) and an additional 32 inch closet System Rail. This allowed me to have 1 wall of that included 96 inches of double hanging, and 24 inches of long hanging for my wife’s dresses. It also gave me two 72 inch towers, one tower with 24 inch shelves and one tower with 35 inch shelves. My decision in what to buy was based on using the Martha Stewart closet design website. After I entered my room dimensions and edited the recommendation to suit our needs, the website gave me the list of things I needed to buy through Home Depot’s website. I was able to install the entire closet system by myself in under 2.5 hours (My pregnant wife watch silently in amazement from our bed). I think the most difficult part for most people will be cutting the metal rails to the correct size. The instructions suggest using a hacksaw. Fortunately for me I just bought a Dremel 4200 on Black Friday that came with a metal cutting wheel that made short work of cutting the rails for me. I think the photos do not do justice to the completed project. But my toughest critics (the lovely wife) absolutely loves who new closet. She even shares part of it with me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Looks great and easy to install

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation very easy. Layout was the only time-consuming part. Pay special attention to the location of the studs and the proposed panel location. Not "Cadillac quality" materials, but not "Kia" either. Somewhere in the middle, but the grea price makes the value unbeatable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Paramount, CA

Looks Good and Functional

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fairly easy to assemble, although the directions are not super clear. It did take two adult males to put it together. It looks a thousand times better than the old wooden bar and shelves that were falling apart. The high and low bars fit all my clothes (and I have A LOT) and support the weight with no problem. Looks fantastic and I would highly recommend!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: instructions somewhat unclear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Closet is So Organized!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like it very much. Make sure you know what pieces you will need. Planning it critical. You may need to buy an extra "Kit" as single pieces are not sold. Also know that there are not pieces for the top, so you cannot create a top shelf. We used a different board to create a top shelf for extra storage. Easy to install, very sturdy!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Nice product

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 2 of these units on either side of our walk-in closet. The instructions are easy to follow, and the installation itself is pretty straight forward too. However, if you just buy the starter kit itself, I found that the short end pieces on either side are not really stable. You need to buy a bunch of packs of shelves to screw into the tops and middle to stabilize the whole unit, or get some brackets to attach the short ends to the wall. That being said, I still ended up paying way less than any custom closet place, and the closet is AWESOME!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
16out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Florida

Completed in one day

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with the product. The direction are somewhat kind of confusing but happy with the end result. I would recommend this to anyone and even a newby can do it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

We Love The Finished Product - Not Easy To Assemble

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We ended up buying five sections of this closet to put in our walk in closet (16' long) and we absolutely love the finished product. The only negative is it takes time and patience to put it together. If you have the money to hire a handyman to do it for you I would recommend it because it took me 8 hours to put all the sections and drawers together so I could hang it on the wall. If It's only one section I can't imagine it would take too long to put together by yourself. All in all it looks great!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, takes a lot of time to put together
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Mount Pleasant
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Good purchase

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good purchase, easy of installation, good dollar value, nice appearance
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from noblesville, in
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Deluxe starter closet kit

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Relatively easy to install
Good value
Lots of flexibility with regard to design
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: online design tool could be more flexible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

OBSESSED!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
LOVE THIS! EXCELLENT VALUE! Super easy to install, so many possible configurations. Got one for my closet, one for my husbands, and plan on buying one for my sister as a 'house warming gift' for their first home (being renovated and has small closets that need maximized). I have had it installed for about 2 weeks and I'm still stoked every time I go to my closet!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
from Lewisville, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Martha Stewart Closet System

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is made of quality parts. The instructions are easy to follow.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>