728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Closet Organizers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

A perfect start towards complete home organization from Martha Stewart Living. This kit is for any 4 ft.-8 ft. wide space. It's simple to add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets, and accessories to this Starter Kit. Hardware is included for convenient installation.
Overall rating:
4.345 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product117 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(85)
4
(33)
3
(12)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product117 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Review 1 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
JS52
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Inexpensive and functional closet system.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This closet system is a quick and inexpensive fix for a more organized closet. My local Home Depot did not carry the espresso finish, so I ordered on-line. I was sent a previously opened box with no instructions and cracked shelves. The problem was taken care of, but be forewarned about the quality control for this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: pressed board
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
McKinneyMoM
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Well built, looks high end once installed.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the Martha Stewart closet system. We purchased many of the different pieces to fill a 15 foot walk-in (30 feet of closet components). The kit went together easy and was fairly simple to install. The only complaint I have is that the closet design tool is misleading. You cannot install two sections next to each other that contain drawers but the design tool lets you design your closet that way. However, my closet looks amazing and looks like I spent much more than I did.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Functional, Looks High End
Cons: design tool is not accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
rmlaia
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Very sturdy and easily adjustable

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I chose this product because it is completely wall supported and does not touch the floor. It took 2 people about 4 hours to assemble in our 8' x 9' closet. The system is very sturdy and the hardware that comes with it is high quality. The shelves are particle board, but they look high end.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Blknse
from Florida

Completed in one day

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with the product. The direction are somewhat kind of confusing but happy with the end result. I would recommend this to anyone and even a newby can do it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
TJSW
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great closet system!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this system. I installed one unit on each side of my closet which is only 59 1/2 inches wide and was afraid I wouldn't have enough room to walk in between them well enough with the clothes hanging up, but it actually works out. I did screw the 48" side panels to the end walls for extra support. The finish is good on the units and easy to install if you have any handy gal skills at all. Do inspect your boxes before leaving the store if you plan on going home and installing them right away and have a long drive back to the store. One unit was perfectly fine, and the other had a 48" vertical panel missing, cleat missing, and one of the 14" x 24" shelves had been ripped down to 12"x 24", as well as the supports were 4 of the 32" supports instead of 2 of the 48" supports. I called the toll free number on the instruction sheet and was shipped out replacement parts so I did not have to return to the store one way trip over an hour away. I did purchase extra 24" shelves and some 35" shelves as well. I love the desgin being up off the floor.....awesome!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
MeTV
from London, OH 43140, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

We were pleased with the product and the experience.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We built a new walk-in closet and needed a complete closet organizer build out. We shopped on line extensively before makinG our final decision. The web site was one of the best we worked with and the personal support was personable and helpful. Great value and experience
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
mwagner7700

Looks great and easy to install

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation very easy. Layout was the only time-consuming part. Pay special attention to the location of the studs and the proposed panel location. Not "Cadillac quality" materials, but not "Kia" either. Somewhere in the middle, but the grea price makes the value unbeatable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
kp123
from Florida

Excellent design tool and well made

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with the online design tool for this product. The product is well made and fits together well. The drawers (sold separately) have slides that allow the drawer to come all the way out and they roll extremely well. I highly recommend this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
LMFF
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA

LOVE my new closet!!!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not expect this quality from a box... I LOVE my new closet and it looks like a million bucks - but was a FRACTION of the estimates we rec'd from other closet retailers...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Rednarb
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Looks great. Simple installation.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pros:
Really adds a nice look to the closet.
Installation is easy for one person, though having a 2nd set of hands will make it go even better.
Online planning is limited but very useful.
Drawer kits are very solid and have good quality ball bearing sliders.
Cons:
It's particle board.
Plan to paint the mounting rails the same color as your walls so they are a little less obvious.
Difficult to plan out if you have a non-standard shaped closet.
If you want 2 sections side-by-side with shelves at the same level then you need a 2nd vertical side piece where they butt up together.
maximum width of a hanging area is only 35" so you can't plan for long sections of just hanging areas.
It seems a little pricy for particle board. The drawer kits and multiple shelves add up quickly too.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: particle board
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Karen
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This product is a good value compared to cost.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This closet organizer was relatively easy to install and appears to be very sturdy and durable. It can be custom fit to your space and designed for your needs. I am very happy with the appearance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
LoveMyCLosetNow

Nice product

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 2 of these units on either side of our walk-in closet. The instructions are easy to follow, and the installation itself is pretty straight forward too. However, if you just buy the starter kit itself, I found that the short end pieces on either side are not really stable. You need to buy a bunch of packs of shelves to screw into the tops and middle to stabilize the whole unit, or get some brackets to attach the short ends to the wall. That being said, I still ended up paying way less than any custom closet place, and the closet is AWESOME!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
atlantatraveler
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

easy to use

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the Martha Stewart closet design system to get an idea of what I needed. Don't be fooled by the picture of the starter set, it is a really really good idea to add the top shelves. We put 2 starter sets against side walls and it was not sturdy until we added those top shelves. It is very simple to put up and quite sturdy! We added 3 shoe racks stacked on top of each other. It really maximizes our space in a beautiful way!! We have an odd shaped closet and this was really easy to setup and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks High End, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Kalz

Nice and easy

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice and stylish closet. Easy to install if u follow the manual. Only issue im used to getting the manual in the box, this one i git from the net, but easy to find and follow.. But at the end it Fits well and i will reorder for other closets in the house
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Fran2013
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Exactly what I hoped it would be and More!

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My handy man just completed installing the starter kit. It was easy and I actually could have done it myself. We selected Expresso and it looks very rich. We have decided to use this system for the other closets in our home.
As per the tip from a previous reviewer, I purchased extra shelving so that we could cover the top of this system. If you look closely to the picture you will notice that there is not a top shelf, so you might like to add the additional shelving.
This system is very flexible in that the side vertical panels can stand alone or brace against side walls. I my case, one of the vertical panels was braced against the right wall and the left panel was a stand alone because I had another shelving unit on that side.
The handyman nailed the bottom shelf to add additional support to the middle section. Feel free to improvise.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
deez
Age Range:25 to 34

great product!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughters closet less room. She loves it, its very sturdy, and the space for organizing is just what we were looking for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Carole
from Hershey, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Easy to design

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to design and I like the result for the price. Not high quality ,but it serves the purpose. Multiple boards were damaged due to insufficient packaging,but Home Depot replaced with no problem.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Christopher

Great product, Great price.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased an entire master closet full of this stuff, and paid a friend to install it. I watched him do most of it, and it looked pretty easy. This product is just a laminate on top of particle board, but it's pretty sturdy. We purchased it in the 'espresso' color, which is a dark brown. We were most impressed by how professional it looked with the corner shelves and drawers; those dressed it up the most. You can buy the D1 or D2 kits as your base, and then add on pieces as needed. Just draw out your dimenions on paper, and make a list. I found a coupon online that saved a bunch, plus it had free shipping. Beats driving to the store and hauling it all home. Some tips:
1.) we hung ours 8 inches off the floor (everything hangs on a metal horizontal bracket that you mount first, which is why the rest is pretty easy). That still allowed my wife to reach the top hanging rods, and also left us room on the floor to sweep and/or put shoes.
2.) In the picture, the D1 and D2 kits appear to have a top shelf. They DO NOT. The top piece you see is the closet rod, and the 2nd horizontal item is the mounting bracket. We knew this, so I ordered extra shelving in either 24 or 36 inches, and my friend installed a top shelf all around the top of the closet; gives you LOTS more storage for bins on top, etc. Also note: in the D1 and D2 kits, the middle section has vertical pieces that are full-height, but the sides do not. If you plan to buy several kits or place some side by side, you may need to purchase adt'l 48 inch vertical pieces if your adjacent section will have shelves or drawers in the lower half. That's what we did and it worked fine.
3.) The drawers fit in the 24 inch width areas (and 2 depths of drawers are available. Get the 8 inch. The smaller ones won't hold much). The hanging rods can go all the way to about 35 inches, at which they rate the load at a max of 35 lbs. I just started hanging clothes, and it appears it will handle at least that much. You can beef up the mounting if you need to, for the rods.
4.) The price seems really cheap, until you actually total the complete list for a decent size closet. However, it is STILL much cheaper than having a professional company install it, even when paying a friend to install it. Do it yourself and save even more.
5.) I had some vertical sections that I wanted, that had drawers side-by-side (3 drawers in a 24 inch section right beside another section of 3 drawers). I had to have each section have its OWN vertical side piece in order to make the drawers be at the exact same height, side-by-side. If you only use one piece of vertical wood as the middle piece, because of the holes required to mount drawers, they would have been one hole higher or lower for the adjacent section (you can't use the same hole in just one piece of wood to mount the same thing, at the same height, on both sides of the board). Just a note; if you want a professional installed look, make sure to have enough vertical pieces (which have holes for the pegs or mounting screws up the entire length).
6.) Overall, I'm very impressed. We did a lot of research, at several stores and calling custom closet companies. I knew my friend was very capable of installing them, and it is saving me a lot of time. The product is as-described, is a good value for the money, and in this color, really looks impressive. I would recommend it and will probably buy more for the kids' closets. Again, to make it really look nice, add some corner shelves (which have a rounded edge at the inside corner; look at a picture) or at least some drawers. The drawer fronts are really good looking and come with nice metal pulls in a sort of pewter look. Regarding the whole thing: My wife said 'it's awesome', which pretty much is the best endorsement I can provide.
+45points
46out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
LBandBB
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

Great Value

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Martha Stewart system is perfect for the consumer who is looking for the custom feel without the custom price. The product is made from quality materials and looks nice when completed. The only downside is that you cannot make all the shelves even from section to section because of the screws. We have been able to fit about three times the volume in our TINY walk-in closet since adding this system vs our original bar and wire rack closet. This was a great investment for our townhouse!
Pros: Durable, Functional, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. - 8 ft. Espresso Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
AverageNYjoe
from Times Square, Manhattan, NY 10036, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Looks great, easy-to-assemble, with a helper.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy box, helper is indispensable. Not for newbies.
Lots of procedures, but detailed instructions easy to understand and follow. Important to locate studs for secure installation.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>