728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral

8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral

Update the look of your kitchen with the sophisticated and dramatic design of the Hampton Bay 96 in. laminate Valencia Jeweled Coral laminate countertop. This countertop provides a virtually seamless appearance and the built-in backsplash provides practically no crevices where dirt and grime collect. The full-wrap edge helps provide a classic and pleasant appearance. The laminate material is scratch- and stain resistant and requires minimal maintenance for easy upkeep.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
Review 1 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
from Lebanon, OR 97355, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High end finished look!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a U shaped kitchen which makes for a challenge when choosing countertops. But we're die-hard DYI people so we chose the Jeweled Coral laminate, and the unfinished stock oak cabinets from Home Depot and brought them home for our complete kitchen remodel in our 112 year old house.(The copper sink and backsplash are from there, too!) The edging and texture of the countertop really make it look like granite at first glance. I have to agree with a couple of the other reviews though--take your time and use a file, not an electric sander, or you'll regret it. Also, check your countertop VERY closely at the store for bowing. We didn't realize our 10 foot piece was bowed until after we'd cut two 45 degree angles on it, and routered out the underside for the mounting and joining anchors and set it in place. We managed to make it work but it was really disheartening. But the end result was AMAZING, and I would highly recommend it, just pick carefully at the store.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome look and super inexpensive!!!!!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
what more could you want from an inexpensive laminate? it looks great and is easy to install. the only problem is that we waited so long to do it! we did have to inspect the boards in stock at the local store, some were warped, but once you get the good ones, the hardest part was transporting them home in the pick-up truck!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral

Nice countertops, especially for the $$$

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the price you really can't beat it. The finish is very high quality and the cut on the front lip adds a level of attractiveness. We had a handyman-type cut and install these countertops. One word of caution is to ensure you only use a metal file or hand sand the edges of the counter once they are cut. On the initial install the handyman used a powered hand sander and made a mess of the edges and he had to replace the countertops at his expense. It wasn't a large amount of $ but cost us another week in delays and kitchen down-time.
Also, if you are picking this product up at the store, be sure to closely check the edges and backsplash for damage.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral

Worth it for a quick finish

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wife and I were finishing our kitchen on a budget. We saw this countertop at our local home depot. It looks great and with the finished edges it has a very finished appearance. My only issue was that with the long lengths of counter top, they tend to bow a bit. Not to much of an issue but you need to really need to push and pull to get the corners to line up. And I think it would be a good idea for Hampton Bay to make a molded finish edge for the ends I stead of a flat end cover.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be sure to check this out at STORE!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews here, and looked at the photos, and was not too inspired. But went and checked it out in the store, and it is beautiful. It has coral in the name, but is not coral, more of a mix of neutrals, with tan, brown, cream, black, grey, and small spots of coral. But it is not busy looking at all. And the great part is that it goes with many colors of paint, because the paint pulls out whatever color it is. Also it goes with many colors of cabinets.
It looks very much like granite, at one tenth of the price. I wasn't even planning on replacing my kitchen countertops until my contractor said that the newer prefab stuff is nice. But once I saw it, I bought it with no reservations. It was extremely economical.
If you have tons of money to remodel your kitchen, get granite, or quartz. If you want something nice and are on a tight budget, get this. My kitchen is 20 years old, with still nice cabinets. This countertop, a new faucet, and new cabinet knobs made it look like a modern kitchen. And the total cost was less than $1500. I'm very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Nice Design, high end look for low end price
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
from Orange, MA

counter top

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My husband and I just had this counter installed in our kitchen. The front has a nice cut that you would pay xtra for. Looks great installed.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Updated Kitchen with new countertop

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This countertop was easy to install and looked nice overall. My only problem was putting on the end pieces, the countertop chipped when I sanded them down. Probably from my lack of experience installing this product.
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
from GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice countertops

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed this countertop with the unfinished oak cabinets. Also installed pine floor. Stained the cabinets & floor with Gunstock stain. It is beautiful. The redness coming from the stain makes the countertop POP! My husband installed it & did a great job!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral

This product is beautiful and all that I expected.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very happy when this counter arrived. It was just what I was looking for.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AVOID !!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The way it is stacked in store it bows and from one piece to another they do not matchup
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. Valencia Laminate Countertop in Jeweled Coral
from TX
Age Range:65 or over

This countertop is beautiful

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a great counter-top for our new bathroom vanity. Very attractive and seems durable.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.