728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler

18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler

The Ryobi 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler shoots brad nails up to 1-1/4 in. and staples up to 9/16 in. to handle a wide variety of fastening applications. The tool's easy-to-load magazine accommodates up to 100 nails or 100 staples, helping you tackle larger nailing or stapling projects. A depth adjustment knob makes it easy to adjust the nail/staple depth to suit your individual need. A plug-in lanyard is included for convenient transport.
Overall rating:
3.241 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product18 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product18 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
Review 1 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Houston, TX

Great for small to medium size jobs

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to put up Tyvek. Compared to lugging around an air compressor, the Ryobi is easy to use and does a decent job driving in 3/8" and 1/2" staples. Drove in a few thousand staples; only jammed once and was easy to clear.
Battery life on this seems better than other Ryobi One tools. Able to drive about 400 staples per charge using the standard (non-lithium) battery. Since the (spare) battery fully recharges in under 30 minutes I did not have a problem with this.
While not a replacement for a heavy-duty gun on larger projects, the lightweight size without cords or air hoses makes it a breeze to use.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Wausau, WI

Good Stapler for Light to Medium Jobs

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this stapler for putting chicken wire around my garden on pine posts.
It can be heavy with the 18V Nicads, but it gets the job done. I have to set the depth gauge all the way down to get good penetration and the safety button on the staple head can be a pain when using fencing, but you'll figure out a technique that works for you like I did.
It lasts all day on a charge with even the basic Nicad packs. Must run for days if you use the Lithiums.
Beats hand stapling any time. Would never go back to using a regular gun after this one.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but not great

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price and the fact that this nailer works with the standard Ryobi battery, it's pretty good. However, depending on what you're nailing, it may not have the power to sink a brad, even on the highest setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Northern Delaware
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In line with the other Ryobi battery pack tools

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I primarily bought this nailer/stapler to attach wire fencing to a "horse" plank fence. I would have to say that it is performing as I anticipated. Not as powerful as an electric nailer, but comparable to other tools in this line. I've had a few staples jam, but no more than on a swingline paper stapler. Easily cleared and kept on with the task. I gave the product 4 out of 5s across the board because it performed in line with what I expected from this type of nailer, Not better nor worse. The lone exception is a positive. The battery pack lasted much longer than with other tools. I will say that the weight does start to take a toll. Without a scale handy, I'd say with the battery pack (standard non-lithium), it must way 7 or 8 lbs. All in all, I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Bergen County, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT FOR DIYers

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is more for DIYers or weekend warriors, being great for small jobs or around the house jobs. Put up trim around a doorway and base molding in a bedroom, had to follow up with a hammer cause the brads weren't flush, but that didn't bother me cause it was still faster than just using a hammer alone. It gives you the ability to hammer in a nail (brad) with one hand allowing you to hold the trim with the other. I never had a problem using it with staples, it always put the staple completely into whatever I was stapling. I purchased this because I did not want to deal with a compressor and hoses. It works great for me, and makes my jobs around the house much easier. Will begin to jam as the battery weakens and takes some getting used to, as it will mar soft wood if you press down too hard. I do recommend this because it is fairly easy to use. The biggest plus is that it's cordless so you can take it anywhere.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, cordless, compatible with ryobi 18v, easy to load
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Great Bend, KS

Doesn't put the nails in

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it, tried to nail some trim in, and it would not put the 1 1/4" or 3/4" nails all the way in. Left them out about 1/4". I took it back and got another on, thinking I had a bad one, the second one did the same thing. I hate lugging the air hoses around, but this 18V tool does not cut it.
I use a lot of the 18V tools from Ryobi, and love them, this one is a BIG disappointment. Don't waste your money on this one.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Massapequa, NY 11758, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless for moldings

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cant even shoot a 3/4 inch brad nail completely into the wall molding even with the highest setting. i had to bury the head with the hammer. returning this and getting a corded one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from waukegan

Good

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Its good for small jobs, but you need electricity for the big jobs because the brads dont always go all the way down and you have to have a hammer to seal the job.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helped complete repair quickly

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to replace some old siding and repair a garage door before I could finish painting my garage. I'm very awkward with a hammer and nails, so decided the brad nailer was just the ticket! It worked well, although I need to play with the adjustment a bit more to get the brads in flush with the surface. Got the repairs done in minutes that would have taken a long time the old-fashioned way. I'm already planning to finish some other projects and begin new ones (porch railings). My son is waiting in line to try it on his projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler

It works when needed

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not a tool to use everyday for all your nailing needs, but it will tack small pieces together and is fine for minor baseboard and trim install and repair.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Branchville, NJ

Great nailer/stapler

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ive used the brad nails much more than the staples but even with the staples, this thing is amazing, i mean of course it doesn't force it in the whole way, but it does a great job in soft materials. i would definitely recommend this to any of you buyers, 5 stars
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Manteca, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good useful addition to my arsenal

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the nailer to work on some upolstery. It works just fine! I can imagine that limitations might present themselves under continuous use but I don't anticipate using it that way.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Arlington, Tx

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this item to add to my ryobi tools and was pleased at first, but after stapling 8 or 9 times the staples
would jam on the gun and I'd have to use a pair of long nose pliers to pull the broken nails out. did it to me approximately 4 or 5 times. took it back and had it exchanged, no problem since. I like the ease of using the different size brads on the stapler when using thin boards and thicker boards.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from FLORIDA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for light home use

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is ok for very light home use. Don't expect the same performance as a full size nailer gun.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Yucaipa, Ca.

Could be better

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one a purchased broke after 6 brads.
The second one has not broke down yet, but does not drive 1" brads completely. I have to hammer them in the rest of the way. Still better than having to lug around a compressor and hose. Still not the best.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from South Dakota

it's usable

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I find the cycle time a little slow. you pull the triger and you wounder if it's ever going to work. that and your guessing were you put the staple. but so far it has been worth the asking price to have one that will set the brad in true with the convenience of battery operated. it just not a get the job done fast tool.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler

Good for small jobs

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to install crown molding and it was not strong enough to drive the brad all the way in. Home Depot allowed me to return it and a Ryobi miter saw (that had no box due to a fire) without any questions asked. Home Depot is great to deal with!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Naples, FL

Ryobi 18-Volt One+ Cordless Nailer/Stapler

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product functions very well as I expected for me, a casual handyman homeowner.
I especially like Ryobi's vast selection of ONE+ 18-volt products; ALL use the same form factor 18-volt battery system. A very smart idea, Ryobi!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Galveston, Texas

Great for a first time user

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a staple/nail gun before, but this was easy to use and I have not had any problems with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt Cordless Nailer/Stapler
from Ephrata, WA 98823, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

happy with this tool

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this product to finish my kitchen cabinets. Nailing thru red oak and knotty pine. Nails went in good. Using the 1 1/4" brads that came with it, all that had to be done was to tap about 1/8" of remaining brad in with hammer. Very satisfied with this tool. Definately worth the money I paid for it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>