728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

The Homax Products 12 in. Ceiling Texture Scraper features a unique bag attachment to help capture falling debris. It is designed to remove unwanted popcorn ceiling texture. The 12 inch blade scrapes large areas - complete a room in 30 minutes or less.
Overall rating:
3.058 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product28 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product28 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Review 1 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It don't work

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product don't work, because don't have blade, so don't strip easily the pop corn of the ceiling.
Cons: very heavy, very had, don't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 27, 2015By Homax Customer CareMarch 27, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. For best results we recommend spraying the popcorn with water to soften the texture so it is easier to scrape. If you need further assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 2 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

This product really works and helps with the mess!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product really kept the mess of scraping popcorn to a minimum. We have scraped a ceiling without it in the past and the mess was huge. With this scraper, most of the mess did actually go into the bag! We emptied the bag a couple of times, as it would get heavy. The only downside is that you can't get all the way to the wall with it. We will continue to use this scraper for the rest of the house!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: can't get the edges of the ceiling
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Invention!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've used this before with great success; it still works fine. Because we have SO many rooms to scrape we bought another one--just in case. Didn't want to be in the middle of that messy job and have it break. This tool helps make this job so much easier and cleaner (no way to avoid a huge mess with this job).
I'm very grateful to the person who suggested just emptying the bag when it got too heavy and not changing it every time (ashamed to admit I didn't think of that). That saves a LOT of time.
If the clips that come with this tool break or get lost, those small office-type binder clips work very well to hold the bag on.
Been hoping my fairy godmother would stop by some time and finish the other rooms, but so far, she hasn't been here....
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Memphis TN Area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality tool for a messy job

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a well made and designed tool for scraping popcorn from ceilings. The tool includes an attachment for hanging a plastic bag to catch the ceiling debris. The tool will not reach effectively into corners and a small scraper will be needed for any detail work. The secret to easy use is making sure the popcorn is very well dampened - wet, but not soaked. A hand spray bottle is not sufficient and a garden type sprayer is recommended. If you're doing a big area, skip the baggie and just cleanup disposable ground covers afterwards. Also, wear eye protection!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ceiling texture scraper

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The trick to having success with this tool is ensuring the ceiling is very damp. I purchased a two gallon pump sprayer from Home Depot to apply water and vinegar. I guess the vinegar breaks down the popcorn texture. I added half hot water and half white vinegar to the sprayer’s container, pumped and sprayed until the ceiling was very damp and soaked. I placed a plastic bag to the scraper and attached it with clips to hold the bad in place. The ceiling came off with little effort. The plastic bags have to be replaced often make sure you have plenty of them. I removed popcorn from my entire house in about seven hours, with little effort and mess.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Loved It!!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have never scraped or painted anything in my life. But I decided I wanted to scrape that ugly popcorn texture off my ceiling. It wasn't as hard as I expected it to be. Yes the texture did get on the floor but it wasn't that bad....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Not worth it.

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just finished stripping popcorn from about 1200 sq ft of ceiling. I bought this and had a 6" puddy knife laying around. After about 50 sq ft this tool was laying on the ground and the puddy knife was used for the rest. Put some plastic down and collect the popcorn at the end. The bag is too much hassle, and the tool does not reach the edges of the ceiling b/c of the way it is designed, so you'll need a puddy knife anyway. When used, it does not remove the popcorn cleanly - it removes more in the middle of the tool and less toward the edges. The puddy knife was sharper and removed the popcorn more cleanly. I spent $20 on it so I tried to use it b/c i felt obligated to myself to at least get some of my money's worth out of it. I wish I could have spent that $20 on some paint.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014
Charliethecat- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience. If we can be of any help to you please contact homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Response from By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014
Charliethecat- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience. If we can be of any help to you please contact homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Review 8 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

homax ceiling scraper

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had 1966 mega popcorn ceilings and this products was no match to them. Unfortunately,
we didn't have much success with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 9, 2015By Homax Customer CareApril 9, 2015
kdawg- Thank you for your feedback. This should remove any popcorn texture from ceilings. Since it has been on there for many years the easiest way would be to spray the ceiling with water and let it sit for a few minutes and scrape off with the scraper. If you need further assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 9 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scraper

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
FFG! 8 inch scraper taped to shop vac works great!
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 7, 2015By Homax Customer CareApril 7, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. If you need any assistance please contact homax@ppg.com. Homax
Review 10 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wow... what a time-saving tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have scraped popcorn ceilings in the past -- what a messy, dirty job that will make your neck sore! I saw this tool and decided to try it. I have a new "best friend" for scraping popcorn ceilings. After using my pump sprayer to dampen with water, the popcorn just falls in to the plastic bag attached to the scraper with very little effort. I used plastic "grocery bag" and dumped into a 5 gallon bucket when it got heavy so I never had to change bags while scraping I did a 12x12 room in less than a 40 minutes -- AND NO MESS! The little clips that attach the plastic bag to the scraper is the only reason I don;t give it a 5 star rating. When they break, I'll use office "clips" to hold the bag to the scraper. .
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from the villages, fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not use it for entire home

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It worked for small projects or small rooms but your arms will feel like they are falling off if you try to do a whole home.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Wethersfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tool works perfectly

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wet your popcorn with a pump sprayer shortly before scraping. Do one section at a time. Attach small plastic bag to your scraper. Bag should hold only a few pounds between emptying. Spend the time to attach it well, it should last the whole job. Scrape slowly and firmly. Tool works perfectly as long as your procedure is correct. The wetting process is the key to success followed by a well attached bag. Use all the clips provided and some masking tape helps to reinforce the bag.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Don't listen to the negative reviews. This product is awesome.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very convenient...very easy to use. Folks you have to use common sense, if you are scraping popcorn ceiling, even with a bag attached to the scraper, you are going to get SOME residue on your floor. Come on! Overall, it is a very good tool and did not take a lot of muscle power. Highly recommend. I would rate this a 10 if I could.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Wyoming
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked as advertised with very little popcorn on the floor.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Coconut Creek
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not really do the job

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product at the Home Depot in Coconut Creek, FL after reading the reviews here. It was easier to use a putty knife and a bucket to remove the popcorn ceiling. I made sure the ceiling was plenty wet before trying this tool and it just did not do the job. I really tried to give it a chance, but had to move on.
Cons: not easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 10, 2015By Homax Customer CareFebruary 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. I apologize you were not satisfied. If you need assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 16 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blade is at a good angle. Modified.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Forget the bag. A little duct tape and cardboard and I hooked it up to a shop vac. Worked like a charm. Had someone spray the ceiling ahead of me and the ceiling was clean in no time.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a bag is useless
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Mesa, AZ

Ok to use

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after scraping one ceiling in the house with my drywall knife. I decided with the mess the drywall knife made, this would be much easier.
Unfortunately, I do not feel this met my standards I had in mind. You need to put a lot of water on the ceiling to even get the scraper to do its job. It does catch the material pretty well, so less mess. The blade continued to bend with too much pressure, would have to constantly bend it back. Bag gets really heavy, need to dump often.
If you don't already own a drywall knife and a ladder then this would be a good tool to buy. Less mess, although can't reach the corners due to the bag holder, so you still need some type of knife to get the edges. Still is work to do the ceiling, defiantly did not get done in 30 min like the thing states. Took about 2 hours for a 17' x 13' room.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Howell, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the mess to a minimum.

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this thinking it was going to be a major undertaking with a large cleanup to follow. I was wrong! Did a 400 square foot room in about 5 hours including cleanup. Too bad I don't have another room to do. It was a one time purchase well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Oviedo, FL

Virtually useless

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looks good in theory but ultimatley not worth the money or hassle.
The concept of having a bag to collect the strips of removed ceiling texture as you scrape is fine for the first few feet of work. Once the bag collects a pound or more of waste, as you apply force to the scraper the weight of the bag and your momentum causes the bag to swing and bounce pulling the scraper blade away from the the work surface. Now you have to continually change bags to keep them light enough to have any benefit.
Do yourself a favor, take the time to cover everything with plastic sheeting and just use a normal scraper, let it fall on the plastic covered floor, roll it all up and throw it away. I got more done with a 4 inch wide putty knife then I did with this "contraption".
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Tampa, Florida

Time and mess saving tool.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool for efficiently moving popcorn ceilings with very little mess. I have an issue with working in dusty areas. There is practically no mess or dust when this product is used as directed.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>