728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Buckets & Tools or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Home>

Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

The Homax Products 12 in. Ceiling Texture Scraper features a unique bag attachment to help capture falling debris. It is designed to remove unwanted popcorn ceiling texture. The 12 inch blade scrapes large areas - complete a room in 30 minutes or less.
Overall rating:
3.062 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product17 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product17 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Review 1 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
ehack

This product really works and helps with the mess!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really kept the mess of scraping popcorn to a minimum. We have scraped a ceiling without it in the past and the mess was huge. With this scraper, most of the mess did actually go into the bag! We emptied the bag a couple of times, as it would get heavy. The only downside is that you can't get all the way to the wall with it. We will continue to use this scraper for the rest of the house!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: can't get the edges of the ceiling
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Frank
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ceiling texture scraper

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trick to having success with this tool is ensuring the ceiling is very damp. I purchased a two gallon pump sprayer from Home Depot to apply water and vinegar. I guess the vinegar breaks down the popcorn texture. I added half hot water and half white vinegar to the sprayer’s container, pumped and sprayed until the ceiling was very damp and soaked. I placed a plastic bag to the scraper and attached it with clips to hold the bad in place. The ceiling came off with little effort. The plastic bags have to be replaced often make sure you have plenty of them. I removed popcorn from my entire house in about seven hours, with little effort and mess.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
TampaGrandma
from Tampa, Florida

Time and mess saving tool.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for efficiently moving popcorn ceilings with very little mess. I have an issue with working in dusty areas. There is practically no mess or dust when this product is used as directed.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Anonymous
from Wethersfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tool works perfectly

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wet your popcorn with a pump sprayer shortly before scraping. Do one section at a time. Attach small plastic bag to your scraper. Bag should hold only a few pounds between emptying. Spend the time to attach it well, it should last the whole job. Scrape slowly and firmly. Tool works perfectly as long as your procedure is correct. The wetting process is the key to success followed by a well attached bag. Use all the clips provided and some masking tape helps to reinforce the bag.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
USMC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool for scraping popcorn ceilings

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found an ordinary grocery plastic bag to work great. Just clip on and change out when full. I save these plastic bags for small trash cans and now for this project. No extra cost for this project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Shelly

Not everything it was cracked up to be.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This project is messy any way you do it. It was just as easy to use a wide putty knife. I had already put plastic on everything I could so you might as well just go with the putty knife. Tool was a pain changing the bags to catch residue, then I tried it just using the tool but you could not get enough pressure on it. Save yourself $20.00 and go the other way and plan on cleaning up a mess. But it seemed like it would work!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareJanuary 23, 2014By Homax Customer CareJanuary 23, 2014
Shelly,
When using the Ceiling Texture Scraper, you will find that it is easier to remove the texture when it is wet. We recommend working in small areas of approximately 4 ft. x 4 ft., using a trigger spray bottle or garden sprayer filled with clean water to thoroughly moisten the texture you wish to remove. Wait 2-3 minutes. This will allow a much easier removal of the texture. If you have any questions, we can be contacted at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 7 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
retired856oregonian
from eugene, oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Some jobs have to be done the hard way

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure what went wrong but at first it worked great then it was hard to use. Husband gave up and went back to just a putty knife. We thought the ceiling was very wet and we wanted to not stand on a
ladder due to balance problems. Will probably return this to store. 10" drywall was easier to use. We do recommend using a pump sprayer rather than a squeeze bottle to save your hands.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: bag confuses your line of site, kept coming off screw handle every 4 minutes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 24, 2014By Homax Customer CareMarch 24, 2014
retired856oregonian,
When using the Ceiling Texture Scraper, we recommend holding the tool almost parallel (15° angle) to the ceiling (a step stool may be helpful), begin to scrape using even pressure and long, smooth strokes. The Homax Ceiling Texture Scraper works best to remove “unpainted” acoustic ceiling texture. If your texture has been painted, it may require more than one pass. If you have further questions, please call 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 8 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Khorne

Don't listen to the negative reviews. This product is awesome.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very convenient...very easy to use. Folks you have to use common sense, if you are scraping popcorn ceiling, even with a bag attached to the scraper, you are going to get SOME residue on your floor. Come on! Overall, it is a very good tool and did not take a lot of muscle power. Highly recommend. I would rate this a 10 if I could.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
tbennett85
from Billings, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow - this worked way better than I expected

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow - this worked way better than I expected
The only thing it was lacking was a supply of bags
I used plastic grocery bags and they worked well- any bigger and it would have gotten way to heavy to deal with.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Lags
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works as advertised. Make sure you wet the popcorn ceiling and let it penetrate before you start. If you have high ceilings I found it difficult to use an extension pole and achieve the proper angle to scrape the ceiling. Also don't use too large of a bag to collect the waste. It will only weigh you down. Small bags which you can empty or replace work better.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Codder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blade is at a good angle. Modified.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Forget the bag. A little duct tape and cardboard and I hooked it up to a shop vac. Worked like a charm. Had someone spray the ceiling ahead of me and the ceiling was clean in no time.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a bag is useless
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
JimD
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides BIG reduction in the mess

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rated the quality only average because the scrapping part of the tool is carbon steel with some sort of finish that had thick globs at one end. Not the best for lifting the popcorn. It worked fine, however. I plain putty knife (I used 6 inch and 3 inch occasionally) was easier to control, partially because I could see it. But this tool is still easy to use and the bag gets over 90 percent of the mess. You have to empty to bag fairly often both because the clips have limited holding power and also just because it makes the tool heavy to carry an extra pound of material in the bag. I used one bag to do a room of about 500 square feet, however. It isn't at all hard to empty the bag which I typically did while waiting on the water to soak in. I bagged several heavy bags full of debris and have only a little to sweep up on the floor and I did one section (that appeared to have been painted) pretty much without the bag. If I had done the whole ceiling with the bag I don't know if it would have made sense to even put plastic on the floor. You still have to edge with another tool but you can get most if the debris in the trash bag with this tool. I recommended this to a coworker with more experience taking off popcorn and he bought one and thinks it is useful too. It makes removing the popcorn slightly harder (but still not hard) but makes cleanup much easier.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Carolyn
from Valdosta, GA, USA

This works great.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Captures the debris in the bag. It has a coated edge and does not scratch ceiling. Great tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Sleykin
from Medford, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful idea poorly executed.

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade is too wide and requires too much force to start scraping. So much force the handle bends. I gave up and used a 3" putty knife and it came off easily. Had they made the blade no more than 4" it would probably work great.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor engineering
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareOctober 11, 2013By Homax Customer CareOctober 11, 2013
Sleykin,
For easy removal of popcorn ceiling texture, we recommend wetting the texture with a trigger spray bottle full of water in a 4 ft. X 4 ft. area and letting is soak for 2 to 3 minutes. This will allow the texture to be removed more easily. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 15 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Smitty

Product worked well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
product worked as described. made the job little easier
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no purchases in store had to order online .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
HandywomanNat
from Mesa, AZ

Ok to use

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after scraping one ceiling in the house with my drywall knife. I decided with the mess the drywall knife made, this would be much easier.
Unfortunately, I do not feel this met my standards I had in mind. You need to put a lot of water on the ceiling to even get the scraper to do its job. It does catch the material pretty well, so less mess. The blade continued to bend with too much pressure, would have to constantly bend it back. Bag gets really heavy, need to dump often.
If you don't already own a drywall knife and a ladder then this would be a good tool to buy. Less mess, although can't reach the corners due to the bag holder, so you still need some type of knife to get the edges. Still is work to do the ceiling, defiantly did not get done in 30 min like the thing states. Took about 2 hours for a 17' x 13' room.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
DIYdiva
from Fort Worth, TX

A general mess

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even after spraying small areas before scraping, more "popcorn" ended up on my floor and head than the bag that was attached, and my ceilings had scrapes and dents. Not enough pressure = dust and bits of popcorn everywhere but the bag. Regular pressure = popcorn clinging on for dear life, but ceiling somehow being dented. It was a great concept and I really thought it would work. I'm pretty bummed that it doesn't because I don't want to pay someone to do what I thought I could easily do on my own.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareDecember 2, 2013By Homax Customer CareDecember 2, 2013
DIYdiva,
When using the Homax Popcorn Ceiling Scraper, we do recommend that you dampen the texture and let it soak for a few minutes before scraping. You can use a trigger spray bottle or garden sprayer filled with clean water to thoroughly moisten texture you wish to remove. This will allow the texture to me removed more easily and without damaging your drywall. Thank you for your input.Homax
Review 18 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
meho
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable thing

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought that the bag would save me some cleaning. In practice, the bag quickly becomes heavy and it takes considerable efforts to apply force, on top of that heavy swinging bag resulted in more damage to the drywall as the knife corners hit the ceiling surface and left dents. The option of attaching bag is the key feature of the scraper, and failed for me.
The blade is wide, so I had to put a lot of pressure to achieve desired effect and I found that I need to use smaller putty knife to do finer leveling.
I am about to try a wide putty knife instead.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareNovember 13, 2013By Homax Customer CareNovember 13, 2013
meho,
Ceiling texture is removed more easily when wet so we recommend that you use a trigger spray bottle or garden sprayer filled with clean water to thoroughly moisten texture you wish to remove. Wait 2-3 minutes and then scrape off texture. You can also use a smaller trash bag to collect the loose texture. If you need further assistance, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Homax
Review 19 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
HomeNewb
from Fremont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible waste of money

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Purchased one and used it to realize that the bag attachment only captures 50% of the popcorn ceiling. The rest still falls to the ground which means you still have to tarp your floors. The neck bent from poor construction. I purchased a 2nd thinking it was a fluke, but that one was just as bad. Pay a fraction of the cost and just get a regular 12" paint scraper.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
TheProjectWife

Worthless Tool

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I couldn't even use it to scrap anything off! Because of the width of the scraper, I felt I had to exert extra force to even get a fraction of an inch of the ceiling off. Overall, it left my arms more tired that using a putty knife and it left gouges in the ceiling because of the having to hold your wrist at the perfect angle while scraping (you can't see what you are scraping due to the bag being in your line of vision).
Just use a 4" angled putty knife/scraper, lots of water, and plastic sheets on the floor, and save yourself the money, arm aches, and ceiling repair.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 >>