728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Buckets & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

The Homax Products 12 in. Ceiling Texture Scraper features a unique bag attachment to help capture falling debris. It is designed to remove unwanted popcorn ceiling texture. The 12 inch blade scrapes large areas - complete a room in 30 minutes or less.
Overall rating:
3.051 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product21 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product21 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Review 1 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

This product really works and helps with the mess!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really kept the mess of scraping popcorn to a minimum. We have scraped a ceiling without it in the past and the mess was huge. With this scraper, most of the mess did actually go into the bag! We emptied the bag a couple of times, as it would get heavy. The only downside is that you can't get all the way to the wall with it. We will continue to use this scraper for the rest of the house!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: can't get the edges of the ceiling
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ceiling texture scraper

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trick to having success with this tool is ensuring the ceiling is very damp. I purchased a two gallon pump sprayer from Home Depot to apply water and vinegar. I guess the vinegar breaks down the popcorn texture. I added half hot water and half white vinegar to the sprayer’s container, pumped and sprayed until the ceiling was very damp and soaked. I placed a plastic bag to the scraper and attached it with clips to hold the bad in place. The ceiling came off with little effort. The plastic bags have to be replaced often make sure you have plenty of them. I removed popcorn from my entire house in about seven hours, with little effort and mess.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wow... what a time-saving tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have scraped popcorn ceilings in the past -- what a messy, dirty job that will make your neck sore! I saw this tool and decided to try it. I have a new "best friend" for scraping popcorn ceilings. After using my pump sprayer to dampen with water, the popcorn just falls in to the plastic bag attached to the scraper with very little effort. I used plastic "grocery bag" and dumped into a 5 gallon bucket when it got heavy so I never had to change bags while scraping I did a 12x12 room in less than a 40 minutes -- AND NO MESS! The little clips that attach the plastic bag to the scraper is the only reason I don;t give it a 5 star rating. When they break, I'll use office "clips" to hold the bag to the scraper. .
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Wethersfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tool works perfectly

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wet your popcorn with a pump sprayer shortly before scraping. Do one section at a time. Attach small plastic bag to your scraper. Bag should hold only a few pounds between emptying. Spend the time to attach it well, it should last the whole job. Scrape slowly and firmly. Tool works perfectly as long as your procedure is correct. The wetting process is the key to success followed by a well attached bag. Use all the clips provided and some masking tape helps to reinforce the bag.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Eh...putty knife worked better

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It looked promising, felt durable and handy, but after trying it out, it was awkward to use. A lot of the mess from the ceiling did go into the bag, but it got heavy on the wrist. It still creates dust and mess no matter what, so you're better off just covering your walls and floors with painter's plastic and letting the mess fall. I tried a flexible 4" putty knife, and it was 10x better. I had a flexible 2" putty knife in one hand and a 4" putty knife in the other, and I was able to move right along (after lightly spraying ceiling with hot water and waiting only about a minute). This device can't get into corners or where the wall meets ceiling, it doesn't scrape cleanly, and you're going to be constantly changing bags. Word of advice: wear goggles and mask.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 11, 2014By Homax Customer CareJune 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. You can change out the bag whenever needed to lighten the load. I would recommend covering the area as any texture you try to remove can create some dust. If you need further assistance please contact homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Review 6 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Don't listen to the negative reviews. This product is awesome.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very convenient...very easy to use. Folks you have to use common sense, if you are scraping popcorn ceiling, even with a bag attached to the scraper, you are going to get SOME residue on your floor. Come on! Overall, it is a very good tool and did not take a lot of muscle power. Highly recommend. I would rate this a 10 if I could.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKS.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does work as advertised. But, I'm working with 20 year old drywall. And I don't think this tool was ment for that old a drywall. But overall I am satisfied with the product.
Pros: Easy Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 26, 2014By Homax Customer CareJune 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. To help make the scraping easier we recommend spraying the ceiling with water. This should make the job easier for you.Homax
Review 8 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Tampa, Florida

Time and mess saving tool.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for efficiently moving popcorn ceilings with very little mess. I have an issue with working in dusty areas. There is practically no mess or dust when this product is used as directed.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

These are terrible!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Buy a drywall scraper and just cover everything up and deal with the clean up. These were not helpful and you will spend most of the time fiddling with the bag clips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 21, 2014By Homax Customer CareAugust 21, 2014
Rachel- Thank you for your feedback. If you have questions regarding how to use the product please contact us at homax@homaxproducts.com we would be happy to assist.Homax
Review 10 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolute great buy!!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product truly made a difference in getting our ceiling popcorn down with a lot less of a mess. There were still a few dots on the floor, but no where near what is was in the room before this purchase. I would totally recommend this over and over again.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blade is at a good angle. Modified.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Forget the bag. A little duct tape and cardboard and I hooked it up to a shop vac. Worked like a charm. Had someone spray the ceiling ahead of me and the ceiling was clean in no time.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a bag is useless
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Mesa, AZ

Ok to use

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after scraping one ceiling in the house with my drywall knife. I decided with the mess the drywall knife made, this would be much easier.
Unfortunately, I do not feel this met my standards I had in mind. You need to put a lot of water on the ceiling to even get the scraper to do its job. It does catch the material pretty well, so less mess. The blade continued to bend with too much pressure, would have to constantly bend it back. Bag gets really heavy, need to dump often.
If you don't already own a drywall knife and a ladder then this would be a good tool to buy. Less mess, although can't reach the corners due to the bag holder, so you still need some type of knife to get the edges. Still is work to do the ceiling, defiantly did not get done in 30 min like the thing states. Took about 2 hours for a 17' x 13' room.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Fremont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible waste of money

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Purchased one and used it to realize that the bag attachment only captures 50% of the popcorn ceiling. The rest still falls to the ground which means you still have to tarp your floors. The neck bent from poor construction. I purchased a 2nd thinking it was a fluke, but that one was just as bad. Pay a fraction of the cost and just get a regular 12" paint scraper.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Oviedo, FL

Virtually useless

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looks good in theory but ultimatley not worth the money or hassle.
The concept of having a bag to collect the strips of removed ceiling texture as you scrape is fine for the first few feet of work. Once the bag collects a pound or more of waste, as you apply force to the scraper the weight of the bag and your momentum causes the bag to swing and bounce pulling the scraper blade away from the the work surface. Now you have to continually change bags to keep them light enough to have any benefit.
Do yourself a favor, take the time to cover everything with plastic sheeting and just use a normal scraper, let it fall on the plastic covered floor, roll it all up and throw it away. I got more done with a 4 inch wide putty knife then I did with this "contraption".
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Worthless Tool

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I couldn't even use it to scrap anything off! Because of the width of the scraper, I felt I had to exert extra force to even get a fraction of an inch of the ceiling off. Overall, it left my arms more tired that using a putty knife and it left gouges in the ceiling because of the having to hold your wrist at the perfect angle while scraping (you can't see what you are scraping due to the bag being in your line of vision).
Just use a 4" angled putty knife/scraper, lots of water, and plastic sheets on the floor, and save yourself the money, arm aches, and ceiling repair.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Not everything it was cracked up to be.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This project is messy any way you do it. It was just as easy to use a wide putty knife. I had already put plastic on everything I could so you might as well just go with the putty knife. Tool was a pain changing the bags to catch residue, then I tried it just using the tool but you could not get enough pressure on it. Save yourself $20.00 and go the other way and plan on cleaning up a mess. But it seemed like it would work!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJanuary 23, 2014By Homax Customer CareJanuary 23, 2014
Shelly,
When using the Ceiling Texture Scraper, you will find that it is easier to remove the texture when it is wet. We recommend working in small areas of approximately 4 ft. x 4 ft., using a trigger spray bottle or garden sprayer filled with clean water to thoroughly moisten the texture you wish to remove. Wait 2-3 minutes. This will allow a much easier removal of the texture. If you have any questions, we can be contacted at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 17 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides BIG reduction in the mess

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rated the quality only average because the scrapping part of the tool is carbon steel with some sort of finish that had thick globs at one end. Not the best for lifting the popcorn. It worked fine, however. I plain putty knife (I used 6 inch and 3 inch occasionally) was easier to control, partially because I could see it. But this tool is still easy to use and the bag gets over 90 percent of the mess. You have to empty to bag fairly often both because the clips have limited holding power and also just because it makes the tool heavy to carry an extra pound of material in the bag. I used one bag to do a room of about 500 square feet, however. It isn't at all hard to empty the bag which I typically did while waiting on the water to soak in. I bagged several heavy bags full of debris and have only a little to sweep up on the floor and I did one section (that appeared to have been painted) pretty much without the bag. If I had done the whole ceiling with the bag I don't know if it would have made sense to even put plastic on the floor. You still have to edge with another tool but you can get most if the debris in the trash bag with this tool. I recommended this to a coworker with more experience taking off popcorn and he bought one and thinks it is useful too. It makes removing the popcorn slightly harder (but still not hard) but makes cleanup much easier.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from newport news VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good tool

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to use works well a good tool to have with you
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the idea of if

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the idea of it because that is a very messy job, but didn't use. Couldn't see what you was doing so you end up digging to deep into ceiling, just used plastic putty knives instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 14, 2014By Homax Customer CareMay 14, 2014
Newby- Thank you for your review. For best results, hold the tool almost parallel (15° angle) to the ceiling (a step stool may be helpful), begin to scrape using even pressure and long, smooth strokes. The Homax Ceiling Texture Scraper works best to remove “unpainted” acoustic ceiling texture. If your texture has been painted, it may require more than one pass. If you have questions regarding its use please contact us at homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Review 20 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use,light weight

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the popcorn ceiling scraper in a home i bought 2200 sq. ft.It did a great job you need to be careful or it can nick the sheetrock. Once you get the nack it works great. I did not like to use the bag to catch the popcorn it got to heavy after just a few minutes took to long to stop and empty. It was much simpler to just sweep it up. Overall a great tool
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>