728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Buckets & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

The Homax Products 12 in. Ceiling Texture Scraper features a unique bag attachment to help capture falling debris. It is designed to remove unwanted popcorn ceiling texture. The 12 inch blade scrapes large areas - complete a room in 30 minutes or less.
Overall rating:
3.07 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product31 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product31 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Review 1 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

This product really works and helps with the mess!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product really kept the mess of scraping popcorn to a minimum. We have scraped a ceiling without it in the past and the mess was huge. With this scraper, most of the mess did actually go into the bag! We emptied the bag a couple of times, as it would get heavy. The only downside is that you can't get all the way to the wall with it. We will continue to use this scraper for the rest of the house!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: can't get the edges of the ceiling
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is worth it!

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After scraping our kitchen ceiling and cleaning up the mess it made, I was looking for something to help prevent such a mess. This tool definitely made it better. There still will be a little that falls to the floor, but not nearly as bad as if you didn't use this. It takes a little longer to scrape since you'll need to stop and empty your bag. We used a grocery store plastic bag. Some people mentioned that they lost their clips, but we did not have an issue with that. It does not allow you to scrape all the way to the wall. This was not a issue with us since we are installing crown molding. I recommend this product and will use it again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Invention!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've used this before with great success; it still works fine. Because we have SO many rooms to scrape we bought another one--just in case. Didn't want to be in the middle of that messy job and have it break. This tool helps make this job so much easier and cleaner (no way to avoid a huge mess with this job).
I'm very grateful to the person who suggested just emptying the bag when it got too heavy and not changing it every time (ashamed to admit I didn't think of that). That saves a LOT of time.
If the clips that come with this tool break or get lost, those small office-type binder clips work very well to hold the bag on.
Been hoping my fairy godmother would stop by some time and finish the other rooms, but so far, she hasn't been here....
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Memphis TN Area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality tool for a messy job

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a well made and designed tool for scraping popcorn from ceilings. The tool includes an attachment for hanging a plastic bag to catch the ceiling debris. The tool will not reach effectively into corners and a small scraper will be needed for any detail work. The secret to easy use is making sure the popcorn is very well dampened - wet, but not soaked. A hand spray bottle is not sufficient and a garden type sprayer is recommended. If you're doing a big area, skip the baggie and just cleanup disposable ground covers afterwards. Also, wear eye protection!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Abita springs, La
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

made it easy to get popcorn off ceiling

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This made taking the popcorn off the ceiling of our house pretty easy. I used a plastic grocery bag with the 6 clips that come with it to catch most of the stuff that came off the ceiling. Tried to use with extension pole but found I gouged the ceiling so took off the pole and use step ladder to get up to the ceiling.
Had read how some people could not get close the the walls but I found if you keep pushing it toward the wall it would get all the way to it. The corners were the only place that was hard to get put that area was so small I just use a putty knife to do that part.
would recommend putting drop clothes down and plastic to close off other rooms. It is still little messy, we had to luxury having already removing all the carpets and laminate floor before doing this.
I was able to do a 12x 12 room in about a half hour emptying the bag after doing half the room. Simply holding the bottom of the bag then turning it upside down into trash can.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ceiling texture scraper

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The trick to having success with this tool is ensuring the ceiling is very damp. I purchased a two gallon pump sprayer from Home Depot to apply water and vinegar. I guess the vinegar breaks down the popcorn texture. I added half hot water and half white vinegar to the sprayer’s container, pumped and sprayed until the ceiling was very damp and soaked. I placed a plastic bag to the scraper and attached it with clips to hold the bad in place. The ceiling came off with little effort. The plastic bags have to be replaced often make sure you have plenty of them. I removed popcorn from my entire house in about seven hours, with little effort and mess.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It don't work

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product don't work, because don't have blade, so don't strip easily the pop corn of the ceiling.
Cons: very heavy, very had, don't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 27, 2015By Homax Customer CareMarch 27, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. For best results we recommend spraying the popcorn with water to soften the texture so it is easier to scrape. If you need further assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 8 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Massena NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ceiling scraper

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great product for the job. It took time to scrape the ceiling but having this product it reduced the time for clean up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from North Little Rock, AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

May not really be worth it.

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for this product and it may work just fine for you. The popcorn I was trying to remove had been painted with what appeared to be a generous coating of gloss or semi-gloss paint, making the popcorn stubborn. This product wouldn't really take it off. I had better luck with my 6" taping knife, though of course that means cleaning up a little more mess.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJuly 1, 2015By Homax Customer CareJuly 1, 2015
ChillyDawg- Thank you for your feedback. If the ceiling is painted for better luck we recommend spraying the ceiling, letting it sit for 5-10 minutes or so and that should soften the texture allowing the product to come off easier. If you need assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 10 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Loved It!!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have never scraped or painted anything in my life. But I decided I wanted to scrape that ugly popcorn texture off my ceiling. It wasn't as hard as I expected it to be. Yes the texture did get on the floor but it wasn't that bad....
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wow... what a time-saving tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have scraped popcorn ceilings in the past -- what a messy, dirty job that will make your neck sore! I saw this tool and decided to try it. I have a new "best friend" for scraping popcorn ceilings. After using my pump sprayer to dampen with water, the popcorn just falls in to the plastic bag attached to the scraper with very little effort. I used plastic "grocery bag" and dumped into a 5 gallon bucket when it got heavy so I never had to change bags while scraping I did a 12x12 room in less than a 40 minutes -- AND NO MESS! The little clips that attach the plastic bag to the scraper is the only reason I don;t give it a 5 star rating. When they break, I'll use office "clips" to hold the bag to the scraper. .
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Wethersfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tool works perfectly

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wet your popcorn with a pump sprayer shortly before scraping. Do one section at a time. Attach small plastic bag to your scraper. Bag should hold only a few pounds between emptying. Spend the time to attach it well, it should last the whole job. Scrape slowly and firmly. Tool works perfectly as long as your procedure is correct. The wetting process is the key to success followed by a well attached bag. Use all the clips provided and some masking tape helps to reinforce the bag.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Don't listen to the negative reviews. This product is awesome.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very convenient...very easy to use. Folks you have to use common sense, if you are scraping popcorn ceiling, even with a bag attached to the scraper, you are going to get SOME residue on your floor. Come on! Overall, it is a very good tool and did not take a lot of muscle power. Highly recommend. I would rate this a 10 if I could.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Special popcorn scraper tool

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product supposed to easily scrape and then deposit the residue in a bag you attach with clips to the frame of the scraper. The problem was that the scraper part would not evenly touch the surface. It seemed to be bowed so that it would not evenly scrape. This causes the user to try to correct for the bow by adding pressure to flatten the blade against the surface. This results in too may gouges. When I switched to a standard mud blade, the scraping was much easier and no gouges. I will be taking this product back for refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 27, 2015By Homax Customer CareApril 27, 2015
Wholigan- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your blade was bent, it shouldn't remove texture unevenly. Perhaps you got a defective one. If you need assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 15 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

Not worth it.

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just finished stripping popcorn from about 1200 sq ft of ceiling. I bought this and had a 6" puddy knife laying around. After about 50 sq ft this tool was laying on the ground and the puddy knife was used for the rest. Put some plastic down and collect the popcorn at the end. The bag is too much hassle, and the tool does not reach the edges of the ceiling b/c of the way it is designed, so you'll need a puddy knife anyway. When used, it does not remove the popcorn cleanly - it removes more in the middle of the tool and less toward the edges. The puddy knife was sharper and removed the popcorn more cleanly. I spent $20 on it so I tried to use it b/c i felt obligated to myself to at least get some of my money's worth out of it. I wish I could have spent that $20 on some paint.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014
Charliethecat- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience. If we can be of any help to you please contact homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Response from By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareDecember 8, 2014
Charliethecat- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience. If we can be of any help to you please contact homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Review 16 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Wyoming
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked as advertised with very little popcorn on the floor.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blade is at a good angle. Modified.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Forget the bag. A little duct tape and cardboard and I hooked it up to a shop vac. Worked like a charm. Had someone spray the ceiling ahead of me and the ceiling was clean in no time.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: a bag is useless
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal

homax ceiling scraper

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had 1966 mega popcorn ceilings and this products was no match to them. Unfortunately,
we didn't have much success with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 9, 2015By Homax Customer CareApril 9, 2015
kdawg- Thank you for your feedback. This should remove any popcorn texture from ceilings. Since it has been on there for many years the easiest way would be to spray the ceiling with water and let it sit for a few minutes and scrape off with the scraper. If you need further assistance please contact homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 19 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scraper

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
FFG! 8 inch scraper taped to shop vac works great!
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 7, 2015By Homax Customer CareApril 7, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. If you need any assistance please contact homax@ppg.com. Homax
Review 20 for Ceiling Texture Scraper for Popcorn Ceiling Removal
from Howell, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the mess to a minimum.

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this thinking it was going to be a major undertaking with a large cleanup to follow. I was wrong! Did a 400 square foot room in about 5 hours including cleanup. Too bad I don't have another room to do. It was a one time purchase well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>