728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Appliance, Tub & Tile Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

You no longer have to live with your old, stained or discolored tub or sink! The Homax Products 32-oz. Tough As Tile Aerosol Epoxy is a high-gloss porcelain repair product used to refinish tiles, sinks and bathtubs. Now with a little effort prepping and painting over one weekend, you can restore your tub or bathroom tiles to look like new. The Tough as Tile provides a hard, protective finish that remains beautiful for years - even on surfaces subject to severe or frequent washing. The Kit includes Tub, Tile & Sink One Part Epoxy Paint, Nitrile Gloves, Steel Wool, Surface Prep Cleaner and complete instructions. The results and savings are worth the effort.
Overall rating:
2.323 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product11 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(19)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product11 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Review 1 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Salt Lake City, UT

I'll Never Use a Homax Product EVER Again

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product sprays on well and as far as I could tell covered what needed to be covered. If the color of the paint matched what is displayed on the packaging I would be giving a good review, HOWEVER, the packaging claims it gives "the look of real porcelain" in WHITE. In my experience, white porcelain looks bright white. This paint is PEACH. Flat out PEACH. I spent hours prepping and cleaning my tub to refinish with this product and very carefully adhered to all the directions on the package. I thought the dark color would lighten as the tub dried, but no deal. It looked AWFUL. If the color had been just off-white I would have just painted the surround as well and been done, but it was such a dark peach color that there was no way I was painting my entire shower and tub that color! When I emailed customer service this was their response:
"Thank you for contacting The Homax Group.
Our Tough As Tile Tub Refinishing Kit in white is not a bright white like the porcelain white. When compared to the bright white, our paint can appear off white or some say it has a pink, peach or beige tint to it. Most people will also refinish the surrounding walls of the tub to give it a solid color."
If your product is NOT white, then don't claim that it is. I wasted 4 hours on this awful product, and now have to spend the money again on something else, like Rustoleum Tub and Tile, to cover it up. Ugh.
In the picture you can see how bright the edge of the tub is, which has not been painted. The inside of the tub is PEACH.
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: not as advertised, ugly, labor-intensive, not worth the price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
Lmob,
We understand that there are many shades of white fixtures available and we have tried to supply a white that fits right in the middle of these shades. It is possible that at times our white will not be close to the white that a consumer needs and this product won't match their fixtures. Thank you for your input.Homax
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
Lmob,
We understand that there are many shades of white fixtures available and we have tried to supply a white that fits right in the middle of these shades. It is possible that at times our white will not be close to the white that a consumer needs and this product won't match their fixtures. Thank you for your input.Homax
Review 2 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Utah

Never Recommend

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This took a lot of prep work. I followed the instructions very carefully. Peeling within a week. My tub looks horrible! Wondering for two years how to remove this? What do I do now that the old finish is scrubbed off? It took 4 cans for the tub and surrounding tile and is not a glossy white as the product claims. Possibly could have had it professionally done for the $200 I spent on the product plus my time.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 18, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 18, 2014
DIYhomeowner,
For proper paint adhesion to your tub or sink surface, preparation is important. Any contaminates that have been left on the tub surface will effect the paint adhesion. This will cause the paint to peel off where it did not adhere to the tub. The paint can be easily removed by using a paint stripper. If you have any questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Homax
Review 3 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great if your selling your house and skiping the country

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed instructions, which are written by a 2 year old. "Apply light mist only and apply second light mist coat within 30 minutes." Well -- the tub certainly has a "misty" look. Not at all "Tough as Tile." I even let the epoxy "cure" for a full 4 weeks!!! Two weeks of every other day use and tonight the "Tough as Tile" has lifted right off the bottom of the tub, as if there is Zero Adhesion. My fingernail helped uplift more and more of the "Tough as Tile" epoxy paint. Great concept, with exceptionally poor execution. If Homax reply's to my review, I will certainly contact them. Perhaps they can provide a realistic resolution. I mean, right where my tub was "worn to the bone" is right wear the "Tough as Tile" epoxy simply lifted off. Hey -- Save the $45 to $50 and spend the $5,000 to replace the tub and surrounding bath walls.
Cons: No Instructions, Scratches Easily, worthless product, poor instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 5, 2014By Homax Customer CareMarch 5, 2014
Cactusman,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the surface preparation. It is vital that all of the residue from bath oils, soaps, shampoos, etc. be removed from the surface. If any contaminates are left, it will affect the adhesion of the paint. This could cause peeling and flaking to occur. We also recommend that you do not use a bath mat because this can pull up the paint also. If you have further questions, we can be reached at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 4 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Terrible Product!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We decided to spend a little extra money and bought the spray version of this product thinking it would give a nicer overall finish. We were sorely disappointed. The finish did not cover in the recommended two sprays (it took four) and we ended up having to buy twice as much of this product and spending way too much money. Then when we were done the finish was completely dull on the flat surfaces and only slightly glossy on the vertical surfaces. We did all the prep as recommended and even let is cure for 5 days, per a suggestion of another reviewer. Even after following all the directions and giving it a longer cure time, it has chipped in many places. We will be stripping this product off of our tub and redoing it with another, much higher rated, product.
Cons: Scratches Easily, dull finish
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 23, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 23, 2013
TheCaldwellProject,
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the results from our Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol. Each kit will cover 45 sq. ft. which is the size of a standard tub. If you were also refinishing a surround also you would need to purchase another kit. If you have any questions, we can be reached by email at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you again for your feedback.Homax
Review 5 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Not great at all!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This peels off in two months tops if your lucky.
I put a bath mat down and right away big chunks started washing off like dirt and the have to buy drain-o to unclog my drain. Hopefully I can get my money back cause this is a product that should be $7 not $50.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareNovember 13, 2013By Homax Customer CareNovember 13, 2013
Chap,
Per the instructions, we do not recommend using a bath mat after applying the Tough As Tile Epoxy Paint due to this causing the paint to get soft from the water that collects under the suction cups. When you pull up the bath mat, it can also loosen the paint. We do recommend using safety treads that you peel and stick on for safety while standing in the shower. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 6 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never use this product !!!!!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everything the review before me said is 100% correct ?? My husband was also a professional painter for 40 yrs .......it is the worst product on the market ....like it was stated before ...go cheap get cheap !!!!! We needed two boxes so ,not so cheap .....NEVER NEVER use this product !!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJuly 30, 2014By Homax Customer CareJuly 30, 2014
Peppy- Thank you for your review. We apologize you did not have success with this product. If we can be of any assistance to you please contact us at 800-729-9029Homax
Review 7 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

GOOD PRODUCT/ COUPLE ISSUES

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was my first time trying a refinish kit, and it went pretty well. First, the steel wool did not scuff up the fiberglass surface enough, I had some 3M RED scuff pads left over from some autobody work I had done, they worked PERFECT! I had the tub/shower scuffed up in no time. Second, it took two kits to complete the job. And YES the smell is horrific and tends to lenger for a day or so. As with any spray paint, especially in enclosed areas, wear some sort of face mask you DO NOT need to breath in this junk! Overall, theses are small issues compared to the money you save by using the kit versus buying a whole new tub/shower combo. I'm satisfied, it looks great, and I would use the product again.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

If you do the prep it works extremely well.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some reviewers complain that the product comes off or does not cure properly. The way to make this stuff work properly is to read and follow the instructions. If you have a tub that is layered up with soap scum, the paint is not going to adhere properly. I have refinished 4 tubs now, and never had a problem. The first was a 50 yr old tub that was YELLOW... painted it white with no problems (3 coats). I have always performed the scuffing and cleaning process more thoroughly than the instructions call for. You must then make sure that the tub is DRY. Then stuff some paper towels into the tub spout and put a rubber glove to catch any drip before you tape it off. Even one drip of water will mess up the paint. Keep a small can of lacquer thinner and a sponge brush nearby to fix any paint runs while you spray (they will happen and can be fixed easily). You have to mask off the ENTIRE bathroom or you will get paint dust settled on things. As for the odor, it is absolutely horrendous and unbearable ... that is why I have a charcoal filter respirator Store SKU # 584129 from the Depot. Worth every bit of $30, put one on and you will NOT smell the paint at all... take it off and you will probably pass out, certainly get dumber, stacking up dust masks will do nothing for you. Moral of the story: invest in the mask and some elbow grease... For less than $100 and 3 hrs worth of work, you have a tub that is GOOD AS NEW (and you didn't have to tear out the rest of the bathroom). Then take yourself out to dinner, and see a movie while the odor dissipates.
+62points
62out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would NEVER recommend

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Completed directions as said. Cleaned tub 3 times as shown. Covered drains and shook can for 1 1/2 minutes as it calls for 1 min. Started spraying. Everything started off good. 20 seconds in, the can sprayed nothing. Shook can again, took nozzle off, tried cleaning. Nothing! Took out second can. Shook again for the time required. Began spraying. SAME THING!!! Both cans are full of paint and now my tub is 1/4 sprayed and looks like junk now and I'm just expected to wait 72 hours to repeat process after I take this stuff back??? Knocking out tub and buying a new one!!! This stuff is garbage! It either sat on Home Depot's shelf for ever or it's defective. Either way, when in a remodel, you expect the stuff to work.
Cons: did not spray
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Homax Tough as Tile. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 10 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Wellington, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product works great if you take your time and prep

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i own a 39 room motel and have redone all the tubs and tile surrounds with this . the key is to do more prep then what they put in the directions . like take most all of the old finish off and wipe down with a cleaner like actone befor you put new finish on
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Ocean Isle Beach, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked just fine for me

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this with 'hesitation' from the Home Depot rep in the store. Talk about being unsure about their own product? I have a mobile home (rental) that my renters had evidently used some harsh chemicals in cleaning the surrounds and basically took off whatever protective finish was on them and they turned yellow. The tub was alright, but decided to go ahead and do it all, 3 wall surronds (plastic) and the tub, (also plastic). I followed the instructions to a 't'. I've learned it's important when using kits like these to follow instructions to the letter. I did let it cure for 4 days after application. 3 weeks later and it's holding well. I have a beautiful white bathtub and white surrounds and it sure beat me having to pay almost $400 to have a plumber come in and rip out the old and put new ones back in and I did it for $50.00 Pay attention to the instructions regarding air masks, DON'T buy the cheapo masks, these fumes are powerful and do wear protective eyewear and cover up well, or you'll have residue on you. Most importantly, don't spray heavily. You will NOT get good coverage on the first application, but the second one seals all the blemishes. Heck it even covered up some mold residue that I couldn't scrape off. Well worth the money. I just wished I had taken 'before' photo's so you could see the difference.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst product to use

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my first kit 1 week ago.Got everything prepped and ready to paint.after less than i minute the nozzle clogged.second can same thing.have been back to Home Depot 3x to exchange kit.ALL THREE KITS HAVE DONE THE SAME THING!!!!What should have been a 1 day project is turning into a two week project.Now need to find another manufacturer of a similar product to complete my tub.Wouldn't recommend this to anyone!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Hi Thomas, Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Homax Tough as Tile. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 13 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from west berlin, nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Peels Off

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first the tub looked nice as we had followed the instructions perfectly. After about three weeks, it began peeling off the bottom of the tub and then in large strips. I ended up having to buy a new tub after paying my nephew, a professional painter, a lot of money to apply this product, not to mention the cost. I cannot recommend it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Homax Tough as Tile.The cleaning process is one of the most important steps in the refinishing process. Any type of contaminate left on the surface can cause the paint to eventually peel. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 14 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very poor product .

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
followed the instructions but a week later,still can scratch it with your finger nails.don't waste your $50.00 dollars.Had to sand the tub back all over again.
Cons: Scratches Easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
bigbullone,
It sounds as if your application had not finished curing yet. The temperature needs to stay above 72 degrees during the entire curing process. If not, it can take longer than the 72 hours noted in the instructions. The paint will dry very hard when it has cured and will not flake off. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 15 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Southbridge MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spray V Paint

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First I would like to explain to all that if you make a horrendous hash of the job of spraying, you can always remove the layers by using ordinary methylene chloride based paint strippers. My first attempt at spraying covered everything that was possible to cover and wasn't supposed to...faucets, mirror, floor, door, toilet etc. I thought I'd done enough to cover the areas I wanted to protect. Wrong! Fortunately I managed to clean these areas up of spray by using the above suggested stripper. the result of the bath tub after the first coat was very good and after the second coat put on about two hours later left the tub looking like new. The product says a 3 day waiting period before using but after talking to another user (experienced) I left it for 5 days and was well pleased with the results. But to be brutal honest, the next time I would definitely try the paint on product as the clouds of this product were still in the air 30 minutes later.
The air extractor was not able to deal with it the way I would have wanted. So to sum up....
Make sure what you are going to spray is absolutely isolated from anything else and not just a cloth flung over the mirror before starting. Does the product work...Yes but the preparation before hand requires much care. Is it hard to get an even coat? Yes but only in the areas where you can't hold the spray can at the same amount of distance from the surface. I am pleased I used it and am happy with the outcome. But the next time I will try painting it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Scratches Easily
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less than a week later I don't like the results

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product last week to refinish our kitchen sink. I was excited as it looked great when I was done spraying. Well it looked great until I started using the sink. I know that sinks are going to get roughed up by natural wear and tear, but after less than a week there are all kinds of scratches. I am a little embarrassed to show off the sink in our refurbished kitchen now.
I am sure this product MIGHT work better for tubs, but for sinks it is not strong enough.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Cons: Scratches Easily, smells bad, takes a long time to set
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 3, 2014By Homax Customer CareApril 3, 2014
Matt,
We do not recommend using the Tough As Tile in a kitchen sink. It is intended for use in bathtubs and bathroom sinks. It can scratch when subjected to heavy pots and pans. Thank you for your input.Homax
Review 17 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not so good for me.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
in the past jobs I was a professional spray painter by trade. this product does not meet up to standards for color, application process and ease of spraying paint. There is no spray fan to speak of coming from the nozzle and while trying to keep a good pattern the spray nozzle keeps dripping or clogs in which it needs to be wiped up quickly on the job and nozzle cleaned on a regular basis with lacquer thinner. I would not try this again as I would use a real spray gun and compressor outfit for a more even and consistent finish. I went cheap and got cheap. The cap on the spray bomb cans is white, although the end result is like an off white or almost light beige color, anything but white . More tinting in the lab would be a good start for this product which is key to acquire a proper white finish as white is white and not beige, Drying has nothing to do with color change as I seen stated in an answer to 1 review. The only thing I do not have at this moment is the test of time for peeling or fading. This product did not meet my expectations. We won't get fooled again.
Pros: i wouldn't try again
Cons: not so good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 21, 2014By Homax Customer CareApril 21, 2014
Zeppy,
If you are experiencing constant dripping or sputtering, the pressure could be low in the cans. We recommend placing in a sink full of hot tap water for 15 minutes. This will help build up the pressure and stop it from dripping. Thank you for your input.Homax
Review 18 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Messy, Smelly Disaster

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the brush-on version of this to do the walls in my old, yellow bathroom and it looked wonderful. My only complaint was it was a very slow process, so I thought I would try the spray-on version for the tile shower. What a mistake. Not only is this version over ten dollars more than the brush-on, the coverage was extremely poor, the paint splattered half the time, the fumes were unbearable, and there was a layer of white, sticky dust all over EVERYTHING in the bathroom, including me, by the time I was done.
I went back to the store to purchase the brush on version to finish the shower and found I couldn't even leave the few areas that WERE covered well by the spray because the shade of white didn't look the same next to the brush on. In the end all it did was save me from having to do two coats of the brush on. Oh and I spent a great deal of time getting the dust out of my hair...
While I highly recommend the brush on version I suggest staying FAR away from this product.
Cons: messy, overwhelming fumes, poor coverage, too expensive
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareOctober 30, 2013By Homax Customer CareOctober 30, 2013
Hllywdbrit,
Before applying the Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol, we recommend masking off all areas that could be affected by the over spray. When spraying, it is best not to hold down the actuator constantly. Spray one way, let up on the sprayer, and then spray the other way. This will help with the amount of paint that is put in the air. If you have any questions, please contact us at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 19 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from westland michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this stuff to redo my tub. Standard size. We waited now on our 5th day of drying. Well I looked today and it already chipped. I would say you would need atleast 2 of these kits to get a proper thickness of covering. I would go with a warranted company and just let them reglaze a tub in the future. Very displeased.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareApril 8, 2014
david,
We recommend that the temperature in the room be at least 72 degrees during application and during the curing process. If the temperature is not maintained at 72 or above, it can slow down the curing process and take longer to dry. If you need further assistance, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 20 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Amazing results for the price

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great for me but it seems to depend on how well you can spray paint. Yes, you do have to clean very well and the prep took the longest. we cleaned the entire tub with Comet and bleach before we used the cleaner in the kit. With a friends help it took 3.5 hours to complete. Be careful where you put your finger on the sprayer. When we pressed down with our entire finger the paint dripped. Make sure to only use the tip of the finger. Next time I will also use plastic to cover up the toilet, sink, my hair and everything else I don't want to get dusted before starting. I am still waiting for the paint to dry. I might wait the five days like someone suggested. It was hard to paint evenly but I think that was mostly user error. The tub looks great though and I can't wait to see how it holds up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>