728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Appliance, Tub & Tile Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

You no longer have to live with your old, stained or discolored tub or sink! The Homax Products 32-oz. Tough As Tile Aerosol Epoxy is a high-gloss porcelain repair product used to refinish tiles, sinks and bathtubs. Now with a little effort prepping and painting over one weekend, you can restore your tub or bathroom tiles to look like new. The Tough as Tile provides a hard, protective finish that remains beautiful for years - even on surfaces subject to severe or frequent washing. The Kit includes Tub, Tile & Sink One Part Epoxy Paint, Nitrile Gloves, Steel Wool, Surface Prep Cleaner and complete instructions. The results and savings are worth the effort.
Overall rating:
2.298 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product20 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(33)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product20 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Review 1 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

DO NOT WAIST YOUR TIME

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two weekends ago I spent the entire weekend preparing for and then using "Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White". I followed the instructions to the letter and even regulated the temperature of the room to make sure it was just right as listed in the instructions. My sink is already half peeled off. This means I spent $46.57 at Home Depot and an entire weekend for nothing. Now I have to purchase a new sink and hook-up all the parts...again. I am really upset. I work and have a 5month old and the last thing I want is to WAIST an entire weekend and babysitting time to have a failed product.
I am hoping for a refund.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
LinzyK- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you didn't have any luck refinishing your sink. Peeling normally occurs if there are surface contaminants.on the surface not allowing the product to adhere correctly. Please contact us at 1-800-729-9029 to speak with us regarding a refund. Homax
Review 2 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Salt Lake City, UT

I'll Never Use a Homax Product EVER Again

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product sprays on well and as far as I could tell covered what needed to be covered. If the color of the paint matched what is displayed on the packaging I would be giving a good review, HOWEVER, the packaging claims it gives "the look of real porcelain" in WHITE. In my experience, white porcelain looks bright white. This paint is PEACH. Flat out PEACH. I spent hours prepping and cleaning my tub to refinish with this product and very carefully adhered to all the directions on the package. I thought the dark color would lighten as the tub dried, but no deal. It looked AWFUL. If the color had been just off-white I would have just painted the surround as well and been done, but it was such a dark peach color that there was no way I was painting my entire shower and tub that color! When I emailed customer service this was their response:
"Thank you for contacting The Homax Group.
Our Tough As Tile Tub Refinishing Kit in white is not a bright white like the porcelain white. When compared to the bright white, our paint can appear off white or some say it has a pink, peach or beige tint to it. Most people will also refinish the surrounding walls of the tub to give it a solid color."
If your product is NOT white, then don't claim that it is. I wasted 4 hours on this awful product, and now have to spend the money again on something else, like Rustoleum Tub and Tile, to cover it up. Ugh.
In the picture you can see how bright the edge of the tub is, which has not been painted. The inside of the tub is PEACH.
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: not as advertised, ugly, labor-intensive, not worth the price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
Lmob,
We understand that there are many shades of white fixtures available and we have tried to supply a white that fits right in the middle of these shades. It is possible that at times our white will not be close to the white that a consumer needs and this product won't match their fixtures. Thank you for your input.Homax
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
Lmob,
We understand that there are many shades of white fixtures available and we have tried to supply a white that fits right in the middle of these shades. It is possible that at times our white will not be close to the white that a consumer needs and this product won't match their fixtures. Thank you for your input.Homax
Review 3 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Terrible Product!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We decided to spend a little extra money and bought the spray version of this product thinking it would give a nicer overall finish. We were sorely disappointed. The finish did not cover in the recommended two sprays (it took four) and we ended up having to buy twice as much of this product and spending way too much money. Then when we were done the finish was completely dull on the flat surfaces and only slightly glossy on the vertical surfaces. We did all the prep as recommended and even let is cure for 5 days, per a suggestion of another reviewer. Even after following all the directions and giving it a longer cure time, it has chipped in many places. We will be stripping this product off of our tub and redoing it with another, much higher rated, product.
Cons: Scratches Easily, dull finish
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 23, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 23, 2013
TheCaldwellProject,
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the results from our Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol. Each kit will cover 45 sq. ft. which is the size of a standard tub. If you were also refinishing a surround also you would need to purchase another kit. If you have any questions, we can be reached by email at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you again for your feedback.Homax
Review 4 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Ft. Wright, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average finish. Better than before.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We followed the directions as specified applied the proper coating. The finish is much better than before but it still showed little imperfections from the previous finish.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great if your selling your house and skiping the country

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed instructions, which are written by a 2 year old. "Apply light mist only and apply second light mist coat within 30 minutes." Well -- the tub certainly has a "misty" look. Not at all "Tough as Tile." I even let the epoxy "cure" for a full 4 weeks!!! Two weeks of every other day use and tonight the "Tough as Tile" has lifted right off the bottom of the tub, as if there is Zero Adhesion. My fingernail helped uplift more and more of the "Tough as Tile" epoxy paint. Great concept, with exceptionally poor execution. If Homax reply's to my review, I will certainly contact them. Perhaps they can provide a realistic resolution. I mean, right where my tub was "worn to the bone" is right wear the "Tough as Tile" epoxy simply lifted off. Hey -- Save the $45 to $50 and spend the $5,000 to replace the tub and surrounding bath walls.
Cons: No Instructions, Scratches Easily, worthless product, poor instructions
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 5, 2014By Homax Customer CareMarch 5, 2014
Cactusman,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the surface preparation. It is vital that all of the residue from bath oils, soaps, shampoos, etc. be removed from the surface. If any contaminates are left, it will affect the adhesion of the paint. This could cause peeling and flaking to occur. We also recommend that you do not use a bath mat because this can pull up the paint also. If you have further questions, we can be reached at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 6 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Horrible product!!!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These products by Homax are absolutely horrible. We first purchased the paint on because the reviews seemed to be betted. Painting it on as thin and evenly as possible, weeks later it still had not even dried all the way. When we finally tried to use our tub to take a shower it immediately started peeling. Frustrated and annoyed, we scraped if all off and started over, this time with th aerosol spray. This seemed to hold up for a bit longer, meaning we got about 10 showers out of it before the entire flooring started peeling right away. After wasting about 100$ on Homax brands, I will never spend another cent on any of their products, and obviously, would not recommend this product to anyone!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Megan- Thank you for your detailed review. We apologize you had trouble with our refinishing kits. If the product peeled, the surface was most likely not ready for paint application. We recommend cleaning a minimum of 3 times prior to painting. This will allow for best adhesion. To dry/cure properly, it is important to keep the temperature of the room warm. If we can be of any assistance to you please contact us 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 7 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from MD

Don't waste your money or time

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because I removed a sliding shower door which marred the original paint/enamel. Used this epoxy, followed the directions as indicated. First, the 72 hr cure time is false, it is still VERY tacky after 4 days. It needs closer to 5-6 days before using. The paint has only been on for one month and it is all flaking away. I recommend that if you must repaint your tub, look for a professional to refinish it. This product is not even worth a "band-aid."
Cons: doesn't work as stated, flakes away after only a month, is still tacky after 4 days drying
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Per the instructions, 72 hours is the minimum cure time. It can take longer however, it depends on temperature, thickness, humidity etc. If we can answer any questions for you please contact us at 1-800-729-9029 Homax
Review 8 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Utah

Never Recommend

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This took a lot of prep work. I followed the instructions very carefully. Peeling within a week. My tub looks horrible! Wondering for two years how to remove this? What do I do now that the old finish is scrubbed off? It took 4 cans for the tub and surrounding tile and is not a glossy white as the product claims. Possibly could have had it professionally done for the $200 I spent on the product plus my time.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 18, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 18, 2014
DIYhomeowner,
For proper paint adhesion to your tub or sink surface, preparation is important. Any contaminates that have been left on the tub surface will effect the paint adhesion. This will cause the paint to peel off where it did not adhere to the tub. The paint can be easily removed by using a paint stripper. If you have any questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Homax
Review 9 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Not great at all!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This peels off in two months tops if your lucky.
I put a bath mat down and right away big chunks started washing off like dirt and the have to buy drain-o to unclog my drain. Hopefully I can get my money back cause this is a product that should be $7 not $50.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareNovember 13, 2013By Homax Customer CareNovember 13, 2013
Chap,
Per the instructions, we do not recommend using a bath mat after applying the Tough As Tile Epoxy Paint due to this causing the paint to get soft from the water that collects under the suction cups. When you pull up the bath mat, it can also loosen the paint. We do recommend using safety treads that you peel and stick on for safety while standing in the shower. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 10 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

If you do the prep it works extremely well.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Some reviewers complain that the product comes off or does not cure properly. The way to make this stuff work properly is to read and follow the instructions. If you have a tub that is layered up with soap scum, the paint is not going to adhere properly. I have refinished 4 tubs now, and never had a problem. The first was a 50 yr old tub that was YELLOW... painted it white with no problems (3 coats). I have always performed the scuffing and cleaning process more thoroughly than the instructions call for. You must then make sure that the tub is DRY. Then stuff some paper towels into the tub spout and put a rubber glove to catch any drip before you tape it off. Even one drip of water will mess up the paint. Keep a small can of lacquer thinner and a sponge brush nearby to fix any paint runs while you spray (they will happen and can be fixed easily). You have to mask off the ENTIRE bathroom or you will get paint dust settled on things. As for the odor, it is absolutely horrendous and unbearable ... that is why I have a charcoal filter respirator Store SKU # 584129 from the Depot. Worth every bit of $30, put one on and you will NOT smell the paint at all... take it off and you will probably pass out, certainly get dumber, stacking up dust masks will do nothing for you. Moral of the story: invest in the mask and some elbow grease... For less than $100 and 3 hrs worth of work, you have a tub that is GOOD AS NEW (and you didn't have to tear out the rest of the bathroom). Then take yourself out to dinner, and see a movie while the odor dissipates.
+67points
69out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

GOOD PRODUCT/ COUPLE ISSUES

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was my first time trying a refinish kit, and it went pretty well. First, the steel wool did not scuff up the fiberglass surface enough, I had some 3M RED scuff pads left over from some autobody work I had done, they worked PERFECT! I had the tub/shower scuffed up in no time. Second, it took two kits to complete the job. And YES the smell is horrific and tends to lenger for a day or so. As with any spray paint, especially in enclosed areas, wear some sort of face mask you DO NOT need to breath in this junk! Overall, theses are small issues compared to the money you save by using the kit versus buying a whole new tub/shower combo. I'm satisfied, it looks great, and I would use the product again.
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would NEVER recommend

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Completed directions as said. Cleaned tub 3 times as shown. Covered drains and shook can for 1 1/2 minutes as it calls for 1 min. Started spraying. Everything started off good. 20 seconds in, the can sprayed nothing. Shook can again, took nozzle off, tried cleaning. Nothing! Took out second can. Shook again for the time required. Began spraying. SAME THING!!! Both cans are full of paint and now my tub is 1/4 sprayed and looks like junk now and I'm just expected to wait 72 hours to repeat process after I take this stuff back??? Knocking out tub and buying a new one!!! This stuff is garbage! It either sat on Home Depot's shelf for ever or it's defective. Either way, when in a remodel, you expect the stuff to work.
Cons: did not spray
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Homax Tough as Tile. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 13 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Pittsfield, MA
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Better buy tissues too. Cause you're ganna cry.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hours of prep work and days of curing will leave you with a finish that is tough as jello and has no luster. Scratches so easily that I would prefer my old warn out tub to this.
Cons: Scratches Easily, looks abysmal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience this product may have caused. If the product is not drying and has no luster, the temperature and humidity are most likely a factor. For best results we recommend the surface of the tub be 72 degrees so the room should be warmer if possible. Humidity needs to be lower than 80% as high humidity will cause a dull finish. We would be happy to discuss this product with you further if you wish to call us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 14 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Topeka, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First of all it is extremely important to properly prep the tub in order for a good finish (follow the instructions!) The only thing negative I have to say is that the steel wool in the kit will not help you prep the surface. I would suggest 50 grit sandpaper on an orbital sander first and then follow that up with 120 grit sandpaper to smooth it back out. After that the paint will stick and look great! Depending on how worn the bottom of the tub is it may need more than two coats. Great product and will save you 100s of dollars in hiring a contractor.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Better than the brush-on

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I originally tried the brush-on epoxy to refinish our master bath counter tops. I had read multiple reviews and DIY blogs that had used this product and was under the impression that this would be a rather simple project, not lasting more than a few days. WRONG! I made sure to follow every step of the directions and even refused to leave the house in between coats out of fear that I would have to wait the 72 hour cure time to apply the second coat. I had to use 2 different paint brushes bc the epoxy dried and ruined the first brush during the 2 hour waiting period. After 8 days the product had still not fully cured and looked horrible! I called customer service and they recommended that I put a space heater in the bathroom to help the chemicals escape and aid in the cure process. I asked what I can do to fix the surface since there were obvious brush marks and areas that looked uneven. They recommended that once the counter has fully cured, I sand it down with 220 and 400 grit sandpaper, wipe the surface clean with just rubbing alcohol, and apply another coat. Three weeks later the surfaces was FINALLY cured!! I opted to try the spray-on epoxy for the 3rd coat. I followed the recommendations from customer service and so far I am very happy with the spray-on results! The surface is actually smooth and even. Its not as shiny as the brush-on, but looks so much better! Don't even waste your time or money on the brush-on version.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: not a quick project
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Wellington, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product works great if you take your time and prep

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i own a 39 room motel and have redone all the tubs and tile surrounds with this . the key is to do more prep then what they put in the directions . like take most all of the old finish off and wipe down with a cleaner like actone befor you put new finish on
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good instructions with great results.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was easy to use. Down time was limited. Try it. xxx
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Temple, TX

Not so Tough as Tile

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to repair the sink first. Everything seemed to go smoothly. Repair went well and paint went on easily (used spray version). The finish is not smooth (feels painted), but the sink looked good and I thought it was great even if it only lasted a year or two. I let the repair dry overnight before painting and I let the paint dry for 5 days before using the sink.
It's been on less than a month. The area I repaired at the drain is discoloring and the paint is peeling on one corner even though I barely use it and haven't used anything remotely abrasive. The only thing I can think I've done is wiped the hand soap (non-abrasive) off the sink at that corner.
Having someone come in and redo this would be more expensive now that I painted it. Bad investment.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great
Cons: Scratches Easily, discoloration at epoxy repair
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am exactly sure what type of product was used to repair the sink prior to applying our paint but if our epoxy chip fix was used to fix chips that needed to cure a minimum of 5 days before cleaning and applying any paint over the top. If the surface is not smooth this normally happens when there is over spray falling back down onto the tub. The key is short quicker bursts so less product/over spray gets in the air and less will fall back down on the surface. If there is anything else we can assist you with please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2015By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am not quite sure what was used to repair the sink. If you used the epoxy to fix chips that needed to cure for 5 days before cleaning and applying any paint over the top. if the surface is not smooth this normally happens when the spray on is used. The key is short quick bursts so less product/over spray gets in the air and falls back down on the surface. If you have any questions for us please contact us at homax@ppg.com Homax
Review 19 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Ocean Isle Beach, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked just fine for me

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this with 'hesitation' from the Home Depot rep in the store. Talk about being unsure about their own product? I have a mobile home (rental) that my renters had evidently used some harsh chemicals in cleaning the surrounds and basically took off whatever protective finish was on them and they turned yellow. The tub was alright, but decided to go ahead and do it all, 3 wall surronds (plastic) and the tub, (also plastic). I followed the instructions to a 't'. I've learned it's important when using kits like these to follow instructions to the letter. I did let it cure for 4 days after application. 3 weeks later and it's holding well. I have a beautiful white bathtub and white surrounds and it sure beat me having to pay almost $400 to have a plumber come in and rip out the old and put new ones back in and I did it for $50.00 Pay attention to the instructions regarding air masks, DON'T buy the cheapo masks, these fumes are powerful and do wear protective eyewear and cover up well, or you'll have residue on you. Most importantly, don't spray heavily. You will NOT get good coverage on the first application, but the second one seals all the blemishes. Heck it even covered up some mold residue that I couldn't scrape off. Well worth the money. I just wished I had taken 'before' photo's so you could see the difference.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Saratoga, ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DONT DO IT!!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me start by saying....What a joke!!! I wouldn't recommend this product to anybody. I decided to refinish my tub using this and it streaked and after two coats looked absolutely horrible. Made my heart sink! I know have to buy a brand new tub because of this product. Incredibly disappointed. Drips everywhere, smells terrible. AWFUL!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Chris-Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you had trouble with the spray on. If we can be of any assistance to you please contact us at 1-800-729-9029 Homax
1 2 3 >>