728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Appliance, Tub & Tile Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

You no longer have to live with your old, stained or discolored tub or sink! The Homax Products 32-oz. Tough As Tile Aerosol Epoxy is a high-gloss porcelain repair product used to refinish tiles, sinks and bathtubs. Now with a little effort prepping and painting over one weekend, you can restore your tub or bathroom tiles to look like new. The Tough as Tile provides a hard, protective finish that remains beautiful for years - even on surfaces subject to severe or frequent washing. The Kit includes Tub, Tile & Sink One Part Epoxy Paint, Nitrile Gloves, Steel Wool, Surface Prep Cleaner and complete instructions. The results and savings are worth the effort.
Overall rating:
2.116 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product21 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
2.1 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(44)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product21 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Review 1 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Doesn't last

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on both my tub and my sink . I followed the directions exactly and even let it cure for an extra day . Within two days of letting it cure it was getting little dings in it just from going in and out of the shower.. The old spots in the tub are already showing through . I would only recommend this product to use in a bathroom that is for show only and the tub never gets used. I should have saved my money and all that time
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareJuly 1, 2015By Homax Customer CareJuly 1, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you had trouble with this product. If we can be of any assistance in answering any questions for you. Please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 2 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Salt Lake City, UT

I'll Never Use a Homax Product EVER Again

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product sprays on well and as far as I could tell covered what needed to be covered. If the color of the paint matched what is displayed on the packaging I would be giving a good review, HOWEVER, the packaging claims it gives "the look of real porcelain" in WHITE. In my experience, white porcelain looks bright white. This paint is PEACH. Flat out PEACH. I spent hours prepping and cleaning my tub to refinish with this product and very carefully adhered to all the directions on the package. I thought the dark color would lighten as the tub dried, but no deal. It looked AWFUL. If the color had been just off-white I would have just painted the surround as well and been done, but it was such a dark peach color that there was no way I was painting my entire shower and tub that color! When I emailed customer service this was their response:
"Thank you for contacting The Homax Group.
Our Tough As Tile Tub Refinishing Kit in white is not a bright white like the porcelain white. When compared to the bright white, our paint can appear off white or some say it has a pink, peach or beige tint to it. Most people will also refinish the surrounding walls of the tub to give it a solid color."
If your product is NOT white, then don't claim that it is. I wasted 4 hours on this awful product, and now have to spend the money again on something else, like Rustoleum Tub and Tile, to cover it up. Ugh.
In the picture you can see how bright the edge of the tub is, which has not been painted. The inside of the tub is PEACH.
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: not as advertised, ugly, labor-intensive, not worth the price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
Lmob,
We understand that there are many shades of white fixtures available and we have tried to supply a white that fits right in the middle of these shades. It is possible that at times our white will not be close to the white that a consumer needs and this product won't match their fixtures. Thank you for your input.Homax
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 12, 2014
Lmob,
We understand that there are many shades of white fixtures available and we have tried to supply a white that fits right in the middle of these shades. It is possible that at times our white will not be close to the white that a consumer needs and this product won't match their fixtures. Thank you for your input.Homax
Review 3 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

DO NOT WAIST YOUR TIME

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two weekends ago I spent the entire weekend preparing for and then using "Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White". I followed the instructions to the letter and even regulated the temperature of the room to make sure it was just right as listed in the instructions. My sink is already half peeled off. This means I spent $46.57 at Home Depot and an entire weekend for nothing. Now I have to purchase a new sink and hook-up all the parts...again. I am really upset. I work and have a 5month old and the last thing I want is to WAIST an entire weekend and babysitting time to have a failed product.
I am hoping for a refund.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
LinzyK- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you didn't have any luck refinishing your sink. Peeling normally occurs if there are surface contaminants.on the surface not allowing the product to adhere correctly. Please contact us at 1-800-729-9029 to speak with us regarding a refund. Homax
Review 4 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Mobile, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product should not be on the market - what a waste of money. It won't even spray out of the can
correctly. Direction say "brush drip spots" it's all drip spots. every 2-3 seconds spots spray out. The only way to apply this product is to have the spray can in one hand and a brush in the other hand.Also, a 2 can kit is about half enough product to cover a standard 3'x3'x'6' shower. After "hours of prep" and a total failed product, I will be replacing the shower with a new inset. I can't believe I wasted hours of prep and
money (cost of the kit, air mask, drop cloths, painter's tape and paint brush) for this end result.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 29, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 29, 2015
MAXX- Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had trouble spraying our product. The cans should have enough pressure to spray out correctly and not drip every 2-3 seconds. We would be happy to speak with you and/or replace the cans if you wish to try this application again. Please feel free to call us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 5 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Product!!

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience is pretty much the same as all the other negative ones here. I followed the instructions exactly and had numerous problems with this product. First, when spraying it continuously left drip marks and using a paint brush didn't smooth them out. It didn't not cover a white tub in two coats. However, the worse problem was that after it dried, I could simply scrape the product off with my fingernail. The whole process was very time-consuming and a HUGE waste of time. It ruined the bathtub so badly that I had to end up getting a new tub! I don't understand with all these bad reviews how Homax and Home Depot can continue to sell this product.
Cons: Scratches Easily, does not cover, comes off easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJuly 27, 2015By Homax Customer CareJuly 27, 2015
LW1172- Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had trouble with our product. We would like to understand better what may have gone wrong with this application. If you have any questions for us please call 1-800-729-9029 to speak with a customer care rep. Homax
Review 6 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Avoid this product like the plague

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Simply put, avoid this product at all costs. Save yourself the time/money/energy and pay a professional. This product does not do as advertised and the 5 star reviews on here were obviously written by the manufacturer.
I bought two of these kits trying to refinish my tub. Both times, I followed the instructions perfectly and it still made a mess and ruined my tub. Needless to say, when you call the manufacturer or read the instructions again...you are told to "buy another kit, sand and start over". Just a way to keep you buying more and more until you say NO MORE.
After two tries, I had to pay someone to come out and fix the problem. Not everyone was willing to do it, but they all said the same thing..."we see this a lot and really wish this product would be removed from the shelves".
It cost me $850 to have a professional come out and fix the problem. Had we hired them to begin with, the cost to refinish the tub would have been a fraction of the cost and saved me the time and headache.
In summary, avoid this product and save your money! The finish is awful and will not do as advertised. Wish I had read some of these reviews before trying it and will definitely not be buying anything from Homax again.
Pros: nothing
Cons: Scratches Easily, poorly finishes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 12, 2015By Homax Customer CareJune 12, 2015
Harry787- Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you had trouble using our Tough as Tile product. We would be happy to speak with you regarding application and/or any issues you may be coming across to help us understand what may be happening. Please contact us at 1-800-729-9029 for further assistance. Homax
Review 7 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Terrible product

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In short, I followed the directions exactly as the manufacturer recommended, even shaking the can more than the recommended amount of time and letting it cure for twice as long as recommended and within a week the paint is already peeling off.
Cons: Scratches Easily
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 1, 2015By Homax Customer CareJune 1, 2015
KevinJ- Thank you for your review. We are sorry this product has peeled on you. Peeling generally comes down to contamination on the surface that wasn't fully removed not allowing the paint to have a good adhesion to the surface. We would be happy to speak with you regarding these issues. Please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 8 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from MD

Don't waste your money or time

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because I removed a sliding shower door which marred the original paint/enamel. Used this epoxy, followed the directions as indicated. First, the 72 hr cure time is false, it is still VERY tacky after 4 days. It needs closer to 5-6 days before using. The paint has only been on for one month and it is all flaking away. I recommend that if you must repaint your tub, look for a professional to refinish it. This product is not even worth a "band-aid."
Cons: doesn't work as stated, flakes away after only a month, is still tacky after 4 days drying
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Per the instructions, 72 hours is the minimum cure time. It can take longer however, it depends on temperature, thickness, humidity etc. If we can answer any questions for you please contact us at 1-800-729-9029 Homax
Review 9 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

DO NOT USE!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed all directions had white over spray over entire house! On furniture, TVs, table tops... Does not come off. Usually review a product online but didn't this time wish I had found others who had a similar experience. Also product not durable marks easily. Will be contacting company to complain!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJune 1, 2015By Homax Customer CareJune 1, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. The aerosol does have over spray. We recommend covering everything in the surrounding area as it can travel if it leaves the room. For best results, we recommend only holding the nozzle down for a short time so less product gets in the air which will lead to less over spray. Per the instructions, you can cleanup with lacquer thinner. Please call us at 1-800-729-9029 and we would be happy to assist you with any questions you have. Homax
Review 10 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Horrible Product. Paint peels off weeks later.

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a good product. I don't know why Home Depot still carries this product. I wonder why they don't carry Rustoleum tub refinishing; I hear good reviews from their version. Followed the directions strictly for the Homax tub refinish. Once finished, the bathroom looked great. Then 4 weeks later, the paint began to peel in large chunks. It angered me so much. It is a waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: Scratches Easily, paint doesn't stay on long.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 10, 2015By Homax Customer CareAugust 10, 2015
TubMan86- Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had trouble with this product. If we can be of any assistance to you please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 11 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Not Worth The Money

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 coats following instructions to the Tee the old color still shows through. Ended up buying the paint on product and put an additional coat and same thing occurs. At this point with the money I spent would have been cheaper to replace bath tub completely
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 10, 2015By Homax Customer CareAugust 10, 2015
AML- Thank you for your feedback. If the old surface is showing through it may be too thin or just need an additional coat. If its any color other than white chances are it may need 3 coats and additional product. If we have any questions we can answer for you please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 12 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Homax Tub and tile epoxy

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Finish is dull white and does not cover in two coats.Will never use a Homax product again and do not understand why HD even sells this junk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJuly 28, 2015By Homax Customer CareJuly 28, 2015
flash- Thank you for your feedback. This product is a high shine (antique) white. Dullness is generally from cool air flow, fans or humidity. Proper conditions would be less than 80% humidity the dryer the better. Windows closed, no blade fans blowing on the surface with temperatures between 75-80 degrees. If we can answer any questions for you, please contact our Customer Care department at 1-800-729-9029 Homax
Review 13 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Horrible product!!!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These products by Homax are absolutely horrible. We first purchased the paint on because the reviews seemed to be betted. Painting it on as thin and evenly as possible, weeks later it still had not even dried all the way. When we finally tried to use our tub to take a shower it immediately started peeling. Frustrated and annoyed, we scraped if all off and started over, this time with th aerosol spray. This seemed to hold up for a bit longer, meaning we got about 10 showers out of it before the entire flooring started peeling right away. After wasting about 100$ on Homax brands, I will never spend another cent on any of their products, and obviously, would not recommend this product to anyone!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015By Homax Customer CareMay 20, 2015
Megan- Thank you for your detailed review. We apologize you had trouble with our refinishing kits. If the product peeled, the surface was most likely not ready for paint application. We recommend cleaning a minimum of 3 times prior to painting. This will allow for best adhesion. To dry/cure properly, it is important to keep the temperature of the room warm. If we can be of any assistance to you please contact us 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 14 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Homax

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was homax not tub and tile don't stay on tub after 3weeks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 31, 2015By Homax Customer CareAugust 31, 2015
Jack- Thank you for your review. Our product (also known as tub and tile to some) should stay on for longer than 3 weeks. If you are having trouble and need some assistance we would be happy to assist you at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 15 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stay away

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not think about this product ... you will lose your money , time , and effort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 31, 2015By Homax Customer CareAugust 31, 2015
Cris- Thank you for your review, we are sorry you are not satisfied with our product. Please let us know if you have any questions regarding application at 1-800-729-9029. Homax
Review 16 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

Terrible Product!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We decided to spend a little extra money and bought the spray version of this product thinking it would give a nicer overall finish. We were sorely disappointed. The finish did not cover in the recommended two sprays (it took four) and we ended up having to buy twice as much of this product and spending way too much money. Then when we were done the finish was completely dull on the flat surfaces and only slightly glossy on the vertical surfaces. We did all the prep as recommended and even let is cure for 5 days, per a suggestion of another reviewer. Even after following all the directions and giving it a longer cure time, it has chipped in many places. We will be stripping this product off of our tub and redoing it with another, much higher rated, product.
Cons: Scratches Easily, dull finish
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 23, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 23, 2013
TheCaldwellProject,
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the results from our Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol. Each kit will cover 45 sq. ft. which is the size of a standard tub. If you were also refinishing a surround also you would need to purchase another kit. If you have any questions, we can be reached by email at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you again for your feedback.Homax
Review 17 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great if your selling your house and skiping the country

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed instructions, which are written by a 2 year old. "Apply light mist only and apply second light mist coat within 30 minutes." Well -- the tub certainly has a "misty" look. Not at all "Tough as Tile." I even let the epoxy "cure" for a full 4 weeks!!! Two weeks of every other day use and tonight the "Tough as Tile" has lifted right off the bottom of the tub, as if there is Zero Adhesion. My fingernail helped uplift more and more of the "Tough as Tile" epoxy paint. Great concept, with exceptionally poor execution. If Homax reply's to my review, I will certainly contact them. Perhaps they can provide a realistic resolution. I mean, right where my tub was "worn to the bone" is right wear the "Tough as Tile" epoxy simply lifted off. Hey -- Save the $45 to $50 and spend the $5,000 to replace the tub and surrounding bath walls.
Cons: No Instructions, Scratches Easily, worthless product, poor instructions
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareMarch 5, 2014By Homax Customer CareMarch 5, 2014
Cactusman,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the surface preparation. It is vital that all of the residue from bath oils, soaps, shampoos, etc. be removed from the surface. If any contaminates are left, it will affect the adhesion of the paint. This could cause peeling and flaking to occur. We also recommend that you do not use a bath mat because this can pull up the paint also. If you have further questions, we can be reached at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 18 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Utah

Never Recommend

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This took a lot of prep work. I followed the instructions very carefully. Peeling within a week. My tub looks horrible! Wondering for two years how to remove this? What do I do now that the old finish is scrubbed off? It took 4 cans for the tub and surrounding tile and is not a glossy white as the product claims. Possibly could have had it professionally done for the $200 I spent on the product plus my time.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareFebruary 18, 2014By Homax Customer CareFebruary 18, 2014
DIYhomeowner,
For proper paint adhesion to your tub or sink surface, preparation is important. Any contaminates that have been left on the tub surface will effect the paint adhesion. This will cause the paint to peel off where it did not adhere to the tub. The paint can be easily removed by using a paint stripper. If you have any questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Homax
Review 19 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White

GOOD PRODUCT/ COUPLE ISSUES

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was my first time trying a refinish kit, and it went pretty well. First, the steel wool did not scuff up the fiberglass surface enough, I had some 3M RED scuff pads left over from some autobody work I had done, they worked PERFECT! I had the tub/shower scuffed up in no time. Second, it took two kits to complete the job. And YES the smell is horrific and tends to lenger for a day or so. As with any spray paint, especially in enclosed areas, wear some sort of face mask you DO NOT need to breath in this junk! Overall, theses are small issues compared to the money you save by using the kit versus buying a whole new tub/shower combo. I'm satisfied, it looks great, and I would use the product again.
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - White
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

If you do the prep it works extremely well.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Some reviewers complain that the product comes off or does not cure properly. The way to make this stuff work properly is to read and follow the instructions. If you have a tub that is layered up with soap scum, the paint is not going to adhere properly. I have refinished 4 tubs now, and never had a problem. The first was a 50 yr old tub that was YELLOW... painted it white with no problems (3 coats). I have always performed the scuffing and cleaning process more thoroughly than the instructions call for. You must then make sure that the tub is DRY. Then stuff some paper towels into the tub spout and put a rubber glove to catch any drip before you tape it off. Even one drip of water will mess up the paint. Keep a small can of lacquer thinner and a sponge brush nearby to fix any paint runs while you spray (they will happen and can be fixed easily). You have to mask off the ENTIRE bathroom or you will get paint dust settled on things. As for the odor, it is absolutely horrendous and unbearable ... that is why I have a charcoal filter respirator Store SKU # 584129 from the Depot. Worth every bit of $30, put one on and you will NOT smell the paint at all... take it off and you will probably pass out, certainly get dumber, stacking up dust masks will do nothing for you. Moral of the story: invest in the mask and some elbow grease... For less than $100 and 3 hrs worth of work, you have a tub that is GOOD AS NEW (and you didn't have to tear out the rest of the bathroom). Then take yourself out to dinner, and see a movie while the odor dissipates.
+66points
69out of 72found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>