728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Appliance, Tub & Tile Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White

Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White

You no longer have to live with your old, stained or discolored tub or sink. The Homax Products 26-oz. Tough as Tile Brush OnEpoxy is a high-gloss porcelain repair product used to refinish tiles, sinks and bathtubs. Now with a little effort prepping and painting over one weekend, you can restore your tub or bathroom tiles to look like new. The Tough as Tile provides a hard, protective finish that remains beautiful for years - even on surfaces subject to severe or frequent washing. The Kit includes Tub, Tile and Sink One Part Epoxy Paint, Nitrile Gloves, Steel Wool, Surface Prep Cleaner and complete instructions. The results and savings are worth the effort.
Overall rating:
3.684 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product11 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product11 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
Review 1 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
SFgal
from San Francisco, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HIGHLY RECOMMEND for those on a budget! Saved us a bundle.

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased a house, but it's a bit of a fixer-upper and we can't afford to replace everything, so I started google searching budget remodel ideas and eventually found the though-as-tile product. I figured if I could give our (split) bathrooms a facelift for less than $40/box it was worth a shot. I purchased 4 boxes of the brush-on product ($37ea), picked up a vanity on sale($99+$30 faucet), and a new light fixture ($50) and spent a 3-day weekend on the project. i used the product to paint the tiles on the walls and in the shower. i did not use the product on the tub itself. i used an electric hand sander with 35-40 grit sandpaper (there are warnings not to do this that it will tear up the surface, but I did not have an issue), and i prepped the surface thoroughly once. Honestly if I'd have had the patience I definitely think a second or third prepping session would have been a good idea (instructions say to prep 3x). The actual painting part takes much much MUCH longer than I had anticipated. The paint is thick and sticky, and you really need to apply it in relatively thin coats for an even finish. Also found that the instructions aren't kidding when they say to paint in a single direction with overlapping strokes. If you think this stuff will go on just like painting a wall in your living room, you are wrong. If you are painting a large area it will take a long time and it will be painfully slow at times. I also didn't follow the instructions about using a good quality mask (or any mask at all) and I was quite ill with a horrible headache the next day... but a few advil and it eventually went away. It took 3 cans of the product to paint 2 coats for my project. I kept the 4th can for touch ups, and turned out I needed it though not a lot. When I taped the tiles to paint the walls, some of the tough-as-tile paint pulled off when I removed the tape. There were only 3-4 bits that pulled off, and the amount that pulled off was smaller than a fingernail size. I just touched up the few spots with the extra product, no biggie. I think the bits might not have pulled off had I done the 2nd or 3rd recommended sanding/prepping sessions... Definitely wait the full 72 hours cure time per the instructions too!... All in all we're very pleased with the results. It's been a couple weeks since we painted the bathrooms, and so far so good! We were able to completely re-do the (split) bathrooms for less than $400 and would highly recommend this product to anyone with icky tile to cover on a budget.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, budget friendly
Cons: requires patience
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
JerseyKat1
from west berlin, nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't Work

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought two of this product to refinish the bathtub and surround. Followed the directions to a T as my nephew who applied this is a professional painter. Looked nice in the beginning, but then it began to peel off, at first a little, then a lot. Ended up buying a new bathtub and having the surround tiled. This was a huge waste of money, not to mention time, energy, drying time, inconvenience, stink and disappointment. Attached photos show the paint beginning to peel, but it got far worse and the peeling paint would prevent the water draining from the tub as it would collect in the trap. What a mess.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Homax Tough as Tile One Part Brush On. As the cleaning process is one of the most important steps in the refinishing process, if there is any contaminate left on the surface it may cause the paint to peel. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 3 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
Mike
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product yields decent result for money

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased and applied this kit in August of 2013 but held off writing a review as I wanted to see how well it held up to use. So far so good. Hate to be critical of other reviews, but some folks need to learn how to read directions. First this paint smells strongly of solvents until it dries completely, and yes, I would advise wearing a respirator. Why this a surprise to some of the users I have no idea. The directions clearly warn of fumes and that application require adequate ventilation. It's like just because the paint is creme colored they expected it to smell like a vanilla scented candle.
Second...don't expect this whole process to take five minutes. The application is not fun but if you stick to the rules it will turn out pretty well. And when I say "well" I don't mean "perfect." If you want perfection hire a professional to completely replace the old tub/tile and pay the price which is 20 times the price of this product. If you want an updated look that is attractive but has a somewhat imperfect finish for 50-100 bucks that you can do yourself... this product is for you.
Also be mindful that if your temp and humidity isn't absolutely ideal, you may have to give dry time an extra day or two. Slow down and realize your shower may be out of commission for 1-2 weeks depending on the enviroment and how quickly your able to work. You may have to wait longer for dry times before using. The longer you wait before using the stronger it will be. If this possibility is unnacceptable then maybe you should look for another remedy.
Finally, I have found the finish to hold up well under normal use for the 8+ months since application. But realize that this paint (like any other) is not some sort of impenatrable force field. If you are tightening a shower fixture and end up dropping a wrench on the finish....it will chip and/or flake. I don't view this as a defect or flaw with the product. Guess what will happen if you hit the paint or finish on your car, wall, or hardwood floor with an iron wrench.
Dont know what will work for other folks, but I used a roller to apply. Much easier than the brush. Directions reccomend the brush as a roller may affect the finish. They are correct, but the almost imperceptable stippling effect of the roller doesn't bother me. I also used three coats of paint although the instuctions didn't call for it. I let each coat dry in between as instructed then gave the shower one whole week before using. Also remember that using this paint doesn't suspend that laws of physics or change the physical properties of water. Basic rules of plumbing still apply, you need to use caulking to seal as appropriate.
Overall a decent product. I wrote this review mainly because the negative reviews I read almost prevented me from purchasing product. I found some of them to be innacurate in my experience and wanted to share this perspective.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
diyqueen
from Burgettstown,PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted 8 years

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on my tub 10 years ago and loved it. I lasted without a peel or crack for eight years. I use my tub for much more than bathing, it is like my large version of a utility sink. I have dyed clothes in it, cleaned paint brushes in it, cleaned my oven racks and assorted other items as I remodeled the rest of the house. After all of the chemicals etc. it finally started to peel and crack on the floor of the tub. (I am pretty sure that it was one of the chemicals I have used because it only peeled up about 2 inches the entire way around). I plan on reapplying the product for another 8 years of use. I would recommend it as an inexpensive way to make an old ugly tub bright and useable again. Yes, when it starts to peel off it is a pain because it does clog the drain but I figure that if you start saving for a new tub when you apply this product, by the time you actually need a tub you will be able to get top of the line.
Pros: Good Protection, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Durable, long lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
gwidme01
from Newton, MA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tough to use

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to refinish an aging stained bath tub. I cleaned the tub as described in the instructions. The brush-on epoxy is sticky and difficult to apply evenly. After applying the second coat, coverage was ok but the finish was far from even. Hard to avoid tears forming on vertical surfaces, even when applying thinnly as recommended. Epoxy takes a long time to dry. I did project in winter and had to used a space heater to keep the temperature of the bathroom around 70F. After 4 days of cure time the epoxy has not completely hardened. In some spots the paint has wrinkled and I am not sure it will adhere permanently. Looks like this job will have to be re-done (with another product). Make sure to have a proper respirator handy as epoxy generates A LOT of fumes. Doing this project during the warm season might help for ventilating and perhaps for reducing cure time. The kit I bought was supposed to be white, but the final product has a distinct yellowish off-white color.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
TamTam
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!!!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got an estimate on our tub and was told $700 -$900. I'm a minor do it yourself type of gal so I said I've seen it on TV and I know I can do it. Well, I saw the kit and mask, and really hoped I could do it. Anyway, the hardest part about this process is the prep work. I really made sure I did that exactly the way the directions said because I had read how the spray on peels. Well, I watched utube and everyone on there was using a roller and the directions said to use a brush. This is where I didn't follow the directions and glad I did. The brush tends to hold too much product, where the roller was GREAT!! It took all but 5 minutes to roll it on and it gave a much better coat. Love the product, but roll it on. Keep the door closed with fans on to dry it as the smell can be a bit much at the beginning.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+64points
64out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
brighamlumm

Good Product

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's an epoxy-based paint, so there will be some odor. You will definitely need a paint fume-specific respirator. Home Depot sells then for around $5.
I used about 3/4 of the provided quart to cover my bathtub with two coats. It looks great, and I'm very happy with it.
Steel wool was provided in the kit, but I found that low-grit sandpaper worked better. There are two key things that will make the refinishing a success or failure: surface prep and cure time.
Whether you're using steel wool or sandpaper, great care should be taken to adequately scuff the surface. Once that's complete, do it a second time. When you're sure the tub is prepped, do it twice more. This is super important.
The enemy of any paint is dust or water under the coat, so make sure the tub is bone dry before you start your first coat. If any dust, dirt, grease, etc, is on the surface, the epoxy will not adhere.
Carefully follow the recoating directions (recoat between 2-4 hours, or you will have to restart the whole process) with your applications. Wait at least 72 hours before using the tub. This is also of major importance. If water gets on the surface before full cure, the paint won't adhere.
All in all, if the directions are closely followed, this product performs extremely well. I definitely will recommend it to a friend.
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
gghd000
from fremont, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks pretty good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished the 72 hours of healing time and it looks glossy and good. I cant say the paint is looking uniform like brand new one, however it might be attributable to the way I have painted. Because i did not use lackquer thinner so I was careful not to overpaint which might have resulted in some weak paint. Made the preparation as much as possible I would say I am quite satisfied by now.
Paint itself is very tough in terms of viscosity and I had to use lot of force to apply the paint.
Hopefully it will not chip during the usage in which case I will have to make a choice of replacing the tub itself.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
Misshan

Gave bathtub a brand new look

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Prior to refinishing the tub, I removed all the caulk/mold around the tub completely. Then I did exactly like the instructions said. I used steel wool that was included in the kit and didn't have to use the extras I bought. I prepped the tub properly and used the cleaning solution that was also included in the kit. I think the brush is the most important decision to make to give the tub really smooth looking coats. I selected the Wooster Shortcut 2 in. Nylon/Polyester Angle Sash Brush that had a really good rating online and that was also recommended in-store to me. First coat took me about one hour, cure was about 2.5 hours, and then second coat was about 1.5. The tub was then not used for 2 weeks. My family of 5 now uses the tub and everyone is happy with the results!
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
jill

This stuff is amazing!!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
35 y/o shower stall was scrubbed to the point where the finish was worn off by previous owner. Now it looks brand new! Easy to use - but invest in a good mask - the fumes are powerful. But it's worth it.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
paintpro
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Decided to try this product instead of paying someone hundreds of dollars to do this for me at my 3rd location. It's been used steadily for 6 weeks and still looks great!! Only time will tell, but so far I'm impressed. Must be cleaned with a scrubbing bubbles product.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
teannie

Great product

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to say that this product is amazing. I followed the directions and my bathroom came out great. I had green and black tiles and the tough as tiles covered it with 2 coats. I even did the inside of my stand up shower and the paint looks the same as the first day I put it on. I recommend the brush on paint. It was easy to apply.
+39points
43out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
Bryan
from texas

Great product for the price

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just follow the steps, not as bad as i thought it would be. The tub had rust spots before but now it looks brand new. It will take some time to prep. I cleaned and scoured one day and painted the next. If you have a window in the bathroom, open it and put a fan in to blow fumes out. Close the A/C vent in bathroom to help prevent smell moving thru house.
+44points
59out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
jeanieb
from Salem, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hopeful Solution

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After careful prep work we used this to resurface our old, discolored shower base. We had replaced the shower walls but taking out the old shower base proved to be a very difficult task. It now looks as new as the walls and hopefully it will hold up through the years!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
Michael

5 Days still soft

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was supposed to be white turned yellowish, days and discoverd the hard way that it had not cured now waiting for second coat to dry so I can get paid and if not then I m sure my customer would expect me to eat it.
Thanks for this, I wont be using this in the future, also I think I will have to try and convince Home depot to pay to have tis redone if this second coat isn't cured soon.
Cons: just bad al around
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 27, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareSeptember 27, 2013
Michael,
Thank you for your review. Our Homax Tough as Tile One Part Brush On Epoxy Paint needs to be applied when the tub surface temperature is at least 72 degrees. It also needs to stay at this temperature or above during the complete curing time to ensure that it cures properly. Cooler temperatures can slow down the curing process causing the dry time to be longer. If you have any questions, our Customer Care Team can be reached by calling 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 16 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
Girlwithouttools
from Hampton Bays, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Product Requires Very Specific Instructions

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried the product on a small area of a different sink since the instructions say that you have to use steel wool and scrub the area that you need the product to stick to. I was afraid if the product didn't work that I would be left with a sink that looked even worse than before. Once I read the instructions I saw that I had no good way to deal with the fumes in the space where I had hoped to use it nor did I have the time to wait for the product to fully cure.
Cons: too long to cure, application must be precise, fumes
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with the Tough As Tile One Part Brush On Paint. This product is an epoxy paint which requires adequate ventilation while applying and during the cure process. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For additional help, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 17 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
dave
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's not white!!!!! ZERO STARS

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst product I have bought in years. First of all it is not white. I thought after applying the second coat it would miraculously turn white - nope.
Other than the product being a different color than the one stated on the box - everything else was horrible too. Believe it or not the performance of this was worse than the color. I have tons of DIY experience and didn't think twice about reglazing myself.
So I had prepped before I got this - cleaned, lightly sanded, cleaned again. But I went through and followed their instructions to the letter... Cleaned, then buffed with steel wool, cleaned again.
First I think the steel wool was a big problem. It left scarring and black marks. I still think the product would have failed bigtime but the steel wool didn't help.
OK so I put on the first coat. Ummm first coat didn do much if anything. My bathtub was full of "bubbles" everywhere. And yes the fumes are insane. And yes it is a pain to apply.
So I wait 2.5 hours. Start to apply the second coat (second coat of almond let's remember). OK starting to look better. I am feeling better about everything. Paint fumes are making me loopy but it looks better. Close up the paint can...
Go back and check an hour after... glops of paint running together everywhere. The stuff pooled in specific places - even on the tub walls. It looks like someone threw up (almond) in my bathtub. Self level - hahahaha. I mean this stuff is a disaster... So now I have to figure out how to remove or sand and then buy another product that is white or pay someone to reglaze.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: sloppy uneven finish, horrible fumes, not white
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 27, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with the color of Homax Tough as Tile. This particular product is a soft white color, not a bright white color. The application area and lighting conditions can affect how the color of the product appears to you. Adequate ventilation is important through out the application process. When buffing with the steel wool, using light pressure is recommended to help prevent black streaks and scarring on the surface. Avoid shaking the can as doing so can cause bubbles. Instead, use a paint stirrer to gently mix the product. For best results, apply Tough as Tile in thin layers to avoid runs and drips. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For additional help, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 18 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
EastNashMan
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, dry time LONG

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I ordered this product I did not realize it says to dry for 3 DAYS!! This makes the job very difficult for me because I have a roommate and only one bathroom. I have not used the product yet because I don't know when I'm going to have the opportunity to keep the tub dry for 3 days. It seems like a great product at a good price, and from the instructions, fairly easy to apply. But it bothers me that it takes so long to dry. I didn't expect dry time to be an hour or anything, but 24 hours would make the job much more reasonable. I wonder if there is a similar product that takes less time to dry....
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Cons: long dry time
-15points
2out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tough as Tile One Part Brush On - White
dlbracey
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK, but balance the cost of pro service with your future chiropractor bills

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I followed the instructions exactly (with two exclusions, see below) and I am pretty pleased with the finish so far (been about 2 weeks). The small blemishes are unnoticeable when you are standing in the shower, but you could find them with close inspection.
1. One reviewer mentioned ignoring the instructions and using a high quality roller instead of a brush. I used a brush for the first coat and tried the roller at the beginning of the second coat - the roller was a disaster, leaving behind lint and an uneven surface that I had to scramble to fix with the brush. USE A BRUSH.
2. The instructions say you need 72 hour minimum drying time - after about 48 hours I decided to remove the masking tape as it can get hard to remove when left on for too long. As I was leaning over the tub to remove the tape from the far wall my sweater actually left an imprint of the weave of the cloth on the tub edge, no paint transferred, but the texture was ruined in that spot. WAIT 72 HOURS BEFORE TOUCHING.
3. Using this product and the process is absolutely miserable. I used it because I was on a budget and didn't want to spend the $300+ for professional refinishing. If I could go back in time I would spend $500 or more just to avoid the misery of bending awkwardly over a tub on your knees for 4 hours. Seriously - I started at 6 PM and wasn't finished until 2 AM (2 hrs between coats to relax). So before you take on this task make sure it is worth it to you to do it yourself - I recognize that there is a big difference between the cost of this product and the cost of professional refinishing, but choose wisely. The pro option will give you a better finish for a lot less agony.
Pros: Good Protection, Even Application, Good Coverage
Cons: agonizing installation
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.