728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Appliance, Tub & Tile Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque

Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque

You no longer have to live with your old, stained or discolored tub or sink! The Homax Products 32-oz. Tough As Tile Aerosol Epoxy is a high-gloss porcelain repair product used to refinish tiles, sinks and bathtubs. Now with a little effort prepping and painting over one weekend, you can restore your tub or bathroom tiles to look like new. The Tough as Tile provides a hard, protective finish that remains beautiful for years - even on surfaces subject to severe or frequent washing. The Kit includes Tub, Tile & Sink One Part Epoxy Paint, Nitrile Gloves, Steel Wool, Surface Prep Cleaner and complete instructions. The results and savings are worth the effort.
Overall rating:
1.444 / 5
1.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
12%of customersrecommend this product1 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
1.4 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
12%of customersrecommend this product1 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
Review 1 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque

Horrible Product!!

PostedJune 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband used this product on our 70s powder blue tub. He followed the process precisely and perfectly. We even gave it an extra day without use (4 days total) to be sure it had enough time to dry. It looked awesome...until we used it! The paint immediately started to peel, and got worse with every shower/bath. Our daughters (ages 1 and 2) would get out of the tub with paint stuck to their bodies. We eventually ended up peeling off most of the inside of the tub so that we could bathe our girls, and so the paint would stop clogging our drain. After the paint had really started to peel, I decided to try different sponges just to see what would happen. The paint got scratched all over with one of the Cello sponges with the yellow on one side, and green slightly abrasive on the other side. The company really doesn't give a great guarantee on this product anyway, but of course we hoped we'd be the exception!
TIP: If you have to peel off your paint for whatever reason, it peels off in nice big chunks if you spray it with HOT water, not cold.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+59points
65out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque

Save your money, RUN...

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy Homax product. I had two bad experiences, learn from my mistake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Homax Customer CareAugust 18, 2014By Homax Customer CareAugust 18, 2014
nathan- Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied. If we can be of any assistance to you please contact us at homax@homaxproducts.comHomax
Review 3 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
from Rochester, NY

Peeled after 2 months

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My tub did look so much better at first, and I loved the color. However, now it's been about 2 months and the paint is peeling off in sheets from the tub. It seems like once one little piece peels, the whole thing comes off. So far it is limited to the bottom of the tub, but I'm terrified the rest of the tub will start peeling as well.
Only feedback from the manufacturer was I must have not cleaned the tub enough. I spent hours cleaning the tub per their exact specifications prior to applying the paint...
+66points
72out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
from Mogadore, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a total joke

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are preparing to put our house on the market ,so we decided to spruce up bathtub. we followed the directions to a tee. after a lot of time and hardwork,the tub "looked" beautiful. within a few days of use the paint started peeling. We are now stuck with a huge mess. We will have to try to get all the paint off so we can fix it up. I have never been so disappointed in a product. Home Depot should pay more attention to the products they sell. This one was endorsed wholeheartedly by their employee. Don't waste your time or money!!!!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque

spray version worked good on kitchen sink

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Strange how the spray on version gets such awful reviews (2107) but the Paint on version (2106) gets perfect reviews.
I purchased the Spray on version from Home Depot in Oct 2010 and applied it to our two kitchen sinks. I have not experienced the peeling that others have noted. The product performed good in our sinks. It has been two years and the sink is pitted at the bottom again from wear and tear though. I am getting ready to reapply with the second spray can that I still have. Maybe there is an issue with the newer product since I used it before any else has posted here.
Peter
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks High End
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
from Panama City Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just shy of dreadful

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like everyone else, I cleaned my vanity top precisely as directed on the box. Then donned my gloves and respirator. I used the paint-on version because people seemed truly put-off by the overspray. The paint-on product says to put the coats on very thin for the best result. Unfortunately the product is so thick and sticky that it's almost impossible to put on a thin coat. I let it cure three days and then went to apply the second coat. The first coat was a mess - thick drips everywhere. Fortunately the box suggested I sand with steel wool. One thing I'll say, it really is tough as tile. An hour of sanding got me nowhere. A contractor I know suggested I wetsand with a very fine sandpaper and that did remove the drips, but it certainly couldn't smooth out the textured brush marks that were all over the application. I've already wasted money on this but my sink is an odd size and I haven't been able to find a replacement, so I may end up wasting more money trying to put on a third coat. To be honest, I think if I could thin the product out it would have actually worked pretty well, but the box doesn't say what it can be thinned with!
Cons: simply impossible to use according to directions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareApril 3, 2014By Homax Customer CareApril 3, 2014
Catsin,
The Tough As Tile Brush On paint is a self leveling paint and should not show any brush marks. We recommend not putting so much pressure on the brush while painting. This will eliminate the brush marks in the paint. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 7 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
from Meridian, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are trying to sell our house so we decided to try and spruce things up in the bathroom. My mother and I spent hours scrubbing the tub before we began applying the spray. First, the smell is overwhelming. Second, it gets on everything withing 5ft of the area. Third, after three coats and two days later it didnt even put a dent in the color. Our tub was off white before and it off white with white dots all over it now. The paint drips like crazy and leaves a rough texture. Horrible product! My box also came with no instructions so I had to search the web for them.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, No Instructions, Scratches Easily, does not cover well, drips, odor is overwhelming, overspray is huge
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By HomaxCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with the color of Homax Tough as Tile. This particular product is a soft white color, not a bright white color. The target application area and lighting conditions can affect how the color of the product appears to the eye. Before starting your project, please ensure there is adequate ventilation. For best results, apply Tough as Tile in thin layers to avoid runs and drips. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Homax
Review 8 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really disappointed with this product

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Researched the product for bathroom update. We took painstaking measures to follow exactly the directions for the product. At first the tub looked great that was in July. It's now January and it is chipping and flaking. Wish I would have bought a new tub instead. I am so sad, now taking out the tub to replace would destroy the update and would have to be totally be redone. Do yourself a favor just buy a new tub!
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Homax Customer CareJanuary 8, 2014By Homax Customer CareJanuary 8, 2014
Daveswife,
One of the most important steps in applying this product is the preparation of the tub surface. Any type of contaminate left on the surface can cause the paint not to adhere properly and then can easily peel or chip. If you have further questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Homax
Review 9 for Tough as Tile One Part Epoxy Aerosol - Bisque
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
A complete and utter mess. Don't waste your time. I followed the directions explicitly and have a HUGE mess... either replace your tub or hire a professional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.