728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit

17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit

The PAS-225VP features a 21.2 cc professional-grade, 2-stroke engine and two attachments. The split boom design allows interchangeability with ECHO's Pro Attachment Series and accommodates up to 12 attachments. The i-30 starting system reduces starting effort by 30%.
Overall rating:
4.815 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
Review 1 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit

Condider a Stihl

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was about to headed to Home Depot to get the Combo Kit. Very close by is a Lawn and Saw shop that sells Stihl. Did a check on the internet on Echo and Stihl. By far Stihl is better. My Echo trimmer went out so I was shopping. What I decided on was the KM 130 R STIHL KombiMotor. The Kombi system alows one to attach different tools. I went ahead and got the 2 wheel edger straft shaft, tiller and weed trimmer straight shaft. The tiller is great - hardly any vibration and it will have loose dirt kicking up several inches. Edger with the 2 wheels great and weed trimmer great. With the 130R triller is full throttle and weed trimmer/edger about a 1/4 th throttle.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit

Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer / Edger Attachment Comb

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool. Starts up easily every time which is what I was looking for along with durability. The edger attachment makes edging very easily and I have over 200' of curbing. The line trimmer works great. I wished it would have came with the U-turn head instead but it didn't. I have since purchased the U-turn head for it. Highly recommend this tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Tri-Cities, WA

great product

PostedApril 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
use it daily, and it runs like a champ. Getting ready to buy another for a family member
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Lubbock, TX

Happy So Far

PostedMay 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing my research it came down to the Echo and two other brands. One didn't have a very good dealer base (so repairs would be tough) and the other was a bit pricey. This combo made Echo the clear choice from a service, quality, and price standpoint. So far I haven't been disappointed. If you follow the instructions it starts up really easy and so far cuts like a champ. It is plenty powerful and very light. The box includes oil and safety googles, which is nice. I'm really happy with the purchase so far. Based on advice I've received from others I plan on replacing the line feed with a rapid feed head and getting a shoulder strap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from ok

PostedMay 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just ordered this unit so I haven't got my hands on it yet,I will tell you that I'm looking forward to many years of trouble free use...I have a curved shaft GT 1100 trimmer, it has been used for 18 years and it still runs great. I need a straight shaft as I'm older now and cant stoop without back pain, so I'm hoping the straight shaft will help, also I wanted the edger attachment for ease of use, I've always ran my GT 1100 upside down and sideways to edge, also not very comfortable but the unit takes it like a champ..Guys, I cant say enough about echo..only hope this one is half as good as the last......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from San Antonio, TX

Can't Go Wrong With Echo Brand

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently replaced a Troy Built gas attachment line trimmer/edger with the Echo gas attachment product. My selection was based on user comments, its long warranty and consumer reporting sites. At first it was hard to start but realized soon after it was because of bad gasoline. The Echo trimmer is an excellent purchase, performing at the level it was advertised at. The attachment model is great for changing tools for specific landscape applications (trimmer, edger, tiller, etc.). I would recommend this product to everyone. Note to the 'Green People': yes, gas power is better than electric.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Stockton, CA.

One Handy Tool

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tool most definitely comes in handy with a landscaping company that only caters to residences. It can be of help in a businessor park setting also, but at a house is ideal. No electricity is needed with the use of a weed eater, edger, bush trimmers, small chainsaw, blower, and the list goes on for attachments that accomodate this tool. Everything will get done quickly and somewhat effortlessly when it is a one man landscaping job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Atlanta, Ga

Very Impressed

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this yesterday and I can say that I am extremely pleased with it. I used it for over an hour and it performed at least twice as good as the lower priced Ryobi it replaced. After reading the reviews on here I knew I would be happy and I don't regret buying it at all. I don't mind spending more for a product that will last me longer and do a better job than the lower priced brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Texas

Wounderful Product by ECHO

PostedMay 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this a week ago and can not put it down. Another toy to add to the shop. As a trimmier I went ahead and replaced the pump and feed with the rapid line feed for $30. I buy a spool of line and just cut it myself its alot cheaper than buying the precut line. The product works great. I have allready cleaned up the fence lines on abbout 4 achres we have. The fence has never looked better. as for the product works like a charm. Throttle very responsive and starts right up. The trimmer was designed for the user to not have to be bent over and use it for back pain free operation. If you are thinking about a new trimmer this is the one. Also I have the edger attachment. Love that to. Allready have the prunner and 3 foot attachment on the way. I will write when I get to play with those. I am very picky about my yard and these tools have made it much easier for me to have perfection at a fairly low cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Oldsmar, FL

pas-225vp

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow!!!! I love this product. It is so convinient to just swap between the trimmer and the edger by switching shafts. I exchanged it from a GT-225, which was just a trimmer, to this PAS-225 VP, instead of buying a seperate edger. It is like having two great machines in one, at your disposal. It is much easier to store them as well. Great job, as usual, echo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Tallahassee, Fl.

Well Worth the Price

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was hard to spend this much for a trimmer/edger. You get what you pay for and it is worth every penny. This power head has power to spare. My old edger required me to go over the same area twice. The larger wheel is also a plus. Starting was very easy. Great combo and super fast shipping from The Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Columbus, Ohio

Trimmer/Edger

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used it now a couple times after purchasing. Shipment was fast and fairly easy to assemble. It starts easy but need to let warm up for a minute or two. The edger attachment was simple to attach. Comes with 5 year warranty which is a plus. My neighbor has had his echo trimmer for 10 years and still working good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Rockwall, TX

You get what you pay for.

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ECHO trimmer/edger combo pack isn't cheap, but you do get what you pay for. I'm replacing a Ryobi unit, and the ECHO is so much better. Better materials, build quality, performance, etc. Also comes with a great warranty. I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Also, Home Depot shipping was super-fast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Roweltt, TX

Best Edger I have ever owned

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am typically very leery of buying power tools with gas engines because they never seem to start for me.
This unit is excellent though, I have no problems starting the unit on a cold or hot engine. It has made edging a lot easier than with my previous units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Bluffton, SC

Echo edger/trimmer combo

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is another excellent product from Echo, it is easy to start and very lightweight. There was very little assembly required and it was very simple. I would recommend this product to any homeowner that wants quality in yard equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Orlando, Florida

Great product

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had several Ryobis, a john deer and a troy built, in which the best time of service has been 2 yrs. I have to say, it is worth spending a little more money. Trimming and edging is very fast. Don't seem anything slows it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Clinton, Oklahoma

Very Pleased

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been extremely pleased so far. As a weed eater it is quiter than my old one. There is a bit of a learning curve with the edger, (I have never had an edger before), but it works well. I would recommend this to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Houston, TX

Love it!!!

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a set like this and used it for about a month. It worked great in the yard and easy to handle. Unfortunately, I hurt myself and had to sell my set. If I get enough money to purchase another set, I definitely would!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Florida

Great Product

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what you would expect out of an Echo product, couldn't ask for more. Keep in mind warranty is only valid if you use Echo oil in the gas/oil mixture. Can't go wrong, and keep in mind all the other PAS parts available!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas PAS Trimmer and Edger Kit
from Dallas, Texas

A Wonderful Product for a Great Deal

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this combination through a recommendation from a Professional Landscape Company and my local HomeDepot sales person. It is a great product by an award winning company. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>