728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Greenhouses or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse

Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse

This full height Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse, in its elegant black finish, is a value beyond comparison. Enjoy and utilize all 96 sq. ft. of floor space, integrated shelf system, 7 ft. height and French double doors to take advantage of the finest growing center in its class and price range. Grow your own organic vegetables for better taste, nutritional value and save on the rising cost of food. Transform your back or side yard into an early season propagation center for tender young annuals to fill your spring and summer gardens with hundreds of mature colorful flowers and plants that you've grown from seeds in your private greenhouse. You can also grow exotic plants within this naturally climate controlled environment which is protected by tough UV polycarbonate panels. The Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse is the true hobbyist greenhouse, that can also be used to store tools, equipment and other items over the winter in its open space. This greenhouse kit snaps together with its patented push-lock interlocking system and features rigid polycarbonate panels that are 4 mm thick, and twin walled for maximum insulation. Panels slide into place and become part of the rigid frame system which includes two air-circulation Smart Vents in the walls. Two full length shelves supply plenty of space for plants, as well as a potting area, to utilize even more space below the shelves with 24 ft. of fully integrated shelving throughout the unit.
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
Review 1 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from Dalhart, TX 79022, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not made for Texas weather

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just purchused this green house and yesterday we had 40 mile an hour winds with gust up to 70 miles an hour. I lost a couple of panels due to the wind and found them unbroken to my surprise. Its not spring here yet either. I will have to repair some of the corners with metal brackets. For the prices I did not expect there to be plastic holding the corners together. There needs to be some additional L brackets to hold the corners together better.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Green House for the money,built it for my 80 year old mother,just make sure the ground is level .

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Green House for the money,Built it for my 80 year old mother.Just make sure the ground is level,and everything is square.My son and I constructed it in one day....
Pros: Durable, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from Lutz, Florida (near Tampa)

Clear View Greenhouse

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently built the Cear View 8' x12' Greenhouse over several evenings and am very pleased wiith the result. My wife and I will be starting new plants and taking care of existing plants in the space. I do have a couple of suggestions for anyone who will be assembling their own. When you construct the front (with the doors), slide the bottom profiles (steps 3.8A thru 3.10) on the verticals first before placing the top on in steps 3.5 thru 3.7. The extra rigidity of the bottom rails makes it easier to place the top on the front wall. One other suggestion is to install trim plate JO6 in the roof before you install the roof panels. I installed it in step 12.1. If you wait until step 13.4A, as in the instructions, I could not for the life of me figure out how to get this part in with the roof panels in place. A word of warning. My "helper" stripped most of the roof panel protective plastic film off before realizing that there is a top and bottom. This notation should really come before the step where you install them in the roof. You must install these with right side facing the sun. I am not sure I did this for every panel.
For convenience, I completed the front and back walls in my garage along with the side walls (steps 4.1 thru 5.1) before walking them to the final site. I graded the site to get it level and then placed the greenhouse on the ground with no other foundation. I didn't want a wet, mildewed concrete or paved floor in my future. Our floor is made of river pebbles from Home Depot on the dirt floor. It drains quickly and has a nice look to it. We also placed a 12 to 18 inch border of these pebbles around the outside of the greenhouse to deter weeds and rain splashes.
I found the instructions to be good and the construction relatively straight forward. Just take it one step at a time. We love our new greenhouse and look forward to many years of fun using it.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from Lutz, Florida (near Tampa)

PS to earlier review

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found I could turn the two top door hinge pins(S51) upside down and drop them in the top hinges before I screwed the hinges on the door frame. This allowed me to trash the pesky lock washers (one of mine went flipping into the woods when I tried to put it on the pin as per instructions). With the pins securely in place, you can now easily lift the pins to take the doors on or off any time you wish. The pins can't fall out.
I dug the 10 holes for the anchor pins with my standard post hole digers. For the record, three sixty pound bags of high strength sacrete from Home Depot exactly filled these holes. I now have a finished, high quality greenhouse!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from Wilson, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not Good For Northern States

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought online with specification that it would be in Wisconsin. Was assured it would be fine even with the extreams in temperature. Set up went fine. Took 1 long weekend. Was unsure about the siding when first received, seemed flimsy. Put in a very strong base with much stronger tie downs then supplied. First snow fall panels on roof pushed in. I'm thinking the twin panel side model would have been a better choice. Several of the side panels are damaged with the snow and cold. I am not going to be happy when spring comes and with all the repairs. I really enjoyed the last spring and summer with this greenhouse. But please be aware that winter and snow and not a fit with this model. I would have purchased the twin wall if I was told this.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, not for cold weather
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from Carson City, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very nice when constructed

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All the parts were there. The instructions were good and you must follow them step by step. It is not an easy project to put together and does take at least two people 2-3 days to do. I hope it holds up with the strong winds we have. It seems to be sturdy. Shipping was prompt and ok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Greenhouse Day

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Greenhouse took 3 people and over 12 hours to assemble.Many screws were missing, but Home Depot replaced at no charge. This was a tedious job, but we are delighted with the result.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clear View 8 ft. x 12 ft. Greenhouse
from 40146
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with my Greenhouse.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very Sturdy. Assembled with reasonable ease. A couple of glitches with part numbers but minor enough to overlook. Glad I decided to build a deck for my Greenhouse base. It attached to my deck easily enough with my own supplied lag bolts, otherwise I would have needed to dig holes for rebar as suggested later in instructions. Not a good idea to attempt assembly in windy conditions (the instructions cover this very well). I really like the finished product. Looks great in my back yard.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.