728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher

14 in. Electric Dethatcher

The Agri-Fab 14 in. Electric Dethatcher is designed to quickly remove thatch from lawns without needing gas and oil to operate. The dethatcher works well for areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. and features a no-tools height adjustment for easy operation. It has an easy-to-start trigger and a cushioned grip for added comfort and control during use.
Overall rating:
4.205 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Review 1 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
lawn22
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very effective

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is easy to use and does a great job. I went over my lawn 3x and picked 8 bags of dead grass. For the price you can't beat it. It is light weight and easy to put together.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
OHMacHine
from Northern Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for a real labor-saver!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a couple years using a thatching rake, I (thankfully!)decided to try this electric dethatcher. It was a whole lot more effective for a great deal less effort. The only possible drawback I found was that thatch tended to build up in the housing pretty quickly. However, I'm thinking this might have been as much a result of the volume/thickness of my thatch, and/or its moist condition, as anything else.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Doug
from Valley Springs, Ca.

The Agri-Fab 14 in Electric Dethatcher is great!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were very impressed with this product. Worked as advertised. Light weight and easily removable at a fair price. The wife also insisted on trying it. It helps for the one not operating the machine to guide the extension cord away from the machine. We needed to go max depth and twice around the yard. Back to a good looking lawn again. Thanks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
George

Good value, great time saver.

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dethatched approximately 1000 sq. ft. in a couple of hours. My lawn is primarily Kentucky Blue Grass and varieties of fescue. The middle setting worked the best; the lowest setting nearly scraped my yard bare.
The only caveat is that each side height setting is spring loaded which does make for easy adjustments. However, a bump in the yard may also cause one side to jump to the lowest setting which may not be noticed until the thatch is raked. I have some nearly bare spots when that happened, although I expect the grass will recover. Overall, very pleased!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
ArizonaThatcher
from Phoenix Area

Great Little Thatcher

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a tiff lawn in the southwest, and I was worried this wouldn't have the power or ability to deal with the thick mat that develops each year. Wrong! I had to use the lowest setting, but it pulled five bags of thatch out of 1500 sq ft. I did it in sections - I didn't want to over heat the motor. It did great. The whole lawn was done and bagged in about 75 minutes including mowing after thatching. This isn't an industrial grade machine, but for my yard - awesome. The small spring tines on the thatcher do a better job than the machine I used to get at the rental center.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Victor
from Stamford, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did a bunch of research and read all of the previous customer reviews before buying this product. Before I go into any further detail, I want to say that I highly recommend this product. It is a way better alternative to completing this task manually. It seems pretty flimsy (all plastic) but it did the job great. That being said, the product that was delivered to my house must have been a returned item to the store because the plastic packages where all of the smaller pieces to be assembled were ripped and scattered throughout the box. Once I read the instructions it was fairly straightforward to put it together. The only thing I haven't yet figured out was how to properly attach the power cord supporter (it made the usage of the product a little difficult but did not impact the performance at all).
Before you begin to use the product, make sure that each side of the dethatcher is the same level. They say in the instructions that they are already set at the same level (the middle one) but mine wasn't (further evidence that I got a returned product) and I did not realize it until I was working on it for about 15 mins. Also, I have a very long yard so I needed to buy a longer extension cord to reach the end of my yard.
All in all the dethatcher worked really well. The entire process start to finish took about 2.5 hours for flat land of about 1/4 acre. I followed the recommendation from a customer review to give the maching a break every 10-15 mins just in case and that seemed to work fine. This time included running my lawn mower to pick up all the thatch (6 full grass clipping bags) that came up.
Other things to be mindful of are to look in front of you as you are using the product and remove anything that isn't grass like plastic, rocks, small branches, etc... before going over them. This will prevent damage to the machine which some people have mentioned. Also, I wouldn't attempt to use the dethatcher when the grass is wet as it is not designed to do so. The product was a little more expensive than renting a machine but I am hoping to get a good number of years out of the machine to make it a worthy investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: power cord assembly holder hard to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
GreenMonster
from White Plains, NY

For Do-It Yourselfers

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of back-breaking hand raking, I found this power dethatcher. It cleaned our lawn in less than one hour and lifted two full barrels of dead grass. Re-seeding and fixing our lawn will now be a breeze. The unit is lightweight, easy to use and powerful. There's no heavy pushing, it's almost self-propelled. Highly recommended if you take pride in doing your own lawn.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
jeanofarc
from Bergen County, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well but the jury is still out

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received this product and put it right to use on the lawn. Found it worked best on deepest setting. The slower you push it, the stronger the dethatching action so your walking speed matters.
Read another review that stated that it put less stress on electric motor to do one smaller section of yard at time, rake up the clippings, and then move to next section (allowing motor to cool down). I followed this advice and also found it made power cord management to be much easier.
Overall, it was a fairly simple operation. Assembly was easy. Very lightweight. (I had surgery 5 weeks ago and had no problem dealing with this machine.)
Concerns: Had to retighten knobs several times. Lost two tines when I accidentally clipped a rock. (Be careful about this) In order for price to be cost effective vs. machine rental, I need to get three seasons out of this. Warranty for motor is three years. Anything after that will be a bonus.
Biggest benefit was ability to pace myself doing this job, especially since I did it solo. With a rental, you are pretty much forced to do the whole yard all at once. Having my own machine allowed me to divide the job over two days (front yard and back yard).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: questions re: durability but so far so good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
pab123

I like the results from using the product HOWEVER the product seems to be defective.

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When I opened the carton the parts bag had been opened and there seemed to be 2 extra pieces. The tires are in desparate need of a wheel alignment. One is so turned that it rubs against the machine itself. The machines operation made quick and easy work of my lawn - couldn't believe it could be that easy! The extra pieces and turned wheels are a big disappointment.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
pjdee
from Idaho Falls, ID

A little machine worth having

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Agri-Fab dethatcher really work well. The unit is light weight, and easy to use (you don't push it around; it pulls you around!). I thought dethatching would be an all day job, but I finished 5000 sq. ft. in 3 hours. Since the machine is rated for 1000 sq. ft, I gave it a "break" after doing about a quarter of the lawn while I bagged.
This little machine really makes a normally unpleasant chore a breeze!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
stirfry
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Home-Use Tool

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Agri-Fab Electric Dethatcher in the mid-spring of 2013. I considered several other brands. This was my second choice to a similar product offered by another company, but their product was out of stock and could not be ordered until late summer. However, this unit had very good reviews, but about 25% more in price. I bought this together with the 100' Husky 14/3 extension cord (Home Depot), which met the requirements given in the user's guide to prevent overheating of the electric motor.
The unit was pretty easy to assemble--it took me about 30 minutes. The first two steps are the most tricky, I would recommend doing them at the same time rather than independently.
I started with the unit on the setting highest from the ground, and worked my way through all five settings. For me, the setting closest to the ground worked the best. It pulled up quite a bit more thatch than I was expecting, yet left all the healthy grass rooted. My lot is about 1/3 acre, and it took about an hour to finish the front yard. Pushing the unit forward at a slower pace works much better than at a faster pace, so take your time. Like other reviewers, I used a bagging mower to pick up the thatch. About every three passes, I had to empty the bag. Regardless, a huge time-saver over raking it up. So I thank the other reviewers for this great tip.
Every few passes, I would lift up the cover and make sure the rollers and cooling path were clear of thatch. I had absolutely no problems with overheating.
My lawn had some areas of heavy thatch, and I'll have to go over some areas again. But for a vast majority of the lawn, one pass was good enough. This is a tool that I can see using in mid-spring and mid-fall to promote a healthy lawn and prepare for overseeding.
Overall, I am very happy with this tool and would highly recommend it. I only need to successfully use it a few times and it will have paid for itself, based on either renting a power rake or paying a company to do it. And I think it does just as good of a job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
MikeG
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Zoysia Tool

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is the perfect tool for those with empire zoysia lawns. It cleans out excess thatch without pulling up the runners. However, do not use on St Augustine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
TomB
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, this is a very good product.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does a good job and was easy to assemble and operate. It saves a lot of effort vs. manual dethatching which I have done many times. The height adjustment has to be checked frequently to ensure both sides are at the desired position. Probably best for small to medium size lawns.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Jules
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job!

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is actually a Craftsman (maybe Sears bought Agri-Fab?) which is OK - I feel better about replacing any parts in the future. It did the job better than I expected! Only thing missing is a grass catcher to pick up the mess, but the ease of use made raking up thatch worth it. Have to go slow - like rug cleaning - but still better than manual dethatching! Highly recommend this dethatcher.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
JSP7

major let down - great idea - not durable

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I was really looking forward to dethatching the yard with this purchase, but about half way through the job, a section of the plastic spindle that holds the metal raking tines broke off - it worked great up to that point - this review would be 5 stars if the product was built to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
jdubsmomma

Tine Housings Broke

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The tine housings broke almost immediately on this unit. In total, 4 of the 5 housings have to be replaced after 3 uses on small areas. Other than that, it worked great. If the replacement units last longer, I would bump up the rating to 4 stars.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
S31D

Light Weight but works fairly well

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the positive reviews, thought I would give it a chance. As long as you take your time and be gentle(not to pull back on it) it works great. Beats the HECK out of manually raking, which I have done for years. Tired of raking, give it a shot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
cjeb

Great Product - did not tear up my lawn

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my neighbor and i both wanted to dethatch this year, so we went in together to buy this product. now we can do this every year and save $$. it did a great job and didn't tear up my lawn like the "professional" gas powered ones. easy to assemble and so easy to use. it's easier than mowing as the tines pull you along as you go.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
JR11

Broke after 1000 sq ft

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This dethatched my lawn for 1000 sq ft and then smoke came out of the motor and it died. Duty cycle: I ran it for about 400 sq ft at a time with 20 minute breaks in between for collecting the thatch. Too bad, looks like I'll need to rent a gas powered one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
JoyVA
from Central Virginia

Worked Very Well for Me!!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this dethatcher for a yard that has a bluegrass/tall fescue lawn of about 3500 square feet. I am a middle-aged woman who is not especially "handy" so attaching the handle to the base of the unit properly seems to have been more difficult for me then others. But once that was mastered the machine worked great! I did about half of the lawn this weekend and found the machine easy to push and manuever and was quite shocked at how much thatch it pulled up. I had very little green grass in the mix - it was all dried thatch. I had read the reviews here and took frequent breaks to keep the motor cool. I had half a dozen neighbors pull up to have a look while I was working and everyone was very impressed with the time and effort saved over the normal dethatcher hand rake. My yard has both level and sloped areas and it worked well in all grades. I still hate yard work but this made a difficult chore much easier. Cost is well worth the effort saved over raking!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>