728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher

14 in. Electric Dethatcher

The Agri-Fab 14 in. Electric Dethatcher is designed to quickly remove thatch from lawns without needing gas and oil to operate. The dethatcher works well for areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. and features a no-tools height adjustment for easy operation. It has an easy-to-start trigger and a cushioned grip for added comfort and control during use.
Overall rating:
4.179 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product46 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product46 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Review 1 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very effective

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is easy to use and does a great job. I went over my lawn 3x and picked 8 bags of dead grass. For the price you can't beat it. It is light weight and easy to put together.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from puyallup
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shipped w/ broken part

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unfortunately, the item was shipped with the adjuster handle on one side broken. What was INTERESTING was that the broken handle was out side of the bag that the main thatcher was in. It looked like someone had placed it there as you would if you were returning something. Fortunately, I'm a little industrious and basically tie-wraped the adjuster in place and the machine worked very good. I don't see this as a bad reflection on HD, they are great. However, I went on agri-fab webpage and tried to order parts which seems to be locked up. Then I called them. Nobody was home. However, this was a Sunday. But I should have been able to order the parts.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: q/a of product going out the door is poor
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Valley Springs, Ca.

The Agri-Fab 14 in Electric Dethatcher is great!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were very impressed with this product. Worked as advertised. Light weight and easily removable at a fair price. The wife also insisted on trying it. It helps for the one not operating the machine to guide the extension cord away from the machine. We needed to go max depth and twice around the yard. Back to a good looking lawn again. Thanks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Spirit Lake, IA.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Purchase

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Electric Dethatcher is a very lightly built item. The tines are about the size of heavy paper clips, so I ordered 10 extra (at about $3 each). Having said that, I used it this spring on mine and neighbor's yard and had no problems. I recommend raking the yard well first so small twigs aren't encountered. I don't know how long it will last, but it did a good job of dethatching on yards that had never been dethatched and I am pleased with it so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dethatcher works well but is fragile

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This dethatcher has good reviews so I bought it. Although it would work great on newer lawns, my lawn is older and has tree roots coming to the surface. I read the directions which said to avoid rocks, sidewalks, etc., but there was no warning about vegetative matter such as tree roots. Within two minutes of starting on my lawn I started seeing parts of the dethatcher breaking and falling off. After a few more minutes, half the row of tines was gone. The problem is the plastic parts which hold the tines. The motor is powerful, but the plastic can't absorb the shock of hitting something more rigid than grass. I quickly returned it to Home Depot for a refund.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from mesa az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product worked well on my small yard you may have to go over a few times but much easier than a manual rake.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
a bolt was missing for assembly but other wise was easy to put together
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher

Works for me so far

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is 18" (not 14") which is great. Have to put it on the lowest setting and walk slowly but renting a machine is $40 (which really tears up my lawn .... this is more gentle, slower, but does a good job) and then pay someone $100 or so to rake everything up. Because this doesn't kick up so much dirt I can mow up the thatch. Mowing after the rental gas thatcher clogged up my air filter & dirtied the carb really bad. I just did about 500 sq ft. Doing the rest of the yard on the weekend. Takes more of my time but will pay for itself in less than 2 thatches.
Fast delivery as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use,light wieght

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price it's a nice little dethacher. Did about 1.5 hours and it ran well without any problems.This is not for heavy duty dethatching, but for use in
early spring when your grass has not started to regenerate and get thick. A bagger system would have been nice since I had to go behind afterwards with my push mower to "bag" up all the dethachted grass.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher

Good value, great time saver.

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dethatched approximately 1000 sq. ft. in a couple of hours. My lawn is primarily Kentucky Blue Grass and varieties of fescue. The middle setting worked the best; the lowest setting nearly scraped my yard bare.
The only caveat is that each side height setting is spring loaded which does make for easy adjustments. However, a bump in the yard may also cause one side to jump to the lowest setting which may not be noticed until the thatch is raked. I have some nearly bare spots when that happened, although I expect the grass will recover. Overall, very pleased!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher

This product worked just fine for my application.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price you can't beat this product. Just don't push it to hard, the motor does get pretty hot. I used it on a 1,500 square foot yard and it done just fine.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher

Highly effective

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this product very effective. It is easy to use, easy on the back. It removed the thatch very well without destroying the lawn in the process. The only evidence of thatching was the 2 - 96 gallon cans full that we pulled from our lawn.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from North Ogden, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT buy this!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I took delivery of this and it is easy to assemble, but it did not come with a power lead or a collecting basket. I contacted Agrifab and they stated that you have to buy an extension cord separately and they don't make a collecting basket for this product! WHY would you buy a dethatcher that doesn't collect what you are scraping out? I was going to return the item, but thought that raking up the thatch afterwards was going to be worth the effort of having a decent lawn. I purchased a 50ft extension cord and began the task of dethatching. The machine whirred away and left trails of thatch that it had plucked from the lawn and I was dreading the clean up! When I was nearing the end of the job, the machine started making a weird noise as if the bearings were sticking or something was spinning off centre! Sure enough, 2 of the tine holders (not the actual tine spikes) had completely split and I was unable to finish the job. However, it managed to produce 10 bags of thatch on a lawn that is about 300 sq ft and although I returned this defective model, I will be buying another one, it will not be an Agrifab!
Cons: Limited Features, poor construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job.

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This electric dethatcher does the job. We used it on our front lawn and it worked great. The height adjustment allows you to decide how deeply you want to remove the dead grass. It is not hard to use this machine. My only suggestions are that you first cut your lawn as short as it will tolerate. Dethatch the grass when the ground and grass are dry. Walk slowly so the machine can pull the maximum amount of grass.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and fast detaching

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product delivers on its promise of ease of use. This product made my yard work actually enjoyable.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Age Range:45 to 54

Did a good job.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a good job. I would recommend it. It came with all the parts. Did my whole lawn. I used the lowest setting to get as much up in some areas. Other areas I had to raise the height.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Phoenix Area

Great Little Thatcher

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a tiff lawn in the southwest, and I was worried this wouldn't have the power or ability to deal with the thick mat that develops each year. Wrong! I had to use the lowest setting, but it pulled five bags of thatch out of 1500 sq ft. I did it in sections - I didn't want to over heat the motor. It did great. The whole lawn was done and bagged in about 75 minutes including mowing after thatching. This isn't an industrial grade machine, but for my yard - awesome. The small spring tines on the thatcher do a better job than the machine I used to get at the rental center.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put together and easy to use. I thought it might not be as good as the gas one I rented before but it held up well!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product !!!!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dethatcher was really easy to assemble and use. It did just as good a job as the big gas machine that I would rent and have to have someone help me get in and out of the car. If you don't have a huge yard this is the perfect machine to purchase and a great value. I would recommend this machine to everyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product as described

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first time I used a dethatcher, have to get used to using a cord, product did a great job on the lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. Electric Dethatcher
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't usually write reviews on products, but decided to on this de-thatcher. Unlike other reviewers, this came new in box with simple to assemble instructions. Maybe 5 minutes max. to put together. No issues whatsoever in usage other than the cord getting in the way once in a while. But, eventually I learned to loop the cord over my shoulder/under armpit and use my body to keep the cord out of the way. Have used the rented de-thatchers before and they tend to be monsters. Either they rip the grass to shreds or they lightly comb it with little effect. Always had a hard time getting them to work just right. This however, is not an issue with this unit. Using the height adjustment I was able to get it to take up just enough without ripping grass up as well, through both very thick grass and matted down winter kill. Also unlike other reviewers, had no issue with the height adjustment changing through my two days of thatching a 15K yard (10 bags of thatch).
As other reviewers may have noted, time will tell with this unit. Don't plan on de-thatching every year, but if I get two uses out of this it will more than have paid for itself and delivered a much better job than I could have paid for or accomplished with a rented unit. Very satisfied with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>