728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Greenhouses or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse

8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse

Enjoy year-round gardening pleasure with the Snap & Grow by Palram 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse. Equally ready for early spring seedlings and late fall harvests, this sturdy greenhouse features a heavy-duty aluminum frame that resists rust damage to provide long-lasting performance.The greenhouse's crystal-clear polycarbonate panels are nearly unbreakable and feature 100% UV protection for high light transmission.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
Review 1 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Camillus, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice green house

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This greenhouse is what I was looking for,very attractive and sturdy,It has held up through rain and normal wind storms, I hope it holds up to Upstate New York winters. Instructions were tough being pictorial ,It took 3 of us aprox 6 hours ,we had no issues with the assembly,you just have to lay all the numbered parts out and take your time.The final product looks great and my plants are growing fast.
Pros: Durable, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, very attractive
Cons: assembly time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from San Diego, CA, USA

BUYER BEWARE - NO WARRANTY FROM MFG.!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This company does not honor their warranties. Says 5 year warranty or 5 year limited warranty. Well, they change models all the time, and once the model changes, the warranty goes out the window! I have tried for a couple of years to get warranty work done to my greenhouse for the plastic that turned CLOUDY and started to crumble. FINALLY I WAS TOLD even though I had a couple of years left on the warranty, that they had no parts for the model, therefore there was NO WARRANTY.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+57points
60out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Southern Oregon Coast
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, but difficult to assemble

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The greenhouse was very difficult to assemble. Some minor engineering design modifications would have made it much easier, such as tapering the ends of connectors that are supposed to slip into other parts. Also, in a windy area, on some days you can't work on it at all. I did most of the work myself, and it took me five 8-hour days to complete, not counting delays for wind. I am 69 years old and did almost all the work myself, so someone younger should be able to do it more quickly. I mounted mine on a rectangular base of 4x6 pressure treated boards, placed landscaping cloth underneath, and filled the rectangle with pea gravel. It seems pretty sturdy once completed, but I also purchased the tie-down kit because of the high winds here near the coast. I like the finished product, especially for the price (I paid $799), but I took away two stars for assembly difficulties.
Pros: Functionality, Strong
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Assembled fairly easy with just me doing the work, but it would have been much easier with another pair of hands.

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I assembled it by myself in probably 8-9 hours. The instructions take some figuring out as they are just several pages (25?) of drawings, like hieroglyphics. Some of the channels that the plastic panels slide into were crushed in shipping as everything is just piled loosely in a large carton. These are easily fixed with a wide bladed screwdriver. Some plants are suffering sunburn thru the clear panes so I'll need to provide some shade cloth it appears.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: needs an added heater
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Using Palram 8X8 Snap and Grow as an enclosure for a hot tub

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In May 2013 I put a hot tub in the yard. Come October we decided we wanted an enclosure around it for the winter. After much research I selected the Palram Silver 8x8-foot Snap and Grow Greenhouse. We put it up in November.
I rated value as excellent, judging it based on price and quality for the price. This is not a real cheapie piece of junk. This is a well designed product for the price.
The base is the most critical key to success. I made a base for the greenhouse out of 4" X 6" X10 foot pressure treated ties cut to the 96.5 X 96.5 inch specs in the plans. It is square and level, sits on my concrete block patio, and provides a solid base for the greenhouse. I would not consider buying this greenhouse unless you plan to put it on a solid, rigid, square and level base. It is too light to just sit on the ground.
Because we were building this around an existing hot tub it complicated the build just a little and may have taken us a bit longer. I would say allocate 8 hours and two people and you should have no trouble finishing the job in that time. If you have any experience with building stuff, two people can finish it in 4 hours.
I am quite impressed with the design and engineering of the kit. Things go together well and the structure, is quite strong and rigid. The plastic panels flex and rattle a bit in the wind but that is to be expected.
While the assembly is not hard, I would not recommend it to a first timer to assembling a kit. At least one person needs to have some basic understanding of construction of kits and how things go together. My daughter and I are pretty handy with tools and building. We both characterize this as building Ikea furniture but on a bigger scale. If that sounds too hard for you, then get some help.
Assembly requires a minimum of two people as there are times when one has to hold while the other places parts in place or puts them together. Or one needs to be up high and the other needs to hand parts. Definitely use silicone spray as recommended in the instructions as some parts are very tight fitting, which is good. On a few occasions we found a rubber mallet helpful to get that last little bit to go in and seat properly. And be sure to follow the sequence exactly as presented in the manual. All parts are well marked. If you sort them out first you so you should have no trouble matching up pieces to the instructions.
While not absolutely necessary I would recommend having a sheet metal seamer tool. Some of the parts have thin edges and can get slightly dinged or slightly bent during shipping. Or, if you drop something, you can bend the edges making assembly nearly impossible. With this tool this was not a problem at all as this straightens them out quickly and easily.
We did the build over two days of about 3 hours each, not including the building of the base. We stopped on the first day because the wind hit 22 mph and it started to rain. We got the frame up and the front and rear "glass". On the second day we got the rest of the panels in and finished the structure. Again, nothing hard if you have any building skills at all and you can follow the pictorial directions.
As a greenhouse this should be an excellent product. However, because I am using it as a hot tub enclosure I was not able to put in two braces that support the center of the roof ridge. I replaced these with 3 cross braces that I made, creating a truss structure in the roof. This is similar to how the peaked roof of a house is built. I live on Long Island, NY and since construction we have had 3 snow falls of 8 to 14 inches and there have been no issues. The deep slant of the roof encourages the snow to slide off before it builds up too much.
It is now February and the greenhouse has endured winds up to 50 mph and temperatures down to 4 degrees F and is doing fine. The plastic panels are quite tough and should hold up well to minor impacts like small branches or stuff being blown around by wind. We have been using the hot top all winter in sub 20 degree temperatures with very good results. I went out one day when it was 20 degrees and there was a 15 mph wind. In the greenhouse it was about 25 as the sun had warmed it a bit and, of course, no wind. After having the hot top open for 30 minutes it was about 45 degrees inside the greenhouse making for a much more pleasant dry off with no breeze. :)
If a friend wanted to do the same thing I would not hesitate to recommend this product. The all glass structure makes sitting in the hot tub a very nice winter experience. :D
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Sumter, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful greenhouses

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading such mixed reviews about this greenhouse, I was skeptical ordering it. I bit the bullet and ordered 2 of them because of the great price. They were delivered amazingly quick. A very detailed friend and I put both of them together at the same time. We found the instructions pretty easy to read. Don't try to get ahead of yourself, because you will probably have to back up a bit. With a lot of patience, they went together easily. Had no damaged parts and looks AMAZING. Well worth the money. I just replaced one that was smaller and 25% more expensive and these are so much nicer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Dawsonville, Ga.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went together ok. I found the direction somewhat confusing, but with a little common sense got it put up in about 12 hours. All parts were included with nothing missing. Only problem was the vent, but with a few modifications it works perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from oregon

it works

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All the parts fit together very well, three of us put it up in one day. Starting with a square level base made of 4x4's and attaching greenhouse to it before installing panels was critical. Worst feature, several parts were missing. Best feature is the bracing; much more solid frame than other home greenhouses I've seen. Too soon to judge performance but it heated up hot in sunny 50 degree weather.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, good design
Cons: a few parts missing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Largo Florida

Great product /Great Value

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reviewing a lot of manufactors online we are happy with the choice we made. It adapted well with our hot central Florida weather.
We put it up the first week in july in 12 hours including all the 30 minute breaks during the hottest 3 hours of the day. Just myself and my husband.
We have since had tremendous luck getting our seeds to mature and they are now planted.
It is sturdy and durable.
We are very happy with the end result and will highly reccommend it to any one for a back yard greenhouse.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Lake Montezuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not strong enough for 20 mile an hour winds.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product snapped in 8 places before we finished setting it up. There was a storm that twisted the corners. I need to contact and see if we can order replacement parts and try and set it up again. There needs to be a way to ancor the base to the ground better.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Palm Desert, CA

A fantastic greenhouse!

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me a while to finally decide to purchase the 8’x8’ Snap and Grow Greenhouse, but once I ordered it the shipping was surprisingly fast (less than a week). After creating a good foundation with some paving stones it was time to start constructing the greenhouse. Not only was it packaged quite nicely, but everything was sorted and labeled to help make the building process a little easier and faster. The instructions were nearly all pictures, but they were easy to follow and assembly was fairly easy. It only took about 7 hours to build, but that was with just me working on it. I’m sure with two people working on it as suggested; construction would have been much faster. The only “issue” that I had was that, even though it was packaged so well, a few of the panels had some minor scratches. In my opinion, the Snap and Grow Greenhouse is sturdy, good quality, and a great deal. I am very pleased with my purchase!
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

- 5 stars if I could

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a General Contractor. I was going to build a greenhouse for my wife, but due to being quite busy this year, I decided to purchase this one instead.
Big Mistake!
Very cheap "frame".
Very cheap "panels".
Very cheap construction.
After adding bracing of my own and reinforcing various parts of it, we will still use it. I hate returning things once the box is open, so we went ahead and tried to make the best of a bad purchase.
+25points
30out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Redmond, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Build

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished building the greenhouse without incident. It took two of us about 9 hours to build. The instructions where relatively easy to understand. There were some kinks in a few aluminum pieces, but nothing major. The greenhouse should definitely be mounted to some sort of foundation - something that isn't mentioned before reading the instructions; but otherwise was easy to build and looks great. Looking forward to planting!
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from South River, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful product

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product. It has plenty of space. The center support beam has space for 3 hanging plants. I love the double doors. The only problem was the length of time to assemble the greenhouse, it took longer then excepted, almost a full day, But well worth it, and I do recommend anchoring it if you can. Mine is on a concrete pad and we anchored it. Absolutley love it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse

Spacious Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For an 8x8 space this greenhouse is very roomy. It has sufficient head space for tall people and doesn't feel crowded like an 8x10 greenhouse I already have. It also was not that difficult to put up, but I wish there were some written instructions in areas instead of the universal picture directions. It would have save a few moments of stress...but all in all it was an excellent purchase and I would recommend it to my friends.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse

Great Greenhouse

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Greenhouse fulfills everything I wanted and more. Instructions need to be improved, but commonsense will get you through. Using 2 people is a must and you'll need some skills to repair some bent or damaged area's where the panels slide in, but in all, its a great product and I'm very happy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Conroe, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Greenhouse

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy & feel we shall have many years of service from it. Looking forward to getting started with working in it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Conroe, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's all I hoped it would be, my plants love it!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There was a few times it took both of us to get it together, but all in all, the assembly was easy enough and it has been everything I hoped it would.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I did a lot of comparing before I decided upon this particular greenhouse, I feel this is a great product at a great value..

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easily assembled by 2 people. No parts missing from box, sturdy and roomy. An attractive addition to our yard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 ft. 4 in. x 8 ft. 2 in. Polycarbonate Greenhouse
from Grand Junction, TN 38039, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Polycarbon Greenhouse

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is together and so far seems pretty stable. It's smaller than what I imagined it would be, but will have plenty of room when I start putting my seedlings in. I am very pleased with the clean lines design. Hope it holds up because it wasn't cheap! Rated 4's because I don't know what it will be like in 6mos or a year. But so far, so good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>