728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater

9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater

The Rheem EcoSense ECO200DVN3 can provide up to 9.5 Gallons per minute at a 35 degree temperature rise. The 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Tankless Water Heater is designed to supply continuous hot water for up to 3 bathrooms at the same time. It heats water only when it's needed and features a 0.82 energy factor. This compact heater exceeds the requirements for many utility rebate programs and also qualifies for the Energy Star program. It comes with a remote digital thermostat that can be installed in almost any convenient area of the house. This heater's direct-vent design requires category III stainless steel venting (purchased separately). This model can be used at elevations up to 9,840 ft. above sea level. Please click the "More Info" tab and then "Specifications" to view the Rheem Brochure Guide which will help you in your buying decision to ensure that you purchase the right tankless water heater model for your household needs.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
Review 1 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Cleveland, TN

HATE IT

PostedApril 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Hate this thing, what no one tells you is that it doesnt carry the water pressure it once could with a standard so we went from 135 down to 60. What else is not told to you is that if you turn any water on anywhere in the house while someone is in the shower you lose hot water completley for 5 min.'s straight. You stand there freezing, i turn the water off and turn it back on just to try to get my hot water back. It takes the whole house twice as long to take a shower now, I have nothing good to say about this product, if it works at your hose thats great but if i had my choice i would take it out and put my old one back.
-22points
15out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Left out in the cold

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I have NO idea how well this tankless water heater works. I'd love to be using it.
Here's the problem. Home Depot sells the unit and what is called a "starter" unit, both on-line and in the warehouses.
But then there's that simple little item called PIPES. It took a week just to track Rheem, who were apologetic and unhappy that I was having trouble getting their product, and find out WHERE I might be able to talk to a merchandiser who carries parts, AND parts were no where close to me.
Unfortunately, my rating of Quality is unfair as I have NO IDEA, since It's not operational "yet."
You must order the correct size of pipe as you CANNOT cut to fit.
IF I can ever get it installed, NOW I've hired someone (more cost), I might actually be able to REVIEW THE PRODUCT.
So, really I'm telling you DON'T buy it from any retailer that doesn't carry parts you NEED, or you'll be left out in the 'cold'. At least your water will be.
Rheem may have an awesome product, but if you can't get the supporting equipment then it is useless.
-29points
4out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Austin, TX

Great performance, except on cold days

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Self-installed. Using Sharkbite connectors and flexible braided metal line it's very easy to install. Works great 95% of the time. However, during a cold snap below 30deg., the heater will not function...keeps giving an error code 13 indicating inadequate gas supply. Advice to shoppers is to ensure you have a 3/4" gas supply line MINIMUM, and that your gas company is supplying enough gas through your gas meter. Even turning off all furnaces and other gas-using appliances in my house is ineffective at supplying enough gas to get water temps over 100deg. - and this is using only one faucet! My next step is to replace a 6 foot run of 1/2" black pipe with 1" pipe. All the visible plumbing is 3/4", but I found the 1/2" section inside the wall. Unfortunate. I'm skeptical that this will solve the problem.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Maryville, Illinois

happy

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this product myself. I have had the shower and the dishwasher running at the same time. No problem with hot water. I would recommend this product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good, Too Low Default Temperature Setting, OK So Far

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tankless water heater seems to work fine, so far. However, the default water temperature setting is 120F (about 105F at the faucet), which is tepid at best.
After spending a good amount of time going to the internet to find the proper procedures to raise the water temp setting, we set the water temp to 140F which is the unit's highest setting.
The 140F water temp setting allows water at about 125F at the faucet. 125F at the faucet satisfies our desires and needs.
All in all, this tankless water heater meets our needs and seems OK. I recommend this unit with the above caveats.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Caldwell, Idaho

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we love our tankless. we never have to worry about running out of hot water. it is the best investment in the market today! it pays for itself with convenience and energy savings.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Louisville, KY

great tankless for the whole house

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had our tankless water heater installed for about a month now and don't have a single complaint. It's very compact and out of the way, it's quiet, and hot water is just as available as it was with our old, traditional water heater. And we've already seen a drop in our electric/gas bill. The up-front cost of this product may seem a little daunting, but it was totally worth it -- we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product. The only thing we would suggest is installing a water softener in addition to the tankless heater to prolong the life of the product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Chicago, IL

Works great and worth the money spent.

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn’t even thinking about a tankless water heater, when we had to replace our 15 yrs. Bradefordwhite Direct vent 40 gal. tank. I was looking to replace it with the same, but a 50 gal. capacity. (We kept running out of hot water after the fourth shower.) It was hard trying to find a reliable tank. When I did find one, it was over $1300. (Plus a Plummer to install for an additional $1300+.) Well, because we had to finance it in such short notice, our options were very limited. Our neighbor replaced their tanked water heater, with a tankless, and had nothing but good things to say about it. So, I did some research and settled on this one. After doing the numbers, the tankless only cost $300 more with install, then the tanked water heater. I was very impressed with the specs and warranty, but was not convinced, that it would work as well as advertised or better then a tanked heater. Well, I am here to tell you that I am a believer now.
We’ve had ours for a month now and It is amazing how this little, rectangular metal box, can heat up so much cold water so fast. It’s rated at heating over 5 GPM when set at 120 degrees, when below 30 degrees outside. (It goes up to like 9 GPM, when above 60 degrees outside.) According to the specs, you can run up to three showers at one time. We have had two showers and wash a load of laundry, in hot water, and still had hot water. you can run bath water for an adult and take a shower at the same time. We have a house of six, four being kids. (If you know kids, they take longer showers then they should). Now, we all have hot water on demand. (No longer having to wait 20 min. for water to heat up.) I can see why it cost so much to install. They have to replace/change pipes and it took two people to install. I have not notice to much of a delay for the water to reach the tap, compared to our tank water heater. I really love the cleanness of the unit, the display panel and all of the space we have now, since the unit is on the wall. The only down side is, it requires power to operate, so if the power goes out, no hot water. But, you can purchase a battery backup, to plug into the outlet and plug the unit into it.
This was defiantly worth every penny and when we install our third bathroom, it’s nice to know that this unit can handle it.
Pros
1) Endless hot water for as long as you like.
2) No need to turn down the setting when going on vacation.
3) Should last over 20 yrs, with a 12 yrs heat exchanger warranty, 5 yrs other parts and labor.
4) Easily change water temp. on digital control panel.
5) Engerystar rated
6) Easy maintence
7) Can hook another unit of the same to work as one unit, if needed.
Cons
1) Upfront cost
2) No hot water during a power outage, unless you have a battery backup.
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater

satisfied

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Decided to buy a Rheem this time around which I owned a Bosch for ten years. Hated the Bosch and it never did work right. Received the Rheem today and I am thoroughly enjoying it. I love the remote control which I did not have last time. The Rheem is very quiet. Well worth the money and don't forget about the pg&e rebate and the tax credit.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Mankato, MN.

Works Great

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took me a day to install it, including the electrical, gas, & plumbing. I consider myself a novice at all three, but it went in easy following the installation instructions.
We are a family of four and are able to have two showers and another appliance going simaltaneously. We have a two story home and have the heater mounted in the basement. We have no trouble getting and keeping the water flowing.
I highly recommend this heater to anyone looking for a tankless.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Philadelphia, PA

water heater

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very impressed by this water heating system. It is very efficient and works great! Very satisfied by this product and it's met all my needs and expectations!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Palm Springs

Excellent Water Heater

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You may need the termination kit and the flush valve kit. I hired a plumber to install this unit and glad I did.
9.5 gal/m is the largest flow rate available, average shower utilizes 2.5 gal/m. Figure out how much water you use FIRST then the tank to match. You need a 3/4 inch gas line to this unit
There are TWO PVC vents on this. If your vent goes through your roof, there is a special termination kit and you may need to tinker with the hole in your roof (roof jack/flange) to get the kit through the opening. OR you can side vent this
Unit has a control panel, the system default is 100F, you can go up to 120F, you can BYPASS this to go up to 140F which gives you really hot water.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater

Straightforward installation

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy and simple installation. The hardest part of the installation for me was drilling the hole for the venting. After the vent was installed, the remainder of the installation was simple and straightforward. The plumbing and gas connections were simple.
If you are handy and do plumbing, you can easily install this unit yourself.
We also bought the "3 in. x 5 in. Horizontal Concentric Direct Vent Kit", Model RTG20147-1 (Store SKU 486665) to vent the water heater. This model needs venting and cannot use PVC.
The only downside we have found is that hot water is not immediately available at sinks. Hot water arrives in @ 15 seconds. As you would expect, the hot water is endless.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Northwest Arkansas

This water heater rocks

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was not sure about going to this from a tanked water heater and I am glad that I did. This thing is so awesome that I can't believe it. It did take some doing to install it by myself but I believe that it was worth it. The only real issue that I had was the vent pipe that no one in my area seems to stock but you just have to plan out what you need and order it that way. If you can do basic plumbing and a little natural gas piping you can install this yourself as it is not very hard to install. Having someone to help hold things in place to secure it is a huge help. I highly recommend this product and would do it again. I have had both showers on at the same time and had plenty of hot water at both. No more running out of hot water for my family any longer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Brandon, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The waterheater performs as well as the 40 gal tank heater it replaced.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the ease of installation and the operation since putting it in. The space saved over the tank heater is great. I am not a plumber but handy with handiman stuff and tools. I had no problem with getting this in to replace the old WH. The delay between getting the hot water to the tap is no longer than what the old heater had. I am so glad I went with the tankless heater.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently installed this Rheem tankless water heater and it works pretty much as advertised. I installed it myself after getting some ridiculous quotes of $1200-$1500 to install one. The installation is only intimidating because it is different than anything we are used to but if you have basic plumbing skills and follow instructions closely for venting it's not bad if enough time is allocated. The hardest part is installing the isolation valves (a must have) without them leaking from the threads. All the brands have faulty machining that make them extremely hard to thread into pipe adapters without leaking so I highly recommend getting the sweat solder connection- not the threaded.
As far as the heating unit itself goes, I was pleasantly surprised that it worked well right from the start with no problems especially after hearing all the horror stories from the Bosch heaters. The most significant difference you will find is the increase in time it takes hot water to get to your faucet. For this reason low flow faucets and shower heads are not a good idea. Count on the time to at least double from a regular water heater. Also, these heaters are far less effective in cold climates with low ground water temps for this reason. In the end you will save energy in gas but use much more water to get hot water. Another thing to consider is getting faucets with separate hot and cold handles so you only turn the hot water on when specifically needed- otherwise you will constantly kick on your heater without getting any hot water.
Overall, these are worth the investment if you are capable of installing it yourself, otherwise they are only a marginally good investment. If never running out of hot water is a big deal to you, tankless heaters will be much more worth the investment. I also recommend getting the biggest unit you can afford even if you don't think it's needed- the rating on these are never as high as advertised.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

We'll See

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is warranty replacement of an RTG-74PVN which worked great, but was service prone. It would periodically flash a code & shut down. These were all related to carbon build up on one or more of the Burner Sensors. Cleaning involved 65 or more screws to be removed & a couple of hours time. Rheem replaced the PC board & burner last year, which helped for a while. I can tell you the new unit burns outside air, which should help. Paint fumes, cat box odor & laundry products cause the build up. Also the access to the burner appears to be much improved. Nothing to move out of the way. Also the entire cover does not have to be removed, there is a service access panel.
I can attest to energy savings. My Old 80 Gal. Electric tank used $40-45 worth of electricity a month. The Tankless unit costs less than $8 a month, & you never run out of hot water.
Rheem's help line is spotty. The Level 1 Tech's know very little. Level 3 Tech's are helpful, well versed in the product & speak English. But they only work M-F8-8. I'm hopeful this is going to work out.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9.5 GPM 199,900 BTU Natural Gas Mid Efficiency Indoor Tankless Water Heater
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fairly easy install for Experienced Do-It-Yourselfer

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this tankless water heater because I believed it would save money in the long run by using less natural gas to heat my water. My gas utility company offered a rebate to offset the purchase price, so that helped, too. The installation was fairly easy. I have a decent amount of experience in plumbing and mechanical repairs which comes in handy with an 80-year-old house! Hooking up new water and gas lines was no major issue with this device. It does require an electrical outlet nearby, something that my old tank-style heater did not. (This means that you won't have hot water if you lose power.) Also, the venting for this device is different than a tank-style heater. Expect to spend an additional $200 to $300 on new venting lines. This manufacturer also makes outdoor tankless style heaters. I'm not sure exactly how those would be installed (so that water lines don't freeze in the winter), but you would save some pretty good cash on the venting lines. Just make sure that you think through how you plan to route new/adjusted water/gas/vent lines and that you have all of the parts that you need before you start the install. Once the device was all hooked up it started making hot water at the proper temperature setting without any adjustments. All-in-all this device installed as easily as I hoped it would, and the entire house is enjoying hot water now.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.