728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

This Oldcastle 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand is a sweep-in joint sand enhanced with polymers that hardens with moisture, so it won't wash out like regular sand. It reduces weed growth and resists insect penetration in joints of pavers, bricks and flagstone up to 3/8 in..
Overall rating:
2.846 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product18 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(18)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product18 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Review 1 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Jackson,N.J.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sorry I didnt get the right product for the job

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used this product last year on the perimeter of my paved patio where the pavers meet the house + patio wall.. this product has never `hardened` as the container said..unless Sakrete considers `Play Dough` HARD!!!!..That`s about the consistency it turned into....When I called the company the rep was insinuating I didnt do something right....Lets see.....sweep sand into open seams between pavers + wall--wet the sand--allow to dry--HARD!!!!.My-My!!!.I should have paid more attention in`BRAIN SURGERY`School to tackle this job!!.Now I have to scrape it all out and and put the commercial grade paver sand in which I should have done from the start--
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: never hardened
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so great

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I waited a few months to write this review to be fair.
They say that the watering technique is the most important part. Okay. I was gentle with the water and applied 3-4 passes of water after absorption. My complaints are:
- Even after 3 days of curing, rain would make the product "crumble" at the surface. It kind of settled after a while.
- Some weeds are actively growing ON this product as I write this review. Weed prevention was the No.1 reason I got this and it is not very effective. It may stop larger plants from taking root but not everything.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Temple, TX

I very much regret using this product

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff definitely stained my rumblestone (Sierra blend color) pavers and I definitely did follow the directions exactly. It left a grey/white residue that would not come off no matter how much I blew off with the leaf blower. I haven't even misted the patio with water yet because once you do that there is absolutely no chance of getting that residue off. Now the patio I busted my butt building is whitewashed and colorless thanks to this product. The manufacturer does not answer the phone either. I am very unhappy. I advise you to think very carefully before putting this on your pavers.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

PermaSand Must Read

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PermaSand is garbage. I followed the instuctions carefully, especially after reading other reviews. However, it didnt even harden in most places and the PermaSand is coming out. Now i have to redo it and it will cost me double the money and time. Save your money for something that actually works. HD stop selling this junk.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not meet "Permasand" label

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I gave this base a week to cure. And it never hardened like it was supposed to. I bought $200 worth of this to finish my large patio and the sand still is loose every time it rains and if a chair leg happens to be put on a joint, the sand moves. I am incredibly disappointed with this product and the money I wasted on it.
Cons: Not Durable, never hardened
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

listen to the reviews on this one

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reviews are accurate. I installed this product exactly as the directions stated. The product applied just fine and as advertised. The next big rain we had about half of the "sand" washed out and it DID stain my bricks. I had to pressure wash the whole patio. It was bad enough have wasted the money but the clean time required really make this a NO!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible product. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed using manufacture instructions. Product looks horrible, stains pavers, washes out easily and never really gets hard. Do not waste your time with this product. There is a reason why patio contractors do not use this big box brand. It looks and functions horribly.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the poor reviews and was a bit apprehensive to try this product. However, I am sure glad I did. The sand worked exactly as promised, was easy to install and set up as hard as concrete in 24 hours. This was one of the best and easiest DIY outdoor home projects I haver ever done myself. "Do yourself a favor" and try this, you won't be disappointed... just follow the instructions and you will be as thrilled as me.
One side note, I have a 17 year old, 900 sq. ft. brickpaver patio that, according to the directions of 56 sq. ft. of coverage/40lb bucket, would require 16 buckets of poly sand. My gaps are fairly narrow and I only needed 10 buckets and had to return 6... so I got 90 sq. ft./bucket and it saved me $120 on materials.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Stamford, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy project

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I honestly don't know what some of the other reviews are talking about ... I'm a 71 year old female an I had no problems with this product. My back yard flagstone patio was a mess from the last two hard winters we had. Used this to fill in all the joints (hardest part was removing the old broken cement)
It did the job beautifully, patio looks awesome!! Product has hardened
Just read the directions and you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product,Zero Problems!!!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews of this product, and most said it stains there pavers. If you follow the directions, you will not have this problem. I used a leaf blower to get rid of any extra sand that was left on the pavers, and held it at waist level as stated in the directions. I applied (at the mist setting) water to the pavers, let it dry for about an hour, and PERFECT!!!!!!! they look great. I will send pics to show you when the pavers were wet and after they dried. One thing to add, dont use a broom to try to get rid of the extra sand (not sure if other users did this) use a blower if you have one, and just follow the directions, you will be fine and love this product, no more regular sand for me!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Patterson, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delivers on claims

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sakrete polymeric sand lived up to their claims. After sweeping the sand into all joints of my rumblestone pavers (also from Home Depot) laid over Sakrete EZ Paver Base, and re-sweeping, and re-sweeping, and re-sweeping, I eventually filled the joints and corners to the top. It did take a while because the sand is fine and it takes a while for it to work down into every crevice as you walk across the paver deck - the pavers do shift very slightly as you walk around sweeping the sand into joints and corners which helps it fill the entire joint and corner. Regardless of the claims for coverage, I'm convinced that it has more to do with the tightness of the joints between the pavers than it does anything else. My 84sqft paver patio took barely half a container of Sakrete polymeric paver sand.
If you follow the directions about blowing off the excess sand/powder from the surface of the pavers and not from the joints and/or corners followed by a VERY thorough wetting with a fine mist you end up with (in 24hrs) a rock hard - think cement - joint that is solid and VERY stabile. I expect our picnic patio to last for at least 10 years or more with little or no maintenance.
The reviews that I've seen complaining about a grey film on the pavers/bricks, soft joints or the sand failing to harden HAVE to be the result of not following the clear and simple instructions for use. Blow off all surface sand/powder with a moderately powered leaf blower held at waist height, thoroughly wet with a fine mist (the finer the better) and a full 24 hours of dry weather to allow the Sakrete polymeric sand to dry and set, and you should have perfect results every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: recommend a particle mask for the fine dust
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advetised!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I usually never write a review but after hearing all the negatives I felt I had too! I have a front and rear walkway which was installed 4 years ago using pavers. The installer told me to seal it after approximately 1 month which I never did. After 2 really bad winters the pavers had moved and I had some major gap issues between the pavers. I cleaned out all the cracks, yes there were weeds starting to grow, reset a few of the pavers and followed the instruçtions to a T and everything came out great. I took a couple of spare pavers first to see what would happen if 1, the pavers weren't dry before applying the sand and 2 if you didn't remove all the sand from the actual pavers prior to wetting. Yes unless the pavers are totally dry and free of ALL the sand the sand leaves a white stain as the instruçtions state. Thirty days later everything still looks great! Today I applied the sealer, something the installer wanted to charge me $250.00 for, using Behr low-luster sealer, which cost $27.00 and both walkways look awesome! I'll probably apply another coat prior to this winter and each year thereafter. Very satisfied with the sand and sealer!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ANTS STILL BUILD UP IN THE GROUT LINES

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it for the ants - mainly I did not want to have them build up between the pavers. Weed control was not a concern.
We put it down as per the instructions and the next morning it set up hard as promised, but the ants had already 'whittled' up through the grout lines in a dozen of the pavers! I am very disappointed considering the cost of this sand vs. builders sand.
Would not recommend this product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Experience

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used on patio pavers. The front installation worked fine, too new to tell if will last or reduce weed growth, but it set hard and solid.So I am satisfied with the outcome. Now the bad part.......
I purchased two more buckets to re-do the rear patio. This failed miserably. 70%+ never hardened at all, not even the top layer. I removed it and re-applied, same failure. I suspect I have received a bad batch. Since it is not as fine as paver sand, it will not settle and will have to be removed again. I will use regular paver sand this third time. Terribly disappointed with the lack of quality control
Cons: never hardened
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Works as described

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There are several posts with poor ratings and issues with the hardening and weed prevention for this product. I had an excellent result using Permasand. Even applying it in muggy Southeast Florida, it set up perfectly and was concrete hard in 24 hours. Do not be turned off by the negative feed back, this stuff works and is well worth the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Works Great!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great with my large format Oldcastle Arbel Stone pavers (with 3/8 in. joints). When wetting do not allow water to pool, if you do get pools, simply wait a min and push the white foam (the polymer) into the joints between the pavers with a fine mist from the hose. It is also a must to use a low volume blower to remove the fine dust from the pavers before wetting (thoroughly). I would imagine the large number of negative reviews on this site are from improper installation of the sand. When installed correctly and with care this product works great. My patio still looks great after 3 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Orlando, FL

Do not buy! Will stain your pavers!

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is maybe the second time ever I've posted a review of an item - it was just that awful. Like others, I followed the directions precisely. I spent more time blowing and sweeping dust off than I did applying the product. My paver pad is a combination of large squares combined with a brick pattern in the middle. I only needed the sand for the bricks. I swept it on and some got on the large pavers as expected. It is virtually impossible to completely remove the dust. After wetting the product, I now have a lovely white hue over my large dark brown pavers and will now have to spend several more hours applying another coat of stain to cover it. Very disappointed! I cannot stress this enough - DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Secane
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent when you follow directions

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product does what it's suppose to do when you do the job properly. I have bought this several times and happy every time I used it. Excellent product like I said when used correctly !!!!
Pros: Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Wouldn't buy this again....

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't get ALL and I mean ALL of the sand off of the pavers before wetting, your pavers will turn white. We are going to have to try and pop some out and replace.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Orlando
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds pavers in place, but stains them easily

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, if the pavers were completely dry when you applied the sand, and you completely removed all excess sand before misting the joints, then your pavers wouldn't stain. Unfortunately, this is impossible in a humid climate like Florida. The pavers had moisture soaked into the surface when I bought them. And, since it rains everyday here, they never fully dried. As soon as the sand touched them, it stained the white pavers yellow. They should just offer it in more colors so you can match the color of the pavers.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: should be offered in more colors
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 >>