728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

This Oldcastle 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand is a sweep-in joint sand enhanced with polymers that hardens with moisture, so it won't wash out like regular sand. It reduces weed growth and resists insect penetration in joints of pavers, bricks and flagstone up to 3/8 in..
Overall rating:
2.917 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product12 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product12 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Review 1 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the poor reviews and was a bit apprehensive to try this product. However, I am sure glad I did. The sand worked exactly as promised, was easy to install and set up as hard as concrete in 24 hours. This was one of the best and easiest DIY outdoor home projects I haver ever done myself. "Do yourself a favor" and try this, you won't be disappointed... just follow the instructions and you will be as thrilled as me.
One side note, I have a 17 year old, 900 sq. ft. brickpaver patio that, according to the directions of 56 sq. ft. of coverage/40lb bucket, would require 16 buckets of poly sand. My gaps are fairly narrow and I only needed 10 buckets and had to return 6... so I got 90 sq. ft./bucket and it saved me $120 on materials.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Experience

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used on patio pavers. The front installation worked fine, too new to tell if will last or reduce weed growth, but it set hard and solid.So I am satisfied with the outcome. Now the bad part.......
I purchased two more buckets to re-do the rear patio. This failed miserably. 70%+ never hardened at all, not even the top layer. I removed it and re-applied, same failure. I suspect I have received a bad batch. Since it is not as fine as paver sand, it will not settle and will have to be removed again. I will use regular paver sand this third time. Terribly disappointed with the lack of quality control
Cons: never hardened
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product,Zero Problems!!!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews of this product, and most said it stains there pavers. If you follow the directions, you will not have this problem. I used a leaf blower to get rid of any extra sand that was left on the pavers, and held it at waist level as stated in the directions. I applied (at the mist setting) water to the pavers, let it dry for about an hour, and PERFECT!!!!!!! they look great. I will send pics to show you when the pavers were wet and after they dried. One thing to add, dont use a broom to try to get rid of the extra sand (not sure if other users did this) use a blower if you have one, and just follow the directions, you will be fine and love this product, no more regular sand for me!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Works great

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews and instructions I was a bit leery of using the product because of the staining. Especially on red brick/pavers. I used 2buckets to cover a 18x21 patio and sidewalk. I highly recommend using the leaf blower to remove any excess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from MA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wanted

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read so many reviews....far too many. This worked for me. I wanted the voids filled in my walkway and this did it. Simple as that. It was easy to apply and it stayed. I am going to get another bucket.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Patio Looking Brand New Again!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very nervous to use this on my patio because of the negative reviews. My paver patio is 6 years old and I recently pressure washed each stone and the joint between them. My patio had crevices in between almost every paver. I used this product exactly as directed and I have no staining and the joints are almost cement like. It really made my patio look brand new.
My recommendation is to make sure you use a hand tamper (or plate compactor) after filling the gaps, and then place another layer of sand and sweep away excess. Use a leafblower... this is a must. It gets rid of and excess dust from the sand that may stain the patio. I held the blower about waster level so that it didn't blow sand out of cracks.
I've used $90 polymeric sand and now this product, and i had better success with this. Great value.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Secane
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent when you follow directions

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does what it's suppose to do when you do the job properly. I have bought this several times and happy every time I used it. Excellent product like I said when used correctly !!!!
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from sarasota fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't work wast of money.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wast of money and the time we spent on pressure washing and preparing the patio stones.
It is sand it doesn't harden when wet. we followed the instruction on the pale but still doesn't work.
then I went to another store and we bought the same pale but black in color, still it does not work.
$40 +tax was wasted.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Davenport, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Read all the bad reviews first

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
AS I usually do so I knew what NOT to do. The instructions on the bucket are very clear and easy to follow. Put in a new brick patio, followed instructions and it sets up like mortar.
The brick are in solid, and look great!!!!!
I absolutely recommend this
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Wouldn't buy this again....

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't get ALL and I mean ALL of the sand off of the pavers before wetting, your pavers will turn white. We are going to have to try and pop some out and replace.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Kansas City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BOOO!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was really hoping this would work. We applied per the instructions on the product TO THE T. It was hardened and i thought it was successful until 3 days later after a rain storm all the sand washed out. UGH! Anyone know of a better product that WORKS???
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Orlando
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds pavers in place, but stains them easily

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, if the pavers were completely dry when you applied the sand, and you completely removed all excess sand before misting the joints, then your pavers wouldn't stain. Unfortunately, this is impossible in a humid climate like Florida. The pavers had moisture soaked into the surface when I bought them. And, since it rains everyday here, they never fully dried. As soon as the sand touched them, it stained the white pavers yellow. They should just offer it in more colors so you can match the color of the pavers.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: should be offered in more colors
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Cleveland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stained my bricks

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I took my time installing my 600 square foot patio for my family to enjoy. The last step, setting the bricks, was no exception. I waited for a dry day with no chance of rain as the instructions indicated. I rented a plate compactor, cleaned off the bricks with a leaf blower and broom. Unfortunately, there is always some moisture (in the midwest) beneath the surface and the sand absorbed it which caused staining on my beautiful patio. I have spent several more hours trying to clean off the stain with water pressure, vinegar, and scrubbing with a little improvement.
Don't buy this product unless you live in the desert!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Jacksonville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TERRIBLE. RUINED MY PATIO

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this once on my paver patio, followed the directions closely, but it all came up within a month. I got three new bins and tried it again Again, followed the directions to a tie. Same result except worse now over the long term. Where it did not come or flake off, the sand provides a fertile ground for moss, agree, and weeds. Don't buy unless you really want to ruin your pavers.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the reviews

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews and tried it anyway. Bought 2 pails last year, followed the directions to a T. This spring it chunked up and fell apart. Spent all day vacuuming it all out. Going back to stone dust that worked for 10 years prior.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Works Perfectly

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't listen to all the folks who had issues with staining and blaming the product. If you follow all of the steps, particularly clearing loose sediment with a leaf blower, the end result is fantastic. Product works just as it should with no exception.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Paramus NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Follwed the directions....after 3 days the sand was hard....after 1 week we had a heavy rain, and ALL the sand washed away.
This could be becuase I did not apply enough water??? I"m writing to the company for refund or replacement.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use - works well

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this product on a small brick walkway along the side of my house. The sand was easy to lay out and sweep into the cracks. After watering the sand and bricks, the sand hardened like concrete. Worked great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Great Product

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've installed a lot of pavers. Polymeric sand is about 4x the cost of a bag of sand, but is worth it. No weeds, morestable installation. Just as easy as normal sand to install / sweep in, sprinkle it, and it sets ups in a few hours.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Very Disappointing

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product looked nice after application until a couple
of rainy days and here came the mold, mildew, and moss.
Now I have major black stains I need to remove.
Furthermore this product does NOT inhibit weed as it states. I seem to have more weeds now than before application.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>