728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

This Oldcastle 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand is a sweep-in joint sand enhanced with polymers that hardens with moisture, so it won't wash out like regular sand. It reduces weed growth and resists insect penetration in joints of pavers, bricks and flagstone up to 3/8 in..
Overall rating:
2.25 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product4 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product4 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Review 1 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Smallberries
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Experience

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used on patio pavers. The front installation worked fine, too new to tell if will last or reduce weed growth, but it set hard and solid.So I am satisfied with the outcome. Now the bad part.......
I purchased two more buckets to re-do the rear patio. This failed miserably. 70%+ never hardened at all, not even the top layer. I removed it and re-applied, same failure. I suspect I have received a bad batch. Since it is not as fine as paver sand, it will not settle and will have to be removed again. I will use regular paver sand this third time. Terribly disappointed with the lack of quality control
Cons: never hardened
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
OwnsALOTofRyobitools
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product,Zero Problems!!!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews of this product, and most said it stains there pavers. If you follow the directions, you will not have this problem. I used a leaf blower to get rid of any extra sand that was left on the pavers, and held it at waist level as stated in the directions. I applied (at the mist setting) water to the pavers, let it dry for about an hour, and PERFECT!!!!!!! they look great. I will send pics to show you when the pavers were wet and after they dried. One thing to add, dont use a broom to try to get rid of the extra sand (not sure if other users did this) use a blower if you have one, and just follow the directions, you will be fine and love this product, no more regular sand for me!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
mikejad
from sarasota fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't work wast of money.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wast of money and the time we spent on pressure washing and preparing the patio stones.
It is sand it doesn't harden when wet. we followed the instruction on the pale but still doesn't work.
then I went to another store and we bought the same pale but black in color, still it does not work.
$40 +tax was wasted.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Gabe
from Orlando
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds pavers in place, but stains them easily

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, if the pavers were completely dry when you applied the sand, and you completely removed all excess sand before misting the joints, then your pavers wouldn't stain. Unfortunately, this is impossible in a humid climate like Florida. The pavers had moisture soaked into the surface when I bought them. And, since it rains everyday here, they never fully dried. As soon as the sand touched them, it stained the white pavers yellow. They should just offer it in more colors so you can match the color of the pavers.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: should be offered in more colors
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Mary

Wouldn't buy this again....

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't get ALL and I mean ALL of the sand off of the pavers before wetting, your pavers will turn white. We are going to have to try and pop some out and replace.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
fixit

Product is good; nothing will stop breakdown

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the product works fine but the fact that water will pool under it means it will be pushed out and degraded. Paver stones are a waste of time and money. Be prepared and plan on routine maintenance. Pavers are nothing like the real brick used 100 years ago to pave roads and paths. The ant population will increase by 100 times as ants find it a perfect haven. Better to put in cement, just hose it off and it lasts for decades if done by a competent cement contractor. Pavers were in when I bought house, never had pavers before. I am about to the point of removing pavers and putting in cement.
Pros: Durable
Cons: will need to be redone
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Gerald

Great Product

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've installed a lot of pavers. Polymeric sand is about 4x the cost of a bag of sand, but is worth it. No weeds, morestable installation. Just as easy as normal sand to install / sweep in, sprinkle it, and it sets ups in a few hours.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Anonymous
from Paramus NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Follwed the directions....after 3 days the sand was hard....after 1 week we had a heavy rain, and ALL the sand washed away.
This could be becuase I did not apply enough water??? I"m writing to the company for refund or replacement.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
doitmyselfer

This is the worst poly sand I ever used

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Each year I do this to my walkways. Tried this kind this year and after 5 days of sun, the first rain came and washed 75% of it away. I also finished my back walkway the same time and used what I had left over from last year and that is fine. It is just this brand, it does not hold. If you are going to use it, just buy one at first and try it, wait a week after you mist it and put the hose back on it again, it will wash out.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Paul

Very Disappointing

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product looked nice after application until a couple
of rainy days and here came the mold, mildew, and moss.
Now I have major black stains I need to remove.
Furthermore this product does NOT inhibit weed as it states. I seem to have more weeds now than before application.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Paul
from St. Cloud, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Disappointed

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this product! When I applied this product it looked good for a while. After some rainy weather it
became a breeding ground for mold, and moss. My pavers
look horrible. Furthermore it does not inhibit the growth of weeds as I have more weeds now than before I used this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
LawnNSuch

This product works

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
if you follow the directions and blow off excess before watering it, this product works very well. I use this product alot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.