728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

This Oldcastle 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand is a sweep-in joint sand enhanced with polymers that hardens with moisture, so it won't wash out like regular sand. It reduces weed growth and resists insect penetration in joints of pavers, bricks and flagstone up to 3/8 in..
Overall rating:
2.727 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product19 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(22)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product19 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Review 1 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Jackson,N.J.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sorry I didnt get the right product for the job

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used this product last year on the perimeter of my paved patio where the pavers meet the house + patio wall.. this product has never `hardened` as the container said..unless Sakrete considers `Play Dough` HARD!!!!..That`s about the consistency it turned into....When I called the company the rep was insinuating I didnt do something right....Lets see.....sweep sand into open seams between pavers + wall--wet the sand--allow to dry--HARD!!!!.My-My!!!.I should have paid more attention in`BRAIN SURGERY`School to tackle this job!!.Now I have to scrape it all out and and put the commercial grade paver sand in which I should have done from the start--
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: never hardened
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so great

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I waited a few months to write this review to be fair.
They say that the watering technique is the most important part. Okay. I was gentle with the water and applied 3-4 passes of water after absorption. My complaints are:
- Even after 3 days of curing, rain would make the product "crumble" at the surface. It kind of settled after a while.
- Some weeds are actively growing ON this product as I write this review. Weed prevention was the No.1 reason I got this and it is not very effective. It may stop larger plants from taking root but not everything.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Temple, TX

I very much regret using this product

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff definitely stained my rumblestone (Sierra blend color) pavers and I definitely did follow the directions exactly. It left a grey/white residue that would not come off no matter how much I blew off with the leaf blower. I haven't even misted the patio with water yet because once you do that there is absolutely no chance of getting that residue off. Now the patio I busted my butt building is whitewashed and colorless thanks to this product. The manufacturer does not answer the phone either. I am very unhappy. I advise you to think very carefully before putting this on your pavers.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not meet "Permasand" label

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I gave this base a week to cure. And it never hardened like it was supposed to. I bought $200 worth of this to finish my large patio and the sand still is loose every time it rains and if a chair leg happens to be put on a joint, the sand moves. I am incredibly disappointed with this product and the money I wasted on it.
Cons: Not Durable, never hardened
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

listen to the reviews on this one

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reviews are accurate. I installed this product exactly as the directions stated. The product applied just fine and as advertised. The next big rain we had about half of the "sand" washed out and it DID stain my bricks. I had to pressure wash the whole patio. It was bad enough have wasted the money but the clean time required really make this a NO!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

PermaSand Must Read

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PermaSand is garbage. I followed the instuctions carefully, especially after reading other reviews. However, it didnt even harden in most places and the PermaSand is coming out. Now i have to redo it and it will cost me double the money and time. Save your money for something that actually works. HD stop selling this junk.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible product. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed using manufacture instructions. Product looks horrible, stains pavers, washes out easily and never really gets hard. Do not waste your time with this product. There is a reason why patio contractors do not use this big box brand. It looks and functions horribly.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the poor reviews and was a bit apprehensive to try this product. However, I am sure glad I did. The sand worked exactly as promised, was easy to install and set up as hard as concrete in 24 hours. This was one of the best and easiest DIY outdoor home projects I haver ever done myself. "Do yourself a favor" and try this, you won't be disappointed... just follow the instructions and you will be as thrilled as me.
One side note, I have a 17 year old, 900 sq. ft. brickpaver patio that, according to the directions of 56 sq. ft. of coverage/40lb bucket, would require 16 buckets of poly sand. My gaps are fairly narrow and I only needed 10 buckets and had to return 6... so I got 90 sq. ft./bucket and it saved me $120 on materials.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Not worth the money or aggravation

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading the reviews everyone was dead on when they said this stuff can't be left on the stone I was very meticulous and placing it I used to spoon to get it between my quarter inch cracks in my outdoor tiles it is impossible to sweep this off the top of the tile. If you do this stuff leaves a bubble gum residue on the stone .after two weeks , rain washed a lot of it out. in some places its stuck but .every time it rains a little more comes out of the joint I guarantee no professional would use this product it's too time consuming and can cause more clean up then using other products like cement or caulk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product,Zero Problems!!!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews of this product, and most said it stains there pavers. If you follow the directions, you will not have this problem. I used a leaf blower to get rid of any extra sand that was left on the pavers, and held it at waist level as stated in the directions. I applied (at the mist setting) water to the pavers, let it dry for about an hour, and PERFECT!!!!!!! they look great. I will send pics to show you when the pavers were wet and after they dried. One thing to add, dont use a broom to try to get rid of the extra sand (not sure if other users did this) use a blower if you have one, and just follow the directions, you will be fine and love this product, no more regular sand for me!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Foxboro, Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked very well

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Am not sure what issues these others are having...I used it to fill in and some gaps were 1/2 in and this worked great. Hardened as described and looks great when done correctly. Am really confused why people are not having good results ?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from laurel, md
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nightmare over and over

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
back patio installed and the product had to be removed, installed again, removed installed again by professionals I hired who do paver patios. they chalked it up to a bad batch.
one year later i get this and install on my front walk,nightmare again. the sand gets clumpy/sticky but never sets. installing dry and misting is not a difficult task. Now the loose sticky sand gets tracked into the hose and the patio looks patchy as the sand sticks to the top surface. rain can make pockets in the sand which means it holds water, not good for freeze/thaw cycle.
stop selling this. those folks with five stars good for you but the company obviously has not quality control or multiple vendors so this is a gamble that may cost you lots of time, money and effort.
Cons: Not Durable, will never harden up never
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Garbage

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This ended up being a really expensive waste of time. Followed all instructions and while some spots seemed to work fine, 75% is a crumbly mess. Never again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Experience

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used on patio pavers. The front installation worked fine, too new to tell if will last or reduce weed growth, but it set hard and solid.So I am satisfied with the outcome. Now the bad part.......
I purchased two more buckets to re-do the rear patio. This failed miserably. 70%+ never hardened at all, not even the top layer. I removed it and re-applied, same failure. I suspect I have received a bad batch. Since it is not as fine as paver sand, it will not settle and will have to be removed again. I will use regular paver sand this third time. Terribly disappointed with the lack of quality control
Cons: never hardened
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Stamford, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy project

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I honestly don't know what some of the other reviews are talking about ... I'm a 71 year old female an I had no problems with this product. My back yard flagstone patio was a mess from the last two hard winters we had. Used this to fill in all the joints (hardest part was removing the old broken cement)
It did the job beautifully, patio looks awesome!! Product has hardened
Just read the directions and you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Patterson, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delivers on claims

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sakrete polymeric sand lived up to their claims. After sweeping the sand into all joints of my rumblestone pavers (also from Home Depot) laid over Sakrete EZ Paver Base, and re-sweeping, and re-sweeping, and re-sweeping, I eventually filled the joints and corners to the top. It did take a while because the sand is fine and it takes a while for it to work down into every crevice as you walk across the paver deck - the pavers do shift very slightly as you walk around sweeping the sand into joints and corners which helps it fill the entire joint and corner. Regardless of the claims for coverage, I'm convinced that it has more to do with the tightness of the joints between the pavers than it does anything else. My 84sqft paver patio took barely half a container of Sakrete polymeric paver sand.
If you follow the directions about blowing off the excess sand/powder from the surface of the pavers and not from the joints and/or corners followed by a VERY thorough wetting with a fine mist you end up with (in 24hrs) a rock hard - think cement - joint that is solid and VERY stabile. I expect our picnic patio to last for at least 10 years or more with little or no maintenance.
The reviews that I've seen complaining about a grey film on the pavers/bricks, soft joints or the sand failing to harden HAVE to be the result of not following the clear and simple instructions for use. Blow off all surface sand/powder with a moderately powered leaf blower held at waist height, thoroughly wet with a fine mist (the finer the better) and a full 24 hours of dry weather to allow the Sakrete polymeric sand to dry and set, and you should have perfect results every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: recommend a particle mask for the fine dust
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Horrible Product

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have attempted to use this product three times now, three different purchases to ensure that I did not just get a bad batch...and all three times turned out terrible.
According to the directions you can avoid the white staining from the polymer. This is just not possible unless your pavers already have some type of sealant on them. Just the act of sweeping the sand into the joints of the pavers, is enough to permanently place a layer of polymer on to the surface of the pavers. I was careful to remove all excess sand with a broom, I followed up this activory with using a leaf blower to remove any remaining.
I went to extent of doing the watering step with a mister after my first project turned out to bad. If you water in the manor indicated in the directions or in the demonstration videos, you end up with a white foam on top of the pavers and at that point, they look is ruined and even with a pressure washer it will not all come out. The second and third time I used this product I used the mister to try and avoid the white staining.
Even with the added attention to detail in both removing excess sand and careful watering, the result was horrible and a complete loss. This next spring I am going to have to rip up all of my pavers and put in new, what a waste of time, effort and money.
Added note, no more then two months after placing the joint sand, I have freaking weeds growing right through the sand!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advetised!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I usually never write a review but after hearing all the negatives I felt I had too! I have a front and rear walkway which was installed 4 years ago using pavers. The installer told me to seal it after approximately 1 month which I never did. After 2 really bad winters the pavers had moved and I had some major gap issues between the pavers. I cleaned out all the cracks, yes there were weeds starting to grow, reset a few of the pavers and followed the instruçtions to a T and everything came out great. I took a couple of spare pavers first to see what would happen if 1, the pavers weren't dry before applying the sand and 2 if you didn't remove all the sand from the actual pavers prior to wetting. Yes unless the pavers are totally dry and free of ALL the sand the sand leaves a white stain as the instruçtions state. Thirty days later everything still looks great! Today I applied the sealer, something the installer wanted to charge me $250.00 for, using Behr low-luster sealer, which cost $27.00 and both walkways look awesome! I'll probably apply another coat prior to this winter and each year thereafter. Very satisfied with the sand and sealer!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ANTS STILL BUILD UP IN THE GROUT LINES

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it for the ants - mainly I did not want to have them build up between the pavers. Weed control was not a concern.
We put it down as per the instructions and the next morning it set up hard as promised, but the ants had already 'whittled' up through the grout lines in a dozen of the pavers! I am very disappointed considering the cost of this sand vs. builders sand.
Would not recommend this product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Works Great!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great with my large format Oldcastle Arbel Stone pavers (with 3/8 in. joints). When wetting do not allow water to pool, if you do get pools, simply wait a min and push the white foam (the polymer) into the joints between the pavers with a fine mist from the hose. It is also a must to use a low volume blower to remove the fine dust from the pavers before wetting (thoroughly). I would imagine the large number of negative reviews on this site are from improper installation of the sand. When installed correctly and with care this product works great. My patio still looks great after 3 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>