728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

This Oldcastle 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand is a sweep-in joint sand enhanced with polymers that hardens with moisture, so it won't wash out like regular sand. It reduces weed growth and resists insect penetration in joints of pavers, bricks and flagstone up to 3/8 in..
Overall rating:
2.935 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product15 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product15 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
Review 1 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Jackson,N.J.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sorry I didnt get the right product for the job

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used this product last year on the perimeter of my paved patio where the pavers meet the house + patio wall.. this product has never `hardened` as the container said..unless Sakrete considers `Play Dough` HARD!!!!..That`s about the consistency it turned into....When I called the company the rep was insinuating I didnt do something right....Lets see.....sweep sand into open seams between pavers + wall--wet the sand--allow to dry--HARD!!!!.My-My!!!.I should have paid more attention in`BRAIN SURGERY`School to tackle this job!!.Now I have to scrape it all out and and put the commercial grade paver sand in which I should have done from the start--
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: never hardened
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the poor reviews and was a bit apprehensive to try this product. However, I am sure glad I did. The sand worked exactly as promised, was easy to install and set up as hard as concrete in 24 hours. This was one of the best and easiest DIY outdoor home projects I haver ever done myself. "Do yourself a favor" and try this, you won't be disappointed... just follow the instructions and you will be as thrilled as me.
One side note, I have a 17 year old, 900 sq. ft. brickpaver patio that, according to the directions of 56 sq. ft. of coverage/40lb bucket, would require 16 buckets of poly sand. My gaps are fairly narrow and I only needed 10 buckets and had to return 6... so I got 90 sq. ft./bucket and it saved me $120 on materials.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so great

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I waited a few months to write this review to be fair.
They say that the watering technique is the most important part. Okay. I was gentle with the water and applied 3-4 passes of water after absorption. My complaints are:
- Even after 3 days of curing, rain would make the product "crumble" at the surface. It kind of settled after a while.
- Some weeds are actively growing ON this product as I write this review. Weed prevention was the No.1 reason I got this and it is not very effective. It may stop larger plants from taking root but not everything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product,Zero Problems!!!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews of this product, and most said it stains there pavers. If you follow the directions, you will not have this problem. I used a leaf blower to get rid of any extra sand that was left on the pavers, and held it at waist level as stated in the directions. I applied (at the mist setting) water to the pavers, let it dry for about an hour, and PERFECT!!!!!!! they look great. I will send pics to show you when the pavers were wet and after they dried. One thing to add, dont use a broom to try to get rid of the extra sand (not sure if other users did this) use a blower if you have one, and just follow the directions, you will be fine and love this product, no more regular sand for me!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

PermaSand Must Read

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PermaSand is garbage. I followed the instuctions carefully, especially after reading other reviews. However, it didnt even harden in most places and the PermaSand is coming out. Now i have to redo it and it will cost me double the money and time. Save your money for something that actually works. HD stop selling this junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Works Great!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great with my large format Oldcastle Arbel Stone pavers (with 3/8 in. joints). When wetting do not allow water to pool, if you do get pools, simply wait a min and push the white foam (the polymer) into the joints between the pavers with a fine mist from the hose. It is also a must to use a low volume blower to remove the fine dust from the pavers before wetting (thoroughly). I would imagine the large number of negative reviews on this site are from improper installation of the sand. When installed correctly and with care this product works great. My patio still looks great after 3 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Patterson, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delivers on claims

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sakrete polymeric sand lived up to their claims. After sweeping the sand into all joints of my rumblestone pavers (also from Home Depot) laid over Sakrete EZ Paver Base, and re-sweeping, and re-sweeping, and re-sweeping, I eventually filled the joints and corners to the top. It did take a while because the sand is fine and it takes a while for it to work down into every crevice as you walk across the paver deck - the pavers do shift very slightly as you walk around sweeping the sand into joints and corners which helps it fill the entire joint and corner. Regardless of the claims for coverage, I'm convinced that it has more to do with the tightness of the joints between the pavers than it does anything else. My 84sqft paver patio took barely half a container of Sakrete polymeric paver sand.
If you follow the directions about blowing off the excess sand/powder from the surface of the pavers and not from the joints and/or corners followed by a VERY thorough wetting with a fine mist you end up with (in 24hrs) a rock hard - think cement - joint that is solid and VERY stabile. I expect our picnic patio to last for at least 10 years or more with little or no maintenance.
The reviews that I've seen complaining about a grey film on the pavers/bricks, soft joints or the sand failing to harden HAVE to be the result of not following the clear and simple instructions for use. Blow off all surface sand/powder with a moderately powered leaf blower held at waist height, thoroughly wet with a fine mist (the finer the better) and a full 24 hours of dry weather to allow the Sakrete polymeric sand to dry and set, and you should have perfect results every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: recommend a particle mask for the fine dust
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Experience

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used on patio pavers. The front installation worked fine, too new to tell if will last or reduce weed growth, but it set hard and solid.So I am satisfied with the outcome. Now the bad part.......
I purchased two more buckets to re-do the rear patio. This failed miserably. 70%+ never hardened at all, not even the top layer. I removed it and re-applied, same failure. I suspect I have received a bad batch. Since it is not as fine as paver sand, it will not settle and will have to be removed again. I will use regular paver sand this third time. Terribly disappointed with the lack of quality control
Cons: never hardened
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Secane
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent when you follow directions

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product does what it's suppose to do when you do the job properly. I have bought this several times and happy every time I used it. Excellent product like I said when used correctly !!!!
Pros: Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Orlando, FL

Do not buy! Will stain your pavers!

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is maybe the second time ever I've posted a review of an item - it was just that awful. Like others, I followed the directions precisely. I spent more time blowing and sweeping dust off than I did applying the product. My paver pad is a combination of large squares combined with a brick pattern in the middle. I only needed the sand for the bricks. I swept it on and some got on the large pavers as expected. It is virtually impossible to completely remove the dust. After wetting the product, I now have a lovely white hue over my large dark brown pavers and will now have to spend several more hours applying another coat of stain to cover it. Very disappointed! I cannot stress this enough - DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Wouldn't buy this again....

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't get ALL and I mean ALL of the sand off of the pavers before wetting, your pavers will turn white. We are going to have to try and pop some out and replace.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do not know what happen to the other users, but this product is very easy to use and worked just as the label said. I would give this product a try.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Orlando
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds pavers in place, but stains them easily

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, if the pavers were completely dry when you applied the sand, and you completely removed all excess sand before misting the joints, then your pavers wouldn't stain. Unfortunately, this is impossible in a humid climate like Florida. The pavers had moisture soaked into the surface when I bought them. And, since it rains everyday here, they never fully dried. As soon as the sand touched them, it stained the white pavers yellow. They should just offer it in more colors so you can match the color of the pavers.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: should be offered in more colors
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand

Works great

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the reviews and instructions I was a bit leery of using the product because of the staining. Especially on red brick/pavers. I used 2buckets to cover a 18x21 patio and sidewalk. I highly recommend using the leaf blower to remove any excess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Cleveland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stained my bricks

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I took my time installing my 600 square foot patio for my family to enjoy. The last step, setting the bricks, was no exception. I waited for a dry day with no chance of rain as the instructions indicated. I rented a plate compactor, cleaned off the bricks with a leaf blower and broom. Unfortunately, there is always some moisture (in the midwest) beneath the surface and the sand absorbed it which caused staining on my beautiful patio. I have spent several more hours trying to clean off the stain with water pressure, vinegar, and scrubbing with a little improvement.
Don't buy this product unless you live in the desert!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from sarasota fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't work wast of money.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wast of money and the time we spent on pressure washing and preparing the patio stones.
It is sand it doesn't harden when wet. we followed the instruction on the pale but still doesn't work.
then I went to another store and we bought the same pale but black in color, still it does not work.
$40 +tax was wasted.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Jacksonville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TERRIBLE. RUINED MY PATIO

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this once on my paver patio, followed the directions closely, but it all came up within a month. I got three new bins and tried it again Again, followed the directions to a tie. Same result except worse now over the long term. Where it did not come or flake off, the sand provides a fertile ground for moss, agree, and weeds. Don't buy unless you really want to ruin your pavers.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from MA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wanted

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read so many reviews....far too many. This worked for me. I wanted the voids filled in my walkway and this did it. Simple as that. It was easy to apply and it stayed. I am going to get another bucket.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Patio Looking Brand New Again!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very nervous to use this on my patio because of the negative reviews. My paver patio is 6 years old and I recently pressure washed each stone and the joint between them. My patio had crevices in between almost every paver. I used this product exactly as directed and I have no staining and the joints are almost cement like. It really made my patio look brand new.
My recommendation is to make sure you use a hand tamper (or plate compactor) after filling the gaps, and then place another layer of sand and sweep away excess. Use a leafblower... this is a must. It gets rid of and excess dust from the sand that may stain the patio. I held the blower about waster level so that it didn't blow sand out of cracks.
I've used $90 polymeric sand and now this product, and i had better success with this. Great value.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sakrete PermaSand 40 lb. Paver Joint Sand
from Paramus NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Follwed the directions....after 3 days the sand was hard....after 1 week we had a heavy rain, and ALL the sand washed away.
This could be becuase I did not apply enough water??? I"m writing to the company for refund or replacement.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>