728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fasteners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)

#9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)

Designed to replace nails in certain connectors, the load-rated Strong-Drive SD screw has been tested and approved for use in many popular Simpson Strong-Tie products. The SD structural-connector screw features an optimized shank which is specifically designed to be compatible with the fastener holes in Simpson Strong-Tie connectors. The hex head virtually eliminates cam-out and helps avoid stripping of the head during installation. The sharp point of the screw enables fast starts, and the patented serrated threads reduce torque for improved drivability.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
Review 1 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)

Mixed review on Simpson screw

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most expensive but not easiest when using. While it comes with a hex-head bit that fits nice & tight, the screws are a challenge to sink into the wood - the pointed tips spin a lot before unexpectedly grabbing into the wood and THEN drive in uncontrollably fast causing it to sink much deeper than desired, sometimes.
The tip affords very little grab and the shaft of the screw has way too much grabbing action. It's a tempermentatl fastener for sure!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from San Rafael CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great but expensive

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
These are great for joist hangers and attaching anything galvanized to pressure treated wood but they are a little expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)

great product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used this product to build a deck and they worked great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Anchorage, AK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use, quality product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to use. Goes in place easily with recommended hex head screws.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Bailey, CO 80421, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to drive with smaller impact driver

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I hate banging nails in tight spots, made life so much easier. Easy to remove to lift a joist hanger and reset.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Evansville, In.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was a wise purchase.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed a screw that would not strip out while installing it and this product just fit the situation.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Langhorne, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Screws worked well for area I needed them for. Very handy that they give you hex bit for drill.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Kingman, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even for my chicken coop...

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used my DeWalt 1/4" impact driver to drive them in, They went in with out a hitch. Smooth and strong with plenty of bite.A bit on the pricey side but they are structure quality, my floor joist is not going to fall due to failure!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Security for Joist Hangers

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I chose these screws because I was replacing an old 20' x 20' deck that was built in the 70's and as I ripped up the deck boards I could see that a lot of the nails used on the joist hangers had been either loosened over time or some the nail head had broken off. I have used these screws on a previous deck and they hold strong, plus they are design for the purpose of connecting joist hangers. The good thing about these also is that if you misplace a hanger for some reason you can easily remove the screw and move the hanger. These screws are also made to withstand the chemicals in pressure treated wood, so they won't rust away.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SIMPSON HEX-HEAD STRUCTURAL-CONNECTOR SCREWS

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The screws are strong and well-made; look durable though this is the first time I have used them. What I liked most is the hex-head fit snugly in the socket (the socket was included) so I was able to drill one-handed and use my other hand to hold the joist or whatever. They were a little on the expensive side (hence 4 stars instead of 5) but very pleased with the ease of use and quality.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Bowling Green, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solution

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the hex/washer head--makes for quick positive driving. Very quick to use, and when used with the proper brackets/joist hangers, they make a very solid structure.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product & great deal

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these to attach hurricane plates on a wood shed I'm building. They work very well and I expect my shed to weather any storms.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Las Cruces, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good screw

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This screw has a hex-head with corresponding drive as opposed to the screw head that you insert a screw driver into. Consequently, when using a drill to drive screws, it is less likely to jump out in the process. The disadvantage is that the screw head is nearly 1/4" high, which will make a difference in some applications.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: stands up by 1/4" above surface.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
from Greer, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not to be used for beam joist hangers. Use nails! there stronger

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
works well, but been warned buy a friend that if you use these for beam joist hanger (they are inthe same isle) the building inspector will fail you and require you replace these with nails, which are stronger and have a higher load bearing capacity
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, not to be used for beam hangers
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)

fits like a charm

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
2nd time we've used these along w/ the 90d angle from simpson....there is a reason they are the best in the business
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for #9 1-1/2 in. External Hex Flange Hex-Head Structural-Connector Screw (100-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent fasteners

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is excellent. Installation is quick and easy, they package a driver with the fasteners, so there is no digging around or need to purchase an additional driver. I installed several hundred screws in my new deck and found 1 that did not have any threads.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.