728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer

14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer

Quickly and easily trim and edge your grass with this Homelite 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer. The trimmer's 14 in. wide cutting diameter reduces the amount of passes needed to finish an area to save you time. The 5 Amp motor provides the trimmer with enough power to tackle thick grass, while the telescoping shaft adjusts to a ccommodate your ideal height position. This trimmer conveniently doubles as an edger with a quick rotation of the 180-degree handle.
Overall rating:
2.855 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product41 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(19)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(32)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product41 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
Review 1 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Laveen, AZ

Tangled on first use!

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the Homelite UT41121 string trimmer hoping the people who gave it negative reviews just didn't know what they were doing.
Turns out the negative reviews are right. Out of the box the unit was missing the washer and lock washer for the plastic shield assembly. No biggie if you have that laying around the house.
Plug in the power and fire it up. Sounds strong and cuts strongs....5 seconds later blue line flying all over the place and blue line wrapped around the head. Unplug power, unwrap line. Plug power back in, fire it up, start cutting grass, 6 inch pieces of blue line starts flying, unplug power, and line wrapped around head again.
End of story...taking back.
Would of given it zero stars because now I have to waste gas and take unit back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer

Great Trimmer for the Price...

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked this up a little while ago and just got in from the yard after first use. I can honestly say that the first impression is a very good one.
Assembly was very easy and straight forward. Power was good, I didn't have any trouble cutting through any grass on the lawn, even some thick stuff. Auto feed worked very well and was consistent throughout. This is my first trimmer, so I cant comment on the weight compared to other trimmers, but it felt light and well balanced. Didn't use it for edging, so I can't comment on that aspect of it.
Overall, for what you get and the price you pay, this is a great trimmer.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer

Best electric trimmer out there

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending countless hours trying to decide on a line trimmer to cut my small yard I bought this trimmer. After reading reviews on this model I was a tad worried about the auto line feed. Other reviews complained about line use. NOT SO I have cut my lawn 4x (about 40min trim time) and still have half a spool of line. Other than the trimmer being a little heavy it's great. The trimmer can power through thick tall heavy grass and weeds making it worth putting up with the trimmers weight. Hope this helps!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Fairburn, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Tackled my jungle like a champ

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in the country and broke several riding lawn mowers last year so Ive been unable to mow my grass this year. Once i started losing small dogs in the weeds that where over 2 feet tall I decided something had to be done. I bought this one with low hopes after reading the reviews but it tore threw the jungle in my front yard with out a hitch. Definitely worth the money even if it only works a few more times. Also lightweight enough for a short person like myself.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Real JUNK

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this yesterday, spent more time unwrapping string from the shaft than I did trimming. Had to stop about every foot or so and let the string feed again. I am taking it back to Home Depot this morning for a refund. DO"NT buy, save your bucks and get something good. This is one of the worst items I have ever purchased.
Cons: Difficult to Use, junk
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from RI

Very pleased with this trimmer!

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since this was my first purchase of a yard trimmer, I read reviews of several different brands before proceeding and found those for the Homelite trimmer to be the most positive. I couldn't be happier with the choice!
I bought this unit to clear a very overgrown acre lot, and had never used a trimmer previously. Directions were clear and it was easy to assemble. I was immediately impressed with how easy it was to handle and how well it cut through the debris. Was a little surprised that I ran out of line about 3/4 through the job, but I attribute this to my inexperience in using such a product and the fact that I started and stopped the machine frequently, thus probably activating the autofeed more than normal. Once I ran it for longer periods, it used the line more efficiently.
As an older woman, the "heaviness" was a minor issue, but I addressed this by attaching a strap to the front handle to go over my shoulders and help with the weight. It worked wonderfully, and also kept the trimmer balanced for even cutting.
If this machine could handle the task I put it through, it will handle anything else I'll need it for. Great machine, especially for the price!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Greer, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT!!!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This weed eater is light & easy to handle which is great for me since my hands don't work very well & I have a bad back. The trimmer part tilts 3 different ways which helps a lot & the metal guide is awesome!!! Put the guide against a tree or railroad tie thing & you ain't gotta worry about anything.
I love that I don't have to mix gas & oil & it cleans up easy.
The only thing I don't like & that's for all weed eaters & stuff is that the trigger doesn't stay on, tho I know it's for safety reasons but holding the trigger is the only thing that hurts my hands.
My hubby wanted me to get the bigger amp one but for me it's too heavy & if I am the one doing the yard work then I should be the one who is comfy using the trimmer & this trimmer kicks butt!!! Great price, great trimmer & electric
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ergonomics are good. The power is fine. But the Bump- less feed is a pain. It goes through line like nobody's business and cannot be converted to a nylon blade system. You will easily pay more in the long run in replacement heads(too hard to re-spool by hand) than buying a stringless.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good choice for the price

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had many trimmers from large to small over the years. I now have a small lot and this does a very good job. I have owned this for two years and use it year round. The front guide that drops down to edge trim is a nice feature. I have St. Augustine grass that can be tuff. This powers right through it. The line advance jammed twice which required me taking the spool out and rewinding it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from New Cumberland, Pa

Great Trimmer

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this for several weeks now and am very satisified. The trimming is powerful and the edging is as good as can be expected using a line trimmer. The only negative; the auto feed is not the best but using the manual feed works fine for me. Others mentioned the weight but I don't really think it is a problem.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maximum Frustration

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The trimmer worked just fine until I tried to insert another spool. The instructions say to insert the spool before removing the end of the line from the slot in the spool. Good luck with that. There's no room between the spool and the spool housing to insert the lines through the holes. When I lifted the spool out of the housing so I could insert the lines, the lines flew off the spool and I had an unholy tangle on my hands. This happened two more times with two more spools. I have had several different brands of trimmers in the past, and I've never encountered such difficulty replacing a spool as I did with this bizzare system. The company needs to reengineer the way the lines are wrapped on the spools so that they don't fly everywhere when trying to insert a new spool. Needless to say, I'll never buy another Homelite product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to replace spools
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Phoenix, AZ

good trimmer

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I tried a Black and Decker before this one. I like this much better. The auto feed is nice. It is a little heavy to use. It works well over for trimming. The edging is a little messy but does the job if your not a perfectionist.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Citrus Heights CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth buying

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband just took this one back to the store!! He used it twice; had to use a spool per use but now can't get another back in!!! Talk about frustrated.... don't buy this one!!!!!!!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Fort Worth, Texas

The trimmer works

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It cuts well as an edger and a trimmer. It is manuverable aroung corners and posts.
My only two issues are the weight and fitting into tight spots.
First, my last trimmer was a 4.4 amp so I am used to a smaller motor. The extra weight is noticable on my back. I have learned to move the guide handle higher so I stand up straight.
Secondly the machine does not fit in 10 inch gaps like between an air conditioner and the house.
I have not used the machine enough to determine how long the "fishing" line lasts. An entire season? that has not been determined. The line feeds out two sides of the trimmer unlike my last trimmer, one side.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from washington dc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Died on me

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My trimmer died on me after 3 yrs. I dont think that is acceptable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer

Not up to par

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) Too short for tall people to comfortably use. 2) Heavy motor head and poor overall balance. 3) String tends to autofeed without cutting and wraps around shaft. 4) String capacity is minimal, had to reload before finishing a single lawn session. 5) Difficult to reload string. 6) Guide bar is practically useless. Don't rely on it to protect your tender shrubs. 7) The long lever type switch takes some getting used to. I have owned other Homelite products that I liked. This one is a design failure. I spent more time removing string from around the shaft and reloading than it took me to mow the lawn.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far it's been great.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great, then I ran out of string. Re-wound the spool. Had issues with string wrapping around the axle. Was about to give up, then an amazing thing happened; I read the manual. Wow. Learned that the string needs to be 6" long from the spool. Not 7", not 8", but 6". All my issues went away. Dang, I just knew I learned to read for a reason. Now the trimmer works great again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer

Piece of Junk

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Took me 30 minutes to register and tell everyone what a piece of junk this is.
Used it ONE time. What a JOKE.
This is the worst trimmer I have ever used.
The new design is extremely poor.
They should have left the old tap and more line comes out intact.
This new design doesn't work. You continually have to stop and manually pull out more line.
Also the line keeps breaking off where it feeds out of the spool so you have to take the
spool cap off and feed the line through the hole continually.
This is supposed to feed more line by stopping and starting the machine.
It does not work. Scissors work better.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trimmer unusable after one use

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this trimmer for one job. It seemed to run out of string when the job was almost done. I finished the job with some garden shears. When it was time to do the job again, I got some replacement string from Home Depot and removed the cap off the trimmer head to replace the string. I discovered I hadn't run out of string after all, it had just retracted into the head. So I fed the remaining string into the two feeder holes to extend about a foot or so, replaced the cap on the head, and turned the trimmer on. It didn't do any trimming, so I unplugged it and looked at the trimmer head. Both trimmer strings were wrapped around the shaft of the motor, and they wouldn't come off no matter how hard I tugged and twisted. So I cut them off the motor shaft as short as I could and threaded the remaining string into the feeder holes again. After replacing the cap and turning the trimmer on again,it still wouldn't trim and I found the second pair of strings also wrapped around the motor shaft. There must be a way to remove the trimmer head from the motor shaft, to get at the strings wrapped around the shaft, but I don't see it, and I'm doubtful that removing the strings from the shaft would prevent the problem from recurring. So basically it's a piece of junk.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. 5 Amp Electric String Trimmer
from camano island, wa

great electric trimmer

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted the 15" cut, since I have to weed whack such large areas. This model is heavier than I'm used to, with the smaller weed eaters, but it gets the job done, and at a fair price.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>