728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench

4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench

The Outdoor Living Today Partnership 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench offers great counter space and features a hinged-sink lid. This sturdy potting bench is easy to assemble.
Overall rating:
3.84 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product16 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product16 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
Review 1 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was easy and straight forward. Material was of very good quality and resulted in a light, easy to move work table. Good looking table and wife loves it!
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

difficult to assemble

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bench is nice and practical but assembly was difficult as their were extra pieces without clear directions. Some holes were not correctly drilled at the factory and wood was warped.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: difficult assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from long island ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

still waiting for missing part

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
missing a main part. still waiting for part to arrive. not as good quality as money spent for it. its sitting in garage waiting for the part
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench

OK Bench - Pricey for the Quality.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bench was fine. Lighter than I thought. Assembly was fairly easy except that the legs were supposed to 34 inches and only 2 were. The other 2 were 36 inches so it involved some cutting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from El Paso, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Potting Bench

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This potting bench was so easy to assemble and it looks really nice! I totally luv it!!! The only issue I had was when I began to assemble the dirt sink and the wood kept splitting even though I had predrilled the holes per the instructions; so the dirt sink is still sitting there unassembled waiting for the time when I have a lot of patience or maybe divine intervention occurs...but I can still use the potting bench in the mean time.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Sharp
Cons: wood split even though holes are predrilled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA

Mostly What I Expected

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This bench is unfinished. Once assembled (it took me about 2 hours) it is sturdy. The dirt sink is smaller than I expected. I will keep tools there and use a container on the bottom shelf for dirt. It is a good value overall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Design

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great design and good looking; my wife loves it! About two hours to assemble but not difficult. Hinged cover over "sink" to hold potting soil maximizes work space as does shelf above and below.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Houston, TX

Bench is OK

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bench arrived fairly quickly considering it came from Canada. All the parts were there and assembly was not hard if you are used to basic jobs like this and have a power drill/screwdriver. Some of the parts could have been finished better and there were some striking differences in the wood color, but that is the nature of cedar I guess. My biggest pet peave with this was that the screws provided were too long and almost everyone went through the bench and protruded as much as an 1/8th of an inch. I had to file them down with a dremel tool. For this reason I don't recomend this bench.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Easy to follow directions. Great finished product. Just the right size.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from New Oxford, PA 17350, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I put this project together, (I could have done it myself, though) The top was already made and the pieces were easy to figure out, already predrilled for the screws and nails, and the board lengths were precise. There were enough screws and nails sent along with project but my husband did add more screws to the finished project just to support it alittle better, at different areas. We love it!! I finished it with Thompsons Waterseal and after it dries it will be ready to set out on my patio to allow us to work off of.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Seattle, WA

Potting Bench

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this bench. I looked many places to find it. For some reason the website said this bench was no longer available, but I ordered it anyway and it came a couple weeks later. I am not a construction type but I found the instructions clear. It was easy to put together. Seems sturdy. There were a couple three rough cut areas, but it is an outdoor work table so no harm. It fits perfectly on my condo balcony, one of the main reasons I bought it. It looks great where I have it. After the first rain I very much enjoyed the fresh cedar smell.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Anna Maria, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Went together easily, sturdy construction

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the perfect size for a small area. The cedar was in good condition. I am in Florida on the coast so I don't know how the hardware will hold up to the salty atmosphere. But having a bench to work on will certainly save my back when re-potting.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench

Solid!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very sound bench. A little tricky putting it together for a beginner, but an experienced friend helped me and made it possible. Very pretty and a nice addition.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Connecticut

Not for a novice.

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this potting bench on sale on line. While it was difficult to put together and some pieces had to be cut down to fit together, the finished product is great. This is not a project for a novice, but for someone very good at building things.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from The Villages, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love the look of my cedar potting bench

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived on time. Easily assembled. Looks great and the aroma of cedar is very pleasing! This attractive bench is very functional.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Bloomington, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product, sturdy and easy to assemble

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little intimidated when the product arrived--basically many separate boards. But extremely clear instructions and minimal tools and very easy to assemble. I put it together in about one hour, and I'm not real "handy." It looks great, is very sturdy, feels like it will last a long time, and does the job just fine. My wife (whom I bought it for) loves it and uses it daily.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Over priced

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The material was low quality. It was easy to put together and arrived on time. The cost was way way way to much for the quality.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from South San Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD QUALITY MERCHANDISE, BUT OVERPRICED

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the kit instructions were very detailed and accurate, however the price was higher than the value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from San Diego, CA

KNOTTY CEDAR

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
CONS: Very disappointed in the quality of this wood. Knots everywhere. Product dented on top (not from shipping). Heads on the included screws were unusable; had to purchase replacements.
PROS: Cuts appear to be done well. Easy assembly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. x 2 ft. Western Red Cedar Potting Bench
from pennsylvania

Potting Bench

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe how I love this bench! It is beautiful to look at; it was easy to put together; my plants are doing wonderfully just sitting on it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>