728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gate Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless Driveway Alarm

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when anyone enters your driveway so you never have to worry about being surprised by visitors. The handy alarm uses reliable vehicle detection to sense when a car or truck passes and does not alert you when an animal or human passes. The sensor features in-ground electromagnetic sensors that will activate an indoor chime when a vehicle enters. Wireless communication between the outdoor sensor and the internal base station is effective up to 400 ft.
Overall rating:
3.864 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product81 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 110 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(30)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product81 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Review 1 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Forest
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A great buy!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product over 6 months ago and it has worked perfectly. No false alarms which was a problem with my previous driveway alarm which was sensitive to animals and temperature changes. I have a long driveway, so there is relatively little traffic that could create a false alarm. I have the sensor installed about 75 years from the base station. Given the price of this unit, I expected it to be too good to be true. But I was wrong. I'd highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a driveway sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Promises
from Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used two other driveway alerts, the SVAT Wireless System and a motion sensor from China. Neither of them were working correctly. They continuously were going off/beeping. This one does go off when there is no one in the driveway, but not even close to the number of times that the other ones went off. It may go off one or two times per day. Be sure to read all the directions and follow them exactly.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
kathy67

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to purchase this alarm because our previous driveway alarm was very sensitive to people and animals crossing the path. The Mighty Mouse uses electromatic sensors that are only supposed to alarm when a car passes. We tried it out with 4 different cars, and the alarm failed to go off each time. We tried changing the sensitivity and moving it, but we never got it to work when cars drove past it. So, we will be returning it and going with the kind we used to have, which is basically a motion sensor for anything crossing the alarm's path. Not really what I wanted, but at least those are reliable.
Cons: doesn't perform as stated
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
DesertSage
from Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Why did I wait so long?!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was super easy to install and works great.
I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back!
The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Jackie
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well & looks great on driveway.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Corey
from Bakersfield, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We are enjoying knowing when someone pulls in to our driveway.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We will be happy with this purchase as soon as we get the sensitivity set correctly. The alarm sounds periodically now when there is nothing there.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
JKM22
from Sylvan, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product did not work.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed all instructions and was within the range specified by the manufacturer, but could not get the signal to transmit. Tried again from very close range, and still would not work. My first Mighty Mule worked for about one year, then failed. This one didn't even get started. I'm giving up on the product.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
wasutdiomom
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was easy to install, works great. Its loud enough that we hear people coming up the driveway (its barely visible from the house) but it doesnt really bother guests already visiting.
This is so great we purchased one for our in-laws who just moved into a house that has a long driveway that is not visible from most of the house.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
kmsm
from DE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The door bell sound is perfect.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This alarm goes off with the vibration of vehicle. I like that it is NOT visual type sensor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Debb

Great product

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I needed. Works like it suppose to. It is a great item!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Razal
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works almost flawlessly

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Works perfectly except that in the last three months is went off erroneously for no reason five or six times when I was home. Overall, it's well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
ElecTronics
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product, Price is Right

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed and had it working in 15min. 15' from mailbox and adjusted the sensativity for 13'. I know when the mail is delvered and when cars come into the driveway. Does not false alarm like Photoeye or Motion detector. I studied driveway detectors for 2 weeks and chose the Mighty Mule. The receiver sound is adaquite, wish it was a little louder or had relay output to interface to door bell or security system. Performs as I expected 5 stars. Good Value and a Good Price. I recommend this product
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
LeeL

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was pretty easy. We put the outdoor sensor about 40 yards from our house. We had to move the internal base around in the house a little so it would transmit correctly. We thought we had to reset the internal base every time a car came through (because a red light would come on and stay on), but that wasn't the case. It will still alert you every time a car comes in or out without resetting the internal base. So far it has worked every time a car comes in or out. The chime is okay, but would like to have a choice of a different chime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
diverdan
from Lakewood, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a long driveway that we can't see from inside our house. We installed the mighty mule driveway alarm so we would know when we had guests. Now, when ride-sharing with others, they don't have to get out of their car and walk to our front door because the alarm notifies us that they have arrived and we meet them at their car. No false alarms. It senses vehicles only. Easy to install and hardly noticeable agaist our fence.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Keith
from Millstone, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great with limitations

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had it located 25' from the street. Kept getting false alarms. I turned the sensitivity down to stop the false alarms, then it would not pick up anything. I moved it 100' feet from the road, turned up the sensitivity 100% and it works great. I would have liked to have it closer to the road but the next tree was 100' away. The other draw back is the cable is too short, I had to mount the transmitter closer to the driveway that I wanted. A 30' cord would have worked much better for me. I would buy it again.
Pros: no false alarms
Cons: cable is too short
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
weaver123
from Columbus Ohio

Not Mighty Mule- Mutley Mule

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The detector itself works great and have it 400 feet from reciever. I had a false alarm in the middle of night last week. The beeping of the alarm is not mighty-- it sounds more like a mouse squeak rather than an alarm. They should invest more in a louder speaker to make an alarm noise not a mouse squeak
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Erbs
from Michigam

Wireless Driveway Alarm

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had the alarm about 4 months now. No complaints, works great. Great price compared to others. I have the sensor about 250 feet from the receiver. The volume is plenty loud also. I would not be without an alarm anymore. I hope this helps in your decision on an alarm.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
MRFIXIT
from Pipersville, PA 18947, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

There is no MIGHTY in mighty mule!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot did a great job getting the product to me and giving me a full refund when I returned it.
The product did not work.
I tested it as directed. I drove past it with two different cars. It only worked sporadically with one and not at all with the other.
When it did detect an automobile going past it, the sound coming from the reciever set at full volume was barely audible in the room it was in and impossible to hear in most of the rest of the house. The alarm only sounded for for the length of four short tones.
I have since purchased another brand product from another source and am totally satisfied.
Cons: not worth the money at any price
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
MLM2012
from Wildwood, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent alarm!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this product. We live in the woods with a long driveway, and it is nice to have an alert when guests arrive or family arrive home. It works very well. We have had a false alarm very rarely, but truly that has not been an issue. Bought one for my parents too, and they love it. My brother-in-law bought one too when he saw how it worked at their house!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
DavidW
from Bennington, VT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to get working

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was pleased by the quality of the product for the price, it went together without problems. The issue I have is I have yet to get it to work. As you may imagine, it is difficult to place the sensor, turn on the receiver, run to the car, drive by and run back to the receiver to see if it worked. I am resorting to taking a video recording of the receiver. Very tough by yourself. I have put two hours into it without success - yet.
Pros: High Quality of Material, great price
Cons: Difficult to Install, difficult to get working by yourself
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>