728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gate Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless Driveway Alarm

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product96 of 128reviews
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(34)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product96 of 128reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Review 1 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A great buy!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product over 6 months ago and it has worked perfectly. No false alarms which was a problem with my previous driveway alarm which was sensitive to animals and temperature changes. I have a long driveway, so there is relatively little traffic that could create a false alarm. I have the sensor installed about 75 years from the base station. Given the price of this unit, I expected it to be too good to be true. But I was wrong. I'd highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a driveway sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good driveway alarm

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind.
This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for a magnetic driveway sensor

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The alarm sensor was easy to set up and reliably detects vehicles. The receiver is about 100' from the detector and works fine, except, the alarm could be a little longer and louder.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Camp Point, Il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not worth it

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read the reviews and thought this was what we wanted. We checked to make sure it was going to work before covering it up, it did a relatively good job. Didn't always signal each time the vehicle went past while testing, but I could live with it. We took the alarm out of the trench to purchase some PVC pipe for the wire (so no varmints could chew through it while in the ground), we thought the PVC pipe going to the alarm was a good idea so we wanted the entire wire in PVC. When we put it back in the ground it wouldn't work. Took the PVC pipe off - still wouldn't work. Ended up returning it to Home Depot for a refund. I then ordered a Chamberlain Wireless Motion Alert. This one works great - even detects people walking up the drive.
Cons: Difficult to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well & looks great on driveway.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lillington, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this alarm

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my second Mighty Mule alarm, the first one was not reliable, some times it worked & some times it didn't. After a few months it quit completely, installing new batteries did not solve the problem. The unit was returned for a replacement and again it's not reliable. The alarm sounds occasionally but is usually silent. Both units were installed strictly in accordance with the instructions provided and have clear line of sight to the receive which is approximately 85' away. I would not recommend this alarm to anyone.
Pros: instructions are clear
Cons: unreliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Cons: alerts entering and exiting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Why did I wait so long?!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was super easy to install and works great.
I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back!
The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Somerset, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Limited reliability

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Mighty Mule driveway alarm. The first stopped working after three years and I wanted to replace it with the latest model. Upon receiving the new one, I was disappointed to find that the wire between the sensor probe and the transmitter is now much shorter (less then 10 feet) . The shorter wire prohibited me from hiding the transmitter in a nearby tree and eliminating the need to mow around it.
I have been using my new driveway alarm for about three weeks now and am finding that it only senses a vehicle about 50% of the time. I have replaced the batteries and re-positioned the probe, but nothing seems to help. The old model was much more reliable.
Pros: Easy to Install, no false alarms
Cons: does not work consistently, wire to transmitter is too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this and worked well for 6 months then started to alarm every minute on the minute. Contacted customer service returned and sent new one to replace. Worked for one week. Customer service was no help with trouble shooting. Will return and not purchase same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Asheboro, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless - never worked farther than 5 feet between transmitter and receiver

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Of course I followed the instructions to the letter as everyone before stated to do - I started testing the range with only 25 feet clear line of sight and nothing! So, went to the trouble shooting page of the manual and re-read it over and over - guess what? The troubleshooting guide tells you what to check - but not what to do to solve the issue.
So thinking I just might not be doing something right I closed the distance between the receiver and transmitter to see if it worked at all. I tried 20 feet then 15 feet, then 10 feet , and it finally worked at 5 feet. What a joke!
This has to go back the only issue now is the closest Home Depot is 70 miles away.
Pros: cheap
Cons: range is worthless to anyone in a rural area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Brandy Station, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Efficient

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Literally took 5 minutes to install. Works flawlessly!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Spicewood, TX 78669, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good alarm system

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great alarm system because of the magnetic sensors ...only picks up cars
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to purchase this alarm because our previous driveway alarm was very sensitive to people and animals crossing the path. The Mighty Mouse uses electromatic sensors that are only supposed to alarm when a car passes. We tried it out with 4 different cars, and the alarm failed to go off each time. We tried changing the sensitivity and moving it, but we never got it to work when cars drove past it. So, we will be returning it and going with the kind we used to have, which is basically a motion sensor for anything crossing the alarm's path. Not really what I wanted, but at least those are reliable.
Cons: doesn't perform as stated
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Mountain City, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This driveway alarm works wery good

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the second one i have purchased. i got this one for friend her husband passed away and wanted to help her to feel safer. They work great and very pleased with
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Blue Sprins Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

mighty mule wireless driveway alarm

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The alarm works only for metal in drive, no shadows or birds set off alarm. Very dependable, works every time. This is second one bought as the first was run over by mower, which was difficult to do as it protrudes above ground 24 inches.. wish there were parts to order..
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: must be within 4 foot of drive., care must be taken when mowing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Memphis,TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Overrated and Underperformed

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Advertised as having a 400 ft. range, Not even close!!!
More like slightly less then 100 ft. I also have to have
the receiver in the front part the house by the window in
order for it to work. Won't work in the den or bedroom.
Useless!!! Wish I hadn't waste the money, and wish I
had read a review like this before I purchased it.
Cons: false advertising
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS AS ADVERTISED-EXCELLENT

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one product that works as well as advertised. Just sold our country house and are taking the unit with us to our next home. Would never live rurally without one again! Love it!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Love it

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it. It does a great job. I had to turn the sensitivity down because it picks up wireless fantastic. I was worried it wouldn't reach the 200 ft to my house but it does perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Great product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install and simple love it. Works just right the first time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>