728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gate Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless Driveway Alarm

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when anyone enters your driveway so you never have to worry about being surprised by visitors. The handy alarm uses reliable vehicle detection to sense when a car or truck passes and does not alert you when an animal or human passes. The sensor features in-ground electromagnetic sensors that will activate an indoor chime when a vehicle enters. Wireless communication between the outdoor sensor and the internal base station is effective up to 400 ft.
Overall rating:
3.901 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product90 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(32)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product90 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Review 1 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A great buy!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product over 6 months ago and it has worked perfectly. No false alarms which was a problem with my previous driveway alarm which was sensitive to animals and temperature changes. I have a long driveway, so there is relatively little traffic that could create a false alarm. I have the sensor installed about 75 years from the base station. Given the price of this unit, I expected it to be too good to be true. But I was wrong. I'd highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a driveway sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good driveway alarm

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind.
This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lillington, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this alarm

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my second Mighty Mule alarm, the first one was not reliable, some times it worked & some times it didn't. After a few months it quit completely, installing new batteries did not solve the problem. The unit was returned for a replacement and again it's not reliable. The alarm sounds occasionally but is usually silent. Both units were installed strictly in accordance with the instructions provided and have clear line of sight to the receive which is approximately 85' away. I would not recommend this alarm to anyone.
Pros: instructions are clear
Cons: unreliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Cons: alerts entering and exiting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Brandy Station, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Efficient

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Literally took 5 minutes to install. Works flawlessly!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Mountain City, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This driveway alarm works wery good

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the second one i have purchased. i got this one for friend her husband passed away and wanted to help her to feel safer. They work great and very pleased with
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Blue Sprins Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

mighty mule wireless driveway alarm

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The alarm works only for metal in drive, no shadows or birds set off alarm. Very dependable, works every time. This is second one bought as the first was run over by mower, which was difficult to do as it protrudes above ground 24 inches.. wish there were parts to order..
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: must be within 4 foot of drive., care must be taken when mowing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well & looks great on driveway.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Middle Tennessee

Great product!

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been using this system on our 285 foot long driveway for 4 years now. It has never failed. Using Duracell AA batteries, it lasts for over one-year on a single set of 4 batteries.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Ferguson, NC

Great product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved this product so much I purchased another for a second property.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Laurel, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased one for myself about 1 year ago. This one I purchased for my mother. She liked mine so well she wanted one.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: works about 400 feet. needs about 1000 feet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Athol, ID 83801, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth the $$$

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's great when it works...it doesn't always go off when it is supposed to...
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Traverse City, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS GREAT!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Did have some phantom alarms at first, but found the sensitivity was turned to the Max. Put it at the half way mark and it works every time with no "phantom" alarms going off. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to purchase this alarm because our previous driveway alarm was very sensitive to people and animals crossing the path. The Mighty Mouse uses electromatic sensors that are only supposed to alarm when a car passes. We tried it out with 4 different cars, and the alarm failed to go off each time. We tried changing the sensitivity and moving it, but we never got it to work when cars drove past it. So, we will be returning it and going with the kind we used to have, which is basically a motion sensor for anything crossing the alarm's path. Not really what I wanted, but at least those are reliable.
Cons: doesn't perform as stated
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Why did I wait so long?!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was super easy to install and works great.
I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back!
The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used two other driveway alerts, the SVAT Wireless System and a motion sensor from China. Neither of them were working correctly. They continuously were going off/beeping. This one does go off when there is no one in the driveway, but not even close to the number of times that the other ones went off. It may go off one or two times per day. Be sure to read all the directions and follow them exactly.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lakewood, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a long driveway that we can't see from inside our house. We installed the mighty mule driveway alarm so we would know when we had guests. Now, when ride-sharing with others, they don't have to get out of their car and walk to our front door because the alarm notifies us that they have arrived and we meet them at their car. No false alarms. It senses vehicles only. Easy to install and hardly noticeable agaist our fence.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Bakersfield, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We are enjoying knowing when someone pulls in to our driveway.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We will be happy with this purchase as soon as we get the sensitivity set correctly. The alarm sounds periodically now when there is nothing there.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Millstone, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great with limitations

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had it located 25' from the street. Kept getting false alarms. I turned the sensitivity down to stop the false alarms, then it would not pick up anything. I moved it 100' feet from the road, turned up the sensitivity 100% and it works great. I would have liked to have it closer to the road but the next tree was 100' away. The other draw back is the cable is too short, I had to mount the transmitter closer to the driveway that I wanted. A 30' cord would have worked much better for me. I would buy it again.
Pros: no false alarms
Cons: cable is too short
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was easy to install, works great. Its loud enough that we hear people coming up the driveway (its barely visible from the house) but it doesnt really bother guests already visiting.
This is so great we purchased one for our in-laws who just moved into a house that has a long driveway that is not visible from most of the house.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>