728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless Driveway Alarm

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product109 of 145reviews
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(74)
4
(35)
3
(7)
2
(9)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product109 of 145reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Review 1 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A great buy!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product over 6 months ago and it has worked perfectly. No false alarms which was a problem with my previous driveway alarm which was sensitive to animals and temperature changes. I have a long driveway, so there is relatively little traffic that could create a false alarm. I have the sensor installed about 75 years from the base station. Given the price of this unit, I expected it to be too good to be true. But I was wrong. I'd highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a driveway sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paranoid in the country

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Takes some work to install, after that it has worked flawlessly for 5yrs. Only replace batteries once a year in the spring. Have the distance maxed out at about 425ft. Wish it had an add on capability. Would love to be able to turn the front porch light on each time it goes off. Plan on getting an addional receiver for the work shop.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: no add on capability
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015
Hello Leftalone1,
Thank you for taking time to post your review of the Wireless Driveway Alarm.
Thank you!
Review 3 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This driveway alarm works perfectly, no false alarms, no missed vehicles, its worth the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best of 3 brands purchased

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Priced right, super easy to install and no false alarms like with motion type alarms. Battery life is excellent.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good driveway alarm

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind.
This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic.
Pros: Easy to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work. Huge disappointment.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just flat out doesn't work. Tried 2 of them. Constant false alarms and missed events. Both units had a mind of their own. I took both back to the store on separate occasions and the clerk said something to the extent of "we see a LOT of these items coming back" and was very familiar wit the problems. Ordered a competing product online (for about 3x the price, FYI) and it works flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Xenia OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Driveway alarm

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My house is 500' from the road so we lke to have an alarm to let us know when someone comes on our property. Like this better than infrared alarms I've used that can be set off by deer, rabbits and other animals. Only goes off when cars, trucks and other large metal objects cross its path. But I found they were a little off on some of their distance claims. I had to bury the sensor wand within a foot of the edge of the driveway. The 12' circle they claimed didn't work for me. they also say it works up to 400' feet away. I first had the sending unit 300' from receiver and it didn't work, had to move it to 200'. Would like to have a softer alarm sound but guess you can't have everything.
Cons: didn't work at advertised distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is much better than a motion sensor alert. I have gotten a few false alarms, even tho I have it about 40 feet from the road way, but iI wouldn't trade it for motion sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Sandwich, Ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mule Drive way alarm

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product and easy for a single "mature" woman to install herself. Just be careful and leave sufficient cord in the transistor tube so it does not pull out when everything gets buried.
Works nicely part way along my 600 ft driveway.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 10, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 10, 2015
Hello,
Thank you for posting your review! We are very happy you are enjoying Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm.
Review 10 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Why did I wait so long?!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was super easy to install and works great.
I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back!
The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Vermont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked, but I returned it because the volume is too soft even at the loudest setting. It was difficult to hear the alarm over ambient noise in the home such as over a TV , stereo, washing machine, etc.. Even during the dead of night it would be doubtful the alarm would wake someone from sleep.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: alarm sound too soft
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well & looks great on driveway.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from san antonio, texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

better than a doorbell to let you know someone is coming

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
assembly is quick, a little bit of digging and your done.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Englewood, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I would have made this purchase long ago. Really helps to know when someone is on site.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was very easy to install, took just a few minutes. Works very well and the alarm is loud enough to hear throughout the house.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 27, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 27, 2015
Hello Spooky,
Thank you for taking time to post your review! We are very please to hear you are happy driveway alarm. Thank you!
Review 15 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Wetmore, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed a detector to alert us that someone was entering our driveway. I installed the sensor about 50 feet from a highway. (the instructions say 25 feet from a roadway). The installation was easy. I placed the receiver in a window sill facing the driveway, about 200 feet away. The dogs have rapidly learned to associate the sound with the arrival of someone in the driveway. So we have a secondary announcement. It has false alarmed a couple times. I have identified the cause as large flatbed trucks carrying heavy equipment, such as a tractor or grader. I have turned the sensitivity down but still will detect these type vehicles on the highway. I believe further reduction of the sensitivity could eliminate these alarms but they are rare and not a problem for us. This product works!!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Whitetop, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

mighty mule wireless driveway alarm

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The word alarm is so misleading. The tone is about 1/2 as loud as a finger snap; you can barely hear the tone and only if you are standing beside the receiver. Even in the same room if there is a radio or TV on, you will not heard this tone. Two dings, that's its! Not 1/10 as loud as a phone ring. It is totally worthless. If you can't hear an automobile drive up, you sure as heck won't hear this alarm--Ding!! Don't waste the money; this is a total piece of junk!!
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 10, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 10, 2015
Thank you for contacting Mighty Mule. Our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced with your purchase of the driveway alarm . We would like to have your issue resolved and for you to be satisfied with your purchase. Please reach out to our Technical Support to help better assist you with this issue. Pease contact (800) 543-1236 for appropriate assistance and to resolve this issue.
Review 17 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless driveway alarm

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Honestly I have not been able to try this product yet because it requires some digging to place the sensor underground and our ground is currently frozen solid and will be for a couple months yet. I can say that a friend highly recommended this alarm and that is the reason for me buying it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Cons: alerts entering and exiting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for a magnetic driveway sensor

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The alarm sensor was easy to set up and reliably detects vehicles. The receiver is about 100' from the detector and works fine, except, the alarm could be a little longer and louder.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product, Price is Right

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed and had it working in 15min. 15' from mailbox and adjusted the sensativity for 13'. I know when the mail is delvered and when cars come into the driveway. Does not false alarm like Photoeye or Motion detector. I studied driveway detectors for 2 weeks and chose the Mighty Mule. The receiver sound is adaquite, wish it was a little louder or had relay output to interface to door bell or security system. Performs as I expected 5 stars. Good Value and a Good Price. I recommend this product
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>