728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gate Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless Driveway Alarm

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.
Overall rating:
3.851 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product103 of 137reviews
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(70)
4
(34)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product103 of 137reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Review 1 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A great buy!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product over 6 months ago and it has worked perfectly. No false alarms which was a problem with my previous driveway alarm which was sensitive to animals and temperature changes. I have a long driveway, so there is relatively little traffic that could create a false alarm. I have the sensor installed about 75 years from the base station. Given the price of this unit, I expected it to be too good to be true. But I was wrong. I'd highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a driveway sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best of 3 brands purchased

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Priced right, super easy to install and no false alarms like with motion type alarms. Battery life is excellent.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good driveway alarm

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind.
This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Sandwich, Ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mule Drive way alarm

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product and easy for a single "mature" woman to install herself. Just be careful and leave sufficient cord in the transistor tube so it does not pull out when everything gets buried.
Works nicely part way along my 600 ft driveway.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Wetmore, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed a detector to alert us that someone was entering our driveway. I installed the sensor about 50 feet from a highway. (the instructions say 25 feet from a roadway). The installation was easy. I placed the receiver in a window sill facing the driveway, about 200 feet away. The dogs have rapidly learned to associate the sound with the arrival of someone in the driveway. So we have a secondary announcement. It has false alarmed a couple times. I have identified the cause as large flatbed trucks carrying heavy equipment, such as a tractor or grader. I have turned the sensitivity down but still will detect these type vehicles on the highway. I believe further reduction of the sensitivity could eliminate these alarms but they are rare and not a problem for us. This product works!!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless driveway alarm

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Honestly I have not been able to try this product yet because it requires some digging to place the sensor underground and our ground is currently frozen solid and will be for a couple months yet. I can say that a friend highly recommended this alarm and that is the reason for me buying it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Whitetop, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

mighty mule wireless driveway alarm

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The word alarm is so misleading. The tone is about 1/2 as loud as a finger snap; you can barely hear the tone and only if you are standing beside the receiver. Even in the same room if there is a radio or TV on, you will not heard this tone. Two dings, that's its! Not 1/10 as loud as a phone ring. It is totally worthless. If you can't hear an automobile drive up, you sure as heck won't hear this alarm--Ding!! Don't waste the money; this is a total piece of junk!!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Why did I wait so long?!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was super easy to install and works great.
I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back!
The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Bloomington,IN.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A product we needed.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our driveway is 500 ft. long not visible from our living room. Now, I know who is within 30 ft. of our house when they come up the driveway. No unexpected people coming up in the night time now.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well & looks great on driveway.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Akron, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes the place of a doorbell

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our house can't have a doorbell due to the thick stone and brick wall so this alarm provides that function and I know when guest get here and when they leave.
Pros: Easy to Install, fits inside of a standard pvc pipe to provide prot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We've bought 3, will buy 1 or 2 more

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought 2 of these shortly after moving to our remote home 8 months ago. We wanted to know when people &/or cars came to our part of the road and driveway so we put one at the road about 500 feet from the kitchen window. The 2nd is located on our gravel driveway and the alarm is in our bedroom window. When either goes off, we look out the front of the house to assess the situation or greet guests or the UPS driver. They both fail occasionally--possibly because the car happens to be hugging the other side of the lane. They have gone off a very few times with nothing seeming to be around--possibly caused by a stray dog wearing a collar. We set them off when we walk by with a cell phone in our pocket so I'm comforted that most people will be picked up by the sensors. We have not replaced any batteries yet. We bought a 3rd for another access route and I plan to buy 2 more for the dock path and an unused lane very close to our home. I was not comfortable living here without these wireless alarms but with these in place, I know when our house is being approached.
Pros: works as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for a magnetic driveway sensor

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The alarm sensor was easy to set up and reliably detects vehicles. The receiver is about 100' from the detector and works fine, except, the alarm could be a little longer and louder.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Jonesboro, Georgia

a waste of time and money!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The wireless driveway alarm was easy to install but only works about 1 out of 10 times. It was definitely a wast of my money!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Cons: alerts entering and exiting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lillington, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this alarm

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my second Mighty Mule alarm, the first one was not reliable, some times it worked & some times it didn't. After a few months it quit completely, installing new batteries did not solve the problem. The unit was returned for a replacement and again it's not reliable. The alarm sounds occasionally but is usually silent. Both units were installed strictly in accordance with the instructions provided and have clear line of sight to the receive which is approximately 85' away. I would not recommend this alarm to anyone.
Pros: instructions are clear
Cons: unreliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Camp Point, Il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not worth it

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read the reviews and thought this was what we wanted. We checked to make sure it was going to work before covering it up, it did a relatively good job. Didn't always signal each time the vehicle went past while testing, but I could live with it. We took the alarm out of the trench to purchase some PVC pipe for the wire (so no varmints could chew through it while in the ground), we thought the PVC pipe going to the alarm was a good idea so we wanted the entire wire in PVC. When we put it back in the ground it wouldn't work. Took the PVC pipe off - still wouldn't work. Ended up returning it to Home Depot for a refund. I then ordered a Chamberlain Wireless Motion Alert. This one works great - even detects people walking up the drive.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to purchase this alarm because our previous driveway alarm was very sensitive to people and animals crossing the path. The Mighty Mouse uses electromatic sensors that are only supposed to alarm when a car passes. We tried it out with 4 different cars, and the alarm failed to go off each time. We tried changing the sensitivity and moving it, but we never got it to work when cars drove past it. So, we will be returning it and going with the kind we used to have, which is basically a motion sensor for anything crossing the alarm's path. Not really what I wanted, but at least those are reliable.
Cons: doesn't perform as stated
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lakewood, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a long driveway that we can't see from inside our house. We installed the mighty mule driveway alarm so we would know when we had guests. Now, when ride-sharing with others, they don't have to get out of their car and walk to our front door because the alarm notifies us that they have arrived and we meet them at their car. No false alarms. It senses vehicles only. Easy to install and hardly noticeable agaist our fence.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product, Price is Right

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed and had it working in 15min. 15' from mailbox and adjusted the sensativity for 13'. I know when the mail is delvered and when cars come into the driveway. Does not false alarm like Photoeye or Motion detector. I studied driveway detectors for 2 weeks and chose the Mighty Mule. The receiver sound is adaquite, wish it was a little louder or had relay output to interface to door bell or security system. Performs as I expected 5 stars. Good Value and a Good Price. I recommend this product
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>