728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Wireless Driveway Alarm

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.
Overall rating:
3.872 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product116 of 152reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(78)
4
(37)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product116 of 152reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Review 1 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A great buy!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product over 6 months ago and it has worked perfectly. No false alarms which was a problem with my previous driveway alarm which was sensitive to animals and temperature changes. I have a long driveway, so there is relatively little traffic that could create a false alarm. I have the sensor installed about 75 years from the base station. Given the price of this unit, I expected it to be too good to be true. But I was wrong. I'd highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a driveway sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Taos, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK Compromise that works.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The product works, but not quite as well as it might. The detector does not detect a vehicle 12 feet out as stated. Ours detects it at about 2 feet with the sensitivity set at max. I checked that using the LED test. We have a woodland habitat and even at less than 100 feet would not communicate between the transmitter and receiver. I placed the transmitter about 8 feet up in a tree, instead of on its one foot tall post, and that fixed the problem. This product is cheaper than one of the pressure sensors (which in retrospect I would have purchased instead) and it does not have the problem of moving branches that a passive IR system has. So as I say this is a compromise that works.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paranoid in the country

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Takes some work to install, after that it has worked flawlessly for 5yrs. Only replace batteries once a year in the spring. Have the distance maxed out at about 425ft. Wish it had an add on capability. Would love to be able to turn the front porch light on each time it goes off. Plan on getting an addional receiver for the work shop.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: no add on capability
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015
Hello Leftalone1,
Thank you for taking time to post your review of the Wireless Driveway Alarm.
Thank you!
Review 4 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
was able to set it up without any assistance. It is a very good product. I follow the instructions provided ans so far, I have experienced no problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Driveway alarm that works

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to set up and works as expected. The alarm sounds in the house whenever a vehicle comes up our driveway.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This driveway alarm works perfectly, no false alarms, no missed vehicles, its worth the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best of 3 brands purchased

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Priced right, super easy to install and no false alarms like with motion type alarms. Battery life is excellent.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good driveway alarm

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind.
This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic.
Pros: Easy to Install
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Driveway Alarm

Mighty Mule wireless driveway alarm

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit works well easy to install Need to adjust the sensitivity when installed near a Metal building
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like it's supposed to.

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great with no false alarms. Installing was not easy, as I had to bury the sensor and wires, but it works as it needed to. The only suggestions I would make would be to increase the length of the cable from the sensor to the transmitter and I would like to see more volume adjustments in the receiver. Other than that I think it's a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Why did I wait so long?!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was super easy to install and works great.
I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back!
The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Dayton, WA 99328, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wireless Driveway Alarm works well

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works very well at alerting us of vehicles coming into the driveway. The wireless signal is strong and could interfere with wireless doorbell as it does ours. However, We really like this product and wished we have done this sooner!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work. Huge disappointment.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just flat out doesn't work. Tried 2 of them. Constant false alarms and missed events. Both units had a mind of their own. I took both back to the store on separate occasions and the clerk said something to the extent of "we see a LOT of these items coming back" and was very familiar wit the problems. Ordered a competing product online (for about 3x the price, FYI) and it works flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Xenia OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Driveway alarm

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My house is 500' from the road so we lke to have an alarm to let us know when someone comes on our property. Like this better than infrared alarms I've used that can be set off by deer, rabbits and other animals. Only goes off when cars, trucks and other large metal objects cross its path. But I found they were a little off on some of their distance claims. I had to bury the sensor wand within a foot of the edge of the driveway. The 12' circle they claimed didn't work for me. they also say it works up to 400' feet away. I first had the sending unit 300' from receiver and it didn't work, had to move it to 200'. Would like to have a softer alarm sound but guess you can't have everything.
Cons: didn't work at advertised distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well & looks great on driveway.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Northern Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent equipment

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Received timely. Easy to follow instructions. Excellent product. This device reacts magnetically to vehicles passing rather than the motion sensor types that respond to animals, people, and wind.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Sandwich, Ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mule Drive way alarm

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product and easy for a single "mature" woman to install herself. Just be careful and leave sufficient cord in the transistor tube so it does not pull out when everything gets buried.
Works nicely part way along my 600 ft driveway.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 10, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 10, 2015
Hello,
Thank you for posting your review! We are very happy you are enjoying Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm.
Review 18 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is much better than a motion sensor alert. I have gotten a few false alarms, even tho I have it about 40 feet from the road way, but iI wouldn't trade it for motion sensor.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from Vermont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked, but I returned it because the volume is too soft even at the loudest setting. It was difficult to hear the alarm over ambient noise in the home such as over a TV , stereo, washing machine, etc.. Even during the dead of night it would be doubtful the alarm would wake someone from sleep.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: alarm sound too soft
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Driveway Alarm
from san antonio, texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

better than a doorbell to let you know someone is coming

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
assembly is quick, a little bit of digging and your done.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>