728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth

4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth

Help rid your garden or home of a variety of insects with the Safer Brand 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth. This effective ant and crawling insect killing powder is made from 77.69% AKA silicon dioxide to successfully exterminate ants, earwigs, cockroaches, silverfish, crickets, millipedes and centipedes. The diatomaceous earth formula is safe for use in organic gardening, and can also be used indoors if kept dry. The powder uses a bait formula that will kill insects by dehydration within 48 hours of ingestion. The OMRI-listed powder comes in a 4 lb. bag to help you to deal with an infestation.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
Review 1 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
BlackDiamond
from Toledo, Ohio

More Bang For Your Buck!

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is everything the previous reviewers stated and then some. My cat had been suffering from fleas for the majority of the summer and every flea spray I purchased failed miserably. Once my home became infected I knew I had no choice but to give it a try. Within 24 hours her biting and scratching had minimized to almost nothing. It is now 48 hours and beyond and I have not been able to catch her psychotically trying to relieve herself of her tormentors. Not only that my home is officially flea free. This product is a great buy, at a great price, with a great delivery time. You will not be sorry.
+68points
68out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
fuzzbuzz
from Queens, NY

Effective and Easy to Use!

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't get me wrong. This is a great product. It's non-toxic and easy to apply. I used on the carpet under my bed and boxspring and around the edges...wherever Bedbugs may hide. I may have put too much because it has been affecting my skin and hair. It dries them out. All in all this is still a good product. I recommend purchasing a duster to adequately apply the product.
Good Luck!
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
Shannon
from Goose Creek, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kitty says thank you!!!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a spring and summer of flea infestation in my home and yard, we are finally able to relax on the sofa without scratching every five minutes. Gracie the cat says thank you too. This product is awesome but I had to make my own container (shaker) to spread it on my carpet. I used a left over Hawaiian Punch (Big size) bottle, then poked holes in the top. I shook it out liberally and no more fleas.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
6xstressed
from morristown TN 37814

Diatomaceous earth for flea control

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our yard was positively infested with fleas and earwigs. I was having to bathe my dogs every day. I dusted the whole yard with Diatomaceous Earth and in two days the fleas and earwigs were almost gone. By the end of the fourth day I had to look for fleas on my dogs. Great product for all natural flea control. Thanks
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
beejorn
from Austin TX

killed fire ants indoor and outdoor

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some fire ants who had decided to move in to our house and I also have been trying to kill the fire ants outdoor with various poisons and nothing had a very good success rate, I heard of Diatomaceous Earth and that it is safe to animals and kids, so I gave it a shot and it killed off ants inside and out in two days. AWESOME!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
Karino
from CINCINNATI,OHIO

Amazing Powder

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read about this powder some months ago about uses for bedbugs. Well my son has been battling those things on and off for 2 years now and I suggested he try this. It has been a wonderful wonderful powder that has been very effective for them pests. I will recommend this to everyone who has tried expensive pest control companies and found that it was just money down the drain. HOORAY FOR THE NATURAL POWDERS.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
cleece
from Las Vegas, NV

Great for managing scorpions

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have found that d-earth is an important part of our arsenal against bark scorpions. Use it around our exterior block wall an the edges of our house. Mix it in all of our potted plants, flower beds and under rocks and other landscaping. We have noticed that our dogs paw-pads were a bit irritated the first time, now we just don't spread it out in the walk areas.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
JudyZB
from Chicago, IL

Get rid of ants

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is the best. I wish you carried it in the stores. I am sure more people would use it. This year has been terrible with ants and I have tried everything. This got rid of the ants that were eating my trees within two days and it is SAFE. That is the best thing, that it contains no chemicals. HIghly recommend it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
AmyTXmom75

Great for vegetable gardens!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had ants in our home vegetable garden, so I bought this product since it's organic (OMRI listed) and won't harm my family. It seems to work well at deterring most crawling insects. I sprinkled the Diatomaceous Earth throughout the garden and would watch the ants try to walk around it. And I did see dead ants that had powder on them, so I assume it DOES eventually kill them. Over time, I've noticed fewer and fewer crawling pests in the garden beds. You just have to remember to reapply the dust once it rains or becomes overly moist with morning dew. And don't dust early in the morning when it's still wet outside -- wait until the afternoon. I also spread some of the dust across our backdoor threshold (a notorious spot for ants to come and go into our kitchen) and it worked GREAT at keeping them out of the house. This area never gets wet from dew or rain, so I haven't had to reapply it. I had poor success using this product on active fire ant beds. I would poke the bed with a stick and wait until many of the ants would come out so I could dust them. I did this every day and continued to see ants for several days. Then they seemed to close up shop, but I found another mound nearby, so I think they just relocated. This is an affordable product and you get a good amount of it for the price. You can even make a homemade duster for your Diatomaceous Earth out of a used water bottle -- just drill some small holes in the cap and squeeze the bottle to puff out the dust -- this worked great for me! I was having trouble finding this product in other stores, so I was very happy to find it on The Home Depot website with free in-store pickup. Overall, I'm happy with the product and will continue to use it in my veggie garden and anywhere I don't want ants or other crawling insects.
+19points
25out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
kh25

No more FLEAS

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this totally got rid of all the fleas- after months of frontline, vacuuming, washing everything- this was the only thing that worked
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
Dsbuffa
from Reno NV

This stuff is amazing

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just love this product. It has so many uses.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
CZ253
from WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

d-earth recommendation

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tried d-earth on our yard, using some that we had left over after we dismantled our pool. Worked fantastically and was a good way to 'recycle' leftovers.
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
jenny
from Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product was just what I was looking for

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was so handy being able to order and purchase this item on line. And having it reserved for me in the store. It at the service desk waiting for me when I arrived at the store. I couldn't find this product anywhere else in my area. I will be shopping on line with your store in the future. And I have told many of my friends about my experience with Home Depot.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 Lb. Diatomaceous Earth
Yardmaster50
from Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA

The product did exactly what it needed to do!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this to treat our yard with so many insects. Worked perfectly and safely.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.