728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger

10-Amp Simple Battery Charger

The BLACK & DECKER 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger, with its high frequency charge technology, charges 12-volt batteries quickly and efficiently. This charger features a simple selector dial and a scrolling LCD screen which displays charger rate, battery diagnostics and voltage.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
Review 1 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Bellingham, Wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

POOR PRODUCT

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only used twice to charge the battery on my dinghy and then my car battery drained because I left a light on. When I attempted to charge it, the reading on the charger said "replace or service battery." THIS BATTERY IS LESS THAN SIX MOMNTHS OLD. I read another report that stated it would not charge an almost dead battery. If my car battery was fully charged I would not need a charger. I've had this charger for less than 2 years and I didn't use it much.
Cons: won't charge my battery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't charge a drained battery

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am restoring an old car, and bought this charger to help as I work through the car's electrical problems.
At first I was happy with it, although I was annoyed to have to watch a slowly-scrolling LCD display for information that a simple status light would convey better.
Then one day I inadvertently drained my battery completely (not hard to do on an old car). That's when I discovered that this charger will simply refuse to work in that situation; it will not charge a battery if the battery is below 3 volts (this is from the owner's manual)! Which, of course, is when you need it most...
This was a brand new, premium battery that was perfectly capably of being charged again, but Black and Decker apparently decided I need to be protected from myself in this situation.
I went out and bought a better charger from another manufacturer, and will give away the worthless B&D unit.
Note: The advert for the charger does not mention this severe limitation.
Cons: won't charge a dead battery
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Columbus,Oh

Pleaantly Surpised

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased right before the holidays but still received in less then a week. Unit very small and weighs practically nothing. However it give a good solid charge to the car battery in a short amount of time. Lots of nice features.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was purchased to replace a charger that kept failing saying a cell was shorted. This one easily attached and fully charged a dead battery.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Columbia MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Useless on a completely dead battery

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a spare vehicle that is used mainly for hunting and fishing, so it doesn't get driven much. The battery went dead this charger said to replace the battery. The battery is 6 months old. It did the same thing on my boat battery. Useless garbage. Wish I hadn't wasted my money on this thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Smyrna, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, charges quickly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to charge various batteries such as the lawn tractor battery, however the charge indicator isn't accurate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: charge indicator is inaccurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Hummelstown, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to operate

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had another charger, but it didn't seem to be charging. The needle would move occasionally, but didn't appear to be charging my batteries.
I decided to purchase this charger thinking the other one was not operational. I hooked it up to a battery and it indicated the battery was charged. I placed the battery in my tractor and it cranked right up.
The fact that this charger tells you when a battery is charged says it all as far as I am concerned. Glad I made the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger

Great Little charger

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at chargers in many stores and most around this price range where 6 amp or less and were larger that this one.Black and Decker have always made quality products and the Small compact and heavy duty charger fit my bill perfectly for what I needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Cedartown, GA 30125, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Deal for the price

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got what i needed, works great. What else can i say?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Jasper, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This battery charger is a great value

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money it's hard to beat! I have used it several times in severe weather and it held up fine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exceptionally well, great features.

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think somebody might have posted the wrong specification sheet for this model. The BCS10B does Not include the engine start feature but does include a cooling fan.
The advertised 6-hour charge time (from dead to done) is accurate, the digital display keeps constant update of battery voltage and any issues, and the battery condition meter appears to actually work! The only thing I miss is a power switch.
All-in-all the BCS10B is a very well designed product with great features and in my book this makes it a good value.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no power switch.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Anacortes, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommended battery charger

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just returned home after an extended vacation to two cars with dead batteries. Purchased this charger after looking at several in two other stores. It works very well, screen gives exact detail of what it is doing and voltmeter shows what is happening to the battery. I highly recommend it, it is a good value and does a great job.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger

Good Product

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Did what expected. Charges batteries in a quick manner.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Hauser, ID 83854, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was easy to use by this 73 yr. old lady!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the ease of use and handling. I am disabled and can't carry to much, as I have to use a walker or canes. But this one was a breeze to handle and use. Thank you for a good product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This replacement is not as good as product I had.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Will not power 12V motors like my old charger. Would look for a different charger.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10-Amp Simple Battery Charger

Love it!!!!!!@

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It came in handy soooo many times, when I was stuck. Will not trade it. It is much better than getting a jump from another car. It works twice as fast
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.