728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED

Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED

The Black and Decker Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor jump-starts your vehicle without the need of another car. It's ideal for tailgating, camping, power failures and more when no wall outlet is available.
Overall rating:
3.944 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product28 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product28 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
NoWorries32

Not as Pictured!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was in for 1 and it's not as pictured. Mine only came with 1 plug on each side of the front. Not with 2 (4 total) as the picture shows. The pictures shows 2 120V AC and 2 12V DC plugs. Not the case. Would still recommend if you have a need to save others with battery trouble.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Rafiki
from Sweden Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product hands down one of the Best!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful versatile unit and not just for Jumpstarting. It has a strong 450 amp starting capacity which has worked great on my diesel truck and backhoe where all others have failed. The battery has always kept a good charge and is a great camping accessory to have with you because of all the power options. This unit with a plug in solar panel while camping will give you plenty of power at night and without needing electricity during the day to charge it. The longest I had one is 3 years and I have had 2 and both have been runover one still worked even after it was runover. I am looking to buy another but have only found a different model. This is an awsome unit. If you want a great dependable jumpstarter this is the one, buy it! The only bad thing about this product is the compressor is poor and cannot run for an extended time or it burns up and is junk. Probably great for bicycle tires and some small to intermediate inflatables but not really made for car tires. (keep a can of fix-a-flat) Hope you enjoyed my review and this helps you out.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
beertime
from Tacoma WA

Cool!

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to be a stand by for a medical condition, in which I need to be on a breathing device while I sleep. I followed the directions, and charged it for 48 hours the 1st time. I tested it on a electric device, that has the same electric out put as the CPAP does.
My first test of how long it will last has well passed 3 hours. My wife said I can keep it if it gets 3 or more so Im happy at the 3 and a half.
I have not yet tested the other features, of this item, which is why I give it 4 stars, as time goes on, I will test them all before I would have to take it back if it under- preforms.
I would trust this device to power the CPAP with out any fear of it running out of juice to soon, if it is a litigate emergency 3 hours of sleep is better then not wakening up cuz ya stopped breathing.
So whats hot about it,
the device, does what it says. The AC out put has lasted more then 3 hours, with no signs of slowing down at this time. Thats great, considering its a battery powering my speakers for my computer right now.
Also, all the other things it has the tire inflator, light, DC and AC power, it is portable, the speakers that I am testing it on, never had interference in them the whole time the test was going on.
Whats not hot,
Its just under a hundred bucks, if your on a tight budget, and need something dependable its ok, but I would like to pick it up at about 20 bucks less
1 DC port, 1 AC port, the display model shows 2 of each, im not happy about that.
You'll need to get your own extension cord to charge it, it comes with a cord for DC Charging, but not AC. I knew that before buying it.
Over all if you need something like this Id say go for it. It's all most too much for what it does, but not quite. It clams it can hold a charge for 2 months I have not yet tested that, I wanted to see first how long the AC port would last. first.
hope this was useful thanks for reading
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
UnhappyCamper
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A piece of junk!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband bought this product to take to boy scout camp to run his V-Pap machine so he could sleep. The first one he bought had to be returned to the company and they sent him back a "new" one. It had the same problem. The second one worked well the first night, kept his machine going all night. Last night it lasted half way through the night and ran out of juice. It was charging all day, it should have ran all night. This product does not hold the charge is says it does! We were greatly dissapointed in this product!
Cons: Not Durable, does not hold the charge they say it does.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
carie
from PORTAGE IN.

great

PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS 6 MONTHS AGO,TOOK IT CAMPING,NEEDED A JUMP,SO GLAD I HAD THIS,BLOW UP AIR MATTRESS,CHARGED MY CELL PHONE,HAD LIGHT WHEN I NEEDED IT,LAST WEEK,MY TIRE WENT LOW,IT IS SLOW BUT GAVE ME ENOUGH AIR TO GET ME TO A STATION,I AM GETTING ANOTHER ONE FOR MY SON FOR CHRISTMAS.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Marti
from St. Louis Park, MN

Great product!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this to play music and run a sound system on a community float. In the past, we used a car battery-dirty, heavy, and ran down fast. We now have 2 of these and have more than enough power. Easy to charge and carry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
FrankinCA
from Irvine, CA

BLACK & DECKER ELECTROMATE 400

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use and convenient to have around. Used it camping to blow up inflatable beds.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Huncher255
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome features including detachable jumper cables

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I haven't used all of its features yet, I like the slim look and rugged feel. I also like that the jumper cables are detachable. I'm sure I will get a lot of use from this product. I can take it on trips to charge the kids DSI's and such. It will go with me to the drive-in in to power a radio and jump other cars that used their car battery. I use it to keep my unicycle tire properly inflated which makes the ride so much better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
aRBy

I like it and use it a lot

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I liked my old one and used it for many years. i use an MFJ-4225MV DC power supply to charge it. I believe this enhances performance. Some people complaining of poor performance seemed to be using the AC wall charger. I'm not sure that charger gets the cell fully charged. and there's no good way to measure the cell charge. Having a good DC power supply helps get maximum performance from the unit.
Once i get my new one, I plan to swap out the battery in the old one so I have two.
On a side note, the Electromate 400 keeps the household Wi-Fi running for DAYS after a power outage because these devices use very little power. Hopefully, you keep an extra laptop battery charged up for such emergencies.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Gary
from Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price for the features you get

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one handy product to have! 3 in one! Air compressor, jump starter, and 110v power, the work light is handy too. Bought one for myself and used it for everything from jump starting the jet ski (on the water when it wouldn't start!) to running a camp radio in the middle of the state park during a storm! Bought one for the family later as well!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Taco
from Orem, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding!

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't had it long, but have used it to fill up a trailer tire and to jump start a car. Both were accomplished very quickly. Looks like a great product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
bill
from Edison, NJ

works well !!

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not big on jump boxes with more than one purpose, jump a battery! but this one seems to do all it says it will do & still jump a DEAD Battery !!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Bobcat
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would not recommend

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these two years ago. I hope the current model has been greatly improved. The compressor went out after using it three times. II was stored in a covered insulated garage for several months then the jump-start battery would not take a charge. The inverter doesnt work either. All in all...not up to the standards I was accustomed to from B&D. I guess this is more evidence of inferior quality from abroad as opposed to what we would have experienced not so many years ago from a quality MADE-IN-AMERICA product. Very dissapointing
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
lvilleflyer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile, Easy to use, extremely long-lasting charge.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been used more than I could have imagined.
I have had one for over 3 years and have used all the functions many times: Compressor is used the most for topping off tires and pumping up all the sports equipment. It will keep its charge for months. I leave it in my car and love knowing it's there and ready when I need it most. Picking up another one this week for my wife.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
SKYLAX
from SW CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect piece of equipment to power my CPAP machine when the power goes out!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very reasonably priced unit that I will use solely as a back-up power supply for my cpap machine. It is small enough to be tucked in a corner and forgotten about until the need arises to use it. It needs a 24 recharge once a month which is easy enough to do. I love it and will replace it with the exact same thing when this one wears out!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: not too heavy but heavier than i'd expect.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
CArizona
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Black and Decker Power Pack 400 AC/DC

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You get more than your money's worth.. helped a lot of stranded motorist with this power pack that keeps a charge after sitting for a long time. Excellent emergency tool for any or all purposes.. Keep one in your trunk or truck and be ready for anything..
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Annie
from South Dakota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Thumbs up

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had one for many years used often, all functions. Replaced with the same as satisfied with product. It went through a lot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Tony
from Fort Lauderdale
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as advertised. Nice product!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this power station during a recent camping trip. It worked very nicely in filling up our air mattress, charging our cell phones and providing power for our electric lantern. Did not need to recharge the power station at all during the 3 day trip.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
CaptainJ
from Alpharetta< GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't expect this product to last more than 2 years

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great product for the first 12-18 months. After 12 months, batteries started losing capacity at 18 months, the compressor quit working, at 24 months, the batteries could not hold a charge. This item was used lightly, once every other month for inflating a bicycle tire or starting a dead auto battery. Good all-in-one package idea, but not worth the cost. Better off buying all the components separately.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electromate 400 AC/DC Portable Power Station/Jump-Starter/Compressor-DISCONTINUED
v301
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for trade shows too

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this item not only for general purpose around the house and for the vehicles, I also use it to power my cash register and credit card machine at trade shows. I have several of these units and they are very handy. My first unit just died after 5 years of trade show work every weekend so I replaced it with the same model since it worked so well for me. My old unit had two AC plugs as this one shows but I received a unit with only one AC plug which was disappointing. I can work around it with a splitter but would have preferred the two plugs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>