728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop The Green Thumb or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

120 Gallon E-Composter with Base

The Garden Views 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base offers an environmentally-friendly alternative to throwing away your yard and kitchen waste. Turn the waste into rich compost fertilizer with this large bin that can hold up to 120 gallons. The composter is made from recycled materials and includes a watering cup for composting convenience. Remove the extra-large lid to add material or use the side unloading doors to collect leaves. Improved air circulation offers ideal ventilation so beginners or experience users can compost with ease.
Overall rating:
2.524 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product8 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(8)
38%of customersrecommend this product8 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
Review 1 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
CrewMom123
from Morristown, NJ

What a disappointment

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My closest Home Depot stores are at least 30 min away so to purchase a product that turns out to be inferior ends up being a waste of both time and money. This composter fits the bill on both counts. The 'floor' has never stayed attached to the walls of the composter and the lid blew off in the first week. The door to the bottom trap is so poorly designed that it pops out on its own. I've never owned a composter of this design where I've had to put a brick on the lid and a small boulder leaning against the trap door. As soon as I purchase a better composter, this one will be dismantled, hosed off and returned asap!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
DLove
from DeKalb, IL

I recant my earlier review

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I take back my earlier review. Yes the composter was easy to set up, but didn't last much longer than a month. The material is so flimsy that the composter falls apart when stirring the compost, and then the first day with very windy conditions, the lid just blew right off and the plastic broke. Now I have to take it a part, clean it and take it back.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
FarmerJen
from Johnson City, TN

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS. IT WILL BE A WASTE OF MONEY

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the only composter available for purchase in my local store, so I bought it. It is a flimsy piece of junk. Absolutely!! First of all, a composter like this should not have a bottom--it should rest on the soil.
I put this composter in my garden. Right away the wind blew the top off and it broke so it would never secure to the unit again. Then pieces of wall and access doors fell off and cracked.
I previously owned two composters, which served me for years and years and are still going flawlessly in a friend's yard. They cost me WAY less than this piece of junk and functioned perfectly. Composting is not a difficult thing, unless you buy something like this.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
The2000Man
from Canon City, Colorado

Flimsy

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This composter is flimsy, but it does get a little sturdier once it is all put together. It was easy to assemble. Everything just snaps together, but one of the lid tethers broke when I tried to attach it. One tether will probably hold the lid unless a really strong wind comes up. I set a brick on the lid just in case.
Choose a spot carefully as I don't think you will be able to move it once it is partially full. The bottom would probably fall out.
It has plenty of capacity for a household of two. We have very little yard waste, so we'll be composting mostly kitchen scraps.
I don't recommend this & would not buy it again. Wish I would have read the reviews before I bought it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
viperdriver
from Connecticut

Get what you pay for?

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cheap plastic; will not keep out critters and will break if the weather drops below freezing; brittle plastic cracks; won't last more than a couple of seasons.
As always The Customer is the Test Lab
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
rfpnc1
from North Carolina

Composter Crumbles, Not the Compost

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good news: this composter is easy to assemble.
The bad news: this composter is easy to damage.
I am not particularly good at putting things together, but had no problem assembling this composter. I was also pleased to see that the item was made out of recycled material.
The composter itself, however, is not very sturdy. The lid does not stay attached to its plastic tethers and the side doors don't go back on securely once they are taken off to use. The side panels go together with a lock system, but the edges will crack if you put any pressure on them from a pitchfork handle. I am only five feet tall, so I find the height of the bin makes it difficult for me to turn over what's inside.
I believe I would have been better served if I had taken the money I used to buy this bin and bought some simple supplies to make my own compost system.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
Anonymous
from Philadelphia, PA

Just barely OK

PostedApril 19, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this composter about a year ago. Easy to assemble, but definitely flimsy. The doors are a joke. Animals got in the first time I put any food scraps in the composter. Ended up having to prop 100lb boulders against the doors to keep raccoons out. That being said, now that I've kept the animals out, it seems to be composting fine.
Would definitely invest a little more money and buy something sturdier.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
cas1763
from Farmington, NY

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very cheap plastic. It came damaged but for $50 didn't think it was worth the return so I relied on duct tape.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
Anonymice
from San Jose, CA

SAVE YOUR MONEY

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This compost bin is awful. As another reviewer mentioned, the doors are a joke. They come off quite easily and even when they're in place, mice can still get in. After sealing the doors in place, the plastic was so flimsy that some other critter managed to chew open one of the ventilation holes, making it even easier for all night vermin buffet service. I suggest getting one of the more substantial models that you can spin. It's worth the money. Even if this one did keep animals out, you still have to have a pitchfork for turning, etc.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
AlphaMale
from Central Texas

Cooking Well

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a first time composter. I have had this unit for about 5 weeks now and it is Cooking great!!! It only took about 5 minutes to put together without me using the instructions. It is a light unit so I had some top soil left over and put that down as a base and it has held up thru 80mph winds. My plan is not to use the compost it makes until next year. Being a family of 6 and always entertaining get togethers we have a lot of kitchen scraps. Plus I have my neighbors bringing scraps to me. I have turned it twice and what I am seeing is very rich compost already. I can't wait to start my garden next year.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
Anonymous140
from Jacksonville, FL

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

PostedMay 12, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only benefit of this product is that it is very easy to assemble, everything just snaps together. I started composting last year and did very well. I bought this composter because I needed a bigger one for my garden. It has now been 4 months, the composting process has not even started and it is already falling apart. When you try to turn the compost the doors pop off and the sides start to come apart. The material is very lightwiehgt and does little to keep in heat. I am very dissapointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
sjrichard
from Johnston, R.I.

quick and easy

PostedApril 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this and set it up in 10 minutes ALONE. It was very easy just follow the pictures, its easy to load. I have purchased the stuff to speed up the composting (dont know how well it will work though, but so far I really am happy with it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
NitroVal
from Georgetown, TX

Get what you pay for.

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it thinking I would just give it a try for the cheap price. It was easy to put together, but is very flimsy. My first batch lasted only a month before a raccoon clawed its way into it, and broke the bottom door to where I had to put a ground stake in to hold it closed. After a pretty good wind storm, it blew apart and I tossed it in the trash. If your serious about composting, I would spend a little more money on a tumbling type composter.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
AngiesGardener
from Shelbyville, Indiana

Not bad for the money

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Convenient size and weight. It's easy to put together incorrectly, so pay attention to the top and bottom of each side panel as you assemble it. It looks OK in the garden.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
DLove
from DeKalb, IL

Easy compost option!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This could not have been easier to implement. I can't belive I've been putting off composting for over 5 years. The bin came in three days and was simple to set up. This bin was the most affordable option I've seen after reviewing them for a year. I highly recommend it.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
sumnobody

easy use

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
well I have had this going for about 3 weeks now, the set up was a bit unusual because the directions looked like they had been copied about 100 xs before I had them not too clear. I can't really say how great it works becuase like all composters you won't know for at least 2 months and more than likely 6 months to a year for it to fully compost correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
NanZ10
from Walled Lake, MI

Average

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was order online and received within a week. Price was reasonable so it's good for a first - timer and It was easy to put together. Problem I'm having is with the side doors coming off when I'm turning the compost. I've had it for a little over a month now and it seems to be working. I'm going to duct tape the doors on tomorrow!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
geov

Composter

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a joke, I wish I went and saw all these reviews I would not have waisted my time, first day assembled, used, lid broke as I was filling it, I would of brought it back if it had not been filled,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
jcbrown
from TN

Good Value

PostedApril 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its not heavy duty, but for the price it is a good buy. Had mine about a month with no problems. If you are looking to add heavy clippings or similar, its probably not for you.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120 Gallon E-Composter with Base
Nothappy36
from Greybull, WY

Broken when received

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Several pieces were broken of of part A, ordered no idea when it might get here
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>