728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

The Zenith ZW5010 is the perfect way to beat the summer heat. With the adjustable thermostat you will be able to set it to your desired temperature. With a 2-way air deflection system and a turbo fan you will get the circulation you need to cool off any hot spot in the house. Perfect for those hot summer nights or just to relax from the heat, the ZW5000 is a perfect fit for any small - medium sized room.
Overall rating:
3.882 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product40 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(8)
78%of customersrecommend this product40 of 51reviews
Customer reviews for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Review 1 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

sweet unit, does more than it's supposed to

PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this about a year ago. I am a polar bear and like to sleep at around 60F. In fact, i prefer it when it's even colder than that. This little unit installs easily and is relatively small/unnoticeable. It's been in use on max setting for about a year in my master bedroom. It allows me to more or less turn off the central A/C system at night and focus on cooling my room to my desired temperature. It's quiet and actually pleasing sound that helps me sleep. My 18x16 master bedroom stays in the low 60s during the spring and summer with out having to pay to cool the entire house.
This unit is rated for a much smaller place than my bedroom. I am surprised that it cools as much as it does. The other thing that is impressive is that I turn it to "9" or max and leave it there night after night. It doesn't seem to phase it.
Since it does such a great job on my room, I would assume a the bedroom size that it's rated for would be like a freezer at that setting.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Arlington, Tx

best product for your money

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this ac unit back in may of 09 when my centeral ac unit went out. infact i got this 1 for the bedroom & a bigger one for the livingroom. It works great I run it 24/7 winter to cycle the air in the room & summer too keep us cool. it still works like a champ. another plus is it actually droped our eletric bill allmost 300.00 a month during the summer. if you need a ac unit for a smaller part of the house i would recomend this one 100%.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Fruitland Park, FL

Great little A/C

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am impressed with this little unit. Very quiet. Easy to install. Light weight. Cools very nicely. 4 stars instead of 5 because the installation instructions could have been clearer, but with the size and weight of this unit a little trial and error was all that was needed. I think this unit is perfect for any single room.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Covington LA

Good unit

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most BTUs you can get for your dollar. You are better off buying two than one twice the size, and situate them in different places. The unit is not so noisy and is reliable. Bigger units are more difficult to install and may not fit in your window.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from TX

Little engine that could

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My house has central AC, but I work in my office and I'm the only one at home during most of the day. It's a waste to turn central AC on for the entire house.
My thinking was: bigger, fancier and pricier AC units would never pay for itself and defeat the purpose. But at $99, this unit matches my goals. I estimate that it will pay for itself in 2 years. The question is... will it last more than 2 years?
In absolute terms, and given the state of the art, this unit is too simplistic: no remote, no digital readout (mechanical knob), relatively lousy EER (9.7), non-inspiring energy guide ($41/year), not exactly silent (but not too noisy either), only 2 fan speeds (the LOW should be labeled MED and a new even lower speed provided).
The installation hardware supplied consisted of 3 L-shaped brackets and a few screws. Fortunately, the unit is very light, so just closing the window on top of it was enough to hold it in place. I used a piece of wood to shim it at the bottom. The side panels are flimsy and leaky (will need to come up with a better insulation solution as this will not work in the winter).
However, when you factor in the price, this is a great value. It cools the air pretty decently, and that's all that matters for me. Noise is tolerable. I gave it 4 stars based on value.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

Owned this for a year

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
and for the past year, there would be nights that the AC wouldn't come on and it would just be blowing regular air... for hours and hours. And I have a small room. And I checked the filter to make sure it's not clogged. I'm dumping this piece of junk and getting a better AC. Don't waste your $100 to buy this junk..... seriously take my word for it..
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Tucson,AZ

"The little Zenith that could"

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so satisfied with the Zenith ZW5010 that I could not give it less than 5 stars. This little A/C unit is so easy to install and the instructions are written to make it easy. It just makes it a fun project for the family to do it together. I bought this little guy to supplement my main A/C unit in my 5h wheel. It does a great job. This little machine puts out a constant 36-40 degrees. regardless of the humidity. It is very quiet and easy to get to filter. Also the fan is built to pick up water that is in the pan and sling it into the condensor to maximize it's cooling. The only thing that may be of concern is that styrofoam seperates the condensor fan from the evaporator fan. I think it is great to lighten up the product but will the styrofoam deterioate and cause problems in the future? only time will tell and to this point everything is fine. anyway for $99.00 you can't go wrong. It cools the room it's in actually just as good as the 10,000 Btu unit I had before but it is a whole lot quiter and less bulky so go out and get one it's cheap and efficient.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from phonix, AZ

Great unit for the Price

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put this unit in when it was over 100 deg f and cooled the room down in a few hours. It cooled to the 60 deg range with a room 10 by 10. Thinking about buying another unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from arizona

Great buy highlly recomended

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this a few months ago, I have a 12 x 15 room and it keeps it cold. Im always under my blanket now. Highly recommended.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Harrison, Arkansas

Zenith ZW5010 Room Air Conditioner

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one dandy little A/C unit! With continued weeks of near 100 degree temperatures my central air/heat pump could not keep up with the cooling demands for the house. I purchased and installed this little unit in my bedroom (15 x 20 ft) and within one hour the room's temperature dropped from the mid-80's to about 70 degrees. It was also very easy to install in my double hung window. The unit makes a little noise because of the turbo fan, but not unreasonable. I had to turn up the TV a couple of clicks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Paragonah, UT. (Southern Utah)

Very good investment

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this air conditioner yesterday, because summer was coming around and it gets super hot in my room. I have a lot of electronics in my room, so I couldn't get a swamp cooler, It had to be a real air con. so I looked online, and this one looked like a great deal, and super cheap. I went and bought the air conditioner, and some Styrofoam and tape. (I have a horizontal opening window, so the Styrofoam and tape is to fill in the open space above the air conditioner.) It is super easy to install, and works super well in my bedroom. My room is 11' X 14' and it cools my room very fast, and keeps it cold. I think that this air conditioner was a very good investment, and worth the money, and time installing. I paid for the extra 2 year extended service plan from Home Depot, it was only 11 dollars, so I thought that 2 years for 11 dollars was good! So in total the air conditioner has a 3 year warranty! I love it, and it is worth every penny.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for my 14'x11' bedroom as the 8000 BTU unit in the living room was not cooling the bedroom. It cooled the bedroom within one hour! I would definitely recommend this unit as a supplemental window unit or as a unit for a small room like mine. For $99, it is totally worth it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Smithshire Il

window AC

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a office 14x12. The problem was it would get so hot I could not use it in the day time, only has two very small windows and I didn't want to cut a hole in the wall. Then I seen this small unit It fits perfect and is doing a great job, I love it. Fred
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Pittsburgh, PA

Works like a charm!

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this a/c for my son's room. Works great, makes it positively frigid (had to turn it down, it was so cold!), no funny noises like our other one. Good, inexpensive a/c.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Portland, OR

Great little ice box!!!!

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We recently purchased this window unit for our bedroom and it has worked extremely well. We haven't even gone beyond the 5th level and have kept the fan at low and have even gotten too cold in the middle of the night! This unit was the least expensive and has been very dependable. I just bought another one for our upstairs guest bedroom and am excited to be able to use it in these stifling Summer months! We haven't had any problems so far and the fan seems to be as quiet as most a/c units usually are. We have had it for about 2 months now and use it almost everyday when it gets past 72 degrees in the house. Very recommended for one to two rooms and a great value at $99. Happy Summer!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Archer City, Tx

does what it needs to.

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i've had two of these for 2 years in the kids bedrooms. they are quiet and cool well for small rooms.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from west springfield,mass

5000 btu a/c units 3 year of owner ship

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased 2 of these from home depot 3 years go now. they still look exactly the same as the new ones.
My units worked awesome the first year and great the second year.
This year we have a lot of humidity, so they still work good but not quit as good as some older 5000 btu units I have had.
1 works like new and the other has developed a rattle during compressor shut off, I hope dosent end up being a problem.
Nice little unit for the price.
works great for the small babys room but not as good for the larger master bed room. I am concidering going to a higher btu unit for the large bed room and put 1 of these down stairs to help the new 10,000 btu unit we have down their.
mounting is not that bad as they are such a light weight unit.
make sure to have duct tape though as with any a/c window unit I have ever owned their are always small spaces that need to be sealed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Ca

Works well when installed properly

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please read this: NONE OF THESE SMALL, CHEAP ROOM/WINDOW A/C UNITS CAN BE USED INSIDE A ROOM. GET THE TYPE ON ROLLERS IF YOU NEED A ROOM A/C UNIT. THESE HAVE TO BE INSTALLED IN THE WINDOW- BECAUSE THEY PUT OUT MORE HOT AIR IN THE BACK OF THE UNIT THAN COOL AIR FROM THE FRONT OF IT!!! THEY ALSO NEED TO HAVE A DRAIN HOSE INSTALLED BECAUSE THEY FILL UP WITH WATER!
However, they work great, and will easily cool a 150 sq. foot room, if installed in the window.
Beware, though, these do not have a built in thermostat. You may end up having to spend $50 for a plug-in thermostat, in which case you could have just bought a better A/C unit in the first place!
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Chattanooga Tn.

This unit is awesome

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this A/C unit to go in a 6X10 Utillity trailer that I camp in.I cut a hole in the front wall and installed the unit there.Well this weekend I camped in it for the first time it ran perfictly.kept the trailer at like 70 and it was 90+ outside.
I am very pleased with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Corning, CA

Its Ok

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
First of all it was a very easy install though if you've never installed one before common sense works better then what the directions tell you to do. But it really is quite simple to install especially if you have vertical windows.
As for cooling. It does pretty well for a small bedroom even in a 110+ weather. Though do NOT expect this to cool down your whole house or even another room in very hot weather it is purely meant to cool a small room.
My main complaint with this air conditioner is how cheap production has lead to some irritating noises. No, I'm not complaining about the fan because I expected that and to be honest on low its actually rather quiet. Its the front panel that holds the filter that causes the noise for me. It sits there too loose so at times it will start to vibrate and make some rather annoying noises so I had to shove a drawer against the bottom to keep it from doing that.
All in all not a bad AC for cooling a small room just don't forget to remove the drain plug.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>