728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote

24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote

This Energy Star remote controlled 24,500 BTU LG-brand window air conditioner with electronic controls is designed to cool approximately 1560 square feet. That's a room 39 ft. x 40 ft.! Three cooling and three fan speeds, as well as 4-way air direction, ensure your comfort. Designed for use on 230 volt, 20 Amp circuits, it has an energy efficiency rating of 9.4. Buy now! Fits a minimum window opening of 19 in. high and 29 in. to 41 in. wide.
Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Review 1 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Louisiana

Not worth the money!!

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this unit for less than a year and already the compressor has stopped operating properly. When trying to use the energy saver mode or powering off the compressor still runs and does not shut off unless completely unplugged. When it does work, half of the time the whole things freezes! It has been one month since I have contacted customer service and it has never been repaired. I will NEVER purchase another LG air conditioner!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Texas

to loud

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this unit for is cooling cap. it cools 2/3's of my 1800 sq ft home on low or med. but i find the noise level to be to much. Sometimes the energy saver gets comfused and stops and starts with in seconds. looking to return due to noise level.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Kansas City

one cold air machine

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Problem: 1939 home with radiant heat (boiler). No ducts for central air. Options: Investigated ductless cooling systems (Fujitsu, LG). Received bid from professional installer for two condensers and 6 head units. Liked the aspect of zoned cooling, quiet operation and easy install. Bid was excessively high >$16K. Internet search for equipment to do it myself was also high ~$6K. Window units in bedrooms and main floor estimated ~$1K.
Action: researched cooling options. Most economical was a large window unit to cool entire first floor and smaller window units for bedrooms upstairs. LG is a strong brand name and has extensive history in cooling systems. Checked out LG online and found the right size at home depot. Internet and store price the same (free shipping via internet). Went to local home depot store, they had 3 in stock. Purchased and went home to install.
Installation: opened box and inspected for all parts. Box was missing remote. Immediately called LG customer care number (on side of unit) after a brief automated voice response menu spoke with an extremely friendly associate. After providing necessary information they informed me that a remote will be sent (no charge) to my home address within 7 business days; looking forward to that. Continued with installation. Unit is heavy 160lbs. but I was able to lift and install with my wife. This is not a one person job. Instructions are straight forward with good schematics. Engineered well to make install easy. Mounting hardware provided. The unit slips out of its cabinet so you can install the cabinet (very light) in the window and then slide in the cooling unit. I have storm windows on the house and was concerned that I would have to remove the storm window in order to get the right angle outward for water drainage (1/2in down from front). Instead of removing storm I secured a small strip of wood ½ inch in height under front of cabinet. With this in place I was able to get the right angle without having to remove my storm window. Sash supports under cabinet were a breeze to install. Again, this engineering concept will make seasonal removal and installation very easy and efficient. Operation: This unit moves a massive amount of air both cooling and dehumidifying with ease. Was very impressed how it cooled my entire first floor (5 rooms ~ 1400sqft) from 86 and humid to 69 and dry overnight (woke up chilly!). Unit is not very quiet (sounds like a large floor fan) but it is not bothersome either. I switched to energy mode early in the morning and the unit cycled the fan on and off about every 20 minutes for 3-5min duration. Will continue to assess operations and efficiency over the next several weeks and months.
Summary: Nothing but high marks for unit in terms of engineering, ease of install and effectiveness in making you shiver! Initial outreach to customer care for missing remote was also pleasant. Given its performance and the duration AC units are needed here in the Midwest, I may just forgo the expense of installing any other cooling system. Thank you LG for making a good product and home depot for having it in stock when I needed it. Would purchase again and definitely recommend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Illinois

Best Air Conditioner I've Owned in 30 Years

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This air conditioner cools three rooms of my downstairs within 30 minutes of turning it on. The fan puts out air at an astounding rate. My electric bill went down from the one we had been using that had only 13,000 BTU's. I would recommend this air condtionder to anyone needing a new one or replacing a less efficient one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from KC

Good but doesn't last

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit and installed it in the front room of my house four years ago.
Good side: Cooled 1100 square feet with ease even during the hottest part of summer.
Bad side:Everyone is right, this thing is loud. When on high I could barely hear the TV over it even at full volume. The power saver mode doesn't work well and turns the machine off and on which contributes to premature wear on the machine. Over time the laminate over the control buttons became ragged and started peeling away just from regular use. The compressor dided in mine after four years leaving it dead which is terrible when you consider it was replacing an 18 year old unit.
To sum it all up, it cools very well but is very loud and will fall apart at a fast pace if your unit is like mine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from long island ny

cool beans in the hot sumertime

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this a/c is a good unit, on low speed cool is very quiet,I replaced a 28,000 btu unit that was only 4 years old, this unit blows ice cold on low and cooled off the area 24x30 in about 10 minutes, on high speed it is loud., I mounted it thru the wall, i give it a thumbs up and think lg makes a good product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Marrero, LA

Great Unit

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cools my whole 1100 sf house in a very short period of time & does it very quietly.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from RI

WOW

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW this thing has a Hemi in it. It cool my 1200 Sq foot house down form 80 deg's to 70 deg's in 20 minutes.
The humidity went from 72 down to 56 in 20 minutes.
I had to turn it down on low because on high I needed a coat.
If you are looking for very quit then go central air for thousands of dollars. But I must say on low speed it is not bad. No worse than a fan running. To install it you will need two people to lift it into place. Very heavy. Over all this unit is well worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Good product

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after trying 3 different portables to cool 1000 sq ft. It is a little loud as even the low fan setting really pushes some cold air out. But if it's cool that you want, this one will do it. Not having a 220v outlet created a problem but after installing that, my air conditioning problems here in Florida were solved. I 've only had this a few days but so far it is working great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Perth Amboy, New Jeresy

LG Lifes Good

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed to replace an unit which was 18,000 BTUs and I wanted to increase the BTUs so I pick this model.
It cools 3 rooms and all at 72 degress. My wife is disabled and the heat is not good for her. The unit works great the delivery service did damage the unit but not enough to return, Lifes Good works for me slite noise but its not in a bed room so no concern.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Bullhead City, Arizona

Good AC Unit

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was installed in my garage which is 850sq ft with R50 in the ceiling, insulated double and single garage doors but only 1" foam on the two outside walls. I bought this unit rated for 1560sq ft to compensate for lack of insulation and 115 - 118 degree high here in the Arizona desert. Electrician ran a separate 20amp 220 line and i started the unit at around 10:00 am and it took approx 18 hours to bring the garage to 85 degrees. It was 115 outside and down to 95 at night but all the contents of the garage had been "seasoned" to 105 -110 which was the temp without AC in the garage. I am keeping it set on 82 on energy saver setting which shuts down when temp is reached and starts back up similar to the house thermostat when needed. Today was the second full day and it is a pleasure to work in the garage now. I am pleased with it and pleased to have a 5 year in home warranty which is important in the extreme climate I live in.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Fountain Inn, South Carolina

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to cool my 25 x 30 with 10 ft. walls metal building. I tested it out by sitting it on the floor under my garage door and filled in the gaps with sheets of plywood. It was in the upper 90's and this unit cooled my workshop very good. Awesome product. Now to install it in the wall in my shop.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Lawrenceburg,ky

24500 BTU Window A/C

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this unit for 20 days. This unit is very loud. have to turn TV up In other room just to hear it.
Book says it has three fan speeds. This unit on cool only has the highest speed making it loud. Wish it had a slower speed. Can,t tell what it's reading to sense air temperature, because my digital readings vary 3 to 4 degrees to what the A./C display shows. Am returning the unit. Will buy a differant brand. Also energy saving mode is causing electrical surges .
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Cape Cod

I like it!

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently replaced my ductless with this unit. It's loud, but works great! I have crank windows which won't fit an air conditioner. So I cut a hole in my wall, framed it, ran an electrical line, added a dual pole 20a breaker and installed the air conditioner. Now I have a comfortable home! Other than the noise it's perfect.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from SAGINAW, MICHIGAN

24500 btu LG air conditioner

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought the 24500 btu air conditioner and we love it. it is everything we expected from the item and more. it has kept the house cool to COLD. and i mean COLD. We had our old air conditioner in the wall so we took that out and put this one in the wall and it is fantastic. talk about getting a blast of cold,cold,cold,cold air-----it is the 24500 btu LG air conditioner. you will not go wrong buying it. and it is on sale right now so why not. it is worth regular price but i am glad i caught it on sale. thanks to shawn and bob for their help with buying this air conditioner. I KNOW I MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR HELP. GOD BLESS EVERYONE AT THE STORE ON GRATIOT I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE.
THANK YOU AGAIN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Unreliable

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In less than a year the compressor on the AC died. Upon contacting LG's customer service, we've been constantly receiving false information on how to go about replacing a unit that is still under warranty, thus leaving us without AC in the middle of Texas' 110 Degree summer. Currently the process has been on going for half a month now and LG has been avoiding honoring their warranty - I will not be purchasing any LG products in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Utah

Best Buy

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unbeatable price. We recently bought this to cool our approximately 1300 sq ft upper floor. We have only been using it for a couple days but even the first hour it was on it was doing it's job! We live in a ranch style home and it is installed in the dining room area which is on the south end of our house and seems to do fine cooling the bedrooms on the north end. With NO fans just windows slightly cracked to draw it through! I noticed it was called "noisy" in a lot of reviews and I don't know if this helps but it's a lot more bearable than listening to a box fan. I have never owned an air conditioner this size so I have nothing to compare to as far as it working as well as our other one (it's 5000 BTU so no comparison) But I am very pleased with this purchase. The customer service at our local store was also excellent!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Lovettsville, VA

24,500 BTU Air Conditioner

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Air Conditioner is what I expected and was delivered
on time and the product is very efficient.
Could not ask for a better product.
I will continue to buy from Home Depot when I am in need
and I will also tell my Friends and Family about the service
and product.
Thanks again for your quick service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24,500 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Bonner Springs, KS

24,500 BTU LG Window A/C

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a dream. Abit noisy on high speed. No problems other than that
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.