728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Under Sink Filter Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System

Reverse Osmosis Filtration System

To keep your water tasting and smelling great consider installing the GE Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System. This water filter is installed under your sink for a discreet appearance and filters up to 11 gallons of water daily. The reverse osmosis membrane helps reduce microscopic contaminants such as arsenic, lead and ammonia, for better tasting water for drinking and cooking. The filter indicator reminds you when to replace the filter.
Overall rating:
3.76 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(200 reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product137 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 200 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(47)
3
(17)
2
(13)
1
(32)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product137 of 192reviews
Customer questions and answers:
85 Questions | 193 Answers
Customer reviews for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
Review 1 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much Better Water

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased and installed this unit after many years of a brown slime that would form in our pipes and fill our bath tubs, this coming from a public water supply. This unit filtered it out until the pre-filter was caked in black junk. If we wouldn't have had the filter installed, the junk would be caked inside of us. It took about 6 months until the unit stopped producing water. If there were less debris and matter in the water, I think the cartridges would have lasted longer. The only grip I have is the amount a water for start up, you need to run the water for 20 minutes during disinfection and then run another 16 gallons before use.
Pros: cleans the water great.
Cons: uses a lot of water during the startup process
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic for the price

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It makes fantastic tasting water! It does waste a lot of water but that's typical for most RO systems. Easy to install even though the directions will have you thinking otherwise. Also, it takes up much less space under the sink than you might think.
After install it was leaking from the barb attachments on the faucet. I did some research and found that this was effecting others as well and the only solution was to call GE and have that part replaced. I decided to play with it a bit and found, with the help of a fantastic Home Depot employee, the barbs can actually unscrew! Chances are the other people that are having leaks simply need to tighten the barbs. I added a little teflon tape to be sure. After that, no leaks!
Pros: Convenient
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Spring, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best birthday present EVER!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product as a birthday gift for myself and I can honestly say it is one of the best purchases I have made in a very long time. I use to fill up 6 gallons of water for the kitchen every 4-5 days. I use filtered drinking water for cooking, cleaning fruit and veggies, coffee and obviously drinking. I now only keep 2 gallons, 1 for the counter and 1 for the fridge. The installation was extremely easy with the exception of having to find a way to tap into my existing cold water line. I have the plastic (PEX) line and I had to buy a T-Splitter and multiple adapters to reduce the size down to 1/4". But aside from that, everything else was easy connect fittings. It even comes with a pipe piece to go on the down pipe/drain for the waste water so you don't have to use an unsafe saddle tap line. Looks very professional and works great. It is a bit noisy when it is making water on account of the waste water being close to the drain opening on my configuration, but after a few weeks, you don't even hear it. Very happy with this product! For $150 bucks you cant beat the value!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Great Value
Cons: noisy while making water
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from O'Fallon, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works well, water now crystal clear

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall I'm very pleased with this filter, and felt it was a good value for the price. I bought this to replace my old 2-stage filter (C******* brand) so I had some of the plumbing ready to go. The faucet was very substantial, and much better made than the twist faucet on the unit it replaced (photo attached). I was impressed with the design that incorporated the airgap for the waste line directly into the faucet.
Installation: The install took some time, and requires some extra parts and you need space for the tank, as others have noted. The supply line is 1/4" rather than the 3/8 noted in the instructions. Not a big deal, just another trip to the store for the adapter on the supply shutoff valve (photo attached) The outflow to the faucet is 3/8", so a much better flow than my old 1/4" filter-nice as this supplies the faucet and is plumbed directly to my refrigerator supply as well.
One note on the faucet: It's designed for the handle to fit on the right side. They advertise it as being reversible for left-hand operation, but I didn't quite figure that out. I installed it on the right-hand, so it wasn't an issue, but I wanted to point out that the handle on the left side would require pushing back instead of pulling forward.
Leak-free: Installing everything, I noticed quite a bit of plastic in the fittings, but on the flip side, I was pleased to see that GE included a roll of teflon tape. Use the Teflon tape on each fitting, and don't overtorque the fittings, and hopefully you will be leak-free, as I *almost* was - I needed a once-over aftewards on a few of the fittings, but it's been fine since then.
Startup: After removing the filters & membrane for sterilization, I then ran several tanks through the filter to make sure everything was cleared out. The inital 24 hours can be somewhat noisy with the water running through the air gap and into the drain, but after everything is up and running, I hardly ever hear it!
Normal operation: After the startup and fill I find that I don't even notice it filtering, and the water pressure is very good. This is running water for coffee, drinking, and over to the refrigerator for ice and more water. I find I'm drinking a lot more water than before, it's so clean and clear that I actually enjoy it!
Resource use: You will use more water with this filter than you would in a basic carbon-block water filter, but that's part of the process. The end result (absolutely pure water) is worth it in my mind.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
35out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Woodbury, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best ever, all the water i need for cooking, ice, coffee and aquarium

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Found it very easy to install, all the necessary components came included. If you are handy, like me, should only take about an hour to have it installed and up and running. i use my system for cooking, drinking, ice making, and still have plenty left over to use for my aquarium. Helpful filter change electronics to indicate when its time to change the filters.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System

GE reverse osmosis unit GXRM10RBL

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second unit (first broke and I thought it would be easier to replace with same). Now problems with this one. These units are designed and produced very cheaply. Would never get this unit again
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Farmington, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had bad coffee, now its good to the last drop!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Before I put in this system I had a film and coffee scum that turned my white coffee cups black. I first tried a sink mount Pur and this did nothing to cure the problem. Now my coffee is scum free and am surprised that my water quality was so bad.
The system took a few trips to the hardware store to install. Throw away the saddle valve and get yourself a T valve - make sure it is 1/4 inch OD for the system inlet as the install book says 3/8. It took me about 3 hours to install, as I did it myself and didn't get any leaks.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from livingston,nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Reliable

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second GE unit, the last one lasted over eight years and we make about 10 gallons of water every day. Very easy to install and the water tastes great. Great for my dogs and wife who needs the filtered water to avoid kidney stones. Water tastes as good or better then bottled water.
Pros: Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great water

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was well made and produces great volumes and quality of water. I give it an a+. As for the instructions, they were worse than useless, but at least in 5 languages. If you are not handy, get someone to install it.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from West Salem, OH 44287, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great item to have under your sink!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The reverse osmosis system has ended my concern of too much calcium and lime deposits in my water. I have well water that is good quality but I was going through Bunn coffeemakers at about 2 a year. Now that I Have the system installed, I see no deposit residue in the coffee maker. It is a real change for the better. Also use this water in my Keurig to keep that machine clean, too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this a few months ago and really can tell a difference in the taste of water and coffee. And it filters 16 different contaminants and filters the water 3 times. NO more Bottled water which is a waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for the price point

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love the filter, only reason for not giving higher marks on the value, is that it would be nice to know before purchase that it needs to have 40psi min. inlet pressure- I had to buy an additional pump. (however, with the booster, it now makes over a gallon/ hr, and wastes less down the drain)
Also, would like to have the charts and graphs in the user manual regarding inlet water quality and hardness available before purchase. It would be nice to know if you need a water softener system in order to use this system, BEFORE you buy!
Otherwise, very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: could have important specs listed outside the box
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from West Springfield Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not reccommend - Don't like

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
System wastes 4 gallons for every 1 gallon produced - (the system produces 9.8 gallons of water per day which wastes nearly 40 gallons). Instructions are not clear. The RO filter says "Discard product water for 2 hours minimum before using ..." difficult to figure out as it takes 24 hours to produce 9.8 gallons. Poor quality fittings - the quick-connect fittings started leaking just minutes after installation - replaced with Compression fittings. If you have a garbage disposal you will have more difficulty installing. I installed it in the basement just below the kitchen sink in the basement. It's a good thing as the fitting on the tank broke after the system was filled and sprayed water under pressure across the basement. The system requires flushing/cleaning and it's nearly impossible to keep the area dry. I wish I had researched other systems. as I plan to replace this system as soon as possible. I had to install a lot of extra plumbing and replace too many fittings on the kit that failed. Had to get additional water line for the system to install in basement. I would not purchase this if I was to do it all over again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
23out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Phoenix, AZ

Faucet problems

PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently installed this unit. The tank leaked and the faucet leaked. When I tried to check the tubes that are connected to the barbs on the underside of the faucet, one broke off. Now the unit is unusable.
I called GE and the warranty only covers manufacturer's defects. Since I was touching the tubing at the time the barb broke, it is not a manufacturers defect according to them. Apparently, if you have touched the sytem, their warranty does not cover anything. It is going to cost another $36 to get a replacement base for the poorly designed faucet.
I have several GE systems in my rentals, but will use a different brand next time since they effectively do not have a warranty.
+26points
31out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Low Cost Reverse Osmosis Unit

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have used this GE unit for over a year now.
It produces great tasting water from our well.
Totally removes chlorine taste/smell. No more sulfur odor.
Some more expensive units use additional carbon filters; but having just two carbon canisters on this GE unit seems to work just fine. Ran the carbon filters for one year before changing. Why pay more?
The faucet is really nice; very ergonomic and smooth. Far superior to my previous brand.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Redmond, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband hooked this under our sink about 1 1/2 years ago. After 6-7 months, the 'faucet' started leaking from corrosion. He replaced it, & just over the 1 year warranty it corroded again! Both times it leaked slow but steady enough that our water bill tripled by the time we figured out what the problem was...I don't like the stress of leaks!
I appreciated that the faucet poured out water faster than most of the brands-but will never purchase this brand again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome filtration system, easy installation with no leaks

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble, no leaks working perfect. The clue for no leaks is use thread sealing tape in all your fitting connections and make sure the three filter enclosures are closed tight before you turn your water valve on. I couldn't use the water input sadder valve because my water plumbing to the sink are flexible hoses so I used the method on my pictures. You are not going to have any installation problem with this water filter system if you follow the instructions and tips here. Highly recommended. All the necessary parts are available here in Home Depot. One input and two outputs valve is 1/2 inch for pipe coming from the main water, with two outputs 3/4 for sink flexible hose in my case and 1/4 inch for hose that goes to the filter. You will need to buy the 1/4 fitting to install that little hose to that valve if you use my method.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Filtered and Soft Water ever

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this reverse osmosis filter about 2 yrs ago and I love it and recommend it to anyone who wants clear, soft and good taste water. I was surprised how the water was sooooo soft when I took the first sip. I installed it by myself under the sink. Really easy to install and now I use the water from the supplied faucet for cooking and drinking, Honestly, the softness of the water is incredible compared to the regular tap water. I replace the two filters every 6 months and the membrane after a year and half and I have no problem with it so far. just think of the initial investment to purchase it and never buy bottled water again. Thank you Home Depot for providing such a quality product with a reasonable price.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Rancho Cordova, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best system for the money

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced a similar Reverse Osmosis system that was 10 yrs old. Filtration is all about surface area and this is the biggest sys in the warehouse stores. Not for rookies. Some plumbing skills required to install, and changing RO membrane is inconvient. But if you want awsome faucet flow rate and great water it is the best. It wastes more water than it makes, so if you have a problem with this then any RO system is not for you
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Reverse Osmosis Filtration System
from Sedona, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

its okay

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is far from being the best reverse osmosis product on the market, nor is it the worst. It is fairly compact, does the job as long as installed correctly. Filters are difficult to get to for routine maintenance. Are others as bad? probably. We were disappointed that the tank on our first one went after only 4 years. Problem is, no way to really trouble shoot the issue, after replacing this and that to no avail, we just replaced the whole thing. Water quality good, initial price good. Filters expensive, then again, they are on all the units. Even with only 4 years, price per gallon more than reasonable.
Cons: Heavy, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>